Crinecerfont Capsule shortage
Crinecerfont Capsule is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 22, 2026.
Neurocrine Biosciences is permanently stopping the 25 mg strength of Crenessity (crinecerfont) capsules. The 50 mg and 100 mg strengths of Crenessity remain available from Neurocrine Biosciences.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Crinecerfont Capsule. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Apr 28, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Apr 28, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Neurocrine Biosciences, Inc. 📞 858-617-7600 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Crenessity, Capsule, 25 mg (NDC 70370-5025-1) | — | — | Neurocrine is discontinuing only the 25 mg soft gel capsule dose strength (NDC 70370-5025-01). The 50mg and 100mg soft gel capsule dose strength (NDC 70370-5050-1 and 70370-5100-1), and 50 mg/mL oral solution will continue to be marketed (NDC 70370-5250-1). | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Crinecerfont Capsule — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Crinecerfont Capsule? options further down this page.
Why is Crinecerfont Capsule in shortage?
Neurocrine Biosciences, the maker of Crenessity, has decided to permanently stop making the 25 mg soft gel capsule strength of this medication. They did not share a specific public reason for this decision. It's worth knowing that this affects only that one strength and package size.
The good news is that Neurocrine says they will continue making the other forms of Crenessity — the 50 mg and 100 mg soft gel capsules, as well as the 50 mg/mL oral solution, are all staying on the market.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Crinecerfont Capsule, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Crinecerfont Capsule?
Crinecerfont (brand name Crenessity) is currently listed on the FDA shortage list, and I want to walk you through exactly what that means for the dose you take.
The change affects only the 25 mg soft gel capsule, which the manufacturer, Neurocrine, is discontinuing. The other capsule strengths — 50 mg and 100 mg — along with the 50 mg/mL oral solution are reported to remain on the market. So if you take one of those, your strength is not part of this discontinuation.
Because the 25 mg capsule is being discontinued rather than briefly delayed, this supply problem may be permanent. That is why the most important next step is a conversation with your prescriber, not a change you make on your own.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or adjust your dose on your own.
- If you take the 25 mg capsule, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options — for example, using the 50 mg or 100 mg capsule or the oral solution to reach your prescribed dose.
- Your pharmacy can check wholesalers for any remaining 25 mg stock while you make this plan.
The manufacturer's contact number is listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Where else can I get Crinecerfont Capsule?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Crinecerfont Capsule is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crenessity | CRINECERFONT 50 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Neurocrine Biosciences, Inc. | 70370-5050-01 |
| Crenessity | CRINECERFONT 100 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Neurocrine Biosciences, Inc. | 70370-5100-01 |
Alternative dosage forms of Crinecerfont
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 1 productclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crenessity 25 mg | Neurocrine | 60 capsules | — | — | Discontinued |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Crinecerfont Capsule — that fall in the same broad treatment class (pituitary suppressive agents) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other endocrinology/metabolism shortages
Crinecerfont Capsule shortage FAQs
Is Crinecerfont Capsule in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Crinecerfont Capsule be available again?
Can I still get Crinecerfont somewhere?
What should I do if I take Crinecerfont Capsule?
Still have a question about the Crinecerfont Capsule shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Crinecerfont Capsule on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.