Calcitriol Capsule shortage
Calcitriol Capsule is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 2 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 22, 2026.
Teva is permanently stopping its calcitriol capsules — a business decision that may not be reversed. Other makers, including Hikma and Heritage/Avet, still list calcitriol capsules in both the 0.25 mcg and 0.5 mcg strengths, so the medicine remains available from other sources.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Calcitriol Capsule. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Dec 4, 2025Currently in shortage2 of 2 products affected.
-
Dec 4, 2025First reported to the FDA2 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 📞 800-545-8800 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Calcitriol, Capsule, .25 ug (NDC 0093-7352-01) | — | — | A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Calcitriol, Capsule, .5 ug (NDC 0093-7353-01) | — | — | A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Calcitriol Capsule — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Calcitriol Capsule? options further down this page.
Why is Calcitriol Capsule in shortage?
Teva Pharmaceuticals has made a business decision to permanently stop making their calcitriol capsules — specifically the 0.25 mcg and 0.5 mcg strengths. No specific reason beyond it being a business decision was shared publicly with the FDA.
It's worth knowing that this applies only to Teva's versions of these capsules. The FDA shortage report covers only what Teva has filed, so this doesn't necessarily mean calcitriol capsules as a whole are going away — it simply means Teva has chosen to stop producing them.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Calcitriol Capsule, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Calcitriol Capsule?
Calcitriol capsules are currently on the FDA drug-shortage list. I know that news can feel unsettling, so let me walk you through what the report actually says and what it means for you.
Both strengths are affected: the 0.25 mcg and 0.5 mcg capsules each have no available source right now. The reason listed is a business decision by the manufacturer (Teva) to discontinue making the drug. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, this particular supply problem may be permanent for Teva's product. This report reflects only that one manufacturer, though — other companies still make the same medicine.
That last point matters, so here is how to move forward:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers. The same medicine — calcitriol capsules in both your 0.25 mcg and 0.5 mcg strengths — is listed as available from other makers, including Hikma, Avet (Heritage), Sun, Chartwell, and others. Your pharmacy may be able to source one, though it may not be in local stock today.
- If your exact capsule cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options that fit your dose.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national, manufacturer-reported information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Calcitriol Capsule?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Calcitriol Capsule is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .25 ug/1 | Capsule · Oral | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00054-0007-13 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .25 ug/1 | Capsule · Oral | Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 23155-0662-01 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .5 ug/1 | Capsule · Oral | Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 23155-0663-01 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .25 ug/1 | Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral | A-S Medication Solutions | 50090-6711-00 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .25 ug/1 | Capsule · Oral | A-S Medication Solutions | 50090-7470-00 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .25 ug/1 | Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral | Golden State Medical Supply, Inc. | 51407-0169-01 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .5 ug/1 | Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral | Golden State Medical Supply, Inc. | 51407-0170-01 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .25 ug/1 | Capsule · Oral | American Health Packaging | 60687-0345-01 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .25 ug/1 | Capsule · Oral | Chartwell RX, LLC | 62135-0610-90 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .5 ug/1 | Capsule · Oral | Chartwell RX, LLC | 62135-0611-90 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .25 ug/1 | Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 62756-0967-18 |
| Calcitriol | CALCITRIOL .5 ug/1 | Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 62756-0968-18 |
Alternative dosage forms of Calcitriol
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Teva | 100 capsules | $0.158 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Heritage | 100 capsules | $0.158 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | American | 100 capsules | $0.158 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Chartwell | 90 capsules | $0.158 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Strides | 30 capsules | $0.158 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | BIONPHARMA | 30 capsules | $0.158 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Hikma | 30 capsules | $0.161 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .5 ug | Teva | 100 capsules | $0.239 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .5 ug | Heritage | 100 capsules | $0.239 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .5 ug | Chartwell | 90 capsules | $0.239 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .5 ug | Strides | 100 capsules | $0.239 | AB | Availability likely |
| Calcitriol .5 ug | Sun | 100 capsules | $0.288 | AB | Discontinued |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | EPIC | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | A-S | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | A-S | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Golden | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Cardinal | 10 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Sun | 1000 capsules | — | — | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Sun | 100 capsules | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Bryant | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Bryant | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Amneal | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Aphena | 9000 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Aphena | 9000 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Aphena | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | Bryant | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .25 ug | PD-Rx | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .5 ug | EPIC | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .5 ug | Golden | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Calcitriol .5 ug | Sun | 1000 capsules | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Calcitriol Capsule — that fall in the same broad treatment class (vitamin d preparations) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other endocrinology/metabolism shortages
Calcitriol Capsule shortage FAQs
Is Calcitriol Capsule in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Calcitriol Capsule be available again?
Can I still get Calcitriol somewhere?
What should I do if I take Calcitriol Capsule?
Still have a question about the Calcitriol Capsule shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Calcitriol Capsule on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.