Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository shortage
Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 2 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 21, 2026.
Padagis is permanently stopping production of hydrocortisone acetate suppositories. Other makers — including the brand Anucort-HC — still list both the 25 mg and 30 mg strengths as available.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Jul 23, 2026Currently in shortage2 of 2 products affected.
-
Jul 23, 2026First reported to the FDA2 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Padagis US LLC 📞 (800) 775-2054 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Hydrocortisone Acetate, Suppository, 25 mg (NDC 0574-7090-12) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Hydrocortisone Acetate, Suppository, 30 mg (NDC 0574-7093-12) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository? options further down this page.
Why is Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository in shortage?
Padagis US LLC has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping production of their hydrocortisone acetate suppositories — specifically the 25 mg and 30 mg strengths, both in 12-count packages. This isn't a temporary supply hiccup or a factory delay; the company has made a decision to stop manufacturing these two products altogether.
It's worth knowing that this report only reflects what Padagis has shared with the FDA. No specific reason was given for why they made this business decision — just that the discontinuation is permanent. Other manufacturers of hydrocortisone acetate suppositories may not be affected by this same decision, as this report covers only Padagis and their specific products.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository?
Hydrocortisone acetate suppositories are currently listed on the FDA shortage report. This record covers one manufacturer, Padagis US LLC, and both of its strengths — the 25 mg and the 30 mg — are affected. Neither strength has an available source from this maker right now.
The reason listed for both strengths is that the manufacturer is discontinuing production. This means the supply problem from Padagis may be permanent rather than temporary. That said, this report reflects only one company, and the same medicine is made by several other manufacturers, so it may still be available from a different source through your pharmacy.
Here is how I would approach it:
- Please do not stop or change how you use your suppositories on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check whether the same medicine (hydrocortisone acetate suppository, in your 25 mg or 30 mg strength) is available from another maker. Companies such as Cosette, Major, Marlex, Laser, Rising, APNAR, Patrin, and others make the same product, though it may not be in local stock.
- Since Padagis is discontinuing this item, talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about your options if a replacement cannot be found.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; your pharmacy usually handles those calls.
This is general national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 30 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Cosette Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 00713-0493-12 |
| Anucort-Hc | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 25 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Cosette Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 00713-0503-01 |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 25 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Major Pharmaceuticals | 00904-7340-12 |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 25 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Marlex Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 10135-0751-12 |
| Hemmorex-Hc | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 25 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Laser Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 16477-0201-12 |
| Hemmorex-Hc | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 30 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Laser Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 16477-0202-12 |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 25 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0676-21 |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 25 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | APNAR PHARMA LP | 24689-0102-01 |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 30 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | APNAR PHARMA LP | 24689-0103-01 |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 25 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Patrin Pharma Inc. | 39328-0029-12 |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 30 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | Patrin Pharma Inc. | 39328-0129-12 |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate | HYDROCORTISONE ACETATE 25 mg/1 | Suppository · Rectal | A-S Medication Solutions | 50090-6331-00 |
Alternative dosage forms of Hydrocortisone Acetate
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | APNAR | 12 suppositories | $1.101 | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Padagis | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Anucort-Hc 25 mg | Cosette | 100 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Major | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Marlex | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hemmorex-HC 25 mg | Laser | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Rising | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Patrin | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | A-S | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | AvPAK | 100 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Golden | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Bryant | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Anusol HC 25 mg | Salix | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | NuCare | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Westminster | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | QUAGEN | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Proficient | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Nivagen | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | AARNA | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 25 mg | Preferred | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 30 mg | Padagis | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 30 mg | Cosette | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hemmorex-HC 30 mg | Laser | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 30 mg | Rising | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 30 mg | APNAR | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 30 mg | Patrin | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 30 mg | Bryant | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Proctocort 30 mg | Salix | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 30 mg | Westminster | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrocortisone Acetate 30 mg | AARNA | 12 suppositories | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository shortage FAQs
Is Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository be available again?
Can I still get Hydrocortisone Acetate somewhere?
What should I do if I take Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository?
Still have a question about the Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Hydrocortisone Acetate Suppository on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.