Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet shortage
Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 6 affected products. The reported reason: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 3, 2026.
Aurobindo Pharma USA is stopping its quinapril/hydrochlorothiazide tablets, and this change may be permanent. The same medicine is still listed by other manufacturers, including Lupin Pharmaceuticals and Cipla USA, so supply exists from sources not reporting a shortage.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — ask your pharmacist about other manufacturers (see options) and your prescriber about a long-term plan.
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 15, 2026Currently in shortage6 of 6 products affected.
-
Jun 2, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record3 products updated.
-
Jan 19, 2023First reported to the FDA6 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Aurobindo Pharma USA 📞 866-850-2876 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Quinapril Hydrochloride And Hydrochlorothiazide, Tablet, 12.5 mg; 10 mg (NDC 65862-161-90) | — | Unavailable | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Current | Quinapril Hydrochloride And Hydrochlorothiazide, Tablet, 25 mg; 20 mg (NDC 65862-163-90) | — | Unavailable | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Current | Quinapril Hydrochloride And Hydrochlorothiazide, Tablet, 12.5 mg; 20 mg (NDC 65862-162-90) | — | Unavailable | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
Manufacturer: Chartwell Molecular Holdings LLC 📞 845-268-5000 x 510 or Chartwell Customer service at [email protected] 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide, Tablet, 12.5 mg; 20 mg (NDC 62135-668-90) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide, Tablet, 12.5 mg; 10 mg (NDC 62135-667-90) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide, Tablet, 25 mg; 20 mg (NDC 62135-669-90) | — | Available | — | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet? options further down this page.
Why is Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet in shortage?
Aurobindo Pharma has permanently stopped making all three strengths of their quinapril/hydrochlorothiazide tablets — the 10 mg/12.5 mg, 20 mg/12.5 mg, and 20 mg/25 mg combinations (all in 90-count bottles). This isn't a temporary factory delay or a supply hiccup — they've made the decision to discontinue manufacturing these products entirely, which is why they show up on the FDA shortage list.
It's worth knowing that this report covers only Aurobindo's products. Chartwell Molecular Holdings is a separate manufacturer, and according to this FDA report, all three of those same strengths under their label are currently listed as available.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet?
Quinapril/hydrochlorothiazide, the combination tablet used to help manage blood pressure, is currently on the FDA shortage list. I want to walk you through what that means so you can find the strength you take.
All three strengths — 10 mg/12.5 mg, 20 mg/12.5 mg, and 20 mg/25 mg — still have an available source. One manufacturer (Aurobindo Pharma USA) has reported it is discontinuing its versions of these tablets, so about half of the listed products are marked unavailable. However, another maker, Chartwell, is still reporting all three strengths as available. So even though one company is stepping away, the medicine itself is still being supplied.
Please keep taking your medicine as prescribed. Here is how to approach this:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to order your strength; pharmacies can check wholesalers and other manufacturers (such as Chartwell's available stock).
- The same medicine is also made by Lupin, Cipla, and Aurobindo — your pharmacy may be able to source one of these, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact tablet cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options, such as a different strength or a clinician-chosen alternative.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference, though pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Where else can I get Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quinapril Hcl And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Lupin Pharmaceuticals,Inc. | 43386-0710-05 |
| Quinapril Hcl And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Lupin Pharmaceuticals,Inc. | 43386-0711-05 |
| Quinapril Hcl And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 25 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Lupin Pharmaceuticals,Inc. | 43386-0712-05 |
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 65862-0161-71 |
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 65862-0162-30 |
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 25 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 65862-0163-59 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide 10/12.5 | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Cipla USA Inc. | 69097-0828-05 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide 20/12.5 | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Cipla USA Inc. | 69097-0829-05 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide 20/25 | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 25 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Cipla USA Inc. | 69097-0831-05 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 12 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide 10 mg/1; 12.5 mg | Aurobindo | 90 tablets | $0.312 | AB | FDA listed |
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide 20 mg/1; 25 mg | Aurobindo | 90 tablets | $0.345 | — | FDA listed |
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide 20 mg/1; 12.5 mg | Aurobindo | 90 tablets | $0.361 | AB | FDA listed |
| Quinapril HCL and Hydrochlorothiazide 10 mg/1; 12.5 mg | Lupin | 30 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Quinapril and Hydrochlorothiazide 10 mg/1; 12.5 mg | Chartwell | 90 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Quinapril and Hydrochlorothiazide 10/12.5 10 mg/1; 12.5 mg | Cipla | 90 tablets | — | — | FDA listed |
| Quinapril HCL and Hydrochlorothiazide 20 mg/1; 25 mg | Lupin | 30 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Quinapril and Hydrochlorothiazide 20 mg/1; 25 mg | Chartwell | 90 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Quinapril and Hydrochlorothiazide 20/25 20 mg/1; 25 mg | Cipla | 90 tablets | — | — | FDA listed |
| Quinapril HCL and Hydrochlorothiazide 20 mg/1; 12.5 mg | Lupin | 30 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Quinapril and Hydrochlorothiazide 20 mg/1; 12.5 mg | Chartwell | 90 tablets | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Quinapril and Hydrochlorothiazide 20/12.5 20 mg/1; 12.5 mg | Cipla | 90 tablets | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet — that fall in the same broad treatment class (ace inhibitor-thiazide or thiazide-like diuretic) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other cardiovascular shortages
Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet shortage FAQs
Is Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet in shortage?
Why is Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet be available again?
Can I still get Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide somewhere?
What should I do if I take Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet?
Still have a question about the Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Quinapril/Hydrochlorothiazide Tablet on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.