Phenobarbital Tablet shortage
Not a nationwide shortage — Endo Pharmaceuticals has told the FDA it is discontinuing its phenobarbital tablets. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 8, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 13 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.
Endo Pharmaceuticals is stopping production of phenobarbital tablets, and the change may be permanent. Other makers — including Hikma, Major Pharmaceuticals, e5 Pharma, and Trigen — still list phenobarbital tablets in 15 mg, 30 mg, 60 mg, and 100 mg strengths.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →Is phenobarbital still in shortage? — status as of Oct 8, 2026
Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 8, 2026. Endo Pharmaceuticals is stopping its own version only; 13 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.
The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.
Shortage timeline
-
Oct 31, 2025Currently in shortage8 of 8 products affected.
-
Oct 31, 2025First reported to the FDA8 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
Which phenobarbital products are affected — by company
Company: Endo Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 📞 800-828-9393 8 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Phenobarbital Tablet, 32.4 mg | 32.4 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Phenobarbital Tablet, 64.8 mg | 64.8 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Phenobarbital Tablet, 97.2 mg | 97.2 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Phenobarbital Tablet, 64.8 mg | 64.8 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Phenobarbital Tablet, 32.4 mg | 32.4 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Phenobarbital Tablet, 97.2 mg | 97.2 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Phenobarbital Tablet, 16.2 mg | 16.2 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Phenobarbital Tablet, 16.2 mg | 16.2 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are company reports to the FDA for Phenobarbital Tablet — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get phenobarbital? options further down this page.
Why is Endo Pharmaceuticals discontinuing phenobarbital?
Endo Pharmaceuticals has permanently stopped making all of their phenobarbital tablets. This affects every strength they made — the 16.2 mg, 32.4 mg, 64.8 mg, and 97.2 mg tablets — and applies to all of their package sizes for each of those strengths. This is a permanent decision, not a temporary delay or slowdown.
It's worth knowing that Endo did not share a specific public reason for why they made this decision — just that they are discontinuing manufacture of the drug entirely. Also, this report only covers Endo Pharmaceuticals specifically, so it reflects what's happening with their products alone.
Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Phenobarbital Tablet, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.
What should I do if I take phenobarbital?
Phenobarbital tablets are currently on the FDA shortage list. This update involves one manufacturer, Endo Pharmaceuticals, which has reported that it is discontinuing its phenobarbital tablets.
The strengths affected by this report are the 16.2 mg, 32.4 mg, 64.8 mg, and 97.2 mg tablets made by Endo — all of these are listed as being discontinued by that company. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, this particular supply may not come back. The important thing to know is that other manufacturers are not part of this report and may still make phenobarbital tablets, so the medicine itself is not disappearing from the market.
Please do not stop, skip, or adjust your doses on your own — that can be risky with this medicine.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers for phenobarbital tablets.
- The same medicine is listed from other makers, including Hikma, Major Pharmaceuticals, Trigen Laboratories, and e5 Pharma; your pharmacy may be able to source one, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact strength can't be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options, such as a different strength to reach your dose.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference, though pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match your pharmacy's actual stock.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
- This is a controlled substance. Transfers between pharmacies and switching strengths have extra federal/state rules — ask the pharmacy before you assume a transfer is possible.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get phenobarbital?
FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists phenobarbital tablets is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Company | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 60 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-1455-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-1458-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 15 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-1495-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 30 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-1500-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 32.4 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Major Pharmaceuticals | 00904-6575-61 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 30 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | e5 Pharma, LLC | 13517-0692-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 60 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | e5 Pharma, LLC | 13517-0693-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | e5 Pharma, LLC | 13517-0694-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 15 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Trigen Laboratories, LLC | 13811-0300-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 30 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Trigen Laboratories, LLC | 13811-0301-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 60 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Trigen Laboratories, LLC | 13811-0302-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Trigen Laboratories, LLC | 13811-0303-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 16.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Trigen Laboratories, LLC | 13811-0304-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 32.4 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Trigen Laboratories, LLC | 13811-0305-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 64.8 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Trigen Laboratories, LLC | 13811-0306-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 97.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Trigen Laboratories, LLC | 13811-0307-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 64.8 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0667-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 97.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0668-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0669-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 15 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0670-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 16.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0671-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 30 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0672-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 32.4 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0673-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 60 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0674-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | ECI Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 51293-0694-01 |
| Topiramate | TOPIRAMATE 100 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Northwind Health Company, LLC | 51655-0848-26 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 32.4 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 63187-0895-30 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 16.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 63629-2289-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 64.8 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 63629-2402-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 97.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 63629-2404-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 15 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Genus Lifesciences | 64950-0571-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 16.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Genus Lifesciences | 64950-0572-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 30 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Genus Lifesciences | 64950-0573-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 32.4 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Genus Lifesciences | 64950-0574-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 60 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Genus Lifesciences | 64950-0575-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 64.8 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Genus Lifesciences | 64950-0576-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 97.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Genus Lifesciences | 64950-0577-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Genus Lifesciences | 64950-0578-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 15 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 69367-0438-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 16.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 69367-0439-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 30 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 69367-0440-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 32.4 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 69367-0441-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 60 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 69367-0442-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 64.8 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 69367-0443-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 97.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 69367-0444-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 69367-0445-01 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 32.4 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | REMEDYREPACK INC. | 70518-4129-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 64.8 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | REMEDYREPACK INC. | 70518-4215-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 15 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 71205-0845-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 16.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 71205-0846-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 60 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 71205-0848-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 64.8 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 71205-0849-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 97.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 71205-0850-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 71205-0851-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 30 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 71205-0890-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 15 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | WINDER LABORATORIES, LLC | 75826-0136-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 16.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | WINDER LABORATORIES, LLC | 75826-0137-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 30 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | WINDER LABORATORIES, LLC | 75826-0138-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 32.4 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | WINDER LABORATORIES, LLC | 75826-0139-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 60 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | WINDER LABORATORIES, LLC | 75826-0140-10 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 64.8 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | WINDER LABORATORIES, LLC | 75826-0141-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 97.2 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | WINDER LABORATORIES, LLC | 75826-0142-00 |
| Phenobarbital | PHENOBARBITAL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | WINDER LABORATORIES, LLC | 75826-0143-10 |
Other dosage forms of phenobarbital
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Par | 1000 tablets | $0.073 | — | Discontinued |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Major | 100 tablets | $0.079 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | e5 | 100 tablets | $0.079 | — | Discontinued |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Trigen | 100 tablets | $0.079 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Rising | 100 tablets | $0.079 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.079 | — | Discontinued |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.079 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.079 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | WINDER | 1000 tablets | $0.079 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 64.8 mg | Par | 100 tablets | $0.102 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 64.8 mg | e5 | 100 tablets | $0.102 | — | Discontinued |
| Phenobarbital 64.8 mg | Trigen | 100 tablets | $0.102 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 64.8 mg | Rising | 100 tablets | $0.102 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 64.8 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.102 | — | Discontinued |
| Phenobarbital 64.8 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.102 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 64.8 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.102 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 64.8 mg | WINDER | 1000 tablets | $0.102 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 97.2 mg | Par | 100 tablets | $0.118 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 97.2 mg | Trigen | 100 tablets | $0.118 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 97.2 mg | Rising | 100 tablets | $0.118 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 97.2 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.118 | — | Discontinued |
| Phenobarbital 97.2 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.118 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 97.2 mg | Westminster | 100 tablets | $0.118 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 97.2 mg | WINDER | 1000 tablets | $0.118 | — | Availability likely |
| Phenobarbital 97.2 mg | e5 | 100 tablets | $0.118 | — | Discontinued |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Sun | 100 tablets | — | — | FDA listed |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Clinical | 30 tablets | — | — | FDA listed |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Clinical | 30 tablets | — | — | FDA listed |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Clinical | 30 tablets | — | — | FDA listed |
| Phenobarbital 32.4 mg | Chartwell | 60 tablets | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of phenobarbital — that fall in the same broad treatment class (barbiturates) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
Where does this data come from?
Phenobarbital shortage FAQs
Is phenobarbital still in shortage?
Which strengths of phenobarbital are affected?
Which phenobarbital products are affected?
When will phenobarbital be available again?
Can I still get phenobarbital somewhere?
What should I do if I take phenobarbital?
Still have a question about the phenobarbital shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Phenobarbital Tablet on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.