HomeNDC LookupIngredientsCabergoline › 27808-0315-01
image loading
(from DailyMed)

CABERGOLINE .5 mg Tablet, 8-count

by Cranbury Pharmaceuticals, LLC · 8 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE (27808-315-01)
NDC 27808-0315-01
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 27808-315-01 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Aug 20, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 27808-315-01
Product NDC 27808-315
11-digit billing NDC 27808031501
RxCUI 199703
UNII LL60K9J05T
UPC 0327808315014
Application # ANDA220309
SPL Set ID 8562f94f-a59a-4893-aefc-ea6547b01e92
Established class (EPC) Ergot Derivative
Chemical class Ergolines
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2026-08-01
Route ORAL
Dosage form TABLET
Substance CABERGOLINE
TE code (Orange Book) AB · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 27808-315-01 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 27808-0315-01. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Ergot Derivative class.

Pharmacologic class Ergot Derivative
Drug family (ATC) Prolactine inhibitors, Dopamine agonists
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerCranbury Pharmaceuticals, LLC
Application holderRENATA PLC
FDA applicationANDA220309 (ANDA)
Labeler code27808
First marketedAug 2026
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio44 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Prolactin is a hormone your pituitary gland makes — it's best known for triggering breast milk production. When prolactin is too high outside of pregnancy or breastfeeding, it can...
  • What exactly is cabergoline treating — what does 'high prolactin' mean for me?
  • Prolactin levels can start to drop within a few weeks of starting cabergoline, though it may take longer for symptoms like irregular periods to fully improve. Your dose will be adj...
  • How soon will I feel better, and how long will I need to take it?
📖 Read our full Cabergoline guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII 3SY5LH9PMK
    Anhydrous lactose is a milk sugar with no water content. It acts as a filler and binder in tablets and capsules, adding bulk and helping ingredients stick together.
  • UNII GMW67QNF9C
    Leucine is an amino acid derived from natural sources. It acts as a glidant and flow agent in powders and tablets, helping the medicine move smoothly during manufacturing and packaging.
  • UNII 70097M6I30
    Magnesium stearate is a salt made from magnesium and stearic acid, a fatty substance. It's used in tablets and capsules as a lubricant and glidant to help ingredients flow smoothly during manufacturing and prevent sticking.

3 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eachPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
ℹ️
No price is published for this exact package yet. CMS surveys NADAC per package size, so a different pack of the same drug often has one.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Cabergoline .5 mg 23155-0823-73 Heritage 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 00093-5420-88 Teva 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 59762-1005-01 Mylan 8 tablets $1.346 Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 69238-2693-01 Amneal 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 70069-0824-08 Somerset 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 50742-0118-08 Ingenus 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 70512-0860-08 SOLA 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 50090-5834-00 A-S 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mg 50090-6596-00 A-S 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mg 64380-0202-01 Strides 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mg 50090-7642-00 A-S 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mg 50090-3157-00 A-S 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mgthis 27808-0315-01 Cranbury 8 tablets AB FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2026
On the market since
Aug 2026
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
listed with the FDA
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

📊 Medicare Part D spend CMS · PART D · 2026 (Q1)

Medicare Part D (outpatient prescription) spending for Cabergoline — the program that covers self-administered drugs. 7 manufacturers.
⚠️ Drug-level data: CMS publishes Part D spending by drug, not by NDC — these figures combine every manufacturer, strength and package size sold under the name Cabergoline. That’s a different level of aggregation than the Medicaid card above, which is specific to this exact 11-digit NDC (pack size included), so the two aren’t directly comparable.
Period
Total Part D spend
$1.4M
Claims incl. refills
24.7K
Beneficiaries
17.1K
Spend / beneficiary
$81.78
Spend / claim
$56.60
Trend by period
💵 About the dollar figures: spending is what Part D plans paid before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower. A blank patient count means fewer than 11 people — CMS hides counts that small to protect privacy. Source: CMS Medicare Quarterly Part D Spending by Drug (data.cms.gov), updated quarterly.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Cabergoline — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Headache339
Fatigue285
Nausea279
Dizziness228
Malaise214
Pain199
Diarrhoea181

Age at onset

Neonate24
Infant2
Child2
Adolescent4
Adult423
Elderly132

Reporter sex

4,839 reports
Male · 41%
Female · 59%
Unknown · 1%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization1,607
Life-threatening237
Disabling181
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2024 2025 2026 321 149
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
27808-0315-01 You're viewing this 8 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE (27808-315-01) 2026-08-01 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos — Not published for this NDC No photo available yet for this listing.
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 27808-315-01, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 27808-0315-01, written without dashes as 27808031501. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 27808-0315-01, the first segment (27808) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Cranbury Pharmaceuticals, LLC; the middle segment (0315) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (01) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Cranbury Pharmaceuticals, LLC. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Cranbury Pharmaceuticals, LLC is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 112 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Cabergoline tablets is an ergot derivative indicated for the treatment of hyperprolactinemic disorders, either idiopathic or due to pituitary adenomas in adults. Limitations of Use Avoid use of cabergoline tablets for the inhibition or suppression of postpartum physiologic lactation because of the risk of serious adverse reactions [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] . Cabergoline tablets is an ergot derivative indicated for the treatment of hyperprolactinemic disorders, either idiopathic or due to pituitary adenomas in adults.

( 1 ) Limitations of Use Avoid use of cabergoline tablets for the inhibition or suppression of postpartum physiologic lactation because of the risk of serious adverse reactions. ( 5.4 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~1 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Before initiating cabergoline tablets evaluate for valvular heart disease, including with an echocardiogram. If valvular disease is detected, do not administer cabergoline tablets. ( 2.1 ) Recommended starting dosage of cabergoline tablets is 0.25 mg orally twice weekly.

( 2.2 ) Titrate cabergoline tablets to achieve normal serum prolactin levels by increasing cabergoline tablets by 0.25 mg orally twice weekly at intervals of no less than 4 weeks. ( 2.2 ) Maximum recommended dosage is 1 mg orally, twice weekly. ( 2.2 )

2.1Recommended Evaluation Before Initiating Cabergoline Tablets Before initiating cabergoline tablets evaluate for valvular heart disease, including with an echocardiogram. If valvular disease is detected, do not administer cabergoline tablets [see Contraindications ( 4 ) and Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] .

2.2Recommended Dosage The recommended starting dosage of cabergoline tablets is 0.25 mg orally twice weekly. Titrate cabergoline tablets to achieve normal serum prolactin levels by increasing cabergoline tablets by 0.25 mg orally twice weekly at intervals of no less than 4 weeks. The maximum recommended dosage is 1 mg orally, twice weekly [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] .

Administer cabergoline tablets with or without food [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] . If cabergoline tablets is discontinued, monitor the serum prolactin level periodically to determine whether cabergoline tablets should be reinstituted.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 40 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablets: 0.5 mg, white, oval shaped, beveled edge tablets, debossed 'c' and 'l' on one side with deep scoring, and the other side is plain. Tablets: 0.5 mg, white, with functional score. ( 3 )

Contraindications 112 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Cabergoline tablets is contraindicated in patients with: Uncontrolled hypertension. Known hypersensitivity to ergot derivatives. History of cardiac valvular disorders, as suggested by anatomical evidence of valvulopathy of any valve, determined by pre-treatment evaluation including echocardiographic demonstration of valve leaflet thickening, valve restriction, or mixed valve restriction-stenosis, or history of pericardial fibrosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] .

History of pleural, pulmonary, or retroperitoneal fibrotic disorders [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . Uncontrolled hypertension. ( 4 ) Known hypersensitivity to ergot derivatives.

