Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Humalog (Insulin Lispro) Injection

Humalog (Insulin Lispro) Injection shortage

Not a nationwide shortage — Eli Lilly and has told the FDA it is discontinuing its insulin lispro injections. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 2 other companies list the same medicine with the FDA and have not reported a shortage.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: Low Endocrinology/Metabolism 2 products 346 days First posted Oct 24, 2025 Updated Sep 1, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

Eli Lilly is permanently discontinuing its insulin lispro 100 units/mL Tempo Pen, with distribution expected to end June 2027. Other insulin lispro products — including Humalog KwikPen, Humalog Junior KwikPen, and Admelog — are still listed as available from other manufacturers.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
2
Affected NDCs
0/1
Reporting makers with supply
0/2
Affected strengths / sizes still listed
2
Other companies listing it
346
Days on the list
100,167
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 5, 2026 · today

Is Humalog still in shortage? — status as of Oct 5, 2026

Not as a nationwide shortage. Eli Lilly and is stopping its own product; 2 other companies still list the same medicine.

⚠ Supply risk: Low 1 of 5 risk factors
  1. Every strength / size is still listed by a company — 0 of 2 strengths / sizes
  2. More than one company still lists it — 0 of 1 reporting company with supply + 2 other companies
  3. Most affected NDCs still available — supply listed
  4. Not a long-running shortage — 346 days (a discontinuation notice, not an outage)
  5. Listed by several companies — 3 companies (1 reporting + 2 other)

A rule-based estimate of national supply risk, counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report — never your local pharmacy’s stock. How the rating works.

The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
2 NDCs
To be discontinued 2
Affected strengths / sizes still listed by a company
A reporting maker with supply, or another company listing that strength / size
0/2 strengths / sizes
No listed source 2
Reporting companies with supply
Among the 1 company that reported this shortage — plus 2 other companies listing it, below
0/1 reporting
Reporting no supply 1
✓ Other companies listing the same medicine — not reporting a shortage
Insulin Lispro Injection listings in the current FDA NDC Directory from companies that have not filed a shortage report — these are not counted in the charts above. Some are repackagers of another company’s product. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC REMEDYREPACK INC.
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Sep 1, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    2 of 2 products affected.
  2. Sep 1, 2026
    More presentations reported
    1 more product added to the shortage.
  3. Oct 24, 2025
    First reported to the FDA
    1 product first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

Which Humalog products are affected — by company

Company: Eli Lilly and Co. 📞 800-545-5979 2 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength / size Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Insulin Lispro Injection, 100 [IU]/1 mL NDC 00002-7752-05 100 [IU]/1 mL — A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. Distribution projected to end June 2027. If patients or prescribers have any questions, the Lilly Answers Center (1-800-545-5979) is available Monday through Friday from 9am to 8pm for assistance. —
To Be Discontinued Humalog Injection NDC 00002-8213-05 U-100 Tempo Pen — A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. —

These rows are company reports to the FDA for Insulin Lispro Injection — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Humalog or its generic? options further down this page.

Why is Eli Lilly and discontinuing Humalog?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Sep 30, 2026

Eli Lilly has made a business decision to permanently stop making two specific insulin lispro products: the Insulin Lispro Junior KwikPen (100 units/mL) and the Humalog U-100 Tempo Pen. No specific public reason beyond it being a business decision was shared with the FDA. For the Junior KwikPen, distribution is expected to end in June 2027. The Humalog U-100 Tempo Pen does not have a projected end-distribution date listed in the report.

It's worth knowing that this report covers only these two specific Lilly products — the Junior KwikPen and the Tempo Pen — not every form of insulin lispro that Lilly makes. If you have questions directly about these changes, Lilly's answers center can be reached at 1-800-545-5979, Monday through Friday, 9 AM to 8 PM.

Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Insulin Lispro Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.

What should I do if I take Humalog?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Sep 30, 2026

Insulin Lispro Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list, and I want to walk you through what this means for you.

This report covers two products from Eli Lilly: the Junior KwikPen (100 iU/1 mL) and the Humalog U-100 Tempo Pen. Both are listed with no available source right now, and neither strength on this record currently shows supply. Because the reason given is a business decision to discontinue these products — with distribution of the 100 iU/1 mL projected to end June 2027 — this supply problem may be permanent for these specific items. That makes a conversation with your prescriber the right next step, though there is time to plan.

