Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection shortage
Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 25, 2026.
Eli Lilly is stopping production of Rezvoglar (insulin glargine-aglr) injection, and this change is permanent. Supply from Lilly is projected to end June 2027, but the same strength is currently listed as available from A-S Medication Solutions.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 1, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Sep 1, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Eli Lilly and Co. 📞 800-545-5979 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Size | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Rezvoglar, Injection, 100 [iU]/1 mL (NDC 0002-8980-05) | — | — | A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. Distribution projected to end June 2027. If patients or prescribers have any questions, the Lilly Answers Center (1-800-545-5979) is available Monday through Friday from 9am to 8pm for assistance. | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection in shortage?
Eli Lilly has made a business decision to permanently stop making Rezvoglar (insulin glargine-aglr) 100 units/mL injection. This isn't due to a manufacturing problem or safety issue — it's simply a business choice the company made. According to Lilly, they expect to keep distributing the product until around June 2027, so it won't disappear overnight.
It's worth knowing that this report only covers Eli Lilly's version of this product. Other manufacturers of insulin glargine products may be listed separately and are not affected by this decision.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection?
Insulin glargine-aglr injection (the brand Rezvoglar) is currently on the FDA shortage list. I want to explain what this means for you so you can plan calmly.
The affected strength is the 100 units/mL formulation, and right now there is no available source reported for it from the filing manufacturer. This is listed as a discontinuation rather than a temporary supply gap: Eli Lilly has made a business decision to stop making this product, with distribution projected to end in June 2027. Because this may be a permanent change over time, a conversation with your prescriber is the right next step to plan ahead.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your insulin doses on your own — steady dosing matters, especially with insulin.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other makers; supply may still be found locally even during this transition.
- The same medicine (insulin glargine 100 units/mL) is also listed as Rezvoglar Kwikpen from another supplier — your pharmacy may be able to source it, though it may not be in local stock.
- Talk with your prescriber about a clinician-chosen plan before distribution ends.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match your pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rezvoglar Kwikpen | INSULIN GLARGINE 100 [iU]/mL | Injection, Solution · Subcutaneous | A-S Medication Solutions | 50090-6439-00 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 2 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected sizes, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rezvoglar KwikPen 100 [iU]/mL | Eli | 5 syringes | $5.922 | — | Availability likely |
| Rezvoglar Kwikpen 100 [iU]/mL | A-S | 5 syringes | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (insulins) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other endocrinology/metabolism shortages
Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection shortage FAQs
Is Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection be available again?
Can I still get Insulin Glargine-Aglr somewhere?
What should I do if I take Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection?
Still have a question about the Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Insulin Glargine-Aglr Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.