( 4 ) History of cardiac valvular disorders, or pericardial fibrosis. ( 5.1 ) History of pleural, pulmonary, or retroperitoneal fibrotic disorders. ( 5.2 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~2 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Cardiac Valvulopathy and Pericardial Fibrosis: Before initiating cabergoline tablets, perform a cardiovascular evaluation, including echocardiogram, to evaluate for valvular disease. During cabergoline tablets treatment, monitor for the development of valvulopathy with a cardiac echocardiogram at intervals of 6 to 12 months or as clinically indicated and monitor for chest pain and signs and symptoms of heart failure (if heart failure occurs, exclude valvular fibrosis and pericarditis). Consider additional clinical and diagnostic monitoring at baseline and as necessary during cabergoline tablets treatment.

Use cabergoline tablets in patients treated with other drugs associated with valvulopathy only if the potential benefit of cabergoline tablets outweighs the risk. Discontinue cabergoline tablets if the patient has a new diagnosis of valvular regurgitation, valvular restriction, valve leaflet thickening, or pericarditis. ( 5.1 ) Pleural, Pulmonary and Retroperitoneal Fibrosis: During cabergoline tablets treatment monitor for signs and symptoms of progressive fibrosis, (e.g., pleuro-pulmonary disease, renal impairment, ureteral/abdominal vascular obstruction).

Consider clinical and diagnostic monitoring for pleural, pulmonary, and retroperitoneal fibrosis at baseline and as necessary during cabergoline tablets treatment. If pleural, pericardial, retroperitoneal, or pulmonary fibrosis occur, discontinue cabergoline tablets. ( 5.2 ) Orthostatic Hypotension: Check blood pressure at baseline and during treatment with cabergoline tablets and monitor for orthostatic hypotension.

( 5.3 ) Risks with Use of Cabergoline Tablets for Postpartum Lactation Inhibition or Suppression: Avoid use of cabergoline tablets for the inhibition or suppression of physiologic lactation. Use of bromocriptine, another dopamine agonist for this unapproved use has been associated with cases of hypertension, stroke, myocardial infarction, seizures, and death. ( 5.4 ) Impulse Control Disorders and Compulsive Behaviors: Specifically ask patients about the development of new or increased gambling urges, sexual urges, uncontrolled spending, or other urges while being treated with cabergoline tablets.

Consider dosage reduction or stopping cabergoline tablets if a patient develops such urges while taking cabergoline tablets. ( 5.5 )

5.1Cardiac Valvulopathy and Pericardial Fibrosis Before initiating cabergoline tablets, perform a cardiovascular evaluation, including with an echocardiogram, to evaluate for valvular disease. Cabergoline tablets is contraindicated in the presence of valvular disease or pericardial fibrosis [see Contraindications ( 4 )]. Cases of valvular and pericardial fibrosis have often manifested as heart failure.

Following cabergoline tablets treatment initiation, monitor for the development of valvulopathy with a cardiac echocardiogram at intervals of 6 to 12 months or as clinically indicated with new onset edema, cardiac murmur, dyspnea, or heart failure. During cabergoline tablets treatment, monitor for chest pain and signs and symptoms of heart failure and if heart failure occurs, valvular fibrosis and pericarditis should be excluded. Consider clinical and diagnostic monitoring such as erythrocyte sedimentation rate, serum creatinine measurements, chest-x- ray, and other investigations and cardiac imaging at baseline and as necessary while patients are treated with during cabergoline tablets treatment.

Use cabergoline tablets in patients treated with other drugs associated with valvulopathy only if the potential benefit of cabergoline tablets outweighs the risk. Discontinue cabergoline tablets if the patient has a new diagnosis of valvular regurgitation, valvular restriction, valve leaflet thickening, or pericarditis. Postmarketing cases of cardiac valvulopathy have been reported in patients who received cabergoline tablets.

These cases have generally occurred during administration of high doses of cabergoline table…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are described elsewhere in the labeling: Cardiac Valvulopathy and Pericardial Fibrosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Pleural, Retroperitoneal, and Pulmonary Fibrosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . Orthostatic Hypotension [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] .

Impulse Control Disorders and Compulsive Behaviors [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] . The most common adverse reactions (incidence >10%) are nausea, headache, and dizziness. ( 6 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Cranbury Pharmaceuticals, LLC at 1-732-940-0358 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. The safety of cabergoline tablets has been evaluated in more than 900 patients with hyperprolactinemic disorders. In a 4-week, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial (Cabergoline tablets vs. placebo) [see Clinical Studies ( 14 )], the incidence of the most common adverse reactions during the placebo-controlled trial in patients with hyperprolactinemic disorders is presented in Table 1.

Table 1. Adverse Reactions (n (%)) * During the 4-Week, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial in Hyperprolactinemic Females * Adverse reactions that occurred ≥1% in the cabergoline tablets group and frequency more than that reported in the placebo group. Cabergoline tablets (n=168) Placebo (n=20) Nausea 45 (27%) 4 (20%) Headache 43 (26%) 5 (25%) Dizziness 25 (15%) 1 (5%) Constipation 16 (10%) 0 % Fatigue 12 (7%) 0 % Postural hypotension 6 (4%) 0 % Dyspepsia 4 (2%) 0 % Vomiting 4 (2%) 0 % Nervousness 4 (2%) 0 % Vertigo 2 (1%) 0 % Paresthesia 2 (1%) 0 % Breast pain 2 (1%) 0 % Dysmenorrhea 2 (1%) 0 % Abnormal vision 2 (1%) 0 % In the 8-week, double-blind period of the comparative trial with bromocriptine, 2% (4/221) of cabergoline tablets-treated patients (0.5 mg twice weekly) discontinued treatment because of an adverse event and 6% (14/231) of bromocriptine-treated patients (at a dose of 2.5 mg twice daily) discontinued treatment because of an adverse event.

The most common reasons for cabergoline tablets discontinuation were headache, nausea, and vomiting (3, 2, and 2 patients, respectively). The incidence of the most common adverse events during the double-blind period of the comparative trial with bromocriptine is presented in Table 2. Table 2.

Adverse Events * During the 8-Week, Double-Blind Period of the Comparative Trial in Hyperprolactinemic Females * Adverse events reported ≥1% in the cabergoline tablets group. Abbreviation: n=number of patients. Cabergoline tablets (n=221) Bromocriptine (n=231) Nausea 63 (29%) 100 (43%) Headache 58 (26%) 62 (27%) Dizziness 38 (17%) 42 (18%) Constipation 15 (7%) 21 (9%) Asthenia 13 (6%) 15 (6%) Abdominal pain 12 (5%) 19 (8%) Dyspepsia 11 (5%) 16 (7%) Fatigue 10 (5%) 18 (8%) Vertigo 9 (4%) 10 (4%) Vomiting 9 (4%) 16 (7%) Depression 7 (3%) 5 (2%) Hot flashes 6 (3%) 3 (1%) Breast pain 5 (2%) 8 (3%) Dry mouth 5 (2%) 2 (1%) Paresthesia 5 (2%) 6 (3%) Somnolence 5 (2%) 5 (2%) Diarrhea 4 (2%) 7 (3%) Flatulence 4 (2%) 3 (1%) Pain 4 (2%) 6 (3%) Acne 3 (1%) 0% Anorexia 3 (1%) 3 (1%) Anxiety 3 (1%) 3 (1%) Hypotension 3 (1%) 4 (2%) Insomnia 3 (1%) 2 (1%) Syncope 3 (1%) 3 (1%) Abnormal vision 2 (1%) 2 (1%) Arthralgia 2 (1%) 0% Dependent edema 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Dysmenorrhea 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Impaired concentration 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Influenza-like symptoms 2 (1%) 0% Malaise 2 (1%) 0% Nervousness 2 (1%) 5 (2%) Palpitation 2 (1%) 5 (2%) Periorbital edema 2 (1%) 2 (1%) Peripheral edema 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Pruritus 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Rhinitis 2 (1%) 9 (4%) Throat irritation 2 (1%) 0% Toothache 2 (1%) 0% Events that were reported at an incidence of <1% in the clinical studies f…

