HomeNDC LookupIngredientsEtravirine › 42291-0473-12
etravirine 100 mg Tablet, 120-count — NDC 42291-0473-12 package photo

etravirine 100 mg Tablet, 120-count

by AvKARE · 120 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE (42291-473-12)
NDC 42291-0473-12
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 42291-473-12 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Sep 10, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 42291-473-12
Product NDC 42291-473
11-digit billing NDC 42291047312
NCPDP billing unit EA — each (per item)
RxCUI 754761, 1052658
UNII 0C50HW4FO1
Application # ANDA214196
SPL Set ID ea3856f6-fedf-ee88-e053-2a95a90a33ce
Established class (EPC) Human Immunodeficiency Virus 1 Non-Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor
Mechanism of action Non-Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors; Cytochrome P450 3A Inducers; Cytochrome P450 2C9 Inhibitors; Cytochrome P450 2C19 Inhibitors; P-Glycoprotein Inhibitors
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2022-10-04
Route ORAL
Dosage form TABLET
Substance ETRAVIRINE
GPI-14 12109035000320
GCN Seq No 063597
GCN 99318
HICL code 035342
Ingredient (HICL) Etravirine
HIC1 code W
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Anti-Infecting Agents
HIC2 code W5
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antiviral Agents
HIC3 code W5K
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Antivirals, Hiv-Specific, Non-Nucleoside, Rti
AHFS code 08:18.08.16
AHFS class Hiv Nonnucleoside Rev.transcrip. Inhib.
FDB label name ETRAVIRINE 100 MG TABLET
FDB brand name Etravirine
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 42291-473-12 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 42291-0473-12. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Human Immunodeficiency Virus 1 Non-Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor class.

Pharmacologic class Human Immunodeficiency Virus 1 Non-Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor
Drug family (ATC) Non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors
How it works Non-Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors, Cytochrome P450 2C19 Inhibitors, P-Glycoprotein Inhibitors, Cytochrome P450 2C9 Inhibitors
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerAvKARE
Application holderAMNEAL EU LTD
FDA applicationANDA214196 (ANDA)
Labeler code42291
First marketedOct 2022
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio380 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name ETRAVIRINE 100 MG TABLET Ingredient Etravirine
📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Etravirine is used to treat human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection. Etravirine is in a class of medications called non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NNRTIs). It works by decreasing the amount of HIV in the blood. Although etravirine does not cure HIV, it may decrease your chance of developing acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) and HIV-related illnesses. Taking these medications and making other lifestyle changes may decrease the risk of giving the HIV virus to other people.

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Yes, it really does matter. Studies showed that taking etravirine on an empty stomach cuts the amount your body absorbs by about half. That's a significant drop that could make the...
  • Why do I have to take this with food — does it really matter?
  • A mild rash is actually fairly common with etravirine, especially in the first couple of weeks, and it often goes away on its own within one to two weeks. However, if the rash is s...
  • What should I do if I get a rash while taking etravirine?
📖 Read our full Etravirine guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

💊 What it looks like

Color white
ShapeOval
ImprintAC76
Size22 mm
ScoringNot scored
One label can cover several strengths, so colors may be combined — always confirm a loose pill against the dispensed prescription label or a pharmacist.
Where does this data come from?
Physical description (imprint, shape, color, scoring, coating) from this product’s FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL), mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII M28OL1HH48
    Croscarmellose sodium is a plant-based substance derived from cellulose. It acts as a disintegrant, helping tablets and capsules break down quickly in the digestive system so the medicine can be absorbed.
  • UNII 2S7830E561
    Crospovidone is a synthetic polymer derived from povidone. It acts as a disintegrant, helping the tablet or capsule break apart quickly in the stomach so the active ingredient can be absorbed.
  • UNII 0WZ8WG20P6
    Hypromellose 2910 is a plant-based cellulose derivative that acts as a thickener, binder, and film-coating agent. It helps control how quickly the medicine dissolves and protects the tablet or capsule from moisture and light.
  • UNII 2165RE0K14
    A plant-based thickener made from cellulose that helps control how quickly the medicine dissolves and releases its active ingredient. It also binds ingredients together and improves the tablet's texture and handling during manufacturing.
  • UNII 70097M6I30
    Magnesium stearate is a salt made from magnesium and stearic acid, a fatty substance. It's used in tablets and capsules as a lubricant and glidant to help ingredients flow smoothly during manufacturing and prevent sticking.
  • UNII OP1R32D61U
    Microcrystalline cellulose is a purified form of cellulose, a natural fiber from plant sources. It acts as a binder and filler in tablets and capsules, helping hold ingredients together and give the medicine its shape and size.
  • UNII ETJ7Z6XBU4
    Silicon dioxide is a naturally occurring mineral used as a glidant and anti-caking agent. It helps powder ingredients flow smoothly and prevents clumping during manufacturing and storage.

7 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eachPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · Q2 2026 $8.86 $1,063.58 / 120 tablets
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Etravirine 100 mg 10147-0570-01 Patriot 120 tablets $7.767 AB Availability likely
etravirine 100 mg 60219-1721-07 Amneal 120 tablets $7.767 Availability likely
Etravirine 100 mg 69315-0285-20 Leading 120 tablets $7.767 AB Availability likely
etravirine 100 mg 69452-0254-22 Bionpharma 120 tablets $7.767 AB Availability likely
etravirine 100 mgthis 42291-0473-12 AvKARE 120 tablets FDA listed
Intelence 100 mg 59676-0570-01 Janssen 120 tablets AB FDA listed
Etravirine 100 mg 80005-0112-12 Carnegie 120 tablets AB FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2022
On the market since
Oct 2022
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
4 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

📊 Medicare Part D spend CMS · PART D · 2026 (Q1)

Medicare Part D (outpatient prescription) spending for Etravirine — the program that covers self-administered drugs. 4 manufacturers.
⚠️ Drug-level data: CMS publishes Part D spending by drug, not by NDC — these figures combine every manufacturer, strength and package size sold under the name Etravirine. That’s a different level of aggregation than the Medicaid card above, which is specific to this exact 11-digit NDC (pack size included), so the two aren’t directly comparable.
Period
Total Part D spend
$3.97M
Claims incl. refills
4.1K
Beneficiaries
1.7K
Spend / beneficiary
$2,380.96
Spend / claim
$958.48
Trend by period
💵 About the dollar figures: spending is what Part D plans paid before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower. A blank patient count means fewer than 11 people — CMS hides counts that small to protect privacy. Source: CMS Medicare Quarterly Part D Spending by Drug (data.cms.gov), updated quarterly.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for ETRAVIRINE — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Pain286
Drug Interaction281
Drug Resistance266
Anxiety247
Emotional Distress243
Virologic Failure237
Anhedonia219

Age at onset

Neonate44
Infant14
Child7
Adolescent9
Adult1,061
Elderly95

Reporter sex

4,422 reports
Male · 70%
Female · 29%
Unknown · 1%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization1,279
Death474
Disabling168
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2019 2021 2023 2026 317 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
42291-0473-12 You're viewing this 120 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE (42291-473-12) 2022-10-04 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data — Not published for this NDC Applies only to products approved under an NDA/ANDA; many listings are out of scope.
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 42291-473-12, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 42291-0473-12, written without dashes as 42291047312. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 42291-0473-12, the first segment (42291) is the labeler code FDA assigned to AvKARE; the middle segment (0473) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (12) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by AvKARE. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
AvKARE is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 77 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Etravirine tablets, in combination with other antiretroviral agents, are indicated for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV-1) infection in antiretroviral treatment-experienced adult patients and pediatric patients 2 years of age and older [see Microbiology (12.4) and Clinical Studies (14)] . Etravirine is a human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV-1) non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor (NNRTI) indicated for treatment of HIV-1 infection in treatment-experienced patients 2 years of age and older.

(1)

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~2 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Adult patients: 200 mg (one 200 mg tablet or two 100 mg tablets) taken twice daily following a meal. (2.1 , 2.2 , 2.4) Pregnant patients: 200 mg (one 200 mg tablet or two 100 mg tablets) taken twice daily following a meal. (2.2) Pediatric patients (2 years to less than 18 years of age and weighing at least 10 kg): dosage of etravirine tablets are based on body weight and should not exceed the recommended adult dose.

Etravirine tablets should be taken following a meal. (2.3)

2.1Recommended Dosage in Adult Patients The recommended oral dosage of etravirine tablets for adult patients is 200 mg (one 200 mg tablet or two 100 mg tablets) taken twice daily following a meal. The type of food does not affect the exposure to etravirine [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .

2.2Recommended Dosage During Pregnancy The recommended oral dosage of etravirine tablets for pregnant individuals is 200 mg (one 200 mg tablet or two 100 mg tablets) taken twice daily following a meal [see Use in Specific Populations (8.1)] .

2.3Recommended Dosage in Pediatric Patients (2 Years to Less Than 18 Years of Age) The recommended dosage of etravirine tablets for pediatric patients 2 years to less than 18 years of age and weighing at least 10 kg is based on body weight (see Table 1) not exceeding the recommended adult dosage. Etravirine tablets should be taken orally, following a meal. The type of food does not affect the exposure to etravirine tablets [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .

Table 1: Recommended Dosage of Etravirine Tablets for Pediatric Patients 2 Years to Less Than 18 Years of Age Body Weight kilograms (kg) Dose greater than or equal to 10 kg to less than 20 kg 100 mg twice daily greater than or equal to 20 kg to less than 25 kg 125 mg twice daily greater than or equal to 25 kg to less than 30 kg 150 mg twice daily greater than or equal to 30 kg 200 mg twice daily

2.4Method of Administration Instruct patients to swallow the etravirine tablet(s) whole with liquid such as water. Patients who are unable to swallow the etravirine tablet(s) whole may disperse the tablet(s) in water. Instruct the patient to do the following: place the tablet(s) in 5 mL (1 teaspoon) of water, or at least enough liquid to cover the medication, stir well until the water looks milky, add approximately 15 mL (1 tablespoon) of liquid.

Water may be used but other liquids, such as orange juice or milk, may improve taste. Patients should not place the tablets in orange juice or milk without first adding water. The use of warm (temperature greater than 104°F [greater than 40°C]) or carbonated beverages should be avoided. drink the mixture immediately, rinse the glass several times with orange juice, milk or water and completely swallow the rinse each time to make sure the patient takes the entire dose.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 77 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS 25 mg white to off-white, oval shaped, uncoated tablets debossed with “A56” on one side and score on the other side. 100 mg white to off-white oval shaped, uncoated tablets debossed with “AC75” on one side and plain on the other side. 200 mg white to off-white, oval shaped, uncoated tablets debossed with “AC76” on one side and plain on the other side. Tablets: 25 mg, 100 mg, and 200 mg (3)

Contraindications 5 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS None. None. (4)

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~2 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Severe, potentially life threatening and fatal skin reactions have been reported. This includes cases of Stevens-Johnson syndrome, hypersensitivity reaction, toxic epidermal necrolysis and erythema multiforme. Immediately discontinue treatment if severe hypersensitivity, severe rash or rash with systemic symptoms or liver transaminase elevations develops and monitor clinical status, including liver transaminases closely.

(5.1) Monitor for immune reconstitution syndrome and fat redistribution. (5.3 , 5.4)

5.1Severe Skin and Hypersensitivity Reactions Severe, potentially life-threatening and fatal skin reactions have been reported. In clinical trials, these include cases of Stevens-Johnson syndrome, toxic epidermal necrolysis and erythema multiforme. Hypersensitivity reactions including Drug Rash with Eosinophilia and Systemic Symptoms (DRESS) have also been reported and were characterized by rash, constitutional findings, and sometimes organ dysfunction, including hepatic failure.

In Phase 3 clinical trials, Grade 3 and 4 rashes were reported in 1.3% of subjects receiving etravirine compared to 0.2% of placebo subjects. A total of 2.2% of HIV-1-infected subjects receiving etravirine discontinued from Phase 3 trials due to rash [see Adverse Reactions (6.1) ] . Rash occurred most commonly during the first 6 weeks of therapy.

The incidence of rash was higher in females [see Adverse Reactions (6.1) ] . Stevens-Johnson syndrome was reported in 1.1% (2/177) of pediatric patients less than 18 years of age receiving etravirine in combination with other HIV-1 antiretroviral agents in an observational study. Discontinue etravirine immediately if signs or symptoms of severe skin reactions or hypersensitivity reactions develop (including, but not limited to, severe rash or rash accompanied by fever, general malaise, fatigue, muscle or joint aches, blisters, oral lesions, conjunctivitis, facial edema, hepatitis, eosinophilia, angioedema).

Clinical status including liver transaminases should be monitored and appropriate therapy initiated. Delay in stopping etravirine treatment after the onset of severe rash may result in a life-threatening reaction.

5.2Risk of Adverse Reactions or Loss of Virologic Response Due to Drug Interactions The concomitant use of etravirine and other drugs may result in potentially significant drug interactions, some of which may lead to [see Drug Interactions (7.3) ] : Loss of therapeutic effect of concomitant drug or etravirine and possible development of resistance. Possible clinically significant adverse reactions from greater exposures of etravirine or other concomitant drugs. See Table 4 for steps to prevent or manage these possible and known significant drug interactions, including dosing recommendations.

Consider the potential for drug interactions prior to and during etravirine therapy and review concomitant medications during etravirine therapy.

5.3Immune Reconstitution Syndrome Immune reconstitution syndrome has been reported in patients treated with combination antiretroviral therapy, including etravirine. During the initial phase of combination antiretroviral treatment, patients whose immune system responds may develop an inflammatory response to indolent or residual opportunistic infections (such as Mycobacterium avium infection, cytomegalovirus, Pneumocystis jiroveci pneumonia (PCP) or tuberculosis), which may necessitate further evaluation and treatment.

Autoimmune disorders (such as Graves’ disease, polymyositis, Guillain-Barré syndrome, and autoimmune hepatitis) have also been reported to occur in the setting of immune reconstitution; however, the time to onset is more variable, and can occur many months after initiation of treatment.

5.4Fat Redistribution Redistribution/accumulation of body fat, including central obesity, dorsocervical fat enlargement (buffalo hump), peripheral wasting, facial wasting, breast enlargement, and “cushingoid appearance” have been observed…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following adverse reactions are described in greater detail in other sections: Severe skin and hypersensitivity reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . Immune reconstitution syndrome [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] . The most common adverse drug reactions of moderate to severe intensity (at least 2%) which occurred at a higher rate than placebo in adults are rash and peripheral neuropathy.

(6.1) The most common adverse drug reactions in at least 2% of pediatric patients are rash and diarrhea. (6.1) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact AvKARE at 1-855-361-3993 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. Clinical Trials Experience in Adults The safety assessment is based on all data from 1,203 subjects in the Phase 3 placebo-controlled trials, TMC125-C206 and TMC125-C216, conducted in antiretroviral treatment-experienced HIV-1-infected adult subjects, 599 of whom received etravirine (200 mg twice daily).

In these pooled trials, the median exposure for subjects in the etravirine arm and placebo arm was 52.3 and 51.0 weeks, respectively. Discontinuations due to adverse drug reactions (ADRs) were 5.2% in the etravirine arm and 2.6% in the placebo arm. The most frequently reported ADR at least Grade 2 in severity was rash (10.0%).

Stevens-Johnson syndrome, drug hypersensitivity reaction and erythema multiforme were reported in less than 0.1% of subjects during clinical development with etravirine [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . A total of 2.2% of HIV-1-infected subjects in Phase 3 trials receiving etravirine discontinued due to rash. In general, in clinical trials, rash was mild to moderate, occurred primarily in the second week of therapy, and was infrequent after Week 4.

Rash generally resolved within 1 to 2 weeks on continued therapy. The incidence of rash was higher in women compared to men in the etravirine arm in the Phase 3 trials (rash ≥ Grade 2 was reported in 9/60 [15.0%] women versus 51/539 [9.5%] men; discontinuations due to rash were reported in 3/60 [5.0%] women versus 10/539 [1.9%] men) [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . Patients with a history of NNRTI-related rash did not appear to be at increased risk for the development of etravirine-related rash compared to patients without a history of NNRTI-related rash.

Common Adverse Reactions Clinical ADRs of moderate intensity or greater (greater than or equal to Grade 2) and reported in at least 2% of subjects treated with etravirine and occurring at a higher rate compared to placebo (excess of 1%) are presented in Table 2. Laboratory abnormalities considered ADRs are included in Table 3. Table 2: Adverse Drug Reactions (Grades 2 to 4) in at Least 2% of Adult Subjects (Pooled TMC125-C206 and TMC125-C216 Trials) Preferred Term Etravirine + BR N=599 % Placebo + BR N=604 % Rash 10% 3% Peripheral neuropathy 4% 2% N=total number of subjects per treatment group; BR=background regimen Less Common Adverse Reactions Treatment-emergent ADRs occurring in less than 2% of subjects (599 subjects) receiving etravirine and of at least moderate intensity (greater than or equal to Grade 2) are listed below by body system: Cardiac Disorders : myocardial infarction, angina pectoris, atrial fibrillation Ear and Labyrinth Disorders : vertigo Eye Disorders : blurred vision Gastrointestinal Disorders : gastroesophageal reflux disease, flatulence, gastritis, abdominal distension, pancreatitis, constipation, dry mouth, hematemesis, retching, stomatitis General Disorders and Administration Site Conditions : sluggishness Hematologic Disorders : hemolytic anemia Hepatobiliary Disorders : hepatic failure, hepatomegaly, cytolytic hepatitis, hepat…

🔄 Drug Interactions ~2 min read

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Co-administration of etravirine with other drugs can alter the concentrations of other drugs and other drugs may alter the concentrations of etravirine. The potential drug-drug interactions must be considered prior to and during therapy. (7, 12.3)

7.1Potential for Other Drugs to Affect Etravirine Etravirine is a substrate of CYP3A, CYP2C9, and CYP2C19. Therefore, co-administration of etravirine with drugs that induce or inhibit CYP3A, CYP2C9, and CYP2C19 may alter the therapeutic effect or adverse reaction profile of etravirine (see Table 4) [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)].

7.2Potential for Etravirine to Affect Other Drugs Etravirine is an inducer of CYP3A and inhibitor of CYP2C9, CYP2C19 and P-glycoprotein (P-gp). Therefore, co-administration of drugs that are substrates of CYP3A, CYP2C9 and CYP2C19 or are transported by P-gp with etravirine may alter the therapeutic effect or adverse reaction profile of the co-administered drug(s) (see Table 4) [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)].

7.3Significant Drug Interactions Table 4 shows significant drug interactions based on which, alterations in dose or regimen of etravirine and/or co-administered drug may be recommended. Drugs that are not recommended for co-administration with etravirine are also included in Table 4 [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] . Table 4: Significant Drug Interactions Concomitant Drug Class: Drug Name Effect on Concentration of Etravirine or Concomitant Drug Clinical Comment HIV-antiviral agents: integrase strand inhibitors dolutegravir* ↓ dolutegravir ↔ etravirine Etravirine significantly reduced plasma concentrations of dolutegravir.

Using cross-study comparisons to historical pharmacokinetic data for etravirine, dolutegravir did not appear to affect the pharmacokinetics of etravirine. dolutegravir/darunavir/ritonavir* ↓ dolutegravir ↔ etravirine The effect of etravirine on dolutegravir plasma concentrations was mitigated by co-administration of darunavir/ritonavir or lopinavir/ritonavir, and is expected to be mitigated by atazanavir/ritonavir. dolutegravir/lopinavir/ritonavir* ↔ dolutegravir ↔ etravirine Dolutegravir should only be used with etravirine when co-administered with atazanavir/ritonavir, darunavir/ritonavir, or lopinavir/ritonavir.

HIV-antiviral agents: non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NNRTIs) efavirenz* nevirapine* ↓ etravirine Combining two NNRTIs has not been shown to be beneficial. Concomitant use of etravirine with efavirenz or nevirapine may cause a significant decrease in the plasma concentrations of etravirine and loss of therapeutic effect of etravirine. Co-administration of etravirine and other NNRTIs is not recommended. delavirdine ↑ etravirine Combining two NNRTIs has not been shown to be beneficial.

Etravirine and delavirdine should not be co-administered. rilpivirine ↓ rilpivirine ↔ etravirine Combining two NNRTIs has not been shown to be beneficial. Co-administration of etravirine and rilpivirine is not recommended. HIV-antiviral agents: protease inhibitors (PIs) atazanavir* (without ritonavir) ↓ atazanavir Co-administration of etravirine and atazanavir without low-dose ritonavir is not recommended. atazanavir/ritonavir* ↓ atazanavir ↔ etravirine Concomitant use of etravirine with atazanavir/ritonavir decreased atazanavir C min but it is not considered clinically relevant.

The mean systemic exposure (AUC) of etravirine after co-administration of etravirine with atazanavir/ritonavir in HIV-infected subjects was similar to the mean systemic exposure of etravirine observed in the Phase 3 trials after co-administration of etravirine and darunavir/ritonavir (as part of the background regimen). Etravirine and atazanavir/ritonavir can be co-administered without dose adjustments. atazanavir/cobicistat ↓ atazanavir ↓ cobicistat Co-administration of etravirine with atazanavir/cobicistat is not recommended because it may result in loss of therapeutic effect and development of resistance to atazanavir…

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Lactation: Breastfeeding is not recommended due to the potential for HIV-1 transmission. (8.2)

8.1Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in individuals exposed to etravirine during pregnancy. Healthcare providers are encouraged to register patients by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at 1-800-258-4263. Risk Summary Prospective pregnancy data from clinical trials and the APR are not sufficient to adequately assess the risk of major birth defects, miscarriage or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes.

Etravirine use during pregnancy has been evaluated in a limited number of individuals as reported by the APR, and available data show 1 birth defect in 66 first trimester exposures to etravirine-containing regimens (see Data) . The estimated background rate for major birth defects is 2.7% in the U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP). The rate of miscarriage is not reported in the APR.

The estimated background rate of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies in the U.S. general population is 15% to 20%. The background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. In animal reproduction studies, no adverse developmental effects were observed with orally administered etravirine at exposures equivalent to those at the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD) of 400 mg daily (see Data) .

Data Human Data Based on prospective reports to the APR of 116 live births following exposure to etravirine-containing regimens during pregnancy (including 66 exposed in the first trimester and 38 exposed in the second/third trimester), the number of birth defects in live births for etravirine was 1 out of 66 with first trimester exposure and 0 out of 38 with second/third trimester exposure. Prospective reports from the APR of overall major birth defects in pregnancies exposed to etravirine are compared with a U.S. background major birth defect rate.

Methodological limitations of the APR include the use of MACDP as the external comparator group. Limitations of using an external comparator include differences in methodology and populations, as well as confounding due to the underlying disease; these limitations preclude an accurate comparison of outcomes. Etravirine (200 mg twice daily) in combination with other antiretroviral agents was evaluated in a clinical trial enrolling 15 pregnant subjects during the second and third trimesters of pregnancy and postpartum.

Thirteen subjects completed the trial through postpartum period (6 to 12 weeks after delivery). The pharmacokinetic data demonstrated that exposure to total etravirine was generally higher during pregnancy compared with postpartum [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] . Among subjects who were virologically suppressed (HIV-1 RNA less than 50 copies/mL) at baseline (9/13), virologic suppression was maintained through the third trimester and postpartum period.

Among subjects with HIV-1 RNA greater than 50 copies/mL and less than 400 copies/mL at baseline (3/13), viral loads remained less than 400 copies/mL. In one subject with HIV-1 RNA greater than 1,000 copies/mL at baseline (1/13), HIV-1 RNA remained greater than 1,000 copies/mL during the study period. Thirteen infants were born to 13 HIV-infected pregnant individuals in this study.

HIV-1 test results were not available for 2 infants. Among the eleven infants with HIV-1 test results available, who were born to 11 HIV-infected pregnant individuals who completed the study, all had test results that were negative for HIV-1 at the time of delivery. No unexpected safety findings were observed compared with the known safety profile of etravirine in non-pregnant adults.

