Micafungin Sodium Injection shortage
Not a nationwide shortage — Par Health has told the FDA it is discontinuing its micafungin sodium injections. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 8 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.
Par Health is permanently stopping its micafungin sodium injection (20 mg/mL and 10 mg/mL vials) due to a business decision. Other makers — including Hikma, Sagent, Hisun, and Fresenius Kabi — still list micafungin injection in 50 mg and 100 mg strengths.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →Is micafungin sodium still in shortage? — status as of Oct 6, 2026
Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026. Par Health is stopping its own version only; 8 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.
The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 11, 2026Currently in shortage2 of 2 products affected.
-
Sep 11, 2026First reported to the FDA2 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
Which micafungin sodium products are affected — by company
Company: Par Health, USA LLC 📞 800-828-9393 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Micafungin Sodium Injection, 20 mg/mL | 20 mg/mL | — | A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Micafungin Sodium Injection, 10 mg/mL | 10 mg/mL | — | A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. | — |
These rows are company reports to the FDA for Micafungin Sodium Injection — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get micafungin sodium? options further down this page.
Why is Par Health discontinuing micafungin sodium?
Par Healthcare, USA LLC has let the FDA know that they are permanently stopping production of their micafungin sodium injection — specifically the 20 mg/1 mL and 10 mg/1 mL vial sizes. They described this as a business decision, but didn't share any further details about why they made that choice.
It's worth knowing that this report only covers Par Healthcare, USA LLC's products. It doesn't mean micafungin sodium injection is disappearing altogether — other manufacturers may still be producing it, and they would be listed separately on this page.
Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Micafungin Sodium Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.
What should I do if I take micafungin sodium?
Micafungin Sodium Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. This note explains what that means for you and the steps you can take.
Both strengths on this particular record — the 20 mg/1 mL and the 10 mg/1 mL — have no available source right now. The manufacturer that filed this report, Par Health, USA LLC, states that it made a business decision to discontinue making both of these products. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a short-term delay, this supply problem from this maker may be permanent. That makes a conversation with your prescriber the right next step.
Importantly, this report reflects only one manufacturer. Other companies still list micafungin on the market, so your pharmacy may be able to find the same medicine from another source.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your doses on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers; the same medicine (micafungin) is listed by makers such as Hikma, Sagent, Hisun, Fresenius Kabi, Glenmark, and Biocon, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact strength cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options, such as a different strength or a clinician-chosen alternative.
- Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually make these calls.
This is general information from national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match your local pharmacy's stock.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get micafungin sodium?
FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists micafungin sodium injections is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Company | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN 50 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9361-01 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN 100 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9362-01 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 50 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0190-10 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 100 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0191-10 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 50 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous | Hisun Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 42658-0022-01 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 100 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous | Hisun Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 42658-0023-01 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 50 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0728-10 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 100 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0729-10 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Inc., USA | 68462-0771-01 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN 20 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Inc., USA | 68462-0772-01 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Biocon Pharma Inc. | 70377-0075-91 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 20 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Biocon Pharma Inc. | 70377-0076-91 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 70710-1724-01 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 20 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 70710-1725-01 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 50 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Meitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 71288-0028-11 |
| Micafungin | MICAFUNGIN SODIUM 100 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Meitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 71288-0029-11 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 23 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Micafungin 100 mg | Hikma | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 100 mg/5mL | Sagent | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 20 mg/mL | Par | 10 vials | — | — | Discontinued |
| Micafungin 100 mg | Hisun | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 100 mg | Fresenius | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 20 mg/mL | Qilu | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 20 mg/mL | Glenmark | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 20 mg/mL | Biocon | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 20 mg/mL | Zydus | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 20 mg/mL | Zydus | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 100 mg/5mL | Meitheal | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 50 mg | Hikma | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Mycamine 10 mg/mL | Astellas | 10 vials | — | — | Discontinued |
| Micafungin 50 mg/5mL | Sagent | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 10 mg/mL | Par | 10 vials | — | — | Discontinued |
| Micafungin 50 mg | Hisun | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 50 mg | Fresenius | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 10 mg/mL | Qilu | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 10 mg/mL | Glenmark | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 10 mg/mL | Biocon | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 10 mg/mL | Zydus | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 10 mg/mL | Zydus | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Micafungin 50 mg/5mL | Meitheal | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of micafungin sodium — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antifungal antibiotics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
Where does this data come from?
Other anti-infective shortages
Micafungin sodium shortage FAQs
Is micafungin sodium still in shortage?
Which strengths of micafungin sodium are affected?
Which micafungin sodium products are affected?
When will micafungin sodium be available again?
Can I still get micafungin sodium somewhere?
What should I do if I take micafungin sodium?
Still have a question about the micafungin sodium shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Micafungin Sodium Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.