Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Ritonavir Tablet

Ritonavir Tablet shortage

Ritonavir Tablet is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 2, 2026.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: High Antiviral 1 product 70 days First posted Jul 24, 2026 Updated Jul 24, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

AbbVie is stopping production of its ritonavir 100 mg tablets, and the change may be permanent. Other makers still list ritonavir 100 mg tablets as available.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
1
Affected NDCs
1
Reporting manufacturers
0/1
Reporting mfrs supplying
0/1
Affected strengths supplied
70
Days in shortage
1,923
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 2, 2026 · today

What’s in shortage — at a glance

These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Ritonavir Tablet. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
1 NDCs
To be discontinued 1
Affected strengths still supplied
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/1 strengths
No supply 1
FDA-reporting manufacturers with supply
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/1 makers
No supply 1
✓ Other manufacturers not reporting a shortage
Still-marketed Ritonavir Tablet from companies that have not filed an FDA shortage — these are not counted in the figures above. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. American Health Packaging Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC Aurobindo Pharma Limited Cipla USA Inc.
Plus 1 alternative dosage form of Ritonavir.
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Jul 24, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    1 of 1 product affected.
  2. Jul 24, 2026
    First reported to the FDA
    1 product first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer

Manufacturer: AbbVie Inc. 📞 800-633-9110 1 NDC click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Norvir, Tablet, 100 mg (NDC 0074-2340-30) NDC 00074-2340-30 — — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —

These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Ritonavir Tablet — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Ritonavir Tablet? options further down this page.

Why is Ritonavir Tablet in shortage?

AbbVie Inc. has let the FDA know that they are permanently stopping the manufacture of their brand-name Norvir 100 mg tablets — specifically the 30-tablet bottle (NDC 0074-2340-30). This means that particular package will no longer be produced going forward. No specific public reason was shared with the FDA explaining why AbbVie made this decision.

It's worth knowing that this report only covers AbbVie's version of this product. Other manufacturers may make ritonavir tablets and are listed separately on this page, so this does not mean ritonavir tablets as a whole are disappearing from the market.

Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Ritonavir Tablet, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.

What should I do if I take Ritonavir Tablet?

Ritonavir 100 mg tablets are currently on the FDA shortage list. This report reflects one manufacturer, AbbVie (Norvir, 100 mg), which has listed this product as to be discontinued. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, the supply problem from that maker may be permanent.

The affected strength is 100 mg, and the record shows no available source from that manufacturer right now. The reported reason is discontinuation of manufacture, and no estimated-recovery date is listed. Please know this shortage record covers only the manufacturer that filed it — other companies still make ritonavir 100 mg tablets, so the medicine itself remains on the market.

Here is what I suggest:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own — keep taking your ritonavir as prescribed.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other makers; the same medicine (ritonavir 100 mg tablet) is listed as available from Camber, American Health Packaging, Amneal, Aurobindo, and Cipla, though any one may not be in local stock.
  • Because AbbVie's version is being discontinued, talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about a suitable long-term option.
  • Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually make these calls.

This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Ritonavir Tablet?” below ↓ The same medicine from manufacturers not reporting a shortage, alternative dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
If you are a patient:
  • Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
  • Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Keep reading
Our full Ritonavir guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Ritonavir guide →

Where else can I get Ritonavir Tablet?

FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Ritonavir Tablet is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeManufacturerNDC
Ritonavir RITONAVIR 100 mg/1 Tablet · Oral Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 31722-0597-12
Ritonavir RITONAVIR 100 mg/1 Tablet, Film Coated · Oral American Health Packaging 60687-0420-25
Ritonavir RITONAVIR 100 mg/1 Tablet · Oral Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC 65162-0061-06
Ritonavir RITONAVIR 100 mg/1 Tablet, Film Coated Aurobindo Pharma Limited 65862-0687-01
Ritonavir Film Coated RITONAVIR 100 mg/1 Tablet · Oral Cipla USA Inc. 69097-0655-02

Alternative dosage forms of Ritonavir

A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:

Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 9 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Ritonavir 100 mgNDC 60687-0420-25 American 1 tablet $0.607 save 93% AB Availability likely
Ritonavir film coated 100 mgNDC 69097-0655-02 Cipla 30 tablets $0.607 save 93% AB Availability likely
Norvir 100 mgNDC 00074-2340-30 AbbVie 30 tablets $8.349 AB Availability likely
Ritonavir 100 mgNDC 31722-0597-12 Camber 120 tablets — AB FDA listed
Ritonavir 100 mgNDC 63629-5702-01 Bryant 15 tablets — AB FDA listed
Ritonavir 100 mgNDC 65162-0061-06 Amneal 60 tablets — — FDA listed
Ritonavir 100 mgNDC 65862-0687-01 Aurobindo 100 tablets — AB FDA listed
Ritonavir 100 mgNDC 68071-3898-03 NuCare 3 tablets — AB FDA listed
Ritonavir 100 mgNDC 71335-2610-01 Bryant 15 tablets — AB FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Ritonavir Tablet — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antivirals, hiv-specific, protease inhibitors) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Identity & classification

GCN Seq No 066047
GCN 28224
HICL code 010412
Ingredient (HICL) Ritonavir
HIC1 code W
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Anti-Infecting Agents
HIC2 code W5
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antiviral Agents
HIC3 code W5C
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Antivirals, Hiv-Specific, Protease Inhibitors
AHFS code 08:18.08.08
AHFS class Hiv Protease Inhibitor Antiretrovirals
FDB label name NORVIR 100 MG TABLET
FDB brand name Norvir
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other antiviral shortages

Ritonavir Tablet shortage FAQs

Is Ritonavir Tablet in shortage?
Yes — the FDA currently lists Ritonavir Tablet in shortage (status: “To Be Discontinued”, first reported Jul 24, 2026). 1 of 1 product is affected. This is national, manufacturer-reported data, so your pharmacy may still have stock.
Which products are affected?
Norvir, Tablet, 100 mg (NDC 0074-2340-30) (NDC 00074-2340-30). The full per-NDC list (availability, manufacturer and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Ritonavir Tablet be available again?
The FDA does not publish a guaranteed restock date, and no estimated-recovery note is on file. Availability can change daily — confirm with your pharmacy.
Can I still get Ritonavir somewhere?
Other manufacturers (Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc., American Health Packaging, Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC and others) still market it and have not reported a shortage. 1 alternative dosage form of Ritonavir is also listed. See “Where else can I get Ritonavir Tablet?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Ritonavir Tablet?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another manufacturer or a different strength/package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Ritonavir Tablet shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (1–2)Multiple manufacturers still supplying and most strengths or pack sizes sourceable.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes unsourceable, or a long-running outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages