HomeNDC LookupIngredientsCabergoline › 00093-5420-88
Cabergoline .5 mg Tablet, 8-count — NDC 00093-5420-88 package photo

Cabergoline .5 mg Tablet, 8-count

by Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. · 1 BOTTLE in 1 CARTON (0093-5420-88) / 8 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE
NDC 00093-5420-88
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 0093-5420-88 billing pads the labeler segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 0093-5420-88
Product NDC 0093-5420
11-digit billing NDC 00093542088
NCPDP billing unit EA — each (per item)
RxCUI 199703
UNII LL60K9J05T
Application # ANDA077750
SPL Set ID 74b61e8a-7ae9-4996-85ec-df23c56de16f
Established class (EPC) Ergot Derivative
Chemical class Ergolines
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2007-03-07
Route ORAL
Dosage form TABLET
Substance CABERGOLINE
GPI-14 30402020000320
GPI class Cabergoline
GCN Seq No 025738
GCN 26051
HICL code 010803
Ingredient (HICL) Cabergoline
HIC1 code P
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Endocrine System
HIC2 code P1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Anteriorpituitary Hormones
HIC3 code P1F
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Pituitary Suppressive Agents
AHFS code 28:36.20.04
AHFS class Ergot-Deriv. Dopamine Receptor Agonists
FDB label name CABERGOLINE 0.5 MG TABLET
FDB brand name Cabergoline
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AB · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 0093-5420-88 — a 4-4-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the labeler segment → 00093-5420-88. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Ergot Derivative class.

Pharmacologic class Ergot Derivative
Drug family (ATC) Prolactine inhibitors, Dopamine agonists
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerTeva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.
Application holderIVAX PHARMACEUTICALS INC SUB TEVA PHARMACEUTICALS USA
FDA applicationANDA077750 (ANDA)
Labeler code00093
First marketedMar 2007
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio504 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name CABERGOLINE 0.5 MG TABLET Ingredient Cabergoline
📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Cabergoline is used to treat hyperprolactinemia (high levels of prolactin, a natural substance that helps breast-feeding women produce milk but can cause symptoms such as infertility, sexual problems, and bone loss in women who are not breast-feeding or men). Cabergoline is in a class of medications called dopamine receptor agonists. It works by decreasing the amount of prolactin in the body.

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Prolactin is a hormone your pituitary gland makes — it's best known for triggering breast milk production. When prolactin is too high outside of pregnancy or breastfeeding, it can...
  • What exactly is cabergoline treating — what does 'high prolactin' mean for me?
  • Prolactin levels can start to drop within a few weeks of starting cabergoline, though it may take longer for symptoms like irregular periods to fully improve. Your dose will be adj...
  • How soon will I feel better, and how long will I need to take it?
📖 Read our full Cabergoline guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

💊 What it looks like

Color white
ShapeOval
Imprint0;5;5420
Size8 mm
ScoringScored — splits in 2
One label can cover several strengths, so colors may be combined — always confirm a loose pill against the dispensed prescription label or a pharmacist.
Where does this data come from?
Physical description (imprint, shape, color, scoring, coating) from this product’s FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL), mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII 3SY5LH9PMK
    Anhydrous lactose is a milk sugar with no water content. It acts as a filler and binder in tablets and capsules, adding bulk and helping ingredients stick together.
  • UNII GMW67QNF9C
    Leucine is an amino acid derived from natural sources. It acts as a glidant and flow agent in powders and tablets, helping the medicine move smoothly during manufacturing and packaging.

2 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eaPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly $1.346 $10.76 / 8 tablets
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $2.63 $21.04 / 8 tablets
Medicare drug plans payPart D · Q2 2026 $3.37 $26.97 / 8 tablets
Medicare Part B allowsASP · J8515 $0.302 / J8515 unit
NADAC price history (per ea) — tap or hover for the price & month
Dec 2021 Jul 2022 Dec 2025 Aug 2026 $2.548 $1.346
▼ Down 37% over the last 24 months.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)0093-5420-88
11-digit billing NDC00093-5420-88
Format4-4-2 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the labeler segment)
HCPCS J-codeJ8515
DescriptorCABERGOLINE, ORAL, 0.25 MG
Billing units / pkg2 units
Crosswalk sourcePDAC NDC-HCPCS crosswalk (DME MAC / DMEPOS)
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Cabergoline .5 mgthis 00093-5420-88 Teva 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 23155-0823-73 Heritage 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 50742-0118-08 Ingenus 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 59762-1005-01 Mylan 8 tablets $1.346 Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 69238-2693-01 Amneal 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 70069-0824-08 Somerset 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 70512-0860-08 SOLA 8 tablets $1.346 AB Availability likely
Cabergoline .5 mg 50090-3157-00 A-S 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mg 50090-5834-00 A-S 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mg 50090-6596-00 A-S 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mg 50090-7642-00 A-S 8 tablets AB FDA listed
Cabergoline .5 mg 64380-0202-01 Strides 8 tablets AB Discontinued
Cabergoline .5 mg 27808-0315-01 Cranbury 8 tablets AB FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2007
On the market since
Mar 2007
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
19 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 00093-5420-88, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
26.7K
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
264.5K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$695.6K
Avg / prescription
$26.04
Avg / unit
$2.6297
Latest quarter Q4 2025
6.8KRx
Medicaid pays / ea
$2.6297
gross reimbursed
vs
NADAC / ea
$1.3455
acquisition cost
=
Spread
+$1.2842
+95% vs cost
What Medicaid paid per ea (before rebates; includes the pharmacy’s dispensing fee) compared with NADAC — the average price pharmacies pay to buy the drug. A positive spread means Medicaid reimbursed more than the purchase price, before manufacturer rebates.
Fee-for-service vs managed care
36% FFS 64% MCO
Fee-for-service · 9,682 Rx Managed care · 17,031 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: 1,018 units · 73.0 per 100k residents ME Washington: 7,701 units · 98.6 per 100k residents WA Idaho: 3,051 units · 155 per 100k residents ID Montana: 864 units · 76.3 per 100k residents MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: 6,598 units · 115 per 100k residents MN Wisconsin: 6,311 units · 107 per 100k residents WI Michigan: 11,876 units · 118 per 100k residents MI New York: 28,132 units · 144 per 100k residents NY Vermont: 1,012 units · 156 per 100k residents VT New Hampshire: 524 units · 37.4 per 100k residents NH Oregon: 4,124 units · 97.4 per 100k residents OR Nevada: 2,735 units · 85.6 per 100k residents NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: 502 units · 54.6 per 100k residents SD Iowa: 1,810 units · 56.4 per 100k residents IA Illinois: 17,811 units · 142 per 100k residents IL Indiana: 4,267 units · 62.2 per 100k residents IN Ohio: 8,274 units · 70.2 per 100k residents OH Pennsylvania: 6,836 units · 52.7 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: 9,065 units · 97.6 per 100k residents NJ Massachusetts: 4,718 units · 67.4 per 100k residents MA California: 35,545 units · 91.2 per 100k residents CA Utah: 2,010 units · 58.8 per 100k residents UT Colorado: 6,691 units · 114 per 100k residents CO Nebraska: 1,404 units · 71.0 per 100k residents NE Missouri: 7,040 units · 114 per 100k residents MO Kentucky: 4,464 units · 98.6 per 100k residents KY West Virginia: 2,650 units · 150 per 100k residents WV Virginia: 4,647 units · 53.3 per 100k residents VA Maryland: 6,335 units · 103 per 100k residents MD Connecticut: 3,557 units · 98.3 per 100k residents CT Rhode Island: 1,380 units · 126 per 100k residents RI Arizona: 6,657 units · 89.6 per 100k residents AZ New Mexico: 6,115 units · 289 per 100k residents NM Kansas: 978 units · 33.3 per 100k residents KS Arkansas: 1,220 units · 39.8 per 100k residents AR Tennessee: 3,681 units · 51.7 per 100k residents TN North Carolina: 8,085 units · 74.6 per 100k residents NC South Carolina: 898 units · 16.7 per 100k residents SC Delaware: 224 units · 21.7 per 100k residents DE Oklahoma: 3,221 units · 79.5 per 100k residents OK Louisiana: 6,604 units · 144 per 100k residents LA Mississippi: 1,088 units · 37.0 per 100k residents MS Alabama: 1,102 units · 21.6 per 100k residents AL Georgia: 1,406 units · 12.7 per 100k residents GA D.C.: 833 units · 123 per 100k residents DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: 4,571 units · 15.0 per 100k residents TX Florida: 4,902 units · 21.7 per 100k residents FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
12.7289
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 New Mexico 289 /100k
2 Vermont 156 /100k
3 Idaho 155 /100k
4 West Virginia 150 /100k
5 Louisiana 144 /100k
6 New York 144 /100k
7 Illinois 142 /100k
8 Rhode Island 126 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

📊 Medicare Part D spend CMS · PART D · 2026 (Q1)

Medicare Part D (outpatient prescription) spending for Cabergoline — the program that covers self-administered drugs. 7 manufacturers.
⚠️ Drug-level data: CMS publishes Part D spending by drug, not by NDC — these figures combine every manufacturer, strength and package size sold under the name Cabergoline. That’s a different level of aggregation than the Medicaid card above, which is specific to this exact 11-digit NDC (pack size included), so the two aren’t directly comparable.
Period
Total Part D spend
$1.4M
Claims incl. refills
24.7K
Beneficiaries
17.1K
Spend / beneficiary
$81.78
Spend / claim
$56.60
Trend by period
💵 About the dollar figures: spending is what Part D plans paid before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower. A blank patient count means fewer than 11 people — CMS hides counts that small to protect privacy. Source: CMS Medicare Quarterly Part D Spending by Drug (data.cms.gov), updated quarterly.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Cabergoline — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Headache339
Fatigue285
Nausea279
Dizziness228
Malaise214
Pain199
Diarrhoea181

Age at onset

Neonate24
Infant2
Child2
Adolescent4
Adult423
Elderly132

Reporter sex

4,839 reports
Male · 41%
Female · 59%
Unknown · 1%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization1,607
Life-threatening237
Disabling181
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2024 2025 2026 321 149
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
00093-5420-88 You're viewing this 1 BOTTLE in 1 CARTON (0093-5420-88) / 8 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE 2007-03-07 Active

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 109 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Cabergoline tablets are an ergot derivative indicated for the treatment of hyperprolactinemic disorders, either idiopathic or due to pituitary adenomas in adults. Limitations of Use Avoid use of cabergoline tablets for the inhibition or suppression of postpartum physiologic lactation because of the risk of serious adverse reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4)]. Cabergoline tablets are an ergot derivative indicated for the treatment of hyperprolactinemic disorders, either idiopathic or due to pituitary adenomas in adults.

( 1 ) Limitations of Use Avoid use of cabergoline tablets for the inhibition or suppression of postpartum physiologic lactation because of the risk of serious adverse reactions. ( 5.4 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~1 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Before initiating cabergoline tablets evaluate for valvular heart disease, including with an echocardiogram. If valvular disease is detected, do not administer cabergoline tablets. ( 2.1 ) Recommended starting dosage of cabergoline tablets is 0.25 mg orally twice weekly.

( 2.2 ) Titrate cabergoline tablets to achieve normal serum prolactin levels by increasing cabergoline tablets by 0.25 mg orally twice weekly at intervals of no less than 4 weeks. ( 2.2 ) Maximum recommended dosage is 1 mg orally, twice weekly. ( 2.2 )

2.1Recommended Evaluation Before Initiating cabergoline tablets Before initiating cabergoline tablets evaluate for valvular heart disease, including with an echocardiogram. If valvular disease is detected, do not administer cabergoline tablets [see Contraindications ( 4 ) and Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] .

2.2Recommended Dosage The recommended starting dosage of cabergoline tablets is 0.25 mg orally twice weekly. Titrate cabergoline tablets to achieve normal serum prolactin levels by increasing cabergoline tablets by 0.25 mg orally twice weekly at intervals of no less than 4 weeks. The maximum recommended dosage is 1 mg orally, twice weekly [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] .

Administer cabergoline tablets with or without food [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )]. If cabergoline tablets are discontinued, monitor the serum prolactin level periodically to determine whether cabergoline tablets should be reinstituted.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 38 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablets: 0.5 mg, white, oval-shaped, scored tablets, debossed “hourglass logo”, “0.5” with a score on one side and “5420” on the other side. Tablets: 0.5 mg, white, with functional score. ( 3 )

Contraindications 110 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Cabergoline tablets are contraindicated in patients with: Uncontrolled hypertension. Known hypersensitivity to ergot derivatives. History of cardiac valvular disorders, as suggested by anatomical evidence of valvulopathy of any valve, determined by pre-treatment evaluation including echocardiographic demonstration of valve leaflet thickening, valve restriction, or mixed valve restriction-stenosis, or history of pericardial fibrosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )].

History of pleural, pulmonary, or retroperitoneal fibrotic disorders [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )]. Uncontrolled hypertension ( 4 ) Known hypersensitivity to ergot derivatives ( 4 ) History of cardiac valvular disorders, or pericardial fibrosis. ( 5.1 ) History of pleural, pulmonary, or retroperitoneal fibrotic disorders.

( 5.2 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~2 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Cardiac Valvulopathy and Pericardial Fibrosis : Before initiating cabergoline tablets, perform a cardiovascular evaluation, including echocardiogram, to evaluate for valvular disease. During cabergoline tablets treatment, monitor for the development of valvulopathy with a cardiac echocardiogram at intervals of 6 to 12 months or as clinically indicated and monitor for chest pain and signs and symptoms of heart failure (if heart failure occurs, exclude valvular fibrosis and pericarditis). Consider additional clinical and diagnostic monitoring at baseline and as necessary during cabergoline tablets treatment.

Use cabergoline tablets in patients treated with other drugs associated with valvulopathy only if the potential benefit of cabergoline tablets outweighs the risk. Discontinue cabergoline tablets if the patient has a new diagnosis of valvular regurgitation, valvular restriction, valve leaflet thickening, or pericarditis. ( 5.1 ) Pleural, Pulmonary and Retroperitoneal Fibrosis : During cabergoline tablets treatment monitor for signs and symptoms of progressive fibrosis, (e.g., pleuro-pulmonary disease, renal impairment, ureteral/abdominal vascular obstruction).

Consider clinical and diagnostic monitoring for pleural, pulmonary, and retroperitoneal fibrosis at baseline and as necessary during cabergoline tablets treatment. If pleural, pericardial, retroperitoneal, or pulmonary fibrosis occur, discontinue cabergoline tablets. ( 5.2 ) Orthostatic Hypotension : Check blood pressure at baseline and during treatment with cabergoline tablets and monitor for orthostatic hypotension.

( 5.3 ) Risks with Use of cabergoline tablets for Postpartum Lactation Inhibition or Suppression : Avoid use of cabergoline tablets for the inhibition or suppression of physiologic lactation. Use of bromocriptine, another dopamine agonist for this unapproved use has been associated with cases of hypertension, stroke, myocardial infarction, seizures, and death. ( 5.4 ) Impulse Control Disorders and Compulsive Behaviors : Specifically ask patients about the development of new or increased gambling urges, sexual urges, uncontrolled spending, or other urges while being treated with cabergoline tablets.

Consider dosage reduction or stopping cabergoline tablets if a patient develops such urges while taking cabergoline tablets. ( 5.5 )

5.1Cardiac Valvulopathy and Pericardial Fibrosis Before initiating cabergoline tablets, perform a cardiovascular evaluation, including with an echocardiogram, to evaluate for valvular disease. cabergoline tablets are contraindicated in the presence of valvular disease or pericardial fibrosis [see Contraindications ( 4 )]. Cases of valvular and pericardial fibrosis have often manifested as heart failure. Following cabergoline tablets treatment initiation, monitor for the development of valvulopathy with a cardiac echocardiogram at intervals of 6 to 12 months or as clinically indicated with new onset edema, cardiac murmur, dyspnea, or heart failure.

During cabergoline tablets treatment, monitor for chest pain and signs and symptoms of heart failure and if heart failure occurs, valvular fibrosis and pericarditis should be excluded. Consider clinical and diagnostic monitoring such as erythrocyte sedimentation rate, serum creatinine measurements, chest-x- ray, and other investigations and cardiac imaging at baseline and as necessary while patients are treated with during cabergoline tablets treatment. Use cabergoline tablets in patients treated with other drugs associated with valvulopathy only if the potential benefit of cabergoline tablets outweighs the risk.

