Home › NDC Lookup › Ingredients › Theophylline › 72578-0173-01
Theophylline 300 mg Tablet, Extended Release, 100-count — NDC 72578-0173-01 package photo

Theophylline 300 mg Tablet, Extended Release, 100-count

by Viona Pharmaceuticals Inc · 100 TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE in 1 BOTTLE (72578-173-01)
NDC 72578-0173-01
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 72578-173-01 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →
⚠️
Other active recalls for Theophylline (different manufacturers) — 2 · tap to view
These affect other manufacturers’ products for the same ingredient — not necessarily the exact NDC on this page.
Class II · Aug 8, 2025 — Failed Dissolution Specifications: Failure results (above) were reported for the Dissolution (by UV) test for commercial annual stability at the long-term shelf life stability interval, wherein the dissolution results do not comply with L3 stage dissolution criteria. (Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Inc., USA) · FDA recall D-0583-2025
Class II · May 15, 2025 — OOS results reported for the Dissolution (by UV) test. (Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Inc., USA) · FDA recall D-0452-2025
Each entry is an official FDA enforcement report — look up any recall number in the FDA recall database ↗

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 72578-173-01
Product NDC 72578-173
11-digit billing NDC 72578017301
NCPDP billing unit EA — each (per item)
RxCUI 314241, 317769
UNII 0I55128JYK
Application # ANDA218063
SPL Set ID abdfb9b9-9402-4761-9347-8eb1c4d86242
Established class (EPC) Methylxanthine
Chemical class Xanthines
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2024-05-25
Route ORAL
Dosage form TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE
Substance THEOPHYLLINE ANHYDROUS
GPI-14 44300040007440
GCN Seq No 000093
GCN 00413
HICL code 000025
Ingredient (HICL) Theophylline Anhydrous
HIC1 code A
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Cardiovascular System
HIC2 code A1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Cardiac Stimulants
HIC3 code A1B
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Xanthines
AHFS code 24:36.92.00
AHFS class Diuretics, Miscellaneous (24:36)
FDB label name THEOPHYLLINE ER 300 MG TABLET
FDB brand name Theophylline Er
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AB · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 72578-173-01 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 72578-0173-01. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Methylxanthine class.

Pharmacologic class Methylxanthine
Drug family (ATC) Xanthines
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerViona Pharmaceuticals Inc
Application holderZYDUS LIFESCIENCES LTD
FDA applicationANDA218063 (ANDA)
Labeler code72578
First marketedMay 2024
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio94 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name THEOPHYLLINE ER 300 MG TABLET Ingredient Theophylline Anhydrous
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Theophylline is a long-term controller medicine for chronic asthma, emphysema, and chronic bronchitis. It works by relaxing the muscles around your airways so they stay more open,...
  • What exactly is theophylline supposed to do for me?
  • Yes, timing matters. If you're on Theo-24 extended-release capsules once a day, take it every morning at roughly the same time — taking it at night is not recommended because your...
  • How should I take my theophylline, and does it matter when I take it?
📖 Read our full Theophylline guide →
2
Nutrient depletion considerations

Theophylline may be associated with lower levels of 2 nutrients — worth a chat with your pharmacist, not a cause for alarm.

An association is not a deficiency. Educational only — don't start or stop anything without professional guidance.
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

💊 What it looks like

Color White
ShapeCapsule
Imprint7;29
Size19 mm
ScoringScored — splits in 2
One label can cover several strengths, so colors may be combined — always confirm a loose pill against the dispensed prescription label or a pharmacist.
Where does this data come from?
Physical description (imprint, shape, color, scoring, coating) from this product’s FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL), mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII B1QE5P712K
    Hypromellose 2208 is a plant-derived thickening agent that dissolves in water. It's used as a binder to help hold tablet ingredients together and as a coating on pills to control how quickly the medicine releases in your body.
  • UNII EWQ57Q8I5X
    Lactose monohydrate is a natural sugar derived from milk. It serves as a filler and binder in tablets and capsules, helping create the proper size, texture, and consistency of the medicine.
  • UNII 70097M6I30
    Magnesium stearate is a salt made from magnesium and stearic acid, a fatty substance. It's used in tablets and capsules as a lubricant and glidant to help ingredients flow smoothly during manufacturing and prevent sticking.
  • UNII FZ989GH94E
    Povidone is a synthetic polymer made from a plastic-like material. It acts as a binder to hold tablet ingredients together and as a disintegrant to help the tablet break apart in your stomach so the medicine can be absorbed.

4 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMed — ingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eaPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly $0.330 $32.95 / 100 tablets
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $0.8172 $81.72 / 100 tablets
Medicare drug plans payPart D · Q2 2026 $0.8789 $87.89 / 100 tablets
NADAC price history (per ea) — tap or hover for the price & month
Dec 2025 Mar 2026 Jun 2026 Sep 2026 $0.441 $0.320
▼ Down 25% over the last 10 months.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Theophylline 300 mg 00480-3310-01 Teva 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mg 23155-0741-01 Heritage 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mg 31722-0077-01 Camber 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
theophylline 300 mg 60219-2045-01 Amneal 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mg 62135-0457-90 Chartwell 90 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mg 64380-0243-01 Strides 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mg 68462-0721-01 Glenmark 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mg 69315-0226-01 Leading 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mg 69452-0267-20 Bionpharma 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mgthis 72578-0173-01 Viona 100 tablets $0.330 AB Availability likely —
Theophylline 300 mg 27241-0272-01 Ajanta 100 tablets — — FDA listed —
Theophylline 300 mg 42291-0922-01 AvKARE 100 tablets — AB FDA listed —
Theophylline 300 mg 46708-0025-30 Alembic 30 tablets — AB FDA listed —
Theophylline 300 mg 62332-0025-30 Alembic 30 tablets — AB FDA listed —
Theophylline 300 mg 70771-1782-01 Zydus 100 tablets — AB FDA listed —
Theophylline 300 mg 71321-0502-10 Brandywine 100 tablets — — Discontinued —
Theophylline 300 mg 72789-0441-01 PD-Rx 100 tablets — AB FDA listed —
Theophylline 300 mg 82638-0105-02 Harman 100 tablets — AB FDA listed —
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

⏳ Availability & generic status

🏛️
2024
On the market since
May 2024
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
2 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
✅This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 72578-0173-01, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q1 2026 · 5 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
516
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
29.2K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$23.8K
Avg / prescription
$46.22
Avg / unit
$0.8172
Latest quarter Q1 2026
187Rx
Medicaid pays / ea
$0.8172
gross reimbursed
vs
NADAC / ea
$0.3295
acquisition cost
=
Spread
+$0.4877
+148% vs cost
What Medicaid paid per ea (before rebates; includes the pharmacy’s dispensing fee) compared with NADAC — the average price pharmacies pay to buy the drug. A positive spread means Medicaid reimbursed more than the purchase price, before manufacturer rebates.
Fee-for-service vs managed care ⓘ
43% FFS 57% MCO
Fee-for-service · 220 Rx Managed care · 296 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: 2,813 units · 47.6 per 100k residents WI Michigan: no data reported MI New York: no data reported NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: 2,115 units · 16.9 per 100k residents IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: 5,613 units · 47.6 per 100k residents OH Pennsylvania: 1,300 units · 10.0 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: no data reported NJ Massachusetts: no data reported MA California: 2,855 units · 7.3 per 100k residents CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: 3,306 units · 53.4 per 100k residents MO Kentucky: 3,321 units · 73.4 per 100k residents KY West Virginia: 1,170 units · 66.1 per 100k residents WV Virginia: no data reported VA Maryland: no data reported MD Connecticut: no data reported CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: 1,530 units · 21.5 per 100k residents TN North Carolina: no data reported NC South Carolina: no data reported SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: 4,440 units · 97.1 per 100k residents LA Mississippi: no data reported MS Alabama: 720 units · 14.1 per 100k residents AL Georgia: no data reported GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: no data reported TX Florida: no data reported FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
7.397.1
gray = no data reported ⓘ
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 Louisiana 97.1 /100k
2 Kentucky 73.4 /100k
3 West Virginia 66.1 /100k
4 Missouri 53.4 /100k
5 Ohio 47.6 /100k
6 Wisconsin 47.6 /100k
7 Tennessee 21.5 /100k
8 Illinois 16.9 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

📊 Medicare Part D spend CMS · PART D · 2026 (Q1)

Medicare Part D (outpatient prescription) spending for Theophylline — the program that covers self-administered drugs. 2 manufacturers.
⚠️ Drug-level data: CMS publishes Part D spending by drug, not by NDC — these figures combine every manufacturer, strength and package size sold under the name Theophylline. That’s a different level of aggregation than the Medicaid card above, which is specific to this exact 11-digit NDC (pack size included), so the two aren’t directly comparable.
Period
Total Part D spend
$76K
Claims incl. refills
673
Beneficiaries
266
Spend / beneficiary
$285.69
Spend / claim
$112.92
Trend by period
💵 About the dollar figures: spending is what Part D plans paid before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower. A blank patient count means fewer than 11 people — CMS hides counts that small to protect privacy. Source: CMS Medicare Quarterly Part D Spending by Drug (data.cms.gov), updated quarterly.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Theophylline — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Dyspnoea2,441
Asthma2,097
Pneumonia1,466
Wheezing1,417
Vomiting1,230
Cough1,117
Drug Hypersensitivity940

Age at onset

Neonate15
Infant1
Child13
Adolescent9
Adult677
Elderly839

Reporter sex

12,323 reports
Male · 40%
Female · 60%
Unknown · 0%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization5,347
Death1,786
Life-threatening1,029
Disabling470
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2019 2021 2023 2026 679 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
72578-0173-01 You're viewing this 100 TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE in 1 BOTTLE (72578-173-01) 2024-05-25 Active

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 32 words ▾

INDICATIONS AND USAGE Theophylline extended-release tablets are indicated for the treatment of the symptoms and reversible airflow obstruction associated with chronic asthma and other chronic lung diseases, e.g., emphysema and chronic bronchitis.

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read ▾

DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Taking theophylline extended-release tablets immediately after a high-fat content meal may result in a somewhat higher C max and delayed T max and somewhat greater extent of absorption. However, the differences are usually not great and this product may normally be administered without regard to meals (see CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY, Drug interactions, Drug-Food Interactions ). Theophylline extended-release tablets are recommended for chronic or long-term management and prevention of symptoms and not for use in treating acute symptoms of asthma and reversible bronchospasm.

General considerations The steady-state peak serum theophylline concentration is a function of the dose, the dosing interval and the rate of theophylline absorption and clearance in the individual patient. Because of marked individual differences in the rate of theophylline clearance, the dose required to achieve a peak serum theophylline concentration in the 10 mcg/mL to 20 mcg/mL range varies fourfold among otherwise similar patients in the absence of factors known to alter theophylline clearance (e.g., 400 mg/day to 1,600 mg/day in adults < 60 years old and 10 mg/kg/day to 36 mg/kg/day in children 1 year to 9 years old).

For a given population there is no single theophylline dose that will provide both safe and effective serum concentrations for all patients. Administration of the median theophylline dose required to achieve a therapeutic serum theophylline concentration in a given population may result in either sub-therapeutic or potentially toxic serum theophylline concentrations in individual patients. For example, at a dose of 900 mg/d in adults < 60 years or 22 mg/kg/d in children 1 year to 9 years, the steady-state peak serum theophylline concentration will be < 10 mcg/mL in about 30% of patients, 10 mcg/mL to 20 mcg/mL in about 50% and 20 mcg/mL to 30 mcg/mL in about 20% of patients.

The dose of theophylline must be individualized on the basis of peak serum theophylline concentration measurements in order to achieve a dose that will provide maximum potential benefit with minimal risk of adverse effects. Transient caffeine-like adverse effects and excessive serum concentrations in slow metabolizers can be avoided in most patients by starting with a sufficiently low dose and slowly increasing the dose, if judged to be clinically indicated, in small increments (see Table 5). Dose increases should only be made if the previous dosage is well tolerated and at intervals of no less than 3 days to allow serum theophylline concentrations to reach the new steady state.

Dosage adjustment should be guided by serum theophylline concentration measurement (see PRECAUTIONS, Laboratory Tests and DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION, Table 6 ). Health care providers should instruct patients and care givers to discontinue any dosage that causes adverse effects, to withhold the medication until these symptoms are gone and to then resume therapy at a lower, previously tolerated dosage (see WARNINGS ). If the patient's symptoms are well controlled, there are no apparent adverse effects and no intervening factors that might alter dosage requirements (see WARNINGS and PRECAUTIONS ), serum theophylline concentrations should be monitored at 6 month intervals for rapidly growing children and at yearly intervals for all others.

In acutely ill patients, serum theophylline concentrations should be monitored at frequent intervals, e.g., every 24 hours. Theophylline distributes poorly into body fat, therefore, mg/kg dose should be calculated on the basis of ideal body weight. Table 5 contains theophylline dosing titration schema recommended for patients in various age groups and clinical circumstances.

Table 6 contains recommendations for theophylline dosage adjustment based upon serum theophylline concentrations. Application of these general dosing recommendations to individual patients must take into account the unique clinical characteristics of each patient. In gene…

⛔ Contraindications 21 words ▾

CONTRAINDICATIONS Theophylline extended-release tablets are contraindicated in patients with a history of hypersensitivity to theophylline or other components in the product.

⚠️ Warnings ~2 min read ▾

WARNINGS Concurrent Illness Theophylline should be used with extreme caution in patients with the following clinical conditions due to the increased risk of exacerbation of the concurrent condition: Active peptic ulcer disease Seizure disorders Cardiac arrhythmias (not including bradyarrhythmias) Conditions that Reduce Theophylline Clearance There are several readily identifiable causes of reduced theophylline clearance. If the total daily dose is not appropriately reduced in the presence of these risk factors, severe and potentially fatal theophylline toxicity can occur.

Careful consideration must be given to the benefits and risks of theophylline use and the need for more intensive monitoring of serum theophylline concentrations in patients with the following risk factors: Age: Neonates (term and premature), Children < 1year, Elderly (> 60 years) Concurrent Diseases: Acute pulmonary edema, congestive heart failure, cor-pulmonale, fever (≥ 102° for 24 hours or more; or lesser temperature elevations for longer periods), reduced renal function in infants < 3 months of age, sepsis with multiorgan failure and shock.

Cessation of Smoking Drug Interactions: Adding a drug that inhibits theophylline metabolism (e.g., cimetidine, erythromycin, tacrine) or stopping a concurrently administered drug that enhances theophylline metabolism (e.g., carbamazepine, rifampin). (see PRECAUTIONS, Drug Interactions, Table 2 ). When Signs or Symptoms of Theophylline Toxicity Are Present Whenever a patient receiving theophylline develops nausea or vomiting, particularly repetitive vomiting or other signs or symptoms consistent with theophylline toxicity (even if another cause may be suspected), additional doses of theophylline should be withheld and a serum theophylline concentration measured immediately .

Patients should be instructed not to continue any dosage that causes adverse effects and to withhold subsequent doses until the symptoms have resolved, at which time the healthcare professional may instruct the patient to resume the drug at a lower dosage (see DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION, Dosing Guidelines, Table 6 ). Dosage Increases: Increases in the dose of theophylline should not be made in response to an acute exacerbation of symptoms of chronic lung disease since theophylline provides little added benefit to inhaled beta 2 -selective agonists and systemically administered cortico-steroids in this circumstance and increases the risk of adverse effects.

A peak steady-state serum theophylline concentration should be measured before increasing the dose in response to persistent chronic symptoms to ascertain whether an increase in dose is safe. Before increasing the theophylline dose on the basis of a low serum concentration, the healthcare professional should consider whether the blood sample was obtained at an appropriate time in relationship to the dose and whether the patient has adhered to the prescribed regimen (see PRECAUTIONS, Laboratory Tests ). As the rate of theophylline clearance may be dose-dependent (i.e., steady-state serum concentrations may increase disproportionately to the increase in dose), an increase in dose based upon a sub-therapeutic serum concentration measurement should be conservative.

In general, limiting dose increases to about 25% of the previous total daily dose will reduce the risk of unintended excessive increases in serum theophylline concentration (see DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION, Table 6 ).

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read ▾

ADVERSE REACTIONS Adverse reactions associated with theophylline are generally mild when peak serum theophylline concentrations are < 20 mcg/mL and mainly consist of transient caffeine-like adverse effects such as nausea, vomiting, headache and insomnia. When peak serum theophylline concentrations exceed 20 mcg/mL, however, theophylline produces a wide range of adverse reactions including persistent vomiting, cardiac arrhythmias and intractable seizures which can be lethal (see OVERDOSAGE ). The transient caffeine-like adverse reactions occur in about 50% of patients when theophylline therapy is initiated at doses higher than recommended initial doses (e.g.,> 300 mg/day in adults and > 12 mg/kg/day in children beyond 1 year of age).

During the initiation of theophylline therapy, caffeine-like adverse effects may transiently alter patient behavior, especially in school age children, but this response rarely persists. Initiation of theophylline therapy at a low dose with subsequent slow titration to a predetermined age-related maximum dose will significantly reduce the frequency of these transient adverse effects (see DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION, Table 5 ). In a small percentage of patients (< 3% of children and < 10% of adults) the caffeine-like adverse effects persist during maintenance therapy, even at peak serum theophylline concentrations within the therapeutic range (i.e., 10 mcg/mL to 20 mcg/mL).

Dosage reduction may alleviate the caffeine-like adverse effects in these patients, however, persistent adverse effects should result in a reevaluation of the need for continued theophylline therapy and the potential therapeutic benefit of alternative treatment. Other adverse reactions that have been reported at serum theophylline concentrations < 20 mcg/mL include diarrhea, irritability, restlessness, fine skeletal muscle tremors and transient diuresis. In patients with hypoxia secondary to COPD, multifocal atrial tachycardia and flutter have been reported at serum theophylline concentrations ≥ 15 mcg/mL.

There have been a few isolated reports of seizures at serum theophylline concentrations < 20 mcg/mL in patients with an underlying neurological disease or in elderly patients. The occurrence of seizures in elderly patients with serum theophylline concentrations < 20 mcg/mL may be secondary to decreased protein binding resulting in a larger proportion of the total serum theophylline concentration in the pharmacologically active unbound form. The clinical characteristics of the seizures reported in patients with serum theophylline concentrations < 20 mcg/mL have generally been milder than seizures associated with excessive serum theophylline concentrations resulting from an overdose (i.e. they have generally been transient, often stopped without anticonvulsant therapy and did not result in neurological residua).

Table 4 Manifestations of theophylline toxicity * * These data are derived from two studies in patients with serum theophylline concentrations > 30 mcg/mL. In the first study (Study #1 - Shanon, Ann Intern Med 1993; 119:1161-67), data were prospectively collected from 249 consecutive cases of theophylline toxicity referred to a regional poison center for consultation. In the second study (Study #2 - Sessler, Am J Med 1990;88:567-76), data were retrospectively collected from 116 cases with serum theophylline concentrations > 30 mcg/mL among 6,000 blood samples obtained for measurement of serum theophylline concentrations in three emergency departments.

Differences in the incidence of manifestations of theophylline toxicity between the two studies may reflect sample selection as a result of study design (e.g., in Study #1, 48% of the patients had acute intoxications versus only 10% in Study #2) and different methods of reporting results. ** NR = Not reported in a comparable manner. Percentage of patients reported with sign or symptoms Actual Overdose (Large Single Ingestion) Chronic Overdosage (Multiple Excessive Doses) Sign…

🆘 Overdosage ~3 min read ▾

OVERDOSAGE General: The chronicity and pattern of theophylline overdosage significantly influences clinical manifestations of toxicity, management and outcome. There are two common presentations: (1) acute overdose , i.e., ingestion of a single large excessive dose (> 10 mg/kg) as occurs in the context of an attempted suicide or isolated medication error and (2) chronic overdosage , i.e., ingestion of repeated doses that are excessive for the patient's rate of theophylline clearance. The most common causes of chronic theophylline overdosage include patient or care giver error in dosing, healthcare professional prescribing of an excessive dose or a normal dose in the presence of factors known to decrease the rate of theophylline clearance and increasing the dose in response to an exacerbation of symptoms without first measuring the serum theophylline concentration to determine whether a dose increase is safe.

