HomeNDC LookupIngredientsFondaparinux Sodium › 11797-0156-09
fondaparinux sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL Injection, Solution, 2 syringes — NDC 11797-0156-09 package photo

fondaparinux sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL Injection, Solution, 2 syringes

by Italfarmaco S.p.A · 2 SYRINGE in 1 CARTON (11797-156-09) / .6 mL in 1 SYRINGE (11797-156-02)
NDC 11797-0156-09
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 11797-156-09 billing pads the product segment with a zero
This package
Contains2 syringes Pack sizes2 compare ↓
Also priced by: Part D plans $34.64/unit — full pricing hub ↓
Also comes in: 10 syringes 11797-0156-06
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 11797-156-09
Product NDC 11797-156
11-digit billing NDC 11797015609
UNII X0Q6N9USOZ
UPC 0311797154068, 0311797154099, 0311797156062, 0311797155096 +4 more
Application # ANDA208615
SPL Set ID 58789e3d-e5bc-4c2e-a527-495a252fcecd
Established class (EPC) Factor Xa Inhibitor
Mechanism of action Factor Xa Inhibitors
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2019-02-06
Route SUBCUTANEOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance FONDAPARINUX SODIUM
TE code (Orange Book) AP · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 11797-156-09 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 11797-0156-09. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Factor Xa Inhibitor class.

Pharmacologic class Factor Xa Inhibitor
Drug family (ATC) Other antithrombotic agents
How it works Factor Xa Inhibitors
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerItalfarmaco S.p.A
Application holderSCINOPHARM TAIWAN LTD
FDA applicationANDA208615 (ANDA)
Labeler code11797
First marketedFeb 2019
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio4 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Fondaparinux injection is used to: prevent deep vein thrombosis (DVT; a blood clot, usually in the leg) in certain conditions. treat DVT and pulmonary embolism (PE; a blood clot in the lung). Fondaparinux injection is in a class of medications called factor Xa inhibitors. It works by slowing down and stopping blood from clotting.

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Fondaparinux is a blood thinner — it lowers the chance of dangerous clots forming in your veins. Doctors use it after certain surgeries (like hip or knee replacement) to prevent de...
  • Yes — fondaparinux is only available as an injection given just under the skin (subcutaneous injection), usually in the abdomen. It's given once a day. It cannot be taken by mouth,...
  • How do I take fondaparinux, and does it have to be a shot?
  • The biggest risk with fondaparinux is bleeding, since it's a blood thinner. Common signs to look out for include unusual bruising, bleeding that takes longer than normal to stop, b...
📖 Read our full Fondaparinux guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII QTT17582CB
    A strong acid used to adjust and maintain the proper pH level in liquid medicines, ensuring stability and preventing breakdown of active ingredients.
  • UNII 451W47IQ8X
    Sodium chloride is common table salt. It's used in medicines as a buffer to maintain proper pH, as a filler to add bulk, or to adjust the osmotic balance in liquid formulations.
  • UNII 55X04QC32I
    A strong alkaline chemical used to adjust and maintain the pH balance of liquid medicines. It helps keep the medicine stable and ensures it stays effective during storage.
  • UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.

4 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · Q2 2026 $34.64 $41.57 / 1.2 ml
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Fondaparinux Sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL 55111-0680-02 Dr. 2 syringes $20.923 AP FDA listed
Fondaparinux Sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL 67457-0584-06 Mylan 10 syringes $42.712 AP Availability likely
fondaparinux sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL 70710-1516-06 Zydus 10 syringes $42.712 AP Availability likely
Fondaparinux Sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL 00781-3465-12 Sandoz 2 syringes FDA listed
fondaparinux sodium 7.5 mg/.6mLthis 11797-0156-09 Italfarmaco 2 syringes AP FDA listed
Fondaparinux Sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL 55150-0232-02 Eugia 2 syringes AP FDA listed
Arixtra 7.5 mg/.6mL 67457-0594-06 Mylan 10 syringes AP FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2019
On the market since
Feb 2019
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
7 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

📊 Medicare Part D spend CMS · PART D · 2026 (Q1)

Medicare Part D (outpatient prescription) spending for Fondaparinux Sodium — the program that covers self-administered drugs. 4 manufacturers.
⚠️ Drug-level data: CMS publishes Part D spending by drug, not by NDC — these figures combine every manufacturer, strength and package size sold under the name Fondaparinux Sodium. That’s a different level of aggregation than the Medicaid card above, which is specific to this exact 11-digit NDC (pack size included), so the two aren’t directly comparable.
Period
Total Part D spend
$3.54M
Claims incl. refills
3.4K
Beneficiaries
1.6K
Spend / beneficiary
$2,259.75
Spend / claim
$1,041.07
Trend by period
💵 About the dollar figures: spending is what Part D plans paid before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower. A blank patient count means fewer than 11 people — CMS hides counts that small to protect privacy. Source: CMS Medicare Quarterly Part D Spending by Drug (data.cms.gov), updated quarterly.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for FONDAPARINUX SODIUM — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Anaemia610
Haematoma559
Pulmonary Embolism448
Haemorrhage351
Haemoglobin Decreased339
Death297
Deep Vein Thrombosis295

Age at onset

Neonate3
Infant3
Adult209
Elderly198

Reporter sex

8,048 reports
Male · 43%
Female · 56%
Unknown · 1%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization4,270
Death1,439
Life-threatening884
Disabling241
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2019 2021 2023 2026 208 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
11797-0156-06 10 SYRINGE in 1 CARTON (11797-156-06) / .6 mL in 1 SYRINGE (11797-156-02) 2019-02-06 Active
11797-0156-09 You're viewing this 2 SYRINGE in 1 CARTON (11797-156-09) / .6 mL in 1 SYRINGE (11797-156-02) 2019-02-06 Active

Pack size FAQ

What quantity is in NDC 11797-0156-09?
NDC 11797-0156-09 contains 2 syringes — 2 syringe in 1 carton / .6 ml in 1 syringe.
What is the difference between NDC 11797-0156-09 and NDC 11797-0156-06?
Both are fondaparinux sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL Injection, Solution — the drug itself is identical. NDC 11797-0156-09 is the 2 syringes package, while NDC 11797-0156-06 is the 10 syringes package.
What NDC number is used to bill for this package of fondaparinux sodium 7.5 mg/.6mL Injection, Solution?
Bill NDC 11797-0156-09 — the 11-digit billing format is 11797015609. Pharmacy and medical claims use the 11-digit form; the FDA label may print a shorter form of the same code.

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 11797-156-09, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 11797-0156-09, written without dashes as 11797015609. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 11797-0156-09, the first segment (11797) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Italfarmaco S.p.A; the middle segment (0156) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (09) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Italfarmaco S.p.A. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Does this product come in other package sizes?
Yes — the FDA directory lists 1 other package presentation of this same product, including 10 syringes (11797-0156-06). Each has its own NDC and its own page — see the package list near the top of this page.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Italfarmaco S.p.A is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning ~2 min read

WARNING: SPINAL/EPIDURAL HEMATOMAS Epidural or spinal hematomas may occur in patients who are anticoagulated with low molecular weight heparins (LMWH), heparinoids, or fondaparinux sodium and are receiving neuraxial anesthesia or undergoing spinal puncture. These hematomas may result in long-term or permanent paralysis. Consider these risks when scheduling patients for spinal procedures.

Factors that can increase the risk of developing epidural or spinal hematomas in these patients include: use of indwelling epidural catheters concomitant use of other drugs that affect hemostasis, such as non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), platelet inhibitors, or other anticoagulants a history of traumatic or repeated epidural or spinal puncture a history of spinal deformity or spinal surgery Optimal timing between the administration of fondaparinux sodium and neuraxial procedures is not known. Monitor patients frequently for signs and symptoms of neurologic impairment.

If neurologic compromise is noted, urgent treatment is necessary. Consider the benefit and risks before neuraxial intervention in patients anticoagulated or to be anticoagulated for thromboprophylaxis. [See Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 ) and Drug Interactions ( 7 ).] WARNING: SPINAL/EPIDURAL HEMATOMAS See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning. Epidural or spinal hematomas may occur in patients who are anticoagulated with low molecular weight heparins (LMWH), heparinoids, or fondaparinux sodium and are receiving neuraxial anesthesia or undergoing spinal puncture.

These hematomas may result in long-term or permanent paralysis. Consider these risks when scheduling patients for spinal procedures. Factors that can increase the risk of developing epidural or spinal hematomas in these patients include: use of indwelling epidural catheters concomitant use of other drugs that affect hemostasis, such as non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), platelet inhibitors, or other anticoagulants a history of traumatic or repeated epidural or spinal puncture a history of spinal deformity or spinal surgery Monitor patients frequently for signs and symptoms of neurologic impairment.

If neurologic compromise is noted, urgent treatment is necessary. Consider the benefit and risks before neuraxial intervention in patients anticoagulated or to be anticoagulated for thromboprophylaxis. [See Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 ) and Drug Interactions ( 7 ).]

🎯 Indications and Usage 180 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Fondaparinux sodium injection is a Factor Xa inhibitor (anticoagulant) indicated for: Prophylaxis of deep vein thrombosis (DVT) in patients undergoing hip fracture surgery (including extended prophylaxis), hip replacement surgery, knee replacement surgery, or abdominal surgery. ( 1.1 ) Treatment of DVT or acute pulmonary embolism (PE) when administered in conjunction with warfarin. ( 1.2 , 1.3 )

1.1Prophylaxis of Deep Vein Thrombosis Fondaparinux sodium injection is indicated for the prophylaxis of deep vein thrombosis (DVT), which may lead to pulmonary embolism (PE): in patients undergoing hip fracture surgery, including extended prophylaxis; in patients undergoing hip replacement surgery; in patients undergoing knee replacement surgery; in patients undergoing abdominal surgery who are at risk for thromboembolic complications.

1.2Treatment of Acute Deep Vein Thrombosis Fondaparinux sodium injection is indicated for the treatment of acute deep vein thrombosis when administered in conjunction with warfarin sodium.

1.3Treatment of Acute Pulmonary Embolism Fondaparinux sodium injection is indicated for the treatment of acute pulmonary embolism when administered in conjunction with warfarin sodium when initial therapy is administered in the hospital.

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION For subcutaneous use, do not mix with other injections or infusions. ( 2.1 ) Prophylaxis of deep vein thrombosis: fondaparinux sodium 2.5 mg subcutaneously once daily after hemostasis has been established. The initial dose should be given no earlier than 6 to 8 hours after surgery and continued for 5 to 9 days.

For patients undergoing hip fracture surgery, extended prophylaxis up to 24 additional days is recommended. ( 2.2 , 2.3 ) Treatment of deep vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism:fondaparinux sodium 5 mg (body wright < 50 kg), 7.5mg (50 to 100 kg), or 100 mg (>100 kg) subcutaneously once daily. Treatment should continue for at least 5 days until INR 2 to 3 achieved with warfarin sodium.

( 2.4 )

2.1Important Dosing Information Do not mix other medications or solutions with fondaparinux sodium injection. Administer fondaparinux sodium injection only subcutaneously. Discard unused portion.

2.2Deep Vein Thrombosis Prophylaxis Following Hip Fracture, Hip Replacement, and Knee Replacement Surgery In patients undergoing hip fracture, hip replacement, or knee replacement surgery, the recommended dose of fondaparinux sodium injection is 2.5 mg administered by subcutaneous injection once daily after hemostasis has been established. Administer the initial dose no earlier than 6 to 8 hours after surgery. Administration of fondaparinux sodium injection earlier than 6 hours after surgery increases the risk of major bleeding.

The usual duration of therapy is 5 to 9 days; up to 11 days of therapy was administered in clinical trials. In patients undergoing hip fracture surgery, an extended prophylaxis course of up to 24 additional days is recommended. In patients undergoing hip fracture surgery, a total of 32 days (peri-operative and extended prophylaxis) was administered in clinical trials. [See Warnings and Precautions ( 5.6 ), Adverse Reactions ( 6 ), and Clinical Studies ( 14 ).]

2.3Deep Vein Thrombosis Prophylaxis Following Abdominal Surgery In patients undergoing abdominal surgery, the recommended dose of fondaparinux sodium injection is 2.5 mg administered by subcutaneous injection once daily after hemostasis has been established. Administer the initial dose no earlier than 6 to 8 hours after surgery. Administration of fondaparinux sodium injection earlier than 6 hours after surgery increases the risk of major bleeding.

The usual duration of administration is 5 to 9 days, and up to 10 days of fondaparinux sodium injection was administered in clinical trials.

2.4Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism Treatment In patients with acute symptomatic DVT and in patients with acute symptomatic PE, the recommended dose of fondaparinux sodium injection is 5 mg (body weight <50 kg), 7.5 mg (body weight 50 to 100 kg), or 10 mg (body weight >100 kg) by subcutaneous injection once daily (fondaparinux sodium treatment regimen). Initiate concomitant treatment with warfarin sodium as soon as possible, usually within 72 hours. Continue treatment with fondaparinux sodium injection for at least 5 days and until a therapeutic oral anticoagulant effect is established (INR 2 to 3).

The usual duration of administration of fondaparinux sodium injection is 5 to 9 days; up to 26 days of fondaparinux sodium injection was administered in clinical trials. [See Warnings and Precautions ( 5.6 ), Adverse Reactions ( 6 ), and Clinical Studies ( 14 ).]

2.5Hepatic Impairment No dose adjustment is recommended in patients with mild to moderate hepatic impairment, based upon single-dose pharmacokinetic data. Pharmacokinetic data are not available for patients with severe hepatic impairment. Patients with hepatic impairment may be particularly vulnerable to bleeding during fondaparinux sodium therapy. Observe these patients closely for signs and symptoms of bleeding. [See Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.4 ).]

2.6Instructions for Use Fondaparinux sodium injection is provided in a single-dose, prefilled syringe affixed with an automatic…

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 44 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Single-dose, prefilled syringes containing either 2.5 mg, 5 mg, 7.5 mg, or 10 mg of fondaparinux sodium. ( 3 ) Single-dose, prefilled syringes containing 2.5 mg, 5 mg, 7.5 mg, or 10 mg of fondaparinux sodium. ( 3 )

Contraindications 157 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Fondaparinux sodium injection is contraindicated in the following conditions:( 4 ) Severe renal impairment (creatinine clearance [CrCl] <30 mL/min). [See Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 ) and Use in Specific Populations ( 8.6 ).] Active major bleeding. Bacterial endocarditis. Thrombocytopenia associated with a positive in vitro test for anti-platelet antibody in the presence of fondaparinux sodium.

Body weight <50 kg (venous thromboembolism [VTE] prophylaxis only) [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )]. History of serious hypersensitivity reaction (e.g., angioedema, anaphylactoid/ anaphylactic reactions) to fondaparinux sodium injection. Fondaparinux sodium injection is contraindicated in the following conditions: ( 4 ) Severe renal impairment (creatinine clearance <30 mL/min) in prophylaxis or treatment of venous thromboembolism.

Active major bleeding. Bacterial endocarditis. Thrombocytopenia associated with a positive in vitro test for anti-platelet antibody in the presence of fondaparinux sodium.

Body weight <50 kg (venous thromboembolism prophylaxis only). History of serious hypersensitivity reaction (e.g., angioedema, anaphylactoid/anaphylactic reactions) to fondaparinux sodium injection.

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~3 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Spinal or epidural hematomas, which may result in long-term or permanent paralysis, can occur. ( 5.1 ) Patient taking fondaparinux sodium with risk factors for bleeding are at increased risk of hemorrhage. ( 5.2 ) Bleeding risk is increased in renal impairment and in patients with low body weight <50 kg.

( 5.3 , 5.4 ) Thrombocytopenia can occur with administration of fondaparinux sodium. ( 5.5 ) Periodic routine complete blood counts (including platelet counts), serum creatinine level, and stool occult blood tests are recommended ( 5.6 ) The packaging (needle guard) contains dry natural rubber and may cause allergic reactions in latex sensitive individuals ( 5.7 )

5.1Neuraxial Anesthesia and Post-operative Indwelling Epidural Catheter Use Spinal or epidural hematomas, which may result in long-term or permanent paralysis, can occur with the use of anticoagulants and neuraxial (spinal/epidural) anesthesia or spinal puncture. The risk of these events may be higher with post-operative use of indwelling epidural catheters or concomitant use of other drugs affecting hemostasis such as NSAIDs [see Boxed Warning]. In the postmarketing experience, epidural or spinal hematoma has been reported in association with the use of fondaparinux sodium by subcutaneous (SC) injection.

Optimal timing between the administration of fondaparinux sodium and neuraxial procedures is not known. Monitor patients undergoing these procedures for signs and symptoms of neurologic impairment such as midline back pain, sensory and motor deficits (numbness, tingling, or weakness in lower limbs), and bowel or bladder dysfunction. Consider the potential risks and benefits before neuraxial intervention in patients anticoagulated or who may be anticoagulated for thromboprophylaxis.

5.2Hemorrhage Fondaparinux sodium increases the risk of hemorrhage in patients at risk for bleeding, including conditions such as congenital or acquired bleeding disorders, active ulcerative and angiodysplastic gastrointestinal disease, hemorrhagic stroke, uncontrolled arterial hypertension, diabetic retinopathy, or shortly after brain, spinal, or ophthalmological surgery. Cases of elevated aPTT temporally associated with bleeding events have been reported following administration of fondaparinux sodium (with or without concomitant administration of other anticoagulants) [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.5 ) ].

Do not administer agents that enhance the risk of hemorrhage with fondaparinux sodium unless essential for the management of the underlying condition, such as vitamin K antagonists for the treatment of VTE. If co-administration is essential, closely monitor patients for signs and symptoms of bleeding. Do not administer the initial dose of fondaparinux sodium earlier than 6 to 8 hours after surgery.

Administration earlier than 6 hours after surgery increases risk of major bleeding [see Dosage and Administration ( 2 ) and Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 ) ].

5.3Renal Impairment and Bleeding Risk Fondaparinux sodium increases the risk of bleeding in patients with impaired renal function due to reduced clearance [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.4 )] . The incidence of major bleeding by renal function status reported in clinical trials of patients receiving fondaparinux sodium for VTE surgical prophylaxis is provided in Table 1. In these patient populations, the following is recommended: In patients who weigh less than 50 kg: Do not use fondaparinux sodium for VTE prophylaxis and treatment in patients with CrCl <30 mL/min [see Contraindications ( 4 )] .

Fondaparinux sodium may cause prolonged anticoagulation in patients with CrCl 30 to 50 mL/min. Table 1. Incidence of Major Bleeding in Patients Treated With Fondaparinux Sodium by Renal Function Status for Surgical Prophylaxis and Treatment of Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT) and Pulmonary Embolism (PE) Degree of Renal Impairment Population Timing of Dose Normal % (n/N) Mild % (n/N) Moderate % (n/N) Severe % (n/N) CrCl (mL/min) ≥…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following serious adverse reactions are described elsewhere in the labeling: Spinal or epidural hematomas [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Hemorrhage [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . Renal impairment and bleeding risk [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] .

Body weight <50 Kg and bleeding risk [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] . Thrombocytopenia [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] . The most clinically significant adverse reactions associated with the use of fondaparinux sodium are bleeding complications.

( 6.1 ) Mild local irritation (injection site bleeding, rash and pruritus) may occur following subcutaneous injection. ( 6.2 ) Anemia, insomnia, increased wound drainage, hypokalemia, dizziness,hypotension, confusion, bullous eruption, hematoma, post-operative hemorrhage, and purpura may occur. ( 6.4 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Zydus Pharmaceuticals (USA), Inc. at 1-877-993-8779 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. The adverse reaction information below is based on data from 8,877 patients exposed to fondaparinux sodium in controlled trials of hip fracture, hip replacement, major knee, or abdominal surgeries, and DVT and PE treatment. Hemorrhage During administration of fondaparinux sodium, the most common adverse reactions were bleeding complications [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2 )] .

Hip Fracture, Hip Replacement, and Knee Replacement Surgery The rates of major bleeding events reported during 3 active-controlled peri-operative VTE prophylaxis trials with enoxaparin sodium in hip fracture, hip replacement, or knee replacement surgery (N = 3,616) and in an extended VTE prophylaxis trial (n =327) with fondaparinux sodium 2.5 mg are provided in Table 2. Hip Fracture, Hip Replacement, and Knee Replacement Surgery: The rates of major bleeding events reported during the hip fracture, hip replacement, or knee replacement surgery clinical trials with fondaparinux sodium 2.5 mg are provided in Table 2.

