Voriconazole Injection shortage
Voriconazole Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 2, 2026.
Pfizer is permanently stopping production of voriconazole injection (10 mg/mL). The same medicine — including Vfend (voriconazole) injection — is still listed as available from other manufacturers.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Voriconazole Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Oct 16, 2025Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Oct 16, 2025First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Pfizer Inc. 📞 844-646-4398 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Vfend, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0049-3190-01) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Voriconazole Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Voriconazole Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Voriconazole Injection in shortage?
Pfizer has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of their brand-name version of voriconazole injection, called Vfend, specifically the 10 mg/mL injectable form (the vial used for IV treatment). This means Pfizer will no longer be making this particular product going forward.
It's worth knowing that Pfizer did not share a more specific public reason for why they made this decision — just that manufacturing of this product is being discontinued. This report only reflects what Pfizer has filed with the FDA, so it speaks only to their product and not to what other manufacturers may or may not have available.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Voriconazole Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Voriconazole Injection?
Voriconazole Injection is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list. I want to walk you through what that means so you know what to do next.
The strength affected is the 10 mg/1 mL injection. Right now this strength has no available source under the record we have, because Pfizer (the maker of Vfend) has filed a notice to discontinue making it. That means this particular supply problem may be permanent for that one manufacturer's product.
Even so, this report only reflects the manufacturer who filed it — it does not mean every company has stopped making this medicine. Several other makers have the same medicine (voriconazole 10 mg/mL injection) on record, including Roerig, PAI Pharma, Sandoz, Camber, Fresenius Kabi, Meitheal, Fosun, and Civica. These are the same medicine, simply supplied by a different company.
Here is what I'd suggest:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your treatment on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers for the same medicine from one of the makers listed above — though it may not be in local stock right away.
- Because this product is being discontinued, talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about the best path forward.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is general national data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Voriconazole Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Voriconazole Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vfend | VORICONAZOLE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Roerig | 00049-3190-28 |
| Voriconazole | VORICONAZOLE 10 mg/mL | Injection · Intravenous | PAI Holdings, LLC dba PAI Pharma | 00121-1091-55 |
| Voriconazole | VORICONAZOLE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Sandoz Inc | 00781-3416-94 |
| Voriconazole | VORICONAZOLE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 31722-0224-31 |
| Voriconazole | VORICONAZOLE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 65219-0190-30 |
| Voriconazole | VORICONAZOLE 200 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Slate Run Pharmaceuticals | 70436-0029-80 |
| Voriconazole | VORICONAZOLE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Meitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 71288-0027-30 |
| Voriconazole | VORICONAZOLE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Fosun Pharma USA Inc. | 72266-0131-01 |
| Voriconazole | VORICONAZOLE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Civica, Inc. | 72572-0875-01 |
Alternative dosage forms of Voriconazole
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 14 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vfend 10 mg/mL | Roerig | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Vfend 10 mg/mL | Roerig | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Sandoz | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Camber | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Eugia | 1 vial | — | — | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Fresenius | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Gland | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| voriconazole 200 mg | Slate | 1 injection | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Xellia | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Meitheal | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Fosun | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Civica, | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | UBI | 20 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Voriconazole 10 mg/mL | Hainan | 1 vial | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Voriconazole Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antifungal agents) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other antiviral shortages
Voriconazole Injection shortage FAQs
Is Voriconazole Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Voriconazole Injection be available again?
Can I still get Voriconazole somewhere?
What should I do if I take Voriconazole Injection?
Still have a question about the Voriconazole Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Voriconazole Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.