Discontinue cabergoline tablets if the patient has a new diagnosis of valvular regurgitation, valvular restriction, valve leaflet thickening, or pericarditis. Postmarketing cases of cardiac valvulopathy have been reported in patients who received cabergoline tablets. These cases have generally occurred during administration of high doses of cabergoline…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are described elsewhere in the labeling: Cardiac Valvulopathy and Pericardial Fibrosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Pleural, Retroperitoneal, and Pulmonary Fibrosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . Orthostatic Hypotension [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] .

Impulse Control Disorders and Compulsive Behaviors [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] . The most common adverse reactions (incidence >10%) are nausea, headache, and dizziness. ( 6 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Teva at 1-888-838-2872 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. The safety of cabergoline tablets has been evaluated in more than 900 patients with hyperprolactinemic disorders. In a 4-week, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial (cabergoline tablets vs. placebo) [see Clinical Studies ( 14 )], the incidence of the most common adverse reactions during the placebo-controlled trial in patients with hyperprolactinemic disorders is presented in Table 1.

Table 1. Adverse Reactions (n (%)* During the 4-Week, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial in Hyperprolactinemic Females Cabergoline Tablets (n=168) Placebo (n=20) Nausea 45 (27%) 4 (20%) Headache 43 (26%) 5 (25%) Dizziness 25 (15%) 1 (5%) Constipation 16 (10%) 0% Fatigue 12 (7%) 0% Postural hypotension 6 (4%) 0% Dyspepsia 4 (2%) 0% Vomiting 4 (2%) 0% Nervousness 4 (2%) 0% Vertigo 2 (1%) 0% Paresthesia 2 (1%) 0% Breast pain 2 (1%) 0% Dysmenorrhea 2 (1%) 0% Abnormal vision 2 (1%) 0% * Adverse reactions that occurred ≥1% in the cabergoline tablets group and frequency more than that reported in the placebo group.

In the 8-week, double-blind period of the comparative trial with bromocriptine, 2% (4/221) of cabergoline tablets-treated patients (0.5 mg twice weekly) discontinued treatment because of an adverse event and 6% (14/231) of bromocriptine-treated patients (at a dose of 2.5 mg twice daily) discontinued treatment because of an adverse event. The most common reasons for cabergoline tablets discontinuation were headache, nausea, and vomiting (3, 2, and 2 patients, respectively). The incidence of the most common adverse events during the double-blind period of the comparative trial with bromocriptine is presented in Table 2.

Table 2. Adverse Events* During the 8-Week, Double-Blind Period of the Comparative Trial in Hyperprolactinemic Females Cabergoline Tablets (n=221) Bromocriptine (n=231) Nausea 63 (29%) 100 (43%) Headache 58 (26%) 62 (27%) Dizziness 38 (17%) 42 (18%) Constipation 15 (7%) 21 (9%) Asthenia 13 (6%) 15 (6%) Abdominal pain 12 (5%) 19 (8%) Dyspepsia 11 (5%) 16 (7%) Fatigue 10 (5%) 18 (8%) Vertigo 9 (4%) 10 (4%) Vomiting 9 (4%) 16 (7%) Depression 7 (3%) 5 (2%) Hot flashes 6 (3%) 3 (1%) Breast pain 5 (2%) 8 (3%) Dry mouth 5 (2%) 2 (1%) Paresthesia 5 (2%) 6 (3%) Somnolence 5 (2%) 5 (2%) Diarrhea 4 (2%) 7 (3%) Flatulence 4 (2%) 3 (1%) Pain 4 (2%) 6 (3%) Acne 3 (1%) 0% Anorexia 3 (1%) 3 (1%) Anxiety 3 (1%) 3 (1%) Hypotension 3 (1%) 4 (2%) Insomnia 3 (1%) 2 (1%) Syncope 3 (1%) 3 (1%) Abnormal vision 2 (1%) 2 (1%) Arthralgia 2 (1%) 0% Dependent edema 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Dysmenorrhea 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Impaired concentration 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Influenza-like symptoms 2 (1%) 0% Malaise 2 (1%) 0% Nervousness 2 (1%) 5 (2%) Palpitation 2 (1%) 5 (2%) Periorbital edema 2 (1%) 2 (1%) Peripheral edema 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Pruritus 2 (1%) 1 (<1%) Rhinitis 2 (1%) 9 (4%) Throat irritation 2 (1%) 0% Toothache 2 (1%) 0% * Adverse events reported ≥1% in the cabergoline tablets group.

Abbreviation: n=number of patients. Events that were reported at an incidence of <1% in the clinical studies follow: Body As a Whole: facial edema, i…

🔄 Drug Interactions 48 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Cabergoline tablets, a dopamine receptor agonist, is not recommended for concomitant use with D2-antagonists, such as phenothiazines, butyrophenones, thioxanthenes, or metoclopramide. Cabergoline tablets, a dopamine receptor agonist, is not recommended for concomitant use with D2-antagonists, such as phenothiazines, butyrophenones, thioxanthenes, or metoclopramide. ( 7 )

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Pregnancy : If conception occurs during cabergoline tablets therapy, discontinue cabergoline tablets if the risks to the mother or fetus outweigh the benefits to the mother ( 8.1 )

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary If conception occurs during cabergoline tablets therapy, discontinue cabergoline tablets if the risks to the mother or fetus outweigh the benefits to the mother. There are risks to the mother associated with the use of cabergoline tablets ( see Clinical Considerations ). The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in patients with hyperprolactinemic disorders, either idiopathic or due to pituitary adenomas is unknown.

All pregnancies have a risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Maternal Adverse Reactions: In general, avoid use of dopamine agonists, including cabergoline tablets, during pregnancy and the postpartum period.

The risks of cabergoline tablets use increase in pregnant females with pregnancy-induced hypertension, preeclampsia, and eclampsia. Data Human Data: Published case reports have not reported a clear association with cabergoline tablets and major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse fetal outcomes when cabergoline tablets was used during early pregnancy. However, these case reports cannot definitely establish the absence of cabergoline tablets-associated risk.

Animal Data: Embryo-fetal development studies have been performed with cabergoline administered by oral gavage in mice, rats, and rabbits: There were no teratogenic effects in the presence of maternal toxicity in mice given cabergoline at doses up to 8 mg/kg/day (approximately 55 times the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area) during the period of organogenesis. A dose of 0.012 mg/kg/day (approximately 0.14 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in rats caused an increase in post-implantation loss.

This finding is likely due to the role of prolactin in implantation in rats and is not thought to be relevant to humans. At doses of 0.5 mg/kg/day (approximately 19 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in rabbits, cabergoline caused maternal toxicity characterized by a loss of body weight and decreased food consumption. Doses of 4 mg/kg/day (approximately 150 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in the rabbit caused an increased occurrence of various malformations.

However, in another study in rabbits, no treatment-related malformations or embryofetal toxicity were observed at doses up to 8 mg/kg/day (approximately 300 times the maximum recommended human dose).

8.2Lactation Risk Summary Cabergoline tablets are not recommended in postpartum women who are breastfeeding or who are planning to breastfeed. Avoid use of cabergoline tablets for the inhibition or suppression of physiologic lactation [see Indications and Usage ( 1 ) and Warnings and Precautions ( 5 . 4 )] .

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness of cabergoline tablets in pediatric patients have not been established.

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical studies of cabergoline tablets did not include sufficient numbers of patients 65 years of age and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger adult patients.

8.6Hepatic Impairment The use of cabergoline tablets in patients with severe hepatic impairment (HI) (Child-Pugh C) is not recommended. When using cabergoline tablets in patients with moderate HI (Child-Pugh B) increase monitoring of cabergoline tablets-associated adverse reactions. The recommendations for use of cabergoline tablets in patients with mild HI (Child Pugh A) is the same as those with normal hepatic function. Patients w…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary If conception occurs during cabergoline tablets therapy, discontinue cabergoline tablets if the risks to the mother or fetus outweigh the benefits to the mother. There are risks to the mother associated with the use of cabergoline tablets ( see Clinical Considerations ). The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in patients with hyperprolactinemic disorders, either idiopathic or due to pituitary adenomas is unknown.

All pregnancies have a risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Maternal Adverse Reactions: In general, avoid use of dopamine agonists, including cabergoline tablets, during pregnancy and the postpartum period.

The risks of cabergoline tablets use increase in pregnant females with pregnancy-induced hypertension, preeclampsia, and eclampsia. Data Human Data: Published case reports have not reported a clear association with cabergoline tablets and major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse fetal outcomes when cabergoline tablets was used during early pregnancy. However, these case reports cannot definitely establish the absence of cabergoline tablets-associated risk.

Animal Data: Embryo-fetal development studies have been performed with cabergoline administered by oral gavage in mice, rats, and rabbits: There were no teratogenic effects in the presence of maternal toxicity in mice given cabergoline at doses up to 8 mg/kg/day (approximately 55 times the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area) during the period of organogenesis. A dose of 0.012 mg/kg/day (approximately 0.14 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in rats caused an increase in post-implantation loss.

This finding is likely due to the role of prolactin in implantation in rats and is not thought to be relevant to humans. At doses of 0.5 mg/kg/day (approximately 19 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in rabbits, cabergoline caused maternal toxicity characterized by a loss of body weight and decreased food consumption. Doses of 4 mg/kg/day (approximately 150 times the maximum recommended human dose) administered during the period of organogenesis in the rabbit caused an increased occurrence of various malformations.

However, in another study in rabbits, no treatment-related malformations or embryofetal toxicity were observed at doses up to 8 mg/kg/day (approximately 300 times the maximum recommended human dose).

🧒 Pediatric Use 16 words

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness of cabergoline tablets in pediatric patients have not been established.

🧓 Geriatric Use 31 words

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical studies of cabergoline tablets did not include sufficient numbers of patients 65 years of age and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger adult patients.

🆘 Overdosage 26 words

10 OVERDOSAGE Take measures to support blood pressure, if necessary. Consider contacting the Poison Help line (1-800-222-1222) or a medical toxicologist for additional overdose management recommendations.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~2 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Cabergoline is an ergot derivative and dopamine receptor agonist with a high affinity for D2 receptors. Results of in vitro studies demonstrate that cabergoline exerts a direct inhibitory effect on the secretion of prolactin by rat pituitary lactotrophs. Cabergoline decreased serum prolactin levels in reserpinized rats.

Receptor-binding studies indicate that cabergoline has low affinity for dopamine D1, α1- and α2-adrenergic, and 5-HT1- and 5- HT2-serotonin receptors.

12.2Pharmacodynamics The exposure-response relationship and time course of pharmacodynamic response for the safety and effectiveness of cabergoline tablets have not been fully characterized.

12.3Pharmacokinetics Absorption The time to reach maximum cabergoline plasma concentration was 2 to 3 hours after single oral doses of 0.5 mg to 1.5 mg (1.5 times the maximum recommended dose) of cabergoline tablets in healthy subjects. Following dosing of cabergoline tablets between 0.5 mg to 7 mg (7 times the maximum recommended dose), cabergoline plasma levels appeared to be dose-proportional. The absolute bioavailability of cabergoline is unknown.

A significant fraction of the administered dose undergoes a first-pass effect. Effect of Food: High-fat food did not alter the pharmacokinetics of cabergoline [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 )]. Distribution Protein binding of cabergoline was 40% to 42%.

Elimination The elimination half-life of cabergoline estimated from urinary data of 12 healthy subjects ranged between 63 to 69 hours. Metabolism: Cabergoline is extensively metabolized, predominately via hydrolysis of the acylurea bond or the urea moiety. Hydrolysis of the acylurea or urea moiety abolishes the prolactin-lowering effect of cabergoline, and major metabolites identified thus far do not contribute to the therapeutic effect.

Excretion: After oral dosing of radioactive cabergoline to 5 healthy volunteers, approximately 22% and 60% of the dose was excreted within 20 days in the urine and feces, respectively. Less than 4% of the dose was excreted unchanged in the urine. Nonrenal and renal clearances for cabergoline are about

3.2 L/min and

0.08L/min, respectively. Urinary excretion in hyperprolactinemic patients was similar. Specific Populations Patients with Hepatic Impairment: In a pharmacokinetic hepatic impairment (HI) study [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.6 )] : In 4 cabergoline tablets-treated patients with mild HI (Child-Pugh A), no effect on mean area under the cabergoline plasma concentration-time curve (AUC) was observed.

In 4 cabergoline tablets-treated patients with moderate HI (Child-Pugh B) there was a 1.5-fold increase in mean cabergoline AUC. In 4 cabergoline tablets-treated patients with severe HI (Child-Pugh C) there was a 5.6-fold increase in the mean cabergoline AUC. Male and Female Patients: Males aged 20 to 34 years were shown to have had higher C max than females aged 20 to 27 years) while males aged 66 to 75 years had lower C max compared to females aged 66 to 74 years.

The clinical significance of the findings is unknown. Patients with Renal Impairment: The pharmacokinetics of cabergoline were not altered in 12 patients with moderate-to-severe renal impairment as assessed by creatinine clearance.

🧬 Mechanism of Action 70 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Cabergoline is an ergot derivative and dopamine receptor agonist with a high affinity for D2 receptors. Results of in vitro studies demonstrate that cabergoline exerts a direct inhibitory effect on the secretion of prolactin by rat pituitary lactotrophs. Cabergoline decreased serum prolactin levels in reserpinized rats.

Receptor-binding studies indicate that cabergoline has low affinity for dopamine D1, α1- and α2-adrenergic, and 5-HT1- and 5- HT2-serotonin receptors.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 75 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Cabergoline tablets USP, 0.5 mg are available as white, oval-shaped, scored tablets, debossed “hourglass logo”, “0.5” with a score on one side and “5420” on the other side containing 0.5 mg cabergoline, USP packaged in unit-of-use bottles of 8 tablets (NDC 0093-5420-88). Store at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. Dispense in original container.

Keep this and all medications out of the reach of children.

📋 Description 90 words

11 DESCRIPTION Cabergoline, USP is an ergot derivative and dopamine receptor agonist. The chemical name for cabergoline, USP is 1-[(6-allylergolin-8β-yl)-carbonyl]-1-[3-(dimethylamino)propyl]-3-ethylurea and has the following structural formula: C 26 H 37 N 5 O 2 M.W. 451.6 Cabergoline, USP is a white powder soluble in ethyl alcohol, chloroform, and N, N-dimethylformamide (DMF); slightly soluble in 0.1N hydrochloric acid; very slightly soluble in n-hexane; and insoluble in water.

Each cabergoline tablet USP, for oral administration, contains 0.5 mg of cabergoline, USP and has the following inactive ingredients: anhydrous lactose and leucine. img-1

💬 Information for Patients ~1 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information). Fibrotic Conditions There is a risk of cardiac valvulopathy, and pericardial, pleural, pulmonary, and retroperitoneal fibrosis with cabergoline tablets treatment Advise patients to notify their healthcare provider if they develop shortness of breath, chest pain, persistent cough, difficulty with breathing when lying down, or swelling in their extremities [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Orthostatic Hypotension Warn patients about the risk of orthostatic hypotension and instruct patients to rise slowly from a supine or sitting position.

Advise patients to notify their healthcare provider if they develop dizziness or lightheadedness [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] . Impulse Control Disorders and Compulsive Behaviors Patients should be alerted to the possibility that patients may experience intense urges to spend money uncontrollably, intense urges to gamble, increased sexual urges, and other intense urges and the inability to control these urges while taking cabergoline tablets. Advise patients to inform their health care provider if they develop new or increased uncontrolled spending, gambling urges, sexual urges, or other urges while being treated with cabergoline tablets [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] .

Pregnancy Advise patients to notify their health care provider if they suspect they are pregnant, become pregnant, or intend to become pregnant during therapy. A pregnancy test should be done if there is any suspicion of pregnancy and continuation of cabergoline tablets treatment should be discussed with their health care provider [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.1 )] . Manufactured In Czech Republic By: Teva Czech Industries s.r.o.

Opava-Komarov, Czech Republic Manufactured For: Teva Pharmaceuticals Parsippany, NJ 07054 Rev. H 6/2025

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.