Table 2. Bleeding Across Randomized, Controlled Hip Fracture, Hip Replacement, and Knee Replacement Surgery Studies Peri-Operative (Day 1 to Day 7 ± Prophylaxis 1 post-surgery) Extended (Day 8 to Day 28 Prophylaxis ± 2 post-surgery) Fondaparinux Sodium 2.5 mg SC once daily N = 3,616 Enoxaparin Sodium a, b N = 3,956 Fondaparinux Sodium 2.5 mg SC once daily N = 327 Placebo SC once daily N = 329 Major bleeding c 96 (2.7%) 75 (1.9%) 8 (2.4%) 2 (0.6%) Hip fracture 18/831 (2.2%) 19/842 (2.3%) 8/327 (2.4%) 2/329 (0.6%) Hip replacement 67/2,268 (3.0%) 55/2,597 (2.1%) — — Knee replacement 11/517 (2.1%) 1/517 (0.2%) — — Fatal bleeding 0 (0.0%) 1 (<0.1%) 0 (0.0%) 0 (0.0%) Non-fatal bleeding at critical site 0 (0.0%) 1 (<0.1%) 0 (0.0%) 0 (0.0%) Re-operation due to bleeding 12 (0.3%) 10 (0.3%) 2 (0.6%) 2 (0.6%) BI ≥2 d 84 (2.3%) 63 (1.6%) 6 (1.8%) 0 (0.0%) Minor bleeding e 109 (3.0%) 116 (2.9%) 5 (1.5%) 2 (0.6%) a Enoxaparin sodium dosing regimen: 30 mg every 12 hours or 40 mg once daily. b Not approved for use in patients undergoing hip fracture surgery. c Major bleeding was defined as clinically overt bleeding that was (1) fatal, (2) bleeding at critical site (e.g. intracranial, retroperitoneal, intraocular, pericardial, spinal, or into adrenal gland), (3) associated with re-operation at operative site, or (4) with a bleeding index (BI) ≥2. d BI ≥2: Overt bleeding associated only with a bleeding index (BI) ≥2 calculated as [number of whole blood or packed red blood cell units transfused + [(pre-bleeding) – (post-bleeding)] hemoglobin (g/dL) values]. e Minor bleeding was defined as clinically overt bleeding that was not major.

A separate analysis of major bleeding across…

🔄 Drug Interactions ~1 min read

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS In clinical studies performed with fondaparinux sodium, the concomitant use of oral anticoagulants (warfarin), platelet inhibitors (acetylsalicylic acid), NSAIDs (piroxicam), and digoxin did not significantly affect the pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics of fondaparinux sodium. In addition, fondaparinux sodium neither influenced the pharmacodynamics of warfarin, acetylsalicylic acid, piroxicam, and digoxin, nor the pharmacokinetics of digoxin at steady state. Agents that may enhance the risk of hemorrhage should be discontinued prior to initiation of therapy with fondaparinux sodium unless these agents are essential.

If co-administration is necessary, monitor patients closely for hemorrhage. [See Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 ).] In an in vitro study in human liver microsomes, inhibition of CYP2A6 hydroxylation of coumarin by fondaparinux (200 micromolar i.e., 350 mg/L) was 17 to 28%. Inhibition of the other isozymes evaluated (CYPs 1A2, 2C9, 2C19, 2D6, 3A4, and 3E1) was 0 to 16%. Since fondaparinux does not markedly inhibit CYP450s (CYP1A2, CYP2A6, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, CYP2D6, CYP2E1, or CYP3A4) in vitro, fondaparinux sodium is not expected to significantly interact with other drugs in vivo by inhibition of metabolism mediated by these isozymes.

Since fondaparinux sodium does not bind significantly to plasma proteins other than ATIII, no drug interactions by protein-binding displacement are expected. Discontinue agents that may enhance the risk of hemorrhage prior to initiation of therapy with fondaparinux sodium unless essential. If co-administration is necessary, monitor patients closely for hemorrhage.

( 7 )

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Safety and effectiveness of fondaparinux sodium in pediatric patients have not been established. Because the risk for bleeding during treatment with fondaparinux sodium is increased in adults who weigh <50 kg, bleeding may be a particular safety concern for use of fondaparinux sodium in the pediatric population. ( 4 , 5.4 ) Because elderly patients are more likely to have reduced renal function, fondaparinux sodium should be used with caution in these patients.

( 8.5 ) The risk of bleeding is increased with reduced renal or hepatic function. ( 8.6 , 8.7 )

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Available data from published literature and postmarketing reports have not reported a clear association with fondaparinux sodium and adverse development outcomes. Fondaparinux sodium plasma concentrations obtained from four women treated with fondaparinux sodium during pregnancy and their newborn infants demonstrated low placental transfer of fondaparinux sodium (see Data) . There are risk to the mother associated with untreated venous thromboembolism in pregnancy and a risk of hemorrhage in the mother and fetus associated with use of anticoagulants (see Clinical Consideration) .

In animal reproduction studies, there was no evidence of adverse developmental outcomes when fondaparinux sodium was administered to pregnant rats and rabbits during organogenesis at doses 32 and 65 times, respectively, the recommended human dose based on body surface area. The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Clinical Consideration Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Pregnancy confers an increased risk for thromboembolism that is higher for women with underlying thromboembolic disease and certain high-risk pregnancy conditions. Published data describe that women with a previous history of venous thrombosis are at the risk for recurrence during pregnancy.

Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Fondaparinux sodium has been demonstrated to cross the placenta in humans (see Data) . Use of anticoagulants, including fondaparinux sodium, may increase the risk of bleeding in the fetus and neonate. Monitor neonates for bleeding [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 , 5.4 , 5.6 )] .

