Tobramycin Sulfate Injection shortage
Tobramycin Sulfate Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 22, 2026.
Pfizer (Hospira) is permanently stopping its tobramycin sulfate injection 80 mg/2 mL vials. Other makers — Baxter Healthcare, Fresenius Kabi, and Mylan Institutional — still list tobramycin sulfate injection at 40 mg/mL and 10 mg/mL strengths.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Tobramycin Sulfate Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Jul 17, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Jul 17, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company 📞 844-646-4398 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Tobramycin Sulfate, Injection, 80 mg/2 mL (40 mg/mL); 2 mL Multiple Dose Glass Fliptop Vial (NDC 0409-3578-01) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Tobramycin Sulfate Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Tobramycin Sulfate Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Tobramycin Sulfate Injection in shortage?
Hospira, Inc. (a Pfizer company) has let the FDA know that they are permanently stopping production of one specific version of Tobramycin Sulfate Injection — the 80 mg/2 mL (40 mg/mL) concentration that comes in a 2 mL multiple dose glass flip-top vial. This isn't a temporary delay or a supply hiccup; they are discontinuing the manufacturing of this particular product for good.
It's worth noting that Hospira did not share a specific public reason explaining why they made this decision — just that manufacturing will be discontinued. Also, this report only covers Hospira's version of this product, so it doesn't speak to what other manufacturers may or may not have available.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Tobramycin Sulfate Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Tobramycin Sulfate Injection?
Tobramycin Sulfate Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. I want to walk you through what this means so you know your next steps.
The affected product is the 80 mg/2 mL (40 mg/mL) 2 mL Multiple Dose Glass Fliptop Vial, which has no available source reported right now. This is the only strength on this record, and it is listed as to be discontinued. That means the manufacturer, Hospira (a Pfizer company), has decided to stop making this specific vial. Because this reflects only the manufacturer who filed the report, other companies may still supply this same medicine.
Please do not let this worry you into changing anything on your own. Here is what I suggest:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose without talking to your pharmacist or prescriber.
- Because this vial is being discontinued, this supply problem may be permanent, so a conversation with your prescriber is the right next step.
- The same medicine, tobramycin sulfate injection, is also listed from Baxter, Fresenius Kabi, and Mylan. Your pharmacy may be able to source one of these, though it may not be in local stock.
- The manufacturer's contact number is listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle these calls.
This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Tobramycin Sulfate Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Tobramycin Sulfate Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tobramycin | TOBRAMYCIN SULFATE 40 mg/mL | Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 36000-0242-01 |
| Tobramycin | TOBRAMYCIN SULFATE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0305-02 |
| Tobramycin | TOBRAMYCIN SULFATE 40 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0306-02 |
| Tobramycin | TOBRAMYCIN SULFATE 40 mg/mL | Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Mylan Institutional LLC | 67457-0428-30 |
Alternative dosage forms of Tobramycin Sulfate
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 16 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tobramycin 40 mg/mL | Fresenius | 25 vials | $0.655 | AP | Discontinued |
| Tobramycin 40 mg/mL | Hospira, | 25 vials | $0.739 | AP | Availability likely |
| Tobramycin 40 mg/mL | Baxter | 25 vials | $0.739 | AP | Availability likely |
| Tobramycin 40 mg/mL | Mylan | 25 vials | $0.739 | AP | Availability likely |
| Tobramycin 40 mg/mL | Baxter | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 1.2 g/30mL | XGen | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 1.2 g/30mL | Eugia | 6 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 1200 mg/30mL | Fresenius | 6 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 40 mg/mL | Mylan | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 40 mg/mL | Gland | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 40 mg/mL | Gland | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 1.2 g/30mL | Gland | 6 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| tobramycin 1200 mg/30mL | Slate | 30 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 1.2 g/30mL | Xiromed | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 1.2 g/30mL | Fosun | 6 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Tobramycin 1.2 g/30mL | Northstar | 6 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Tobramycin Sulfate Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (aminoglycoside antibiotics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other anti-infective shortages
Tobramycin Sulfate Injection shortage FAQs
Is Tobramycin Sulfate Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Tobramycin Sulfate Injection be available again?
Can I still get Tobramycin Sulfate somewhere?
What should I do if I take Tobramycin Sulfate Injection?
Still have a question about the Tobramycin Sulfate Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Tobramycin Sulfate Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.