Here is what I suggest, in order:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change your insulin on your own — insulin is essential and steady dosing matters.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers, since local stock can differ from national reports.
  • The same medicine (insulin lispro) is still made by others — for example Humalog KwikPen, Humalog Junior KwikPen, and Admelog. Your pharmacy may be able to source one of these, though it may not be in local stock.
  • Ask your prescriber or pharmacist which option fits you best.

The manufacturer's number (Eli Lilly, 800-545-5979) is listed on this page for reference. This is general, national information and may not match your pharmacy's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Humalog or its generic?” below ↓ The same medicine from companies not reporting a shortage, other dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
Quick checklist for the pharmacy counter:
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths / sizes, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Keep reading
Our full Insulin Lispro Injection guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Insulin Lispro Injection guide →

Where else can I get Humalog or its generic?

FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists insulin lispro injections is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. These are generic versions of Humalog — a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeCompanyNDC
Admelog INSULIN LISPRO 100 U/mL Injection, Solution · Subcutaneous Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC 00024-5925-00
Admelog INSULIN LISPRO 100 U/mL Injection, Solution · Subcutaneous REMEDYREPACK INC. 70518-4275-00
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 7 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths / sizes, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Humalog Mix75/25 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-7511-01 Eli 1 vial $8.153 save 20% — Availability likely
Humalog Tempo Pen 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-8213-05 Eli 5 syringes $10.127 save 1% — Availability likely
Humalog Mix50/50 KwikPen 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-8798-59 Eli 5 syringes $10.141 save 1% — Availability likely
Humalog Junior KwikPen 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-7714-59 Eli 5 syringes $10.158 +0% — Availability likely
Humalog Mix75/25 KwikPen 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-8797-59 Eli 5 syringes $10.167 +0% — Availability likely
Insulin Lispro Junior KwikPen 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-7752-05 Eli 5 syringes $10.199 — Availability likely
Insulin Lispro Protamine and Insulin Lispro Injectable Suspension Mix75/25 KwikPen 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-8233-05 Eli 5 syringes $10.207 +0% — Availability likely

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Humalog — that fall in the same broad treatment class (insulins) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
GCN Seq No 077662
GCN 43753
HICL code 011528
Ingredient (HICL) Insulin Lispro
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C4
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antihyperglycemics
HIC3 code C4G
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Insulins
AHFS code 68:20.08.00
AHFS class Insulins
FDB label name INSULIN LISPRO JR 100 UNIT/ML
FDB brand name Insulin Lispro Junior Kwikpen
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
GPI-142710400500D221
GPI classInsulin Lispro Junior KwikPen
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other endocrinology/metabolism shortages

Humalog shortage FAQs

Is Humalog still in shortage?
Not as a nationwide shortage — the FDA lists insulin lispro injections under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: Eli Lilly and has told the FDA it is stopping its own product, while 2 other companies still list the same medicine and have not reported a shortage.
Which strengths / sizes of Humalog are affected?
The FDA record covers 2 strengths / sizes: 100 [iU]/1 mL, U-100 Tempo Pen. None of them has a listed source right now: no reporting company reports supply, and we could not confirm another company listing them with the FDA. Ask your pharmacist and prescriber about options before you run out.
Which Humalog products are affected?
Insulin Lispro Injection, 100 [IU]/1 mL (NDC 00002-7752-05); Humalog Injection (NDC 00002-8213-05). The full per-NDC list (availability, company and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Humalog be available again?
A discontinuation is usually permanent for that company’s product. The same medicine is still listed by Sanofi-Aventis U.S. and REMEDYREPACK, so ask your pharmacy to order another company’s version.
Can I still get Humalog or its generic somewhere?
Other companies (Sanofi-Aventis U.S. and REMEDYREPACK) list the same medicine with the FDA and have not reported a shortage — these are generic versions, and a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. See “Where else can I get Humalog or its generic?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
Is the brand or the generic affected?
The FDA record names Humalog as well as generic insulin lispro injections. Availability can differ between brand and generic and between companies — check the per-NDC table and confirm with your pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Humalog?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another company or a different strength / size or package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Humalog shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (0–2)Several companies still list it and most strengths or pack sizes are still listed by someone — counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report. A listing is not a stock check.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes without a source, or a long-running outage. A company’s discontinuation notice is not an outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages