Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule shortage
Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 3 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 5, 2026.
Pfizer is permanently stopping production of prazosin hydrochloride capsules. Other makers — including Teva, Mylan, Major Pharmaceuticals, and Marlex — still list prazosin capsules in 1 mg, 2 mg, and 5 mg strengths, so the medicine may be available through other sources.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Apr 28, 2023Currently in shortage3 of 3 products affected.
-
Apr 28, 2023First reported to the FDA3 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Pfizer Inc. 📞 800-533-4535 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Minipress, Capsule, 2 mg (NDC 0069-4370-71) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. Supply expected to exhaust in September 2023 | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Minipress, Capsule, 5 mg (NDC 0069-4380-71) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. Supply expected to exhaust in September 2023 | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Minipress, Capsule, 1 mg (NDC 0069-4310-71) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. Supply expected to exhaust in August 2023 | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule? options further down this page.
Why is Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule in shortage?
Pfizer has made the decision to permanently stop making their brand-name version of prazosin, sold as Minipress. This affects all three strengths they made — the 1 mg, 2 mg, and 5 mg capsules. According to what Pfizer reported to the FDA, their supply of the 1 mg capsules was expected to run out in August 2023, while the 2 mg and 5 mg capsules were expected to run out in September 2023.
It's worth knowing that Pfizer did not share a specific public reason why they decided to stop making Minipress — just that the decision was made to discontinue manufacturing it altogether. This report covers only what Pfizer filed with the FDA, so it only reflects their product.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule?
Prazosin hydrochloride capsules are currently on the FDA shortage list. I want you to know this situation is manageable, and there are clear steps ahead.
This shortage record comes from one manufacturer, Pfizer (the brand Minipress), and it covers all three strengths — 1 mg, 2 mg, and 5 mg. According to this report, none of those three strengths from this maker has supply remaining right now. The reason given is that this manufacturer is discontinuing its brand of the capsule, with supply expected to run out in 2023. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, this particular product may not come back. That said, this report reflects only one company — the same medicine is still listed from other makers.
Here is what I suggest:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own. Keep taking prazosin as prescribed while you sort out supply.
- Ask your pharmacy to source prazosin hydrochloride capsules from another maker — our records show the same medicine in 1 mg, 2 mg, and 5 mg from Teva, Mylan, Major, and Marlex. These may not be in local stock, but pharmacies can often order them.
- If your pharmacy cannot find your strength, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options, such as a clinician-chosen alternative.
The manufacturer's contact number is listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 00093-4067-01 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 00093-4068-01 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 00093-4069-01 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 00378-1101-01 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 00378-2302-01 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 00378-3205-01 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Major Pharmaceuticals | 00904-7020-61 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Major Pharmaceuticals | 00904-7021-61 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Major Pharmaceuticals | 00904-7022-61 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Marlex Pharmaceuticals Inc | 10135-0666-01 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Marlex Pharmaceuticals Inc | 10135-0667-01 |
| Prazosin Hydrochloride | PRAZOSIN HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Marlex Pharmaceuticals Inc | 10135-0668-01 |
Alternative dosage forms of Prazosin Hydrochloride
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 3 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minipress 2 mg | Pfizer | 250 capsules | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Minipress 5 mg | Pfizer | 250 capsules | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Minipress 1 mg | Pfizer | 250 capsules | — | AB | Discontinued |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule — that fall in the same broad treatment class (alpha-adrenergic blocking agents) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other cardiovascular shortages
Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule shortage FAQs
Is Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule be available again?
Can I still get Prazosin Hydrochloride somewhere?
What should I do if I take Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule?
Still have a question about the Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Prazosin Hydrochloride Capsule on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.