🔄 Drug Interactions 48 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Cabergoline tablets, a dopamine receptor agonist, is not recommended for concomitant use with D2-antagonists, such as phenothiazines, butyrophenones, thioxanthenes, or metoclopramide. Cabergoline tablets, a dopamine receptor agonist, is not recommended for concomitant use with D2-antagonists, such as phenothiazines, butyrophenones, thioxanthenes, or metoclopramide. ( 7 )

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Pregnancy: If conception occurs during cabergoline tablets therapy, discontinue cabergoline tablets if the risks to the mother or fetus outweigh the benefits to the mother ( 8.1 )

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary If conception occurs during cabergoline tablets therapy, discontinue cabergoline tablets if the risks to the mother or fetus outweigh the benefits to the mother. There are risks to the mother associated with the use of cabergoline tablets (see Clinical Considerations) . The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in patients with hyperprolactinemic disorders, either idiopathic or due to pituitary adenomas is unknown.

All pregnancies have a risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Maternal Adverse Reactions : In general, avoid use of dopamine agonists, including cabergoline tablets, during pregnancy and the postpartum period.

The risks of cabergoline tablets use increase in pregnant females with pregnancy-induced hypertension, preeclampsia, and eclampsia. Data Human Data: Published case reports have not reported a clear association with cabergoline tablets and major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse fetal outcomes when cabergoline tablets was used during early pregnancy. However, these case reports cannot definitely establish the absence of cabergoline tablets-associated risk.

Animal Data: Embryo-fetal development studies have been performed with cabergoline administered by oral gavage in mice, rats, and rabbits: There were no teratogenic effects in the presence of maternal toxicity in mice given cabergoline at doses up to 8 mg/kg/day (approximately 55 times the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area) during the period of organogenesis. A dose of 0.012 mg/kg/day (approximately 0.14 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in rats caused an increase in post-implantation loss.

This finding is likely due to the role of prolactin in implantation in rats and is not thought to be relevant to humans. At doses of 0.5 mg/kg/day (approximately 19 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in rabbits, cabergoline caused maternal toxicity characterized by a loss of body weight and decreased food consumption. Doses of 4 mg/kg/day (approximately 150 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in the rabbit caused an increased occurrence of various malformations.

However, in another study in rabbits, no treatment-related malformations or embryofetal toxicity were observed at doses up to 8 mg/kg/day (approximately 300 times the maximum recommended human dose).

8.2Lactation Risk Summary Cabergoline tablets is not recommended in postpartum women who are breastfeeding or who are planning to breastfeed. Avoid use of cabergoline tablets for the inhibition or suppression of physiologic lactation [see Indications and Usage ( 1 ) and Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] .

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness of cabergoline tablets in pediatric patients have not been established.

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical studies of cabergoline tablets did not include sufficient numbers of patients 65 years of age and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger adult patients.

8.6Hepatic Impairment The use of cabergoline tablets in patients with severe hepatic impairment (HI) (Child-Pugh C) is not recommended. When using cabergoline tablets in patients with moderate HI (Child-Pugh B) increase monitoring of cabergoline tablets-associated adverse reactions. The recommendations for use of cabergoline tablets in patients with mild HI (Child Pugh A) is the same as those with normal hepatic function. Patients with…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary If conception occurs during cabergoline tablets therapy, discontinue cabergoline tablets if the risks to the mother or fetus outweigh the benefits to the mother. There are risks to the mother associated with the use of cabergoline tablets (see Clinical Considerations) . The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in patients with hyperprolactinemic disorders, either idiopathic or due to pituitary adenomas is unknown.

All pregnancies have a risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Maternal Adverse Reactions : In general, avoid use of dopamine agonists, including cabergoline tablets, during pregnancy and the postpartum period.

