HomeNDC LookupIngredientsIron Sucrose › 67457-0957-99
Iron Sucrose 50 mg/2.5mL Injection, Solution, 10 vials — NDC 67457-0957-99 package photo

Iron Sucrose 50 mg/2.5mL Injection, Solution, 10 vials

by Mylan Institutional LLC · 10 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 CARTON (67457-957-99) / 2.5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE
NDC 67457-0957-99
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 67457-957-99 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled ⚠ On shortage
🗂️ Data synced Sep 10, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →
⚠️
Active FDA shortage. Iron Sucrose Injection is currently reported in shortage by the FDA. Shortage details →
⚠️
Other active recalls for Iron Sucrose (different manufacturers) — 3 · tap to view
These affect other manufacturers’ products for the same ingredient — not necessarily the exact NDC on this page.
Class II · Nov 11, 2024 — Presence of Particulate Matter: Potential for glass delamination from the vials. (American Regent, Inc.) · FDA recall D-0080-2025
Class II · Nov 11, 2024 — Presence of Particulate Matter: Potential for glass delamination from the vials. (American Regent, Inc.) · FDA recall D-0081-2025
Class II · Nov 11, 2024 — Presence of Particulate Matter: Potential for glass delamination from the vials. (American Regent, Inc.) · FDA recall D-0082-2025
Each entry is an official FDA enforcement report — look up any recall number in the FDA recall database ↗

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 67457-957-99
Product NDC 67457-957
11-digit billing NDC 67457095799
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII FZ7NYF5N8L
Application # ANDA212559
SPL Set ID 3f109bdb-a412-43b2-84c7-9dad05e85a71
Established class (EPC) Parenteral Iron Replacement
Chemical class Iron
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2025-08-08
Marketing end 2027-01-31
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance IRON SUCROSE
GCN Seq No 067147
GCN 29640
HICL code 021773
Ingredient (HICL) Iron Sucrose Complex
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C3
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Minerals
HIC3 code C3B
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Iron Replacement
AHFS code 20:04.04.00
AHFS class Iron Preparations
FDB label name IRON SUCROSE 50 MG/2.5 ML VIAL
FDB brand name Iron Sucrose
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AB · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 67457-957-99 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 67457-0957-99. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerMylan Institutional LLC
Application holderMYLAN LABORATORIES LTD
FDA applicationANDA212559 (ANDA)
Labeler code67457
First marketedAug 2025
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio167 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name IRON SUCROSE 50 MG/2.5 ML VIAL Ingredient Iron Sucrose Complex
📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Iron sucrose injection is used treat iron-deficiency anemia (a lower than normal number of red blood cells due to too little iron) in people with chronic kidney disease (damage to the kidneys which may worsen over time and may cause the kidneys to stop working). Iron sucrose injection is in a class of medications called iron replacement products. It works by replenishing iron stores so that the body can make more red blood cells.

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Iron sucrose injection is a way to get iron directly into your bloodstream through an IV. It's used when you have iron deficiency anemia — meaning your body doesn't have enough iro...
  • What exactly is iron sucrose injection and why do I need it?
  • A nurse or healthcare professional will place an IV and slowly administer the medication — the infusion itself can take anywhere from a few minutes to a couple of hours depending o...
  • What will happen during my infusion? How long does it take?
📖 Read our full Iron Sucrose Injection guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.

1 inactive ingredient listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
Medicare Part B allowsASP · J1756 $0.227 / J1756 unit
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)67457-957-99
11-digit billing NDC67457-0957-99
Format5-3-2 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the product segment)
HCPCS J-codeJ1756
DescriptorINJECTION, IRON SUCROSE, 1 MG
Billing units / pkg20 units
Crosswalk sourcePDAC NDC-HCPCS crosswalk (DME MAC / DMEPOS)
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Venofer 20 mg/mL 00517-2325-10 American 10 vials AB FDA listed
Iron Sucrose 50 mg/2.5mL 00781-3485-95 Sandoz 10 vials AB FDA listed
Venofer 20 mg/mL 49230-0530-10 Fresenius 10 vials AB FDA listed
Iron Sucrose 50 mg/2.5mLthis 67457-0957-99 Mylan 10 vials AB FDA listed
Iron Sucrose 20 mg/mL 76329-9200-01 International 10 vials AB FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2025
First FDA approval
Aug 2025
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
1 year listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

🛡️ Latest patent/protection date listed: The latest listed FDA patent/protection lapsed Feb 2026 — those protections no longer apply, though a generic still needs FDA approval and a manufacturer to market it.
📅 FDA approved Aug 8, 2025 AB TE-rated RLD RS

Why the date isn’t exact: Generic timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added, removed, or worked around with a narrower label — and FDA approval does not always mean a pharmacy can get the generic today.

Patents & exclusivity — FDA Orange Book
Exclusivity CGT
Exclusivity CGT
2025
Today
LOE
Substance patent Formulation patent Method-of-use patent Exclusivity Pediatric +6mo
🏛️FDA exclusivity
FDA-granted marketing protection. It’s separate from patents and may be shorter than patent protection.
🧪Product / substance patents
Patents covering the active ingredient, product, formulation, or related drug features.
🎯Method-of-use patents
Patents covering specific approved uses. These can sometimes be carved out with a “skinny label,” but not always.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
Patent
Legal protection listed in the Orange Book that may delay generic approval or launch. Issued by the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office.
Substance patent
Covers the active drug molecule itself — the hardest to design around. A generic generally can’t launch until it expires.
Formulation (product) patent
Covers a specific formulation or dosage form. A generic can sometimes work around it with a different formulation.
Method-of-use patent
A patent covering one specific approved use of the drug — not necessarily the whole molecule. A generic can sometimes launch with a “skinny label” that carves out the protected use and keeps the others.
Skinny label
A generic label that omits a still-patented use when the FDA allows it — letting a generic reach the market for the unprotected uses.
Exclusivity
FDA-granted marketing protection, separate from patents — e.g. 5-yr new chemical entity, 7-yr orphan drug, or a +6-month pediatric extension.
Paragraph IV
A generic applicant’s formal challenge to a listed patent. It can potentially lead to earlier generic entry, but often involves litigation or a settlement.
RLD / RS
Reference Listed Drug — the brand product the FDA uses as the reference for generic applications. Reference Standard — the product the FDA expects generics to compare against in bioequivalence testing.
TE / AB rating
FDA therapeutic-equivalence rating. An AB rating generally means the FDA considers a generic therapeutically equivalent to — and substitutable for — the brand.
LOE (loss of exclusivity)
The latest patent or exclusivity currently listed — the loss-of-exclusivity / latest-listed-protection date shown on this page. Paragraph-IV challenges and settlements can move the real date earlier; FDA approval and a manufacturer’s decision to market can move it later.

Built from the FDA Orange Book. The bars above are scaled to each protection’s expiry; the red LOE marker is the last one to lapse.

FDA exclusivity
CodeWhat it grantsExpires
CGTFDA-granted marketing exclusivityFeb 7, 2026
CGTFDA-granted marketing exclusivityFeb 7, 2026
Common questions
Is there a generic version of IRON SUCROSE 50 MG/2.5 ML VIAL?
Yes — an FDA-approved generic equivalent is listed in the FDA Orange Book for IRON SUCROSE 50 MG/2.5 ML VIAL. See the alternatives section for substitutable, lower-cost products.
The FDA approved a generic — why can’t I get it at my pharmacy yet?
FDA approval and pharmacy availability are two different things. The FDA can approve a generic years before it actually reaches pharmacies, because the brand company may still hold patents or have a settlement that delays the launch. A manufacturer also has to choose to make and sell it, and have supply ready. So a drug can be “FDA-approved generic exists” and still be brand-only at the counter today.
Why do different websites show different generic release dates?
Generic availability is not based on one single date. Some sources use the first exclusivity expiration, some use the last product patent, and others use the latest method-of-use patent. Patent challenges, settlements, licenses, and label carve-outs can also change the real-world launch date. This page shows the underlying Orange Book dates so you can see why estimates may differ.
What does “FDA listed” mean?
It means the product appears in the FDA’s official NDC directory. That’s a good sign a product exists and is intended for the U.S. market, but on its own it does not confirm a pharmacy can fill it today. Where we have recent retail pricing data (NADAC) for a product, we label it “Availability likely” instead.
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
It’s the latest date currently listed in the FDA Orange Book for a patent or exclusivity on the brand product. It can affect when a full generic version becomes widely available — but it is not a guaranteed generic launch date. Generics sometimes arrive earlier (through a settlement or patent challenge) or later (a manufacturer still has to make and sell one).
What does “current Orange Book estimate” mean?
It means we are using the latest patent and exclusivity dates currently listed in the FDA Orange Book. It is not a guaranteed launch date.
Can a generic come out before the last patent expires?
Sometimes. A generic company may challenge a patent, settle with the brand manufacturer, receive a license, or obtain approval with a narrower label that avoids a patented use. In other cases, the last listed protection may delay full-label generic competition.
Can a generic come out after the listed dates?
Yes. Even after patents or exclusivity expire, a generic still needs FDA approval and a manufacturer must choose to market it. Supply, litigation, business decisions, or regulatory issues can delay actual availability.
What is the difference between patents and exclusivity?
Patents are legal protections usually issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. FDA exclusivity is marketing protection granted by the FDA. They are separate, and either one can affect generic timing.
Why are there multiple patent dates?
One drug can have several patents covering different things: the active ingredient, a formulation, a manufacturing process, or a specific approved use. That is why a page may show several expiration dates instead of one simple generic date.
Built from FDA Orange Book patent and exclusivity data. Dates are refreshed from public FDA data when available; the marker is max(latest patent expiry, latest exclusivity expiry). Paragraph-IV settlements and first-filer 180-day exclusivity can shift the real date; a method-of-use patent may allow an earlier skinny-label generic for non-protected indications. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.
Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
67457-0957-99 You're viewing this 10 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 CARTON (67457-957-99) / 2.5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE 2025-08-08 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk ✓ Available
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 67457-957-99, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 67457-0957-99, written without dashes as 67457095799. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 67457-0957-99, the first segment (67457) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Mylan Institutional LLC; the middle segment (0957) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (99) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page it is currently marketed — but Mylan Institutional LLC has reported a marketing end date of 2027-01-31, after which this package is expected to stop being marketed. The directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Mylan Institutional LLC is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Yes — this NDC cross-references HCPCS code J1756 for medical-claim billing (typically used when a product is administered in a clinical setting rather than dispensed at a retail pharmacy). See the Billing section on this page.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 51 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Iron sucrose injection is indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD). Iron sucrose injection is an iron replacement product indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD). ( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Population Dose Adult patients Hemodialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (HDD-CKD) ( 2.2 ) 100 mg slow intravenous injection or infusion Non-Dialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (NDD-CKD) ( 2.3 ) 200 mg slow intravenous injection or infusion Peritoneal Dialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (PDD-CKD) ( 2.4 ) 300 mg or 400 mg intravenous infusion Pediatric patients HDD-CKD ( 2.5 ), PDD-CKD or NDD-CKD ( 2.6 ) 0.5 mg/kg slow intravenous injection or infusion

2.1Mode of Administration Administer iron sucrose injection only intravenously by slow injection or by infusion. The dosage of iron sucrose injection is expressed in mg of elemental iron. Each mL contains 20 mg of elemental iron.

2.2Adult Patients with Hemodialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (HDD-CKD) Administer iron sucrose injection 100 mg undiluted as a slow intravenous injection over 2 to 5 minutes, or as an infusion of 100 mg diluted in a maximum of 100 mL of 0.9% NaCl over a period of at least 15 minutes, per consecutive hemodialysis session [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling (16.2) ] . Administer iron sucrose injection early during the dialysis session (generally within the first hour). The usual total treatment course of iron sucrose injection is 1000 mg.

Iron sucrose injection treatment may be repeated if iron deficiency reoccurs.

2.3Adult Patients with Non-Dialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (NDD-CKD) Administer iron sucrose injection 200 mg undiluted as a slow intravenous injection over 2 to 5 minutes or as an infusion of 200 mg in a maximum of 100 mL of 0.9% NaCl over a period of 15 minutes. Administer on 5 different occasions over a 14 day period. There is limited experience with administration of an infusion of 500 mg of iron sucrose injection, diluted in a maximum of 250 mL of 0.9% NaCl, over a period of 3.5 to 4 hours on Day 1 and Day 14 [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling (16.2) ] .

Iron sucrose injection treatment may be repeated if iron deficiency reoccurs.

2.4Adult Patients with Peritoneal Dialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (PDD-CKD) Administer iron sucrose injection in 3 divided doses, given by slow intravenous infusion, within a 28 day period: 2 infusions each of 300 mg over 1.5 hours 14 days apart followed by one 400 mg infusion over 2.5 hours 14 days later. Dilute iron sucrose injection in a maximum of 250 mL of 0.9% NaCl [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling (16.2) ] . Iron sucrose injection treatment may be repeated if iron deficiency reoccurs.

2.5Pediatric Patients (2 Years of Age and Older) with HDD-CKD for Iron Maintenance Treatment For iron maintenance treatment: Administer iron sucrose injection at a dose of 0.5 mg/kg, not to exceed 100 mg per dose, every two weeks for 12 weeks given undiluted by slow intravenous injection over 5 minutes or diluted in 0.9% NaCl at a concentration of 1 mg/mL to 2 mg/mL and administered over 5 to 60 minutes. Do not dilute to concentrations below 1 mg/mL [see How Supplied / Storage and Handling (16.2) ] . Iron sucrose injection treatment may be repeated if necessary.

The dosing for iron replacement treatment in pediatric patients with HDD-CKD has not been established.

2.6Pediatric Patients (2 Years of Age and Older) with NDD-CKD or PDD-CKD who are on Erythropoietin Therapy for Iron Maintenance Treatment For iron maintenance treatment: Administer iron sucrose injection at a dose of 0.5 mg/kg, not to exceed 100 mg per dose, every four weeks for 12 weeks given undiluted by slow intravenous injection over 5 minutes or diluted in 0.9% NaCl at a concentration of 1 mg/mL to 2 mg/mL and administered over 5 to 60 minutes. Do not dilute to concentrations below 1 mg/mL [see How Supplied /Storage and Handling (16.2) ] .

Iron sucrose injection treatment may be repeated if necessary. The dosing for iron replacement treatment in pediatric patients with NDD-CKD or PDD-CKD has not been established.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 60 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 50 mg Elemental Iron/2.5 mL (20 mg/mL), 100 mg Elemental Iron/5 mL (20 mg/mL), or 200 mg Elemental Iron/10 mL (20 mg/mL) in single-dose vials. Injection: 50 mg Elemental Iron/2.5 mL (20 mg/mL), 100 mg Elemental Iron/5 mL (20 mg/mL), or 200 mg Elemental Iron/10 mL (20 mg/mL) in single-dose vials. ( 3 )

Contraindications 17 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS • Known hypersensitivity to iron sucrose. • Known hypersensitivity to iron sucrose. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~2 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS • Hypersensitivity Reactions: Observe for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after iron sucrose administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of each administration. Only administer iron sucrose when personnel and therapies are immediately available for the treatment of serious hypersensitivity reactions. ( 5.1 ) • Hypotension: May cause hypotension.

Monitor for signs and symptoms of hypotension during and following each administration. ( 5.2 ) • Iron Overload: Regularly monitor hematologic responses during therapy. Do not administer to patients with iron overload.

( 5.3 )

5.1Hypersensitivity Reactions Serious hypersensitivity reactions, including anaphylactic-type reactions, some of which have been life-threatening and fatal, have been reported in patients receiving iron sucrose. Patients may present with shock, clinically significant hypotension, loss of consciousness, and/or collapse. If hypersensitivity reactions or signs of intolerance occur during administration, stop iron sucrose immediately.

Monitor patients for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after iron sucrose administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of the infusion. Only administer iron sucrose when personnel and therapies are immediately available for the treatment of serious hypersensitivity reactions. Most reactions associated with intravenous iron preparations occur within 30 minutes of the completion of the infusion [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 and 6.2 )] .

5.2Hypotension Iron sucrose may cause clinically significant hypotension. Monitor for signs and symptoms of hypotension following each administration of iron sucrose. Hypotension following administration of iron sucrose may be related to the rate of administration and/or total dose administered [see Dosage and Administration (2), Warnings and Precautions (5.1) , and Adverse Reactions (6.2) ] .

5.3Iron Overload Excessive therapy with parenteral iron can lead to excess storage of iron with the possibility of iatrogenic hemosiderosis. All adult and pediatric patients receiving iron sucrose require periodic monitoring of hematologic and iron parameters (hemoglobin, hematocrit, serum ferritin and transferrin saturation). Do not administer iron sucrose to patients with evidence of iron overload.

Transferrin saturation (TSAT) values increase rapidly after intravenous administration of iron sucrose; do not perform serum iron measurements for at least 48 hours after intravenous dosing [see Dosage and Administration (2) and Overdosage (10) ] .

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are described elsewhere in the labeling: • Hypersensitivity Reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] • Hypotension [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] • Iron Overload [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] • Adult patients: The most common adverse reactions (≥2%) are diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, headache, dizziness, hypotension, pruritus, pain in extremity, arthralgia, back pain, muscle cramp, injection site reactions, chest pain, and peripheral edema.

( 6.1 ) • Pediatric patients: The most common adverse reactions (≥2%) are headache, respiratory tract viral infection, peritonitis, vomiting, pyrexia, dizziness, cough, nausea, arteriovenous fistula thrombosis, hypotension, and hypertension. ( 6.1) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Mylan at 1-877-446-3679 (1-877-4-INFO-RX) or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Adverse Reactions in Clinical Trials Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug may not reflect the rates observed in practice. Adverse Reactions in Adult Patients with CKD The frequency of adverse reactions associated with the use of iron sucrose has been documented in six clinical trials involving 231 patients with HDD-CKD, 139 patients with NDD-CKD and 75 patients with PDD-CKD. Adverse reactions reported by ≥ 2% of treated patients in the six clinical trials for which the rate for iron sucrose exceeds the rate for comparator are listed by indication in Table 1.

Patients with HDD-CKD received 100 mg doses at 10 consecutive dialysis sessions until a cumulative dose of 1000 mg was administered. Patients with NDD-CKD received either 5 doses of 200 mg over 2 weeks or 2 doses of 500 mg separated by fourteen days, and patients with PDD-CKD received 2 doses of 300 mg followed by a dose of 400 mg over a period of 4 weeks. Table 1.

Adverse Reactions Reported in ≥ 2% of Study Populations and for which the Rate for Iron Sucrose Exceeds the Rate for Comparator Body System/Adverse Reactions HDD-CKD NDD-CKD PDD-CKD Iron Sucrose (N=231) % Iron Sucrose (N=139) % Oral Iron (N=139) % Iron Sucrose (N=75) % EPO EPO=Erythropoietin Only (N=46) % Subjects with any adverse reaction 78.8 76.3 73.4 72.0

65.2Ear and Labyrinth Disorders Ear Pain 0 2.2 0.7 0 0 Eye Disorders Conjunctivitis 0.4 0 0 2.7 0 Gastrointestinal Disorders Abdominal pain 3.5 1.4 2.9 4.0

6.5Diarrhea 5.2 7.2 10.1 8.0

4.3Dysgeusia 0.9 7.9 0 0 0 Nausea 14.7 8.6 12.2 5.3

4.3Vomiting 9.1 5.0 8.6 8.0

2.2General Disorders and Administration Site Conditions Asthenia 2.2 0.7 2.2 2.7 0 Chest pain 6.1 1.4 0 2.7 0 Feeling abnormal 3.0 0 0 0 0 Infusion site pain or burning 0 5.8 0 0 0 Injection site extravasation 0 2.2 0 0 0 Peripheral edema 2.6 7.2 5.0 5.3

10.9Pyrexia 3.0 0.7 0.7 1.3 0 Infections and Infestations Nasopharyngitis, Sinusitis, Upper respiratory tract infections, Pharyngitis 2.6 2.2 4.3 16.0

4.3Injury, Poisoning and Procedural Complications Graft complication 9.5 1.4 0 0 0 Metabolism and Nutrition Disorders Fluid overload 3.0 1.4 0.7 1.3 0 Gout 0 2.9 1.4 0 0 Hyperglycemia 0 2.9 0 0

2.2Hypoglycemia 0.4 0.7 0.7 4.0 0 Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue Disorders Arthralgia 3.5 1.4 2.2 4.0

4.3Back pain 2.2 2.2 3.6 1.3

4.3Muscle cramp 29.4 0.7 0.7 2.7 0 Myalgia 0 3.6 0 1.3 0 Pain in extremity 5.6 4.3 0 2.7

6.5Nervous System Disorders Dizziness 6.5 6.5 1.4 1.3

4.3Headache 12.6 2.9 0.7 4.0 0 Respiratory, Thoracic and Mediastinal Disorders Cough 3.0 2.2 0.7 1.3 0 Dyspnea 3.5 5.8 1.4 1.3

2.2Nasal congestion 0 1.4 2.2 1.3 0 Skin and Subcutaneous Tissue Disorders Pruritus 3.9 2.2 4.3 2.7 0 Vascular Disorders Hypertension 6.5 6.5 4.3 8.0

6.5Hypotension 39.4 2.2 0.7 2.7

2.2One hundred thirty (11%) of the 1,151 patients evaluated in the 4 U.S. trials in HDD-CKD patients (studies A, B and the two post marketing studies) had prior other intravenous iron therapy and were repo…

🔄 Drug Interactions 15 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Iron sucrose may reduce the absorption of concomitantly administered oral iron preparations.

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies on intravenous iron sucrose treatment after the first trimester of pregnancy have not shown adverse maternal or fetal outcomes ( see Data ). Available reports of intravenous iron sucrose use in pregnant women during the first trimester are insufficient to assess the risk of major birth defects and miscarriage. There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated IDA in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions ( see Clinical Considerations ).

Animal reproduction studies of iron sucrose administered to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis at elemental iron doses equivalent to the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus ( see Data ). The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. Adverse outcomes in pregnancy occur regardless of the health of the mother or the use of medications.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically-recognized pregnancies is 2 to 4% and 15 to 20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Iron deficiency anemia during pregnancy should be treated. Untreated IDA in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia.

Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA include increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight. Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as iron sucrose) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester. Data Human Data Published data from randomized controlled studies and prospective observational studies on the use of iron sucrose in pregnant women have not reported an association of iron sucrose and adverse developmental outcomes.

However, these studies did not include women exposed during the first trimester of pregnancy and were not designed to assess the risk of major birth defects. Maternal adverse events reported in these studies are similar to those reported during clinical trials in adult males and non-pregnant females [see Adverse Reactions (6.1) ] . Animal Data Iron sucrose was administered intravenously to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis at elemental iron doses up to 13 mg/kg/day (0.25 times or equivalent to the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area, respectively) and revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary Iron sucrose is present in human milk, and available published reports following exposure to 100 to 300 mg intravenous iron sucrose have not reported adverse reactions in breastfed infants ( see Data ). There are no data on the effects on milk production. The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered, along with the mother’s clinical need for iron sucrose and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed child from iron sucrose or from the underlying maternal condition.

Data A published study showed no difference in iron concentration in the colostrum of 10 iron deficient breastfeeding women who were 2 to 3 days postpartum and received a single dose of 100 mg of intravenous iron sucrose compared to 5 breastfeeding women who received no iron. These results may underestimate the amount of iron in breastmilk following the standard dose of iron sucrose. A published report of 78 breastfeeding women who received 300 mg of intravenous iron sucrose over 3 days (infant age not reported) did not report on the safety of iron sucrose in breastfed infants; however adverse reactions in breastfed infants were not reported.

Clinical…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies on intravenous iron sucrose treatment after the first trimester of pregnancy have not shown adverse maternal or fetal outcomes ( see Data ). Available reports of intravenous iron sucrose use in pregnant women during the first trimester are insufficient to assess the risk of major birth defects and miscarriage. There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated IDA in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions ( see Clinical Considerations ).

Animal reproduction studies of iron sucrose administered to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis at elemental iron doses equivalent to the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus ( see Data ). The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. Adverse outcomes in pregnancy occur regardless of the health of the mother or the use of medications.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically-recognized pregnancies is 2 to 4% and 15 to 20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Iron deficiency anemia during pregnancy should be treated. Untreated IDA in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia.

Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA include increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight. Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as iron sucrose) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester. Data Human Data Published data from randomized controlled studies and prospective observational studies on the use of iron sucrose in pregnant women have not reported an association of iron sucrose and adverse developmental outcomes.

However, these studies did not include women exposed during the first trimester of pregnancy and were not designed to assess the risk of major birth defects. Maternal adverse events reported in these studies are similar to those reported during clinical trials in adult males and non-pregnant females [see Adverse Reactions (6.1) ] . Animal Data Iron sucrose was administered intravenously to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis at elemental iron doses up to 13 mg/kg/day (0.25 times or equivalent to the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area, respectively) and revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus.

🧒 Pediatric Use 189 words

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness of iron sucrose for iron replacement treatment in pediatric patients with dialysis-dependent or non-dialysis-dependent CKD have not been established. Safety and effectiveness of iron sucrose for iron maintenance treatment in pediatric patients 2 years of age and older with dialysis-dependent or non-dialysis-dependent CKD receiving erythropoietin therapy were studied. Iron sucrose at doses of 0.5 mg/kg, 1 mg/kg, and 2 mg/kg was administered.

All three doses maintained hemoglobin between 10.5 g/dL and 14.0 g/dL in about 50% of subjects over the 12-week treatment period with stable EPO dosing [ see Clinical Studies (14.7) ] . Iron sucrose has not been studied in patients younger than 2 years of age. In a country where iron sucrose is available for use in children, at a single site, five premature infants (weight less than 1,250 g) developed necrotizing enterocolitis and two of the five died during or following a period when they received iron sucrose, several other medications and erythropoietin.

Necrotizing enterocolitis may be a complication of prematurity in very low birth weight infants. No causal relationship to iron sucrose or any other drugs could be established.

🧓 Geriatric Use 94 words

8.5Geriatric Use Of the 1,051 patients in two post-marketing safety studies of iron sucrose, 40% were 65 years and older. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these subjects and younger subjects, and other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger patients, but greater sensitivity of some older individuals cannot be ruled out. In general, dose administration to an elderly patient should be cautious, reflecting the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy.

🆘 Overdosage 106 words

10 OVERDOSAGE No data are available regarding overdosage of iron sucrose in humans. Excessive dosages of iron sucrose may lead to accumulation of iron in storage sites potentially leading to hemosiderosis. Do not administer iron sucrose to patients with iron overload [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] .

Iron sucrose is not dialyzable through CA210 (Baxter) High Efficiency or Fresenius F80A High Flux dialysis membranes. Toxicities in single-dose studies in mice and rats, at intravenous iron sucrose doses up to 8 times the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area, included sedation, hypoactivity, pale eyes, bleeding in the gastrointestinal tract and lungs, and mortality.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~2 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Iron sucrose is an aqueous complex of poly-nuclear iron (III)-hydroxide in sucrose. Following intravenous administration, iron sucrose is dissociated into iron and sucrose and the iron is transported as a complex with transferrin to target cells including erythroid precursor cells. The iron in the precursor cells is incorporated into hemoglobin as the cells mature into red blood cells.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Following intravenous administration, iron sucrose is dissociated into iron and sucrose. In 22 patients undergoing hemodialysis and receiving erythropoietin (recombinant human erythropoietin) therapy treated with iron sucrose containing 100 mg of iron, three times weekly for three weeks, significant increases in serum iron and serum ferritin and significant decreases in total iron binding capacity occurred four weeks from the initiation of iron sucrose treatment.

12.3Pharmacokinetics In healthy adults administered intravenous doses of iron sucrose, its iron component exhibited first order kinetics with an elimination half-life of 6 h, total clearance of

1.2 L/h, and steady state apparent volume of distribution of

7.9L. The iron component appeared to distribute mainly in blood and to some extent in extravascular fluid. A study evaluating iron sucrose containing 100 mg of iron labeled with 52 Fe/ 59 Fe in patients with iron deficiency showed that a significant amount of the administered iron is distributed to the liver, spleen and bone marrow and that the bone marrow is an irreversible iron trapping compartment.

Following intravenous administration of iron sucrose, iron sucrose is dissociated into iron and sucrose. The sucrose component is eliminated mainly by urinary excretion. In a study evaluating a single intravenous dose of iron sucrose containing 1,510 mg of sucrose and 100 mg of iron in 12 healthy adults (9 female, 3 male: age range 32 to 52), 68.3% of the sucrose was eliminated in urine in 4 h and 75.4% in 24 h.

Some iron was also eliminated in the urine. Neither transferrin nor transferrin receptor levels changed immediately after the dose administration. In this study and another study evaluating a single intravenous dose of iron sucrose containing 500 to 700 mg of iron in 26 patients with anemia on erythropoietin therapy (23 female, 3 male; age range 16 to 60), approximately 5% of the iron was eliminated in urine in 24 h at each dose level.

The effects of age and gender on the pharmacokinetics of iron sucrose have not been studied. Pharmacokinetics in Pediatric Patients In a single-dose PK study of iron sucrose, patients with NDD-CKD ages 12 to 16 (N=11) received intravenous bolus doses of iron sucrose at 7 mg/kg (maximum 200 mg) administered over 5 minutes. Following a single dose of iron sucrose, the half-life of total serum iron was 8 hours.

The mean C max and AUC values were 8545 mcg/dL and 31305 hr•mcg/dL, respectively, which were 1.42- and 1.67-fold higher than dose adjusted adult C max and AUC values. Iron sucrose is not dialyzable through CA210 (Baxter) High Efficiency or Fresenius F80A High Flux dialysis membranes. In in vitro studies, the amount of iron sucrose in the dialysate fluid was below the levels of detection of the assay (less than 2 parts per million).

🧬 Mechanism of Action 62 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Iron sucrose is an aqueous complex of poly-nuclear iron (III)-hydroxide in sucrose. Following intravenous administration, iron sucrose is dissociated into iron and sucrose and the iron is transported as a complex with transferrin to target cells including erythroid precursor cells. The iron in the precursor cells is incorporated into hemoglobin as the cells mature into red blood cells.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling ~2 min read

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING

16.1How Supplied Iron sucrose injection, USP is a brown, sterile, aqueous solution supplied in 10 mL, 5 mL and 2.5 mL single-dose vials. Each 10 mL vial contains 200 mg elemental iron, each 5 mL vial contains 100 mg elemental iron, and each 2.5 mL vial contains 50 mg elemental iron (20 mg/mL). 200 mg Elemental Iron/10 mL (20 mg/mL): 10 mL Single-Dose Vials Individually Boxed NDC 67457-639-00 Packaged in a Carton of 5 NDC 67457-639-10 Packaged in a Carton of 10 NDC 67457-639-99 100 mg Elemental Iron/5 mL (20 mg/mL): 5 mL Single-Dose Vials Individually Boxed NDC 67457-638-00 Packaged in a Carton of 10 NDC 67457-638-10 Packaged in a Carton of 25 NDC 67457-638-25 50 mg Elemental Iron/2.5 mL (20 mg/mL): 2.5 mL Single-Dose Vials Individually Boxed NDC 67457-957-00 Packaged in a Carton of 10 NDC 67457-957-99 Packaged in a Carton of 25 NDC 67457-957-25

16.2Stability and Storage Contains no preservatives. Store in original carton at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77° F); excursions permitted to 15° to 30°C (59° to 86°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. Do not freeze.

Syringe Stability: Iron sucrose injection USP, when diluted with 0.9% NaCl at concentrations ranging from 2 mg to 10 mg of elemental iron per mL, or undiluted (20 mg elemental iron per mL) and stored in a plastic syringe, was found to be physically and chemically stable for 7 days at controlled room temperature (25°C ± 2°C) and under refrigeration (4°C ± 2°C). Intravenous Admixture Stability: Iron sucrose injection USP, when added to intravenous infusion bags (PVC or non-PVC) containing 0.9% NaCl at concentrations ranging from 1 mg to 2 mg of elemental iron per mL, has been found to be physically and chemically stable for 7 days at controlled room temperature (25°C ± 2°C).

Do not dilute to concentrations below 1 mg/mL. Do not mix iron sucrose injection, USP with other medications or add to parenteral nutrition solutions for intravenous infusion. Parenteral drug products should be inspected visually for particulate matter and discoloration prior to infusion.

Discard unused portion.

📋 Description 161 words

11 DESCRIPTION Iron sucrose injection, USP, an iron replacement product, is a brown, sterile, aqueous solution, complex of polynuclear iron (III)-hydroxide in sucrose for intravenous use. Iron sucrose injection has a molecular weight of approximately 34,000 to 60,000 daltons and a proposed structural formula: where: n is the degree of iron polymerization and m is the number of sucrose molecules associated with the iron (III)-hydroxide. Each mL contains 20 mg elemental iron as iron sucrose in water for injection.

Iron sucrose injection, USP is available in 10 mL single-dose vials (200 mg elemental iron per 10 mL), 5 mL single-dose vials (100 mg elemental iron per 5 mL), and 2.5 mL single-dose vials (50 mg elemental iron per 2.5 mL). The drug product contains approximately 30% sucrose w/v (300 mg/mL) and sodium chloride for tonicity. Sodium hydroxide may be added to adjust pH 10.5 to 11.1.

The product contains no preservatives. The osmolarity of the injection is 1,250 mOsmol/L. Structural Formula

💬 Information for Patients 87 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Prior History of Reactions to Parenteral Iron Products Question patients regarding any prior history of reactions to parenteral iron products [see Warnings and Precautions (5) ] . Serious Hypersensitivity Reactions Advise patients to report any symptoms of hypersensitivity that may develop during and following iron sucrose administration, such as rash, itching, dizziness, light-headedness, swelling, and breathing problems [see Warnings and Precautions (5) ] . Manufactured for: Mylan Institutional LLC Morgantown, WV 26505 U.S.A.

Manufactured by: Mylan Laboratories Limited Bangalore, India JUNE 2025 50105408

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.