HomeNDC LookupDrug shortages › Doxercalciferol Injection

Doxercalciferol Injection shortage

Doxercalciferol Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 3 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 22, 2026.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: High Endocrinology/Metabolism 3 products 286 days First posted Dec 10, 2025 Updated Dec 10, 2025
Here’s the bottom line

Sanofi-Aventis is permanently stopping production of doxercalciferol injection. Other makers — including Dr. Reddy's, Eugia, Alembic, and Meitheal — still list doxercalciferol 4 mcg/2 mL injection as available.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
3
Affected NDCs
1
Reporting manufacturers
0/1
Reporting mfrs supplying
0/3
Affected strengths supplied
286
Days in shortage
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Sep 22, 2026 · today

What’s in shortage — at a glance

These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Doxercalciferol Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
3 NDCs
To be discontinued 3
Affected strengths still supplied
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/3 strengths
No supply 3
FDA-reporting manufacturers with supply
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/1 makers
No supply 1
✓ Other manufacturers not reporting a shortage
Still-marketed Doxercalciferol Injection from companies that have not filed an FDA shortage — these are not counted in the figures above. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Dr.Reddy's Laboratories Inc Eugia US LLC Alembic Pharmaceuticals Inc. Meitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Plus 6 alternative dosage forms of Doxercalciferol.
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Dec 10, 2025
    Currently in shortage
    3 of 3 products affected.
  2. Dec 10, 2025
    First reported to the FDA
    3 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer

Manufacturer: Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC 📞 800-633-1610 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Hectorol, Injection, 4 mcg/2 mL injection 50 multiple-dose vials (NDC 58468-0127-1) NDC 58468-0127-01 Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug
To Be Discontinued Hectorol, Injection, 2 mcg/mL injection 50 single-dose vials (NDC 58468-0126-1) NDC 58468-0126-01 Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug
To Be Discontinued Hectorol, Injection, 4 mcg/2 mL injection 50 single-dose vials (NDC 58468-0123-1) NDC 58468-0123-01 Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug

These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Doxercalciferol Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Doxercalciferol Injection? options further down this page.

Why is Doxercalciferol Injection in shortage?

Sanofi-Aventis has made the decision to permanently stop manufacturing their brand-name version of doxercalciferol injection, sold as Hectorol. This affects three specific products they make: the 4 mcg/2 mL single-dose vials (boxes of 50), the 2 mcg/mL single-dose vials (boxes of 50), and the 4 mcg/2 mL multiple-dose vials (boxes of 50) — all of which are being discontinued.

It's worth knowing that Sanofi-Aventis did not share a specific public reason for why they made this decision — the FDA data simply notes it as a permanent discontinuation of manufacturing. This report only covers Sanofi-Aventis and their Hectorol products specifically, so it doesn't tell us anything about what other manufacturers of doxercalciferol injection may or may not have available.

Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Doxercalciferol Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.

What should I do if I take Doxercalciferol Injection?

Doxercalciferol injection is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list, and I want to walk you through what this means for you.

All three reported strengths are affected, and none currently have an available source from the manufacturer on this record: the 4 mcg/2 mL single-dose vials, the 2 mcg/mL single-dose vials, and the 4 mcg/2 mL multiple-dose vials. The reason listed for each is that the manufacturer (Sanofi-Aventis) is discontinuing production of these products. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, the supply problem from this maker may be permanent, and no estimated-recovery date applies.

That said, this report reflects only one manufacturer. The same medicine — doxercalciferol injection — is still listed on the market from other makers, including Dr. Reddy's, Eugia, Alembic, and Meitheal.

Here is how I would approach it:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change your doses on your own. This medicine is given by a clinician, so keep your appointments.
  • Ask your pharmacy or infusion center to source the same medicine from one of the other makers listed above; it may not be in local stock, but they can check wholesalers.
  • Because your product is being discontinued, talk with your prescriber about a clinician-chosen plan going forward.

Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is general, national information and may not match your local stock.

See “Where else can I get Doxercalciferol Injection?” below ↓ The same medicine from manufacturers not reporting a shortage, alternative dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
If you are a patient:
  • Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
  • Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Keep reading
Our full Doxercalciferol guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Doxercalciferol guide →

Where else can I get Doxercalciferol Injection?

FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Doxercalciferol Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeManufacturerNDC
Doxercalciferol DOXERCALCIFEROL 4 ug/2mL Injection · Intravenous Dr.Reddy's Laboratories Inc 43598-0850-50
Doxercalciferol DOXERCALCIFEROL 4 ug/2mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Eugia US LLC 55150-0359-50
Doxercalciferol DOXERCALCIFEROL 4 ug/2mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Alembic Pharmaceuticals Inc. 62332-0690-30
Doxercalciferol DOXERCALCIFEROL 4 ug/2mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Meitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc. 71288-0802-03

Alternative dosage forms of Doxercalciferol

A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:

Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 2 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Hectorol 4 ug/2mLNDC 58468-0127-01 Genzyme 50 vials Discontinued
Hectorol 4 ug/2mLNDC 58468-0123-01 Genzyme 50 vials Discontinued

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Doxercalciferol Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (hyperparathyroid tx agents - vitamin d analog-type) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Identity & classification

GCN Seq No 064864
GCN 16897
HICL code 020533
Ingredient (HICL) Doxercalciferol
HIC1 code P
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Endocrine System
HIC2 code P4
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Parathyroid/Bone Resorption Drugs
HIC3 code P4D
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Hyperparathyroid Tx Agents - Vitamin D Analog-Type
AHFS code 88:16.00.00
AHFS class Vitamin D
FDB label name HECTOROL 4 MCG/2 ML VIAL
FDB brand name Hectorol
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other endocrinology/metabolism shortages

Doxercalciferol Injection shortage FAQs

Is Doxercalciferol Injection in shortage?
Yes — the FDA currently lists Doxercalciferol Injection in shortage (status: “To Be Discontinued”, first reported Dec 10, 2025). 3 of 3 products are affected. This is national, manufacturer-reported data, so your pharmacy may still have stock.
Which products are affected?
Hectorol, Injection, 4 mcg/2 mL injection 50 multiple-dose vials (NDC 58468-0127-1) (NDC 58468-0127-01); Hectorol, Injection, 2 mcg/mL injection 50 single-dose vials (NDC 58468-0126-1) (NDC 58468-0126-01); Hectorol, Injection, 4 mcg/2 mL injection 50 single-dose vials (NDC 58468-0123-1) (NDC 58468-0123-01). The full per-NDC list (availability, manufacturer and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Doxercalciferol Injection be available again?
The FDA does not publish a guaranteed restock date, and no estimated-recovery note is on file. Availability can change daily — confirm with your pharmacy.
Can I still get Doxercalciferol somewhere?
Other manufacturers (Dr.Reddy's Laboratories Inc, Eugia US LLC, Alembic Pharmaceuticals Inc. and others) still market it and have not reported a shortage. 6 alternative dosage forms of Doxercalciferol are also listed. See “Where else can I get Doxercalciferol Injection?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Doxercalciferol Injection?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another manufacturer or a different strength/package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Doxercalciferol Injection shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (1–2)Multiple manufacturers still supplying and most strengths or pack sizes sourceable.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes unsourceable, or a long-running outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages