Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage
Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 11 affected products. The reported reason: Demand increase for the drug; Other. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 2, 2026.
Dopamine hydrochloride injection is currently in shortage, with two specific strengths — 800 mg/500 mL and 40 mg/1 mL — having no available source right now. Some other strengths and dopamine-in-dextrose combination products remain listed as available from manufacturers not reporting a shortage.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — ask your pharmacist about other manufacturers (see options) and your prescriber about a long-term plan.
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 22, 2026Currently in shortage11 of 11 products affected.
-
Sep 18, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record2 products updated.
-
Sep 17, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record4 products updated.
-
Nov 6, 2017First reported to the FDA11 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Baxter Healthcare 📞 888-229-0001 4 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 160 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1007-02) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 80 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1005-02) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 80 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1005-03) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 160 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1007-03) | — | Available | — | — |
Manufacturer: Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 📞 800-631-2174 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9254-25) | — | Unavailable | Additional lots will be available in the October 2026 timeframe. Product will be made available as it is released. | Demand increase for the drug |
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9252-25) | — | Unavailable | Product temporarily on backorder. Additional lots will be available in the February 2027 timeframe. | Demand increase for the drug |
Manufacturer: Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company 📞 844-646-4398 5 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 200 mg/5mL (40 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-5820-01) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 800 mg/250 mL (3.2 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-1858-12) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 800 mg/500 mL (1.6 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-7809-24) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 400 mg/250 mL (1.6 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-0042-12) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dopamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 400 mg/10mL (40 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-9104-20) | — | Available | — | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Dopamine hydrochloride injection is on the FDA shortage list for two main reasons, depending on the manufacturer. Hikma Pharmaceuticals is reporting that more people need this medication than usual right now, which has put their 40 mg/1 mL vials on backorder. They expect new batches to be available in the October 2026 timeframe, with more coming in the February 2027 timeframe, and they say supply will be released as it becomes ready. Separately, Hospira (a Pfizer company) is dealing with a hold-up at the factory affecting their 800 mg/500 mL (1.6 mg/mL) bags mixed in dextrose 5%, and they don't expect to have those available again until December 2027.
It's worth knowing that not every dopamine product from these manufacturers is affected. For example, Hospira's other strengths and bag sizes — including their 200 mg/5 mL vials, 400 mg/10 mL vials, 400 mg/250 mL bags, and 800 mg/250 mL bags — are currently listed as available. Baxter Healthcare's dopamine products are also listed as available through this report.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection?
Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. This is a hospital medicine given through a vein, so your care team most likely manages the supply. Most strengths are still available, and I want to walk you through which ones are affected.
Two strengths currently have no available source: the 800 mg/500 mL (1.6 mg/1 mL) and the 40 mg/1 mL. The following strengths still have supply reported by a manufacturer: 200 mg/5 mL (40 mg/1 mL), 160 mg/100 mL, 80 mg/100 mL, 400 mg/250 mL, 400 mg/10 mL, and 800 mg/250 mL. So 6 of the 8 listed strengths still have a source.
The reported reasons are an increase in demand and a manufacturing delay. Two of the three manufacturers on this record are still supplying, so the medicine is not gone across the board. For the affected lots, additional supply is estimated in October 2026, February 2027, and December 2027.
Here is what you can do:
- Do not stop, skip, or change any dose on your own.
- If your strength still has supply, ask your pharmacy to order it — they can check wholesalers and other makers.
- The same medicine is also made by Baxter and Hospira in certain dextrose solutions; your pharmacy may be able to source one, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact strength cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a clinician-chosen option.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually make these calls. This is national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match local stock, so your pharmacist is your best guide.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dopamine Hydrochloride And Dextrose | DOPAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 320 mg/100mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 00338-1009-02 |
| Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose | DOPAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 1.6 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Hospira, Inc. | 00409-7809-22 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 4 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dopamine Hydrochloride and Dextrose 160 mg/100mL | ProPharma | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dopamine Hydrochloride and Dextrose 160 mg/100mL | Baxter | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dopamine Hydrochloride and Dextrose 80 mg/100mL | Baxter | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dopamine Hydrochloride and Dextrose 80 mg/100mL | Baxter | 500 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (adrenergic agents,catecholamines) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other cardiovascular shortages
Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage FAQs
Is Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Why is Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection be available again?
Can I still get Dopamine Hydrochloride somewhere?
What should I do if I take Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection?
Still have a question about the Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.