Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection

Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection shortage

Not a nationwide shortage — Fresenius Kabi has told the FDA it is discontinuing its cefepime hydrochloride injections. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 8, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 6 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: Low Anti-Infective 2 products 240 days First posted Feb 10, 2026 Updated Feb 10, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

Fresenius Kabi is stopping cefepime hydrochloride injection, and the change may be permanent. Other makers that have not reported a shortage still list the same medicine in 1 g and 2 g strengths.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
2
Affected NDCs
0/1
Reporting makers with supply
2/2
Affected strengths still listed
6
Other companies listing it
240
Days on the list
140
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 8, 2026 · today

Is cefepime hydrochloride still in shortage? — status as of Oct 8, 2026

Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 8, 2026. Fresenius Kabi is stopping its own version only; 6 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.

⚠ Supply risk: Low 0 of 5 risk factors
  1. Every strength is still listed by a company — 2 of 2 strengths (2 only by other companies)
  2. More than one company still lists it — 0 of 1 reporting company with supply + 6 other companies
  3. Most affected NDCs still available — supply listed
  4. Not a long-running shortage — 240 days (a discontinuation notice, not an outage)
  5. Listed by several companies — 7 companies (1 reporting + 6 other)

A rule-based estimate of national supply risk, counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report — never your local pharmacy’s stock. How the rating works.

The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
2 NDCs
To be discontinued 2
Affected strengths still listed by a company
A company on the shortage report with supply, or another company selling that strength
2/2 strengths
Still made by a company 2
Reporting companies with supply
Among the 1 company that reported this shortage — plus 6 other companies listing it, below
0/1 reporting
Reporting no supply 1
✓ Other companies listing the same medicine — not reporting a shortage
Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection listings in the current FDA NDC Directory from companies that have not filed a shortage report — these are not counted in the charts above. Some are repackagers of another company’s product. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. Hospira, Inc. Sagent Pharmaceuticals WG Critical Care, LLC Apotex Corp. SAMSON MEDICAL TECHNOLOGIES LLC
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Feb 10, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    2 of 2 products affected.
  2. Feb 10, 2026
    First reported to the FDA
    2 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

Which cefepime hydrochloride products are affected — by company

Company: Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 📞 888-386-1300 2 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection, 2 g NDC 63323-0340-20 2 g — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. —
To Be Discontinued Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection, 1 g NDC 63323-0326-20 1 g — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. —

These rows are company reports to the FDA for Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get cefepime hydrochloride? options further down this page.

Why is Fresenius Kabi discontinuing cefepime hydrochloride?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 8, 2026

Here's what the FDA report shows for cefepime hydrochloride injection. Fresenius Kabi USA told the FDA it is discontinuing, meaning it is stopping the making of, two of its cefepime products: the 1 g vial (NDC 63323-326-20) and the 2 g vial (NDC 63323-340-20). The FDA lists the status as "To Be Discontinued."

The report doesn't give a specific reason code, and the manufacturer didn't share a public explanation for why it made this decision. It also doesn't include any dates for when the supply will run out. The notes only say the company is ending manufacture of these two products. This report covers only Fresenius Kabi's 1 g and 2 g products, so it doesn't speak for any other company that may make cefepime.

Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.

What should I do if I take cefepime hydrochloride?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 8, 2026

Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection is currently listed on the FDA drug-shortage list, and the overall supply risk is rated low.

Both strengths on this record, 1 g and 2 g, are affected. The one company that filed the report, Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC, has no available supply of either strength. However, both 1 g and 2 g are still listed by other companies that did not report a shortage. Every strength you might take has at least one listed source.

The reason given is that Fresenius Kabi is discontinuing manufacture of this product. Because of this, its supply may not return, so this may be a permanent change for that maker. This report reflects only Fresenius Kabi, and other manufacturers may still supply the same medicine.

  • Do not stop, skip, or change your doses on your own.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers for your strength.
  • The same medicine is listed from Hikma, Hospira, Sagent, WG Critical Care, and Apotex in 1 g and 2 g. Your pharmacy may be able to get one of these, though it may not be in local stock.
  • If your strength cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options, such as a different strength or a clinician-chosen alternative.
  • Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference. Pharmacies usually handle these calls.

This is general information based on national, manufacturer-reported FDA data. It may not match your local pharmacy's stock, and it is not personal medical advice.

See “Where else can I get cefepime hydrochloride?” below ↓ The same medicine from companies not reporting a shortage, other dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
Quick checklist for the pharmacy counter:
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Keep reading
Our full Cefepime Injection guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Cefepime Injection guide →

Where else can I get cefepime hydrochloride?

FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists cefepime hydrochloride injections is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeCompanyNDC
Cefepime Hydrochloride CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 1 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9382-10
Cefepime Hydrochloride CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 2 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9383-10
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 1 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Hospira, Inc. 00409-9566-10
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 2 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous Hospira, Inc. 00409-9735-10
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 1 g/20mL Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0121-20
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 2 g/20mL Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0122-50
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 1 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous WG Critical Care, LLC 44567-0130-10
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 2 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous WG Critical Care, LLC 44567-0131-10
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 1 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Apotex Corp. 60505-6144-04
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 2 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous Apotex Corp. 60505-6145-04
Cefepime CEFEPIME HYDROCHLORIDE 100 g/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous SAMSON MEDICAL TECHNOLOGIES LLC 66288-8100-01
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 25 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Cefepime 1 gNDC 00409-9566-10 Hospira, 10 vials $3.731 AP Availability likely
Cefepime 1 gNDC 44567-0130-10 WG 10 vials $3.731 AP Availability likely
Cefepime 1 gNDC 44567-0240-10 WG 10 vials $3.731 AP Availability likely
Cefepime 1 gNDC 60505-6144-04 Apotex 10 vials $3.731 AP Availability likely
Cefepime 1 gNDC 60505-6245-04 Apotex 10 vials $3.731 AP Availability likely
Cefepime 1 gNDC 63323-0326-20 Fresenius 10 vials $3.731 AP Availability likely
Cefepime Hydrochloride 2 gNDC 00143-9383-10 Hikma 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime Hydrochloride 2 gNDC 00143-9478-10 Hikma 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime Hydrochloride And Dextrose 2 g/50mLNDC 00264-3195-11 B. 50 ml — — FDA listed
Cefepime 1 g/50mLNDC 00338-1301-41 Baxter 50 ml — — FDA listed
Cefepime 2 gNDC 00409-9735-10 Hospira, 10 vials — AP FDA listed
cefepime 2 g/20mLNDC 25021-0122-67 Sagent 10 vials — AP Discontinued
Cefepime 2 gNDC 44567-0131-10 WG 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime 2 gNDC 44567-0241-10 WG 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime 2 gNDC 60505-6145-04 Apotex 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime 2 gNDC 60505-6147-00 Apotex 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cefepime 2 gNDC 60505-6246-04 Apotex 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime 2 gNDC 63323-0340-20 Fresenius 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime 2 gNDC 67184-1004-01 Qilu 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime Hydrochloride 1 gNDC 00143-9382-10 Hikma 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime Hydrochloride 1 gNDC 00143-9477-10 Hikma 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cefepime Hydrochloride And Dextrose 1 g/50mLNDC 00264-3193-11 B. 50 ml — — FDA listed
cefepime 1 g/20mLNDC 25021-0121-66 Sagent 10 vials — AP Discontinued
Cefepime 1 gNDC 60505-6146-00 Apotex 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cefepime 1 gNDC 67184-1003-01 Qilu 10 vials — AP FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of cefepime hydrochloride — that fall in the same broad treatment class (cephalosporin antibiotics - 4th generation) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
GCN Seq No 024095
GCN 49123
HICL code 010132
Ingredient (HICL) Cefepime Hcl
HIC1 code W
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Anti-Infecting Agents
HIC2 code W1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antibiotics
HIC3 code W1Z
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Cephalosporin Antibiotics - 4Th Generation
AHFS code 08:12.06.16
AHFS class 4Th Generation Cephalosporin Antibiotics
FDB label name CEFEPIME HCL 2 GRAM VIAL
FDB brand name Cefepime Hcl
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
GPI-1402400040102122
GPI classCefepime HCl
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other anti-infective shortages

Cefepime hydrochloride shortage FAQs

Is cefepime hydrochloride still in shortage?
Not as a nationwide shortage — the FDA lists cefepime hydrochloride injections under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 8, 2026: Fresenius Kabi has told the FDA it is stopping its own product, while 6 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem.
Which strengths of cefepime hydrochloride are affected?
The FDA record covers 2 strengths: 1 g, 2 g. Every strength on the record is still made by at least one company, though stock varies by pharmacy.
Which cefepime hydrochloride products are affected?
Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection, 2 g (NDC 63323-0340-20); Cefepime Hydrochloride Injection, 1 g (NDC 63323-0326-20). The full per-NDC list (availability, company and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will cefepime hydrochloride be available again?
A discontinuation is usually permanent for that company’s product. The same medicine is still sold by Hikma Pharmaceuticals, Hospira, Sagent Pharmaceuticals and 3 more, so ask your pharmacy to order another company’s version.
Can I still get cefepime hydrochloride somewhere?
Other companies (Hikma Pharmaceuticals, Hospira, Sagent Pharmaceuticals and 3 more) sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. See “Where else can I get cefepime hydrochloride?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take cefepime hydrochloride?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another company or a different strength or package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the cefepime hydrochloride shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (0–2)Several companies still list it and most strengths or pack sizes are still listed by someone — counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report. A listing is not a stock check.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes without a source, or a long-running outage. A company’s discontinuation notice is not an outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages