Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet shortage
Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 4 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 3, 2026.
AbbVie is stopping production of lopinavir/ritonavir tablets (brand name Kaletra), and this change may be permanent. The same medicine in the same strengths is still listed by other makers, including Camber Pharmaceuticals and Laurus Labs.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Jul 24, 2026Currently in shortage4 of 4 products affected.
-
Jul 24, 2026First reported to the FDA4 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: AbbVie Inc. 📞 800-633-9110 4 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Kaletra, Tablet, 100 mg; 25 mg (NDC 0074-0522-60) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Kaletra, Tablet, 200 mg; 50 mg (NDC 0074-4014-12) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Kaletra, Tablet, 200 mg; 50 mg (NDC 0074-6799-22) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Kaletra, Tablet, 100 mg; 25 mg (NDC 0074-3008-60) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet? options further down this page.
Why is Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet in shortage?
AbbVie, the maker of Kaletra, has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping the manufacture of Kaletra tablets. This affects both available strengths — the 100 mg/25 mg tablets and the 200 mg/50 mg tablets. AbbVie did not share a specific public reason for why they made this decision, just that manufacturing is being discontinued for all of these tablet products.
It's worth knowing that this report reflects only what AbbVie has filed with the FDA — it covers their Kaletra brand tablets specifically, not every version of lopinavir/ritonavir that may exist in the market.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet?
Lopinavir and ritonavir tablets (brand name Kaletra) are currently on the FDA shortage list. I want to walk you through what this means for the strength you take and what your next steps can be.
This shortage report comes from one manufacturer, AbbVie, and it covers both tablet strengths: the 100 mg / 25 mg and the 200 mg / 50 mg tablets. Neither strength has an available source from that maker right now. The reason given for all of these products is that the manufacturer is discontinuing their production. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, this particular supply may not return — which makes a conversation with your prescriber the right next step.
It is important to know this report reflects only one company. The same medicine, in both strengths, is listed as still made by other manufacturers, so your pharmacy may still be able to find it.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your doses on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other makers — the same medicine is listed from Camber Pharmaceuticals and Laurus Labs, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your tablets cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a clinician-chosen option.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lopinavir And Ritonavir | LOPINAVIR 200 mg/1; RITONAVIR 50 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 31722-0556-12 |
| Lopinavir And Ritonavir | LOPINAVIR 100 mg/1; RITONAVIR 25 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 31722-0603-12 |
| Lopinavir And Ritonavir | LOPINAVIR 100 mg/1; RITONAVIR 25 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Laurus Labs Limited | 42385-0933-60 |
| Lopinavir And Ritonavir | LOPINAVIR 200 mg/1; RITONAVIR 50 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Laurus Labs Limited | 42385-0934-12 |
Alternative dosage forms of Lopinavir And Ritonavir
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 10 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lopinavir and ritonavir 200 mg/1; 50 mg | Camber | 120 tablets | $4.465 | AB | Availability likely |
| Lopinavir and Ritonavir 200 mg/1; 50 mg | Laurus | 120 tablets | $4.465 | AB | Availability likely |
| Kaletra 200 mg/1; 50 mg | AbbVie | 120 tablets | $8.261 | AB | Discontinued |
| Kaletra 100 mg/1; 25 mg | AbbVie | 60 tablets | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Kaletra 100 mg/1; 25 mg | AbbVie | 60 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Lopinavir and ritonavir 100 mg/1; 25 mg | Camber | 120 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Lopinavir and Ritonavir 100 mg/1; 25 mg | Macleods | 60 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Lopinavir and Ritonavir 100 mg/1; 25 mg | Laurus | 60 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Kaletra 200 mg/1; 50 mg | AbbVie | 120 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Lopinavir and Ritonavir 200 mg/1; 50 mg | Macleods | 60 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other antiviral shortages
Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet shortage FAQs
Is Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet be available again?
Can I still get Lopinavir And Ritonavir somewhere?
What should I do if I take Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet?
Still have a question about the Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Lopinavir And Ritonavir Tablet on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.