Animal Data Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were performed in rats (at 250, 500 and 1,000 mg/kg/day) and rabbits (at 125, 250 and 375 mg/kg/day) administered etr…

🤰 Pregnancy ~3 min read

8.1Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in individuals exposed to etravirine during pregnancy. Healthcare providers are encouraged to register patients by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at 1-800-258-4263. Risk Summary Prospective pregnancy data from clinical trials and the APR are not sufficient to adequately assess the risk of major birth defects, miscarriage or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes.

Etravirine use during pregnancy has been evaluated in a limited number of individuals as reported by the APR, and available data show 1 birth defect in 66 first trimester exposures to etravirine-containing regimens (see Data) . The estimated background rate for major birth defects is 2.7% in the U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP). The rate of miscarriage is not reported in the APR.

The estimated background rate of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies in the U.S. general population is 15% to 20%. The background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. In animal reproduction studies, no adverse developmental effects were observed with orally administered etravirine at exposures equivalent to those at the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD) of 400 mg daily (see Data) .

Data Human Data Based on prospective reports to the APR of 116 live births following exposure to etravirine-containing regimens during pregnancy (including 66 exposed in the first trimester and 38 exposed in the second/third trimester), the number of birth defects in live births for etravirine was 1 out of 66 with first trimester exposure and 0 out of 38 with second/third trimester exposure. Prospective reports from the APR of overall major birth defects in pregnancies exposed to etravirine are compared with a U.S. background major birth defect rate.

Methodological limitations of the APR include the use of MACDP as the external comparator group. Limitations of using an external comparator include differences in methodology and populations, as well as confounding due to the underlying disease; these limitations preclude an accurate comparison of outcomes. Etravirine (200 mg twice daily) in combination with other antiretroviral agents was evaluated in a clinical trial enrolling 15 pregnant subjects during the second and third trimesters of pregnancy and postpartum.

Thirteen subjects completed the trial through postpartum period (6 to 12 weeks after delivery). The pharmacokinetic data demonstrated that exposure to total etravirine was generally higher during pregnancy compared with postpartum [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] . Among subjects who were virologically suppressed (HIV-1 RNA less than 50 copies/mL) at baseline (9/13), virologic suppression was maintained through the third trimester and postpartum period.

Among subjects with HIV-1 RNA greater than 50 copies/mL and less than 400 copies/mL at baseline (3/13), viral loads remained less than 400 copies/mL. In one subject with HIV-1 RNA greater than 1,000 copies/mL at baseline (1/13), HIV-1 RNA remained greater than 1,000 copies/mL during the study period. Thirteen infants were born to 13 HIV-infected pregnant individuals in this study.

HIV-1 test results were not available for 2 infants. Among the eleven infants with HIV-1 test results available, who were born to 11 HIV-infected pregnant individuals who completed the study, all had test results that were negative for HIV-1 at the time of delivery. No unexpected safety findings were observed compared with the known safety profile of etravirine in non-pregnant adults.

Animal Data Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies were performed in rats (at 250, 500 and 1,000 mg/kg/day) and rabbits (at 125, 250 and 375 mg/kg/day) administered etravirine on gestation days 6 through 16, and 6 through 19, respectively. In both species, no treatment-related embryo-fetal ef…

🧒 Pediatric Use ~1 min read

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of etravirine have been established for the treatment of HIV-infected pediatric patients from 2 years of age to less than 18 years [see Indications and Usage (1) and Dosage and Administration (2.3) ] . Use of etravirine in pediatric patients 2 years to less than 18 years of age is supported by evidence from adequate and well-controlled studies of etravirine in adults with additional data from two Phase 2 trials in treatment-experienced pediatric subjects, TMC125-C213, 2 years to less than 18 years of age (N=101) and TMC125-C234/IMPAACT P1090, 2 years to less than 6 years of age (N = 20).

Both studies were open-label, single arm trials of etravirine plus an optimized background regimen. In the clinical trials, the safety, pharmacokinetics, and efficacy were comparable to that observed in adults except for rash (greater than or equal to Grade 2) which was observed more frequently in pediatric subjects [see Adverse Reactions (6.1) , Clinical Pharmacology (12.3), and Clinical Studies (14.2) ] . Postmarketing reports of Stevens-Johnson syndrome in pediatric patients receiving etravirine have been reported [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) , and Adverse Reactions (6.2) ].

Treatment with etravirine is not recommended in pediatric patients less than 2 years of age [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] . Five HIV-infected subjects from 1 year to < 2 years of age were enrolled in TMC125-C234/IMPAACT P1090. Etravirine exposure was lower than reported in HIV-infected adults (AUC12h geometric mean ratio [90% CI] was 0.59 [0.34, 1.01] for pediatric subjects from 1 year to < 2 years of age compared to adults).

Virologic failure at Week 24 (confirmed HIV-RNA greater than or equal to 400 copies/mL) occurred in 3 of 4 evaluable subjects who discontinued before or had reached Week 24. Genotypic and phenotypic resistance to etravirine developed in 1 of the 3 subjects who experienced virologic failure.

🧓 Geriatric Use 81 words

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical studies of etravirine did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 years of age and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects. Other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger subjects. In general, dose selection for an elderly patient should be cautious, reflecting the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .

🆘 Overdosage 73 words

10 OVERDOSAGE There is no specific antidote for overdose with etravirine. Human experience of overdose with etravirine is limited. The highest dose studied in healthy volunteers was 400 mg once daily.

Treatment of overdose with etravirine consists of general supportive measures including monitoring of vital signs and observation of the clinical status of the patient. Because etravirine is highly protein bound, dialysis is unlikely to result in significant removal of the active substance.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Etravirine is an antiretroviral drug [see Microbiology (12.4) ] .

12.2Pharmacodynamics Cardiac Electrophysiology In a thorough QT/QTc study in 41 healthy subjects, etravirine 200 mg twice daily or 400 mg once daily did not affect the QT/QTc interval.

12.3Pharmacokinetics The pharmacokinetic properties of etravirine were determined in healthy adult subjects and in treatment-experienced HIV-1-infected adult and pediatric subjects. The systemic exposures (AUC) to etravirine were lower in HIV-1-infected subjects (Table 5) than in healthy subjects. Table 5: Population Pharmacokinetic Estimates of Etravirine 200 mg Twice Daily in HIV-1-Infected Adult Subjects (Integrated Data from Phase 3 Trials at Week 48) * Parameter Etravirine N=575 AUC 12h (ng•h/mL) Geometric mean ± standard deviation 4,522 ± 4,710 Median (range) 4,380 (458 to 59,084) C 0h (ng/mL) Geometric mean ± standard deviation 297 ± 391 Median (range) 298 (2 to 4,852) * All HIV-1-infected subjects enrolled in Phase 3 clinical trials received darunavir/ritonavir 600/100 mg twice daily as part of their background regimen.

Therefore, the pharmacokinetic parameter estimates shown in Table 5 account for reductions in the pharmacokinetic parameters of etravirine due to co-administration of etravirine with darunavir/ritonavir. Note: The median protein binding adjusted EC 50 for MT4 cells infected with HIV-1/IIIB in vitro equals 4 ng/mL. Absorption and Bioavailability Following oral administration, etravirine was absorbed with a T max of about 2.5 to 4 hours.

The absolute oral bioavailability of etravirine is unknown. In healthy subjects, the absorption of etravirine is not affected by co-administration of oral ranitidine or omeprazole, drugs that increase gastric pH. Effects of Food on Oral Absorption The systemic exposure (AUC) to etravirine was decreased by about 50% when etravirine tablet was administered under fasting conditions, as compared to when etravirine tablet was administered following a meal.

Within the range of meals studied, the systemic exposures to etravirine were similar. The total caloric content of the various meals evaluated ranged from 345 kilocalories (17 grams fat) to 1,160 kilocalories (70 grams fat). Distribution Etravirine is about 99.9% bound to plasma proteins, primarily to albumin (99.6%) and alpha 1-acid glycoprotein (97.66% to 99.02%) in vitro .

The distribution of etravirine into compartments other than plasma (e.g., cerebrospinal fluid, genital tract secretions) has not been evaluated in humans. Metabolism In vitro experiments with human liver microsomes (HLMs) indicate that etravirine primarily undergoes metabolism by CYP3A, CYP2C9, and CYP2C19 enzymes. The major metabolites, formed by methyl hydroxylation of the dimethylbenzonitrile moiety, were at least 90% less active than etravirine against wild-type HIV in cell culture.

Elimination After single dose oral administration of 800 mg 14 C-etravirine, 93.7% and 1.2% of the administered dose of 14 C-etravirine was recovered in the feces and urine, respectively. Unchanged etravirine accounted for 81.2% to 86.4% of the administered dose in feces. Unchanged etravirine was not detected in urine.

The mean (± standard deviation) terminal elimination half-life of etravirine was about 41 (± 20) hours. Specific Populations Geriatric Patients Population pharmacokinetic analysis in HIV-infected subjects showed that etravirine pharmacokinetics are not considerably different within the age range (18 to 77 years) evaluated [see Use in Specific Populations (8.5)] . Pediatric Patients The pharmacokinetics of etravirine in 115 treatment-experienced HIV-1-infected pediatric subjects, 2 years to less than 18 years of age showed that the administered weight-based dosages resulted in etravirine exposure comparable to that in adults receiving etravirine 200 mg twice daily [see Dosage and Administration (2.3) ] .

The pharmacokinetic parameters for etravirine (AUC 12h a…

🧬 Mechanism of Action 14 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Etravirine is an antiretroviral drug [see Microbiology (12.4) ] .

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 152 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Etravirine Tablets, USP 100 mg are supplied as white to off-white, oval shaped, uncoated tablets debossed with “AC75” on one side and plain on the other side. They are available as follows: Bottles of 120 with child-resistant closure: NDC 42291-473-12 Each bottle contains 3 desiccant pouches. Etravirine Tablets, USP 200 mg are supplied as white to off-white, oval shaped, uncoated tablets debossed with “AC76” on one side and plain on the other side.

They are available as follows: Bottles of 60 with child-resistant closure: NDC 42291-474-60 Each bottle contains 3 desiccant pouches. Store etravirine tablets at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F); excursions permitted between 15° to 30°C (59° to 86°F) [see USP controlled room temperature]. Store in the original bottle.

Keep the bottle tightly closed in order to protect from moisture. Do not remove the desiccant pouches. For more information, go to www.avkare.com or call 1-855-361-3993.

📋 Description 127 words

11 DESCRIPTION Etravirine, USP is a non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor (NNRTI) of human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV-1). The chemical name for etravirine is 4-[[6-amino-5-bromo-2-[(4-cyanophenyl) amino]-4-pyrimidinyl] oxy]-3,5-dimethylbenzonitrile. Its molecular formula is C 20 H 15 BrN 6 O and its molecular weight is 435.28 g/mol.

Etravirine, USP has the following structural formula: Etravirine, USP is a white to slightly yellowish-brown powder. Etravirine, USP is practically insoluble in water and freely soluble in some organic solvents like N,N-dimethylformamide and tetrahydrofuran. Etravirine tablets, USP are for oral administration.

Each etravirine tablet, USP contains 25 mg, 100 mg or 200 mg of etravirine, USP. It also contains the inactive ingredients: croscarmellose sodium, crospovidone (type A), colloidal silicon dioxide, hypromellose, low-substituted hydroxy propyl cellulose, magnesium stearate and microcrystalline cellulose. chemical structure

💬 Information for Patients ~3 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information). Administration Advise patients to take etravirine tablets following a meal twice a day on a regular dosing schedule, as missed doses can result in development of resistance. The type of food does not affect the exposure to etravirine.

Inform patients not to take more or less than the prescribed dose of etravirine or discontinue therapy with etravirine without consulting their physician. Etravirine must always be used in combination with other antiretroviral drugs [see Dosage and Administration (2.4) ]. Advise patients to swallow the etravirine tablet(s) whole with a liquid such as water.

Instruct patients not to chew the tablets. Patients who are unable to swallow the etravirine tablet(s) whole may disperse the tablet(s) in water. The patient should be instructed to do the following: place the tablet(s) in 5 mL (1 teaspoon) of water, or at least enough liquid to cover the medication, stir well until the water looks milky, add approximately 15 mL (1 tablespoon) of liquid.

Water may be used, but orange juice or milk may improve taste. Patients should not place the tablets in orange juice or milk without first adding water. The use of warm (temperature greater than 104°F [greater than 40°C]) or carbonated beverages should be avoided. drink the mixture immediately, rinse the glass several times with orange juice, milk or water and completely swallow the rinse each time to make sure the patient takes the entire dose.

Severe Skin Reactions Inform patients that severe and potentially life-threatening rash has been reported with etravirine. Rash has been reported most commonly in the first 6 weeks of therapy. Advise patients to immediately contact their healthcare provider if they develop rash.

Instruct patients to immediately stop taking etravirine and seek medical attention if they develop a rash associated with any of the following symptoms as it may be a sign of a more serious reaction such as Stevens-Johnson syndrome, toxic epidermal necrolysis or severe hypersensitivity: fever, generally ill feeling, extreme tiredness, muscle or joint aches, blisters, oral lesions, eye inflammation, facial swelling, swelling of the eyes, lips, mouth, breathing difficulty, and/or signs and symptoms of liver problems (e.g., yellowing of your skin or whites of your eyes, dark or tea colored urine, pale colored stools/bowel movements, nausea, vomiting, loss of appetite, or pain, aching or sensitivity on your right side below your ribs).

Patients should understand that if severe rash occurs, they will be closely monitored, laboratory tests will be ordered and appropriate therapy will be initiated [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . Drug Interactions Etravirine may interact with many drugs; therefore, advise patients to report to their healthcare provider the use of any other prescription or nonprescription medication or herbal products, including St. John's wort [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] .

Immune Reconstitution Syndrome Advise patients to inform their healthcare provider immediately of any symptoms of infection, as in some patients with advanced HIV infection (AIDS), signs and symptoms of inflammation from previous infections may occur soon after anti-HIV treatment is started [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ]. Fat Redistribution Inform patients that redistribution or accumulation of body fat may occur in patients receiving antiretroviral therapy, including etravirine, and that the cause and long-term health effects of these conditions are not known at this time [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] .

Pregnancy Registry Inform patients that there is an antiretroviral pregnancy registry to monitor fetal outcomes of pregnant individuals exposed to etravirine [see Use in Specific Populations (8.1)] . Lactation Instruct mothers with HIV-1 infection not to breastfeed because HIV-1 can be passed to the baby in breast milk…

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.