Daptomycin Injection shortage
Daptomycin Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 2 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 22, 2026.
Jiangsu Hengrui is permanently stopping production of daptomycin injection 500 mg/10 mL. Other manufacturers — including Hikma, Hospira, and Accord — still list daptomycin injection in both 350 mg and 500 mg strengths.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Daptomycin Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Jun 30, 2026Currently in shortage2 of 2 products affected.
-
Jun 30, 2026First reported to the FDA2 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals Co. (US Agent eVenus Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc.) 📞 609-395-8625 ext. 203 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Daptomycin, Injection, 500 mg/10 mL (NDC 0143-9378-01) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug; Marketed by Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Daptomycin, Injection, 500 mg/10 mL (NDC 57884-3151-1) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Daptomycin Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Daptomycin Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Daptomycin Injection in shortage?
Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals (sold in the U.S. through eVenus Pharmaceutical Laboratories and also marketed by Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA) has reported to the FDA that it is permanently stopping the manufacture of its daptomycin 500 mg/10 mL injection. Both versions of this product — the eVenus-labeled version and the Hikma-labeled version — are affected by this decision. The FDA did not share a specific public reason for why the company made this choice.
It's worth knowing that this report only covers what Jiangsu Hengrui/eVenus and Hikma have filed with the FDA. Other manufacturers of daptomycin are listed separately and may still be producing it.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Daptomycin Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Daptomycin Injection?
Daptomycin Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list, and I want to walk you through what that means for you.
The affected strength is 500 mg/10 mL, which is the one strength this report covers. It has no available source right now from the manufacturer that filed this record. The reported reason is that the manufacturer is discontinuing production of this product, so for that maker, this supply problem may be permanent rather than temporary.
That said, this report reflects only one manufacturer's decision. Daptomycin is the same medicine no matter who makes it, and several other companies still list it — including the 500 mg/10 mL strength from makers such as Hospira, Accord Healthcare, Camber Pharmaceuticals, and Dr. Reddy's, among others. Your pharmacy may be able to source one of these, though it may not be sitting in local stock.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your treatment on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers for the same daptomycin 500 mg/10 mL.
- Because this product is being discontinued, talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about a clinician-chosen option going forward.
- Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle these calls.
This is general information from national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Daptomycin Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Daptomycin Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 500 mg/10mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9444-01 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 350 mg/7mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9455-01 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 350 mg/7mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Hospira, Inc. | 00409-0120-01 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 500 mg/10mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Hospira, Inc. | 00409-0122-01 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 350 mg/7mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Accord Healthcare, Inc. | 16729-0434-05 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 500 mg/10mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 16729-0435-05 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 50 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0174-15 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 350 mg/7mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0179-15 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 350 mg/7mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 31722-0215-01 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 500 mg/10mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 31722-0216-01 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 500 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Par Health USA, LLC | 42023-0295-10 |
| Daptomycin | DAPTOMYCIN 500 mg/10mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Dr.Reddy's Laboratories Inc., | 43598-0413-11 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Hospira, | 1 vial | $20.769 | — | FDA listed |
| Daptomycin 500 mg | Par | 10 vials | $20.769 | — | FDA listed |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Fresenius | 1 vial | $20.769 | AP | FDA listed |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Xellia | 1 vial | $20.769 | — | FDA listed |
| Daptomycin 50 mg/mL | NorthStar | 1 vial | $21.846 | AP | Discontinued |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Accord | 1 vial | $21.846 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Hikma | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Hikma | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| daptomycin 50 mg/mL | Sagent | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Camber | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Dr.Reddy's | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Eugia | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | APOTEX | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Mylan | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Mylan | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | BluePoint | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Biocon | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Xellia | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Meitheal | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | BE | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Civica, | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | NorthStar | 1 vial | $22.687 | AP | Availability likely |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Hikma | 1 vial | — | — | Discontinued |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Hikma | 1 vial | — | — | FDA listed |
| daptomycin 500 mg/20mL | Hainan | 20 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Qilu | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| daptomycin 500 mg/20mL | Slate | 20 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Daptomycin 500 mg | MAIA | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Daptomycin 500 mg/10mL | Civica, | 1 vial | — | — | FDA listed |
| daptomycin 500 mg/20mL | Sintetica | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Daptomycin Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (cyclic lipopeptides) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other anti-infective shortages
Daptomycin Injection shortage FAQs
Is Daptomycin Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Daptomycin Injection be available again?
Can I still get Daptomycin somewhere?
What should I do if I take Daptomycin Injection?
Still have a question about the Daptomycin Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Daptomycin Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.