The risks of cabergoline tablets use increase in pregnant females with pregnancy-induced hypertension, preeclampsia, and eclampsia. Data Human Data: Published case reports have not reported a clear association with cabergoline tablets and major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse fetal outcomes when cabergoline tablets was used during early pregnancy. However, these case reports cannot definitely establish the absence of cabergoline tablets-associated risk.

Animal Data: Embryo-fetal development studies have been performed with cabergoline administered by oral gavage in mice, rats, and rabbits: There were no teratogenic effects in the presence of maternal toxicity in mice given cabergoline at doses up to 8 mg/kg/day (approximately 55 times the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area) during the period of organogenesis. A dose of 0.012 mg/kg/day (approximately 0.14 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in rats caused an increase in post-implantation loss.

This finding is likely due to the role of prolactin in implantation in rats and is not thought to be relevant to humans. At doses of 0.5 mg/kg/day (approximately 19 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in rabbits, cabergoline caused maternal toxicity characterized by a loss of body weight and decreased food consumption. Doses of 4 mg/kg/day (approximately 150 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in the rabbit caused an increased occurrence of various malformations.

However, in another study in rabbits, no treatment-related malformations or embryofetal toxicity were observed at doses up to 8 mg/kg/day (approximately 300 times the maximum recommended human dose).

🧒 Pediatric Use 16 words

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness of cabergoline tablets in pediatric patients have not been established.

🧓 Geriatric Use 31 words

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical studies of cabergoline tablets did not include sufficient numbers of patients 65 years of age and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger adult patients.

🆘 Overdosage 26 words

10 OVERDOSAGE Take measures to support blood pressure, if necessary. Consider contacting the Poison Help line (1-800-222-1222) or a medical toxicologist for additional overdose management recommendations.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~2 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Cabergoline is an ergot derivative and dopamine receptor agonist with a high affinity for D2 receptors. Results of in vitro studies demonstrate that cabergoline exerts a direct inhibitory effect on the secretion of prolactin by rat pituitary lactotrophs. Cabergoline decreased serum prolactin levels in reserpinized rats.

Receptor-binding studies indicate that cabergoline has low affinity for dopamine D1, α1- and α2-adrenergic, and 5-HT1- and 5- HT2-serotonin receptors.

12.2Pharmacodynamics The exposure-response relationship and time course of pharmacodynamic response for the safety and effectiveness of cabergoline tablets have not been fully characterized.

12.3Pharmacokinetics Absorption The time to reach maximum cabergoline plasma concentration was 2 to 3 hours after single oral doses of 0.5 mg to 1.5 mg (1.5 times the maximum recommended dose) of cabergoline tablets in healthy subjects. Following dosing of cabergoline tablets between 0.5 mg to 7 mg (7 times the maximum recommended dose), cabergoline plasma levels appeared to be dose-proportional. The absolute bioavailability of cabergoline is unknown.

A significant fraction of the administered dose undergoes a first-pass effect. Effect of Food: High-fat food did not alter the pharmacokinetics of cabergoline [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 )] . Distribution Protein binding of cabergoline was 40% to 42%.

Elimination The elimination half-life of cabergoline estimated from urinary data of 12 healthy subjects ranged between 63 to 69 hours. Metabolism: Cabergoline is extensively metabolized, predominately via hydrolysis of the acylurea bond or the urea moiety. Hydrolysis of the acylurea or urea moiety abolishes the prolactin-lowering effect of cabergoline, and major metabolites identified thus far do not contribute to the therapeutic effect.

Excretion: After oral dosing of radioactive cabergoline to 5 healthy volunteers, approximately 22% and 60% of the dose was excreted within 20 days in the urine and feces, respectively. Less than 4% of the dose was excreted unchanged in the urine. Nonrenal and renal clearances for cabergoline are about

3.2 L/min and

0.08L/min, respectively. Urinary excretion in hyperprolactinemic patients was similar. Specific Populations Patients with Hepatic Impairment: In a pharmacokinetic hepatic impairment (HI) study [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.6 )] : In 4 cabergoline tablets-treated patients with mild HI (Child-Pugh A), no effect on mean area under the cabergoline plasma concentration-time curve (AUC) was observed.

In 4 cabergoline tablets-treated patients with moderate HI (Child-Pugh B) there was a 1.5-fold increase in mean cabergoline AUC. In 4 cabergoline tablets-treated patients with severe HI (Child-Pugh C) there was a 5.6-fold increase in the mean cabergoline AUC. Male and Female Patients: Males aged 20 to 34 years were shown to have had higher C max than females aged 20 to 27 years) while males aged 66 to 75 years had lower C max compared to females aged 66 to 74 years.

The clinical significance of the findings is unknown. Patients with Renal Impairment: The pharmacokinetics of cabergoline were not altered in 12 patients with moderate-to-severe renal impairment as assessed by creatinine clearance.

🧬 Mechanism of Action 70 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Cabergoline is an ergot derivative and dopamine receptor agonist with a high affinity for D2 receptors. Results of in vitro studies demonstrate that cabergoline exerts a direct inhibitory effect on the secretion of prolactin by rat pituitary lactotrophs. Cabergoline decreased serum prolactin levels in reserpinized rats.

Receptor-binding studies indicate that cabergoline has low affinity for dopamine D1, α1- and α2-adrenergic, and 5-HT1- and 5- HT2-serotonin receptors.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 67 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Cabergoline tablets are white, oval shaped, beveled edge tablets, debossed 'c' and 'l' on one side with deep scoring, and the other side is plain and they are available in the following configuration: 0.5 mg strength, 8-count bottle, and NDC number 27808-315-01. Store at controlled room temperature 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F) [see USP]. Store the tablets in the original container.

📋 Description 95 words

11 DESCRIPTION Cabergoline is an ergot derivative and dopamine receptor agonist. The chemical name for cabergoline is 1-[(6-allylergolin-8ß-yl)-carbonyl]-1-[3-(dimethylamino) propyl]-3-ethylurea. Its empirical formula is C 26 H 37 N 5 O 2 , and its molecular weight is 451.6.

The structural formula is as follows Cabergoline is a white or almost white crystalline powder freely soluble in alcohol (96%); slightly soluble in 0.1M hydrochloric acid; very slightly soluble in hexane; practically insoluble in water. Cabergoline tablets, for oral administration, contain 0.5 mg of cabergoline and the inactive ingredients of anhydrous lactose, leucine and magnesium stearate. Image

💬 Information for Patients ~1 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information). Fibrotic Conditions There is a risk of cardiac valvulopathy, and pericardial, pleural, pulmonary, and retroperitoneal fibrosis with cabergoline tablets treatment Advise patients to notify their healthcare provider if they develop shortness of breath, chest pain, persistent cough, difficulty with breathing when lying down, or swelling in their extremities [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Orthostatic Hypotension Warn patients about the risk of orthostatic hypotension and instruct patients to rise slowly from a supine or sitting position.

Advise patients to notify their healthcare provider if they develop dizziness or lightheadedness [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] . Impulse Control Disorders and Compulsive Behaviors Patients should be alerted to the possibility that patients may experience intense urges to spend money uncontrollably, intense urges to gamble, increased sexual urges, and other intense urges and the inability to control these urges while taking cabergoline tablets. Advise patients to inform their health care provider if they develop new or increased uncontrolled spending, gambling urges, sexual urges, or other urges while being treated with cabergoline tablets [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] .

Pregnancy Advise patients to notify their health care provider if they suspect they are pregnant, become pregnant, or intend to become pregnant during therapy. A pregnancy test should be done if there is any suspicion of pregnancy and continuation of cabergoline tablets treatment should be discussed with their health care provider [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.1 )] . Manufactured by: Renata PLC (General Plant-2) Noyapara, Bhawal, Mirzapur Rajendrapur, Gazipur, 1700 Bangladesh Manufactured for: Cranbury Pharmaceuticals, LLC Monmouth Junction, NJ 08852 LB8982 Rev.

00 05/2026

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.