Ampicillin Sodium Injection shortage
Ampicillin Sodium Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 5 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 3, 2026.
Sandoz is stopping its private-label ampicillin sodium injection, and this change may be permanent. Other makers — including Sagent Pharmaceuticals and WG Critical Care — still list ampicillin sodium injection in multiple strengths, including 125 mg, 250 mg, 500 mg, and 1 g.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Ampicillin Sodium Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Dec 8, 2025Currently in shortage5 of 5 products affected.
-
Dec 8, 2025First reported to the FDA5 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Sandoz Inc. 📞 800-525-8747 5 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Ampicillin Sodium, Injection, 2 g (NDC 0781-9413-92) | — | — | Discontinuation of private label only | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Ampicillin Sodium, Injection, 2 g (NDC 0781-9408-95) | — | — | Discontinuation of private label only | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Ampicillin Sodium, Injection, 1 g (NDC 0781-9404-95) | — | — | Discontinuation of private label only | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Ampicillin Sodium, Injection, 10 g (NDC 0781-9409-95) | — | — | Discontinuation of private label only | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Ampicillin Sodium, Injection, 1 g (NDC 0781-9412-92) | — | — | Discontinuation of private label only | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Ampicillin Sodium Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Ampicillin Sodium Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Ampicillin Sodium Injection in shortage?
Here's what's going on with this one. Sandoz is permanently stopping certain specific versions of ampicillin sodium injection — the 1 g, 2 g, and 10 g strengths — but only what's called their "private label" products. A private label product is essentially the same medicine sold under a different brand or distributor name, rather than directly under Sandoz's own label.
It's worth knowing that Sandoz did not share a more detailed public reason for why they're making this change. Also, because this only affects their private label versions, it does not necessarily mean all ampicillin sodium injection products from this manufacturer are going away — and other manufacturers may make this medication as well.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Ampicillin Sodium Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Ampicillin Sodium Injection?
Ampicillin Sodium Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. This report comes from one manufacturer, Sandoz Inc., and reflects their supply only — not every company that makes this medicine.
For the strengths covered in this report — the 1 g, 2 g, and 10 g — none have an available source from the filing manufacturer right now. The reason listed is a discontinuation of the private-label product. Because this is a discontinuation, this particular supply may not return, which makes a conversation with your prescriber or pharmacist the right next step. Keep in mind the same medicine is still listed from other makers, so your pharmacy may be able to track it down from another source.
Here is how to approach this:
- Do not stop, skip, or change how your medicine is used on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers — the same ampicillin sodium injection (including 1 g, 2 g, and 10 g) is listed from makers such as Sagent Pharmaceuticals and WG Critical Care, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact product cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options, such as a different strength or a clinician-chosen alternative.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle these calls. This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Ampicillin Sodium Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Ampicillin Sodium Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 125 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Sandoz Inc | 00781-3400-95 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 250 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Sandoz Inc | 00781-3402-95 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 1 g/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Sandoz Inc | 00781-3404-95 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 500 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Sandoz Inc | 00781-3407-95 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 2 g/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Sandoz Inc | 00781-3408-95 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 10 g/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous | Sandoz Inc | 00781-3409-95 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 1 g/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0136-10 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 2 g/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0137-20 |
| Ampicillin Sodium | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 10 g/100mL | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0197-99 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 250 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | WG Critical Care, LLC | 44567-0100-10 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 500 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | WG Critical Care, LLC | 44567-0101-10 |
| Ampicillin | AMPICILLIN SODIUM 1 g/1 | Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | WG Critical Care, LLC | 44567-0102-10 |
Alternative dosage forms of Ampicillin Sodium
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ampicillin 2 g | Henry | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g/2g | Heritage | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| ampicillin 2 g | Sagent | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | WG | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | HF | 10 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Eugia | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Fresenius | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin sodium 2 g | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin sodium 2 g | Armas | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | Civica, | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin sodium 2 g | Civica, | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | NorthStar | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 2 g | ONESOURCE | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g/g | Heritage | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| ampicillin 1 g | Sagent | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g | WG | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g | Eugia | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ampicillin 1 g | Fresenius | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Ampicillin Sodium Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (penicillin antibiotics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other anti-infective shortages
Ampicillin Sodium Injection shortage FAQs
Is Ampicillin Sodium Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Ampicillin Sodium Injection be available again?
Can I still get Ampicillin Sodium somewhere?
What should I do if I take Ampicillin Sodium Injection?
Still have a question about the Ampicillin Sodium Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Ampicillin Sodium Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.