Labor or delivery All patients receiving anticoagulants, including pregnant women, are at risk for bleeding. Fondaparinux sodium use during labor or delivery in women who are receiving neuraxial anesthesia may result in epidural or spinal hematomas. Pregnant women receiving fondaparinux sodium should be carefully monitored for evidence of bleeding or unexpected changes in coagulation parameters.

Consideration for use of a shorter acting anticoagulant should be specification addressed as delivery approached [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 , 5.6 )]. Data Human Data In a study of five pregnant women treated with fondaparinux sodium during the third trimester of pregnancy at a dose of 2.5 mg/day, four of the women had elevated anti-factor Xa activity noted in the cord blood. Anti- factor Xa clotting times in these four cases were between 37.5 and 50.9 seconds.

The patient who did not have elevated anti- factor Xa activity had receied only one dose of fondaparinux sodium 22 hours prior to delivery. The concentration of fondaparinux sodium in umbilical cord plasma was approximately 1/10th the level of fondaparinux sodium maternal plasma. None of the infants experienced adverse effects.

Animal Data Embryo-fetal development studies have been conducted with fondaparinux sodium in pregnant rats at subcutaneous doses up to 10 mg/kg/day (about 32 times the recommended human dose based on body surface area) administered from days 6 to 17 of gesta…

🤰 Pregnancy ~3 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Available data from published literature and postmarketing reports have not reported a clear association with fondaparinux sodium and adverse development outcomes. Fondaparinux sodium plasma concentrations obtained from four women treated with fondaparinux sodium during pregnancy and their newborn infants demonstrated low placental transfer of fondaparinux sodium (see Data) . There are risk to the mother associated with untreated venous thromboembolism in pregnancy and a risk of hemorrhage in the mother and fetus associated with use of anticoagulants (see Clinical Consideration) .

In animal reproduction studies, there was no evidence of adverse developmental outcomes when fondaparinux sodium was administered to pregnant rats and rabbits during organogenesis at doses 32 and 65 times, respectively, the recommended human dose based on body surface area. The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Clinical Consideration Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Pregnancy confers an increased risk for thromboembolism that is higher for women with underlying thromboembolic disease and certain high-risk pregnancy conditions. Published data describe that women with a previous history of venous thrombosis are at the risk for recurrence during pregnancy.

Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Fondaparinux sodium has been demonstrated to cross the placenta in humans (see Data) . Use of anticoagulants, including fondaparinux sodium, may increase the risk of bleeding in the fetus and neonate. Monitor neonates for bleeding [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 , 5.4 , 5.6 )] .

Labor or delivery All patients receiving anticoagulants, including pregnant women, are at risk for bleeding. Fondaparinux sodium use during labor or delivery in women who are receiving neuraxial anesthesia may result in epidural or spinal hematomas. Pregnant women receiving fondaparinux sodium should be carefully monitored for evidence of bleeding or unexpected changes in coagulation parameters.

Consideration for use of a shorter acting anticoagulant should be specification addressed as delivery approached [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 , 5.6 )]. Data Human Data In a study of five pregnant women treated with fondaparinux sodium during the third trimester of pregnancy at a dose of 2.5 mg/day, four of the women had elevated anti-factor Xa activity noted in the cord blood. Anti- factor Xa clotting times in these four cases were between 37.5 and 50.9 seconds.

The patient who did not have elevated anti- factor Xa activity had receied only one dose of fondaparinux sodium 22 hours prior to delivery. The concentration of fondaparinux sodium in umbilical cord plasma was approximately 1/10th the level of fondaparinux sodium maternal plasma. None of the infants experienced adverse effects.

Animal Data Embryo-fetal development studies have been conducted with fondaparinux sodium in pregnant rats at subcutaneous doses up to 10 mg/kg/day (about 32 times the recommended human dose based on body surface area) administered from days 6 to 17 of gestation and pregnant rabbits at subcutaneous doses up to 10 mg/kg/day (about 65 times the recommended human dose based on body surface area) administered from days 6 to 18 of gestation. These studies have revealed no evidence of adverse development outcomes when fondaparinux sodium was administered to pregnant rats and rabbits during organogenesis.

Additionally, there were no effects on pre and postnatal development in a study conducted in rats at subcutaneous dose up to 10 mg/kg/day (about 32 times the recommended human dose based on body surface area)

🧒 Pediatric Use 56 words

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness of fondaparinux sodium in pediatric patients have not been established. Because risk for bleeding during treatment with fondaparinux sodium is increased in adults who weigh <50 kg, bleeding may be a particular safety concern for use of fondaparinux sodium in the pediatric population [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )].

🧓 Geriatric Use ~1 min read

8.5Geriatric Use In clinical trials the efficacy of fondaparinux sodium in the elderly (65 years or older) was similar to that seen in patients younger than 65 years; however, serious adverse events increased with age. When using fondaparinux sodium in elderly patients, paying particular attention to dosing directions and concomitant medications (especially anti-platelet medication). [See Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 ).] Fondaparinux sodium is substantially excreted by the kidney, and the risk of adverse reactions to fondaparinux sodium may be greater in patients with impaired renal function.

Because elderly patients are more likely to have decreased renal function, assess renal function prior to fondaparinux sodium administration. [See Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 ), and Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.4 ).] In the peri-operative hip fracture, hip replacement, or knee replacement surgery clinical trials with patients receiving fondaparinux sodium 2.5 mg, serious adverse events increased with age for patients receiving fondaparinux sodium. The incidence of major bleeding in clinical trials of fondaparinux sodium by age is provided in Table 6.

Table 6. Incidence of Major Bleeding in Patients Treated With Fondaparinux Sodium by Age Age <65 years % (n/N) 65 to 74 years % (n/N) ≥75 years % (n/N) Orthopedic surgery a 1.8% (23/1,253) 2.2% (24/1,111) 2.7% (33/1,277) Extended prophylaxis 1.9% (1/52) 1.4% (1/71) 2.9% (6/204) Abdominal surgery 3.0% (19/644) 3.2% (16/507) 5.0% (14/282) DVT and PE treatment 0.6% (7/1,151) 1.6% (9/560) 2.1% (12/583) a Includes hip fracture, hip replacement, and knee replacement surgery prophylaxis.

🆘 Overdosage 52 words

10 OVERDOSAGE There is no known antidote for fondaparinux sodium. Overdose of fondaparinux sodium may lead to hemorrhagic complications. Discontinue treatment and initiate appropriate therapy if bleeding complications associated with overdosage occur. Data obtained in patients undergoing chronic intermittent hemodialysis suggest that clearance of fondaparinux sodium can increase by 20% during hemodialysis.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action The antithrombotic activity of fondaparinux sodium is the result of antithrombin III (ATIII)-mediated selective inhibition of Factor Xa. By selectively binding to ATIII, fondaparinux sodium potentiates (about 300 times) the innate neutralization of Factor Xa by ATIII. Neutralization of Factor Xa interrupts the blood coagulation cascade and thus inhibits thrombin formation and thrombus development.

Fondaparinux sodium does not inactivate thrombin (activated Factor II) and has no known effect on platelet function. At the recommended dose, fondaparinux sodium does not affect fibrinolytic activity or bleeding time.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Anti-Xa Activity: The pharmacodynamics/pharmacokinetics of fondaparinux sodium are derived from fondaparinux plasma concentrations quantified via anti-Factor Xa activity. Only fondaparinux can be used to calibrate the anti-Xa assay. (The international standards of heparin or LMWH are not appropriate for this use.) As a result, the activity of fondaparinux sodium is expressed as milligrams (mg) of the fondaparinux calibrator.

The anti-Xa activity of the drug increases with increasing drug concentration, reaching maximum values in approximately three hours.

12.3Pharmacokinetics Absorption: Fondaparinux sodium administered by subcutaneous injection is rapidly and completely absorbed (absolute bioavailability is 100%). Following a single subcutaneous dose of fondaparinux sodium 2.5 mg in young male subjects, Cmax of 0.34 mg/L is reached in approximately 2 hours. In patients undergoing treatment with fondaparinux sodium injection 2.5 mg, once daily, the peak steady-state plasma concentration is, on average, 0.39 to 0.50 mg/L and is reached approximately 3 hours post-dose.

In these patients, the minimum steady-state plasma concentration is 0.14 to 0.19 mg/L. In patients with symptomatic deep vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism undergoing treatment with fondaparinux sodium injection 5 mg (body weight <50 kg), 7.5 mg (body weight 50 to 100 kg), and 10 mg (body weight >100 kg) once daily, the body–weight-adjusted doses provide similar mean steady-state peaks and minimum plasma concentrations across all body weight categories. The mean peak steady-state plasma concentration is in the range of 1.20 to 1.26 mg/L.

In these patients, the mean minimum steady-state plasma concentration is in the range of 0.46 to 0.62 mg/L. Distribution: In healthy adults, intravenously or subcutaneously administered fondaparinux sodium distributes mainly in blood and only to a minor extent in extravascular fluid as evidenced by steady state and non-steady state apparent volume of distribution of 7 to 11 L. Similar fondaparinux distribution occurs in patients undergoing elective hip surgery or hip fracture surgery.

In vitro, fondaparinux sodium is highly (at least 94%) and specifically bound to antithrombin III (ATIII) and does not bind significantly to other plasma proteins (including platelet Factor 4 [PF4]) or red blood cells. Metabolism: In vivo metabolism of fondaparinux has not been investigated since the majority of the administered dose is eliminated unchanged in urine in individuals with normal kidney function. Elimination: In individuals with normal kidney function, fondaparinux is eliminated in urine mainly as unchanged drug.

In healthy individuals up to 75 years of age, up to 77% of a single subcutaneous or intravenous fondaparinux dose is eliminated in urine as unchanged drug in 72 hours. The elimination half-life is 17 to 21 hours.

12.4Special Populations Renal Impairment: Fondaparinux elimination is prolonged in patients with renal impairment since the major route of elimination is urinary excretion of unchanged drug. In patients undergoing prophylaxis following elective hip surgery or hip fracture surgery, the total clearance of fondaparinux is approximately 25% lower in patients with mild renal impairment (CrCl 50 to 80 mL/min), approximately 40% lower in patie…

🧬 Mechanism of Action 89 words

12.1Mechanism of Action The antithrombotic activity of fondaparinux sodium is the result of antithrombin III (ATIII)-mediated selective inhibition of Factor Xa. By selectively binding to ATIII, fondaparinux sodium potentiates (about 300 times) the innate neutralization of Factor Xa by ATIII. Neutralization of Factor Xa interrupts the blood coagulation cascade and thus inhibits thrombin formation and thrombus development.

Fondaparinux sodium does not inactivate thrombin (activated Factor II) and has no known effect on platelet function. At the recommended dose, fondaparinux sodium does not affect fibrinolytic activity or bleeding time.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 196 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Fondaparinux Sodium Injection USP is available in the following strengths and package sizes: 2.5 mg fondaparinux sodium in 0.5 mL single-dose prefilled syringe, affixed with a 27-gauge x ½-inch needle and an automatic needle protection system with blue plunger rod. NDC 11797-154-09 2 Single Dose Syringes NDC 11797-154-06 10 Single Dose Syringes 5 mg fondaparinux sodium in 0.4 mL single-dose prefilled syringe, affixed with a 27-gauge x½-inch needle and an automatic needle protection system with orange plunger rod.

NDC 11797-155-09 2 Single Dose Syringes NDC 11797-155-06 10 Single Dose Syringes 7.5 mg fondaparinux sodium in 0.6 mL single-dose prefilled syringe, affixed with a 27-gauge x½-inch needle and an automatic needle protection system with magenta plunger rod. NDC 11797-156-09 2 Single Dose Syringes NDC 11797-156-06 10 Single Dose Syringes 10 mg fondaparinux sodium in 0.8 mL single-dose prefilled syringe, affixed with a 27-gauge x½-inch needle and an automatic needle protection system with violet plunger rod. NDC 11797-157-09 2 Single Dose Syringes NDC 11797-157-06 10 Single Dose Syringes Store at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F); excursions permitted between 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) [See USP Controlled Room Temperature.] Discard unused portion.

📋 Description 157 words

11 DESCRIPTION Fondaparinux Sodium Injection USP is a sterile solution containing fondaparinux sodium. It is a synthetic and specific inhibitor of activated Factor X (Xa). Fondaparinux sodium is methyl O-2-deoxy-6-O-sulfo-2-(sulfoamino)-α-D-glucopyranosyl-(1→4)-O-β-D-glucopyra-nuronosyl-(1→4)-O-2-deoxy-3,6-di-O-sulfo-2-(sulfoamino)-α-D-glucopyranosyl-(1→4)-O-2-O-sulfo-α-L-idopyranuronosyl-(1→4)-2-deoxy-6-O-sulfo-2-(sulfoamino)-α-D-glucopyranoside, decasodium salt.

The molecular formula of fondaparinux sodium is C31H43N3Na10O49S8 and its molecular weight is 1728. The structural formula is provided below: Fondaparinux sodium is supplied as a sterile, preservative-free injectable solution for subcutaneous use. Each single-dose, prefilled syringe of fondaparinux sodium, affixed with an automatic needle protection system, contains 2.5 mg of fondaparinux sodium in 0.5 mL, 5.0 mg of fondaparinux sodium in 0.4 mL, 7.5 mg of fondaparinux sodium in 0.6 mL, or 10.0 mg of fondaparinux sodium in 0.8 mL of an isotonic solution of sodium chloride and water for injection.

May also contain sodium hydroxide and/or hydrochloric acid as pH adjusters. The final drug product is a clear and colorless to slightly yellow liquid with a pH between 5.0 and 8.0. image description

💬 Information for Patients ~2 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION See FDA-Approved Patient Labeling ( 17.2 )

17.1Patient Advice If the patients have had neuraxial anesthesia or spinal puncture, and particularly, if they are taking concomitant NSAIDS, platelet inhibitors, or other anticoagulants, they should be informed to watch for signs and symptoms of spinal or epidural hematomas, such as back pain, tingling, numbness (especially in the lower limbs), muscular weakness, and stool or urine incontinence. If any of these symptoms occur, the patients should contact his or her physician immediately. The use of aspirin and other NSAIDS may enhance the risk of hemorrhage.

Their use should be discontinued prior to fondaparinux sodium therapy whenever possible; if co-administration is essential, the patient’s clinical and laboratory status should be closely monitored. [See Drug Interactions ( 7 ).] If patients must self-administer fondaparinux sodium (e.g., if fondaparinux sodium is used at home), they should be advised of the following: Fondaparinux sodium should be given by subcutaneous injection. Patients must be instructed in the proper technique for administration. The most important risk with fondaparinux sodium administration is bleeding.

Patients should be counseled on signs and symptoms of possible bleeding. It may take them longer than usual to stop bleeding. They may bruise and/or bleed more easily when they are treated with fondaparinux sodium.

They should report any unusual bleeding, bruising, or signs of thrombocytopenia (such as a rash of dark red spots under the skin) to their physician [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 , 5.4 )]. To tell their physicians and dentists they are taking fondaparinux sodium and/or any other product known to affect bleeding before any surgery is scheduled and before any new drug is taken [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. To tell their physicians and dentists of all medications they are taking, including those obtained without a prescription, such as aspirin or other NSAIDs. [See Drug Interactions ( 7 ).] Keep out of the reach of children.

17.2FDA-Approved Patient Labeling Patient labeling is provided as a tear-off leaflet at the end of this full prescribing information. Manufactured by: Italfamaco S.p.A. viale Fulvio Testi, 330 – 20126 Milan Italy Revised 10/2020

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.