Severe toxicity from theophylline overdose is a relatively rare event. In one health maintenance organization, the frequency of hospital admissions for chronic overdosage of theophylline was about 1 per 1,000 person-years exposure. In another study, among 6,000 blood samples obtained for measurement of serum theophylline concentration, for any reason, from patients treated in an emergency department, 7% were in the 20 mcg/mL to 30 mcg/mL range and 3% were > 30 mcg/mL.

Approximately two-thirds of the patients with serum theophylline concentrations in the 20 mcg/mL to 30 mcg/mL range had one or more manifestations of toxicity while > 90% of patients with serum theophylline concentrations > 30 mcg/mL were clinically intoxicated. Similarly, in other reports, serious toxicity from theophylline is seen principally at serum concentrations > 30 mcg/mL. Several studies have described the clinical manifestations of theophylline overdose and attempted to determine the factors that predict life-threatening toxicity.

In general, patients who experience an acute overdose are less likely to experience seizures than patients who have experienced a chronic overdosage, unless the peak serum theophylline concentration is > 100 mcg/mL. After a chronic overdosage, generalized seizures, life-threatening cardiac arrhythmias and death may occur at serum theophylline concentrations > 30 mcg/mL. The severity of toxicity after chronic overdosage is more strongly correlated with the patient's age than the peak serum theophylline concentration; patients > 60 years are at the greatest risk for severe toxicity and mortality after a chronic overdosage.

Preexisting or concurrent disease may also significantly increase the susceptibility of a patient to a particular toxic manifestation, e.g., patients with neurologic disorders have an increased risk of seizures and patients with cardiac disease have an increased risk of cardiac arrhythmias for a given serum theophylline concentration compared to patients without the underlying disease. The frequency of various reported manifestations of theophylline overdose according to the mode of overdose are listed in Table 4. Other manifestations of theophylline toxicity include increases in serum calcium, creatine kinase, myoglobin and leukocyte count, decreases in serum phosphate and magnesium, acute myocardial infarction and urinary retention in men with obstructive uropathy.

Seizures associated with serum theophylline concentrations > 30 mcg/mL are often resistant to anticonvulsant therapy and may result in irreversible brain injury if not rapidly controlled. Death from theophylline toxicity is most often secondary to cardiorespiratory arrest and/or hypoxic encephalopathy following prolonged generalized seizures or intractable cardiac arrhythmias causing hemodynamic compromise. Overdose Management General Recommendations for Patients with Symptoms of Theophylline Overdose or Serum Theophylline Concentrations > 30 mcg/mL (Note: Serum theophylline concentrations may continue to increase after presentation of the pat…

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read ▾

CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY Mechanism of Action Theophylline has two distinct actions in the airways of patients with reversible obstruction; smooth muscle relaxation (i.e., bronchodilation) and suppression of the response of the airways to stimuli (i.e., non-bronchodilator prophylactic effects). While the mechanisms of action of theophylline are not known with certainty, studies in animals suggest that bronchodilation is mediated by the inhibition of two isozymes of phosphodiesterase (PDE III and to a lesser extent, PDE IV) while non-bronchodilator prophylactic actions are probably mediated through one or more different molecular mechanisms, that do not involve inhibition of PDE III or antagonism of adenosine receptors.

Some of the adverse effects associated with theophylline appear to be mediated by inhibition of PDE III (e.g., hypotension, tachycardia, headache and emesis) and adenosine receptor antagonism (e.g., alterations in cerebral blood flow). Theophylline increases the force of contraction of diaphragmatic muscles. This action appears to be due to enhancement of calcium uptake through an adenosine-mediated channel.

Serum Concentration-Effect Relationship Bronchodilation occurs over the serum theophylline concentration range of 5 mcg/mL to 20 mcg/mL. Clinically important improvement in symptom control has been found in most studies to require peak serum theophylline concentrations > 10 mcg/mL, but patients with mild disease may benefit from lower concentrations. At serum theophylline concentrations ˃ 20 mcg/mL, both the frequency and severity of adverse reactions increase.

In general, maintaining peak serum theophylline concentrations between 10 mcg/mL and 15 mcg/mL will achieve most of the drug's potential therapeutic benefit while minimizing the risk of serious adverse events. Pharmacokinetics Overview: Theophylline is rapidly and completely absorbed after oral administration in solution or immediate-release solid oral dosage form. Theophylline does not undergo any appreciable pre-systemic elimination, distributes freely into fat-free tissues and is extensively metabolized in the liver.

The pharmacokinetics of theophylline vary widely among similar patients and cannot be predicted by age, sex, body weight or other demographic characteristics. In addition, certain concurrent illnesses and alterations in normal physiology (see Table 1) and coadministration of other drugs (see Table 2) can significantly alter the pharmacokinetic characteristics of theophylline. Within-subject variability in metabolism has also been reported in some studies, especially in acutely ill patients.

It is, therefore, recommended that serum theophylline concentrations be measured frequently in acutely ill patients (e.g., at 24-hr intervals) and periodically in patients receiving long-term therapy, e.g., at 6 months to 12 months intervals. More frequent measurements should be made in the presence of any condition that may significantly alter theophylline clearance (see PRECAUTIONS, Laboratory Tests ). Table 1 Mean and range of total body clearance and half-life of theophylline related to age and altered physiological states ¶ ¶ For various North American patient populations from literature reports.

Different rates of elimination and consequent dosage requirements have been observed among other peoples. * Clearance represents the volume of blood completely cleared of theophylline by the liver in one minute. Values listed were generally determined at serum theophylline concentrations < 20 mcg/mL; clearance may decrease and half-life may increase at higher serum concentrations due to non-linear pharmacokinetics. †† Reported range or estimated range (mean ± 2 SD) where actual range not reported. † NR = not reported or not reported in a comparable format. ** Median Population Characteristics Total body clearance * mean (range) †† (mL/kg/min) Half-life mean (range) †† (hr) Age Premature neonates postnatal age 3 days to 15 days 0.29 (0.09 to 0.49) 30 (17 to…

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 161 words ▾

HOW SUPPLIED Theophylline extended-release tablets, 300 mg are white to off white, capsule shaped, biconvex, uncoated tablets, debossed with "7" and "28" on either side of score on one side and plain on the other side and are supplied as follows: NDC 72578-173-01 in bottle of 100 with child-resistant closure. Theophylline extended-release tablets, 450 mg are white to off white, capsule shaped, biconvex, uncoated tablets, debossed with "7" and "29" on either side of score on one side and plain on the other side and are supplied as follows: NDC 72578-174-01 in bottle of 100 with child-resistant closure.

Store at 20°C to 25°C (68ºF to 77°F); excursions permitted between 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) [See USP Controlled Room Temperature]. Dispense in a well-closed container, with child resistant closure [as defined in the USP]. Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects.

You may report side effects to FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088. Please address medical inquiries to, [email protected] or Tel.: 1-888-304-5011.

📋 Description 113 words ▾

DESCRIPTION Theophylline, USP is structurally classified as a methylxanthine. It occurs as a white, odorless, crystalline powder with a bitter taste. Anhydrous theophylline has the chemical name 1 H- Purine-2, 6-dione, 3,7-dihydro-1, 3-dimethyl-, and is represented by the following structural formula: C 7 H 8 N 4 O 2 M.W.

180.17. This product allows a 12-hour dosing interval for a majority of patients and a 24-hour dosing interval for selected patients (see DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION section for description of appropriate patient populations). Each extended-release tablet for oral administration contains either 300 mg or 450 mg of anhydrous theophylline, USP.

Tablets also contain as inactive ingredients: hypromellose, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate and povidone. Image

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.