Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection shortage
Not a nationwide shortage — Hospira has told the FDA it is discontinuing its sodium chloride 0.9% injections. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 12 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.
Pfizer (Hospira) is permanently stopping its Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection in ADD-Vantage flexible containers (50 mL, 100 mL, and 250 mL sizes). Other makers — including B. Braun, Baxter, Nephron, and ICU Medical — still list sodium chloride 0.9% injection as available.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →Is sodium chloride 0.9% still in shortage? — status as of Oct 6, 2026
Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026. Hospira is stopping its own version only; 12 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.
The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.
Shortage timeline
-
Dec 3, 2025Currently in shortage3 of 3 products affected.
-
Dec 3, 2025First reported to the FDA3 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
Which sodium chloride 0.9% products are affected — by company
Company: Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company 📞 844-646-4398 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Size | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection, 50 mL ADD-Vantage® Flexible Container | 50 mL ADD-Vantage® Flexible Container | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection, 100 mL ADD-Vantage® Flexible Container | 100 mL ADD-Vantage® Flexible Container | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection, 250 mL ADD-Vantage® Flexible Container | 250 mL ADD-Vantage® Flexible Container | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are company reports to the FDA for Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get sodium chloride 0.9%? options further down this page.
Why is Hospira discontinuing sodium chloride 0.9%?
Hospira, Inc. (a Pfizer company) has reported to the FDA that it is permanently stopping production of three specific versions of Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection — the 50 mL, 100 mL, and 250 mL ADD-Vantage® Flexible Containers. That means these particular packages will no longer be made by this manufacturer going forward.
It's worth knowing that Hospira did not share a specific public reason explaining why they made this decision — just that manufacturing of these three products is being discontinued. This report covers only these specific ADD-Vantage® flexible container sizes from Hospira, and does not speak to what other manufacturers of Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection may or may not be producing.
Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.
What should I do if I take sodium chloride 0.9%?
Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection in the ADD-Vantage® Flexible Container is currently on the FDA shortage list, and this particular product is listed as being discontinued by its manufacturer.
All three container sizes on this record are affected and have no available source reported right now: the 50 mL, 100 mL, and 250 mL ADD-Vantage® Flexible Containers (made by Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company). The reason given for each is that the maker is stopping production. Because this is a planned discontinuation, the supply problem with these specific containers may be permanent. Keep in mind this report reflects only one manufacturer — the same medicine, Sodium Chloride 0.9%, is still made by several other companies in other forms.
Here is how to handle this:
- Do not stop, skip, or change how this medicine is used on your own.
- Because these ADD-Vantage containers are being discontinued, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about the best next step — such as a different container or an equivalent chosen for you.
- The same medicine may be available from other makers, including B. Braun, Baxter, Nephron, ICU Medical, Becton Dickinson, and Fresenius. Your pharmacy may be able to source one, though it may not be in local stock.
- Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually make these calls.
This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other sizes, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get sodium chloride 0.9%?
FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists sodium chloride 0.9% injections is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Company | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 00264-1800-31 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE .9 g/100mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 00264-5802-00 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 mg/mL | Injection · Intravenous | B. Braun Medical Inc. | 00264-9375-88 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 g/1000mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 00338-0049-01 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 900 mg/100mL | Injection · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 00338-0553-11 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 450 mg/50mL | Injection · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 00338-9151-30 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 mg/mL | Injection · Intravenous | Nephron Pharmaceuticals Corporation | 00487-4301-05 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 900 mg/100mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | ICU Medical Inc. | 00990-7983-02 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Becton Dickinson and Company | 17271-0701-02 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 900 mg/100mL | Injection · Intravenous | Fresenius Medical Care de Mexico, S.A. de C.V. | 46163-0300-10 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 900 mg/100mL | Injection · Intravenous | Fresenius Medical Care Renal Therapies Group, LLC | 49230-0300-10 |
| 0.9% Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 g/1000mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | HF Acquisition Co LLC, DBA HealthFirst | 51662-1609-01 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0623-53 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 g/1000mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | SOLA Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 70512-0841-06 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 g/1000mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | LABORATORIOS GRIFOLS SA | 76297-0001-01 |
| Sodium Chloride | SODIUM CHLORIDE 9 g/1000mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Nextgen Pharmaceuticals LLC | 79672-0613-10 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 15 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected sizes, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Hospira, | 24 pouches | $0.021 | AP | Discontinued |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | HF | 500 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Baxter | 100 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Baxter | 100 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | ICU | 48 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Baxter | 100 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Baxter | 100 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Baxter | 100 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Baxter | 100 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Baxter | 50 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Fresenius | 1000 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Hospira, | 10 pouches | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Fresenius | 1000 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | ICU | 24 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sodium Chloride 900 mg/100mL | Hospira, | 10 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of sodium chloride 0.9% — that fall in the same broad treatment class (sodium/saline preparations) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
Where does this data come from?
Sodium chloride 0.9% shortage FAQs
Is sodium chloride 0.9% still in shortage?
Which sizes of sodium chloride 0.9% are affected?
Which sodium chloride 0.9% products are affected?
When will sodium chloride 0.9% be available again?
Can I still get sodium chloride 0.9% somewhere?
What should I do if I take sodium chloride 0.9%?
Still have a question about the sodium chloride 0.9% shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Sodium Chloride 0.9% Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.