Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release shortage
Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 21, 2026.
Mylan is permanently stopping its rivastigmine 4.6 mg/24h extended-release film patch. Other makers — including Novartis, Sandoz, and Northstar Rx — still list rivastigmine patches in multiple strengths, including the 4.6 mg/24h dose under the brand name Exelon.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 18, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Sep 18, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc., a Viatris Company 📞 800-796-9526 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Rivastigmine, Film, Extended Release, 4.6 mg/24 h (NDC 0378-9070-93) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release? options further down this page.
Why is Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release in shortage?
Mylan Pharmaceuticals (a Viatris company) has let the FDA know that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of their 4.6 mg/24-hour rivastigmine extended-release film patch — specifically the package with NDC 0378-9070-93. That's the reason this product appears on the FDA shortage list.
Mylan did not share a more specific public reason for why they made this decision — just that manufacturing of this particular product is being discontinued. It's worth knowing that this report only reflects Mylan's version of this patch, so it doesn't necessarily mean this strength or form is going away from every manufacturer out there.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release?
Rivastigmine extended-release film (the 4.6 mg/24 h patch) is currently on the FDA shortage list. This applies to the 4.6 mg/24 h strength, which is the only strength on this record, and it does not have an available source right now.
The reason listed is that the manufacturer, Mylan Pharmaceuticals, is discontinuing this product. Because it is being discontinued, this supply problem may be permanent rather than temporary. This report reflects only Mylan's filing, so it does not mean every company has stopped making this medicine. The same medicine — rivastigmine 4.6 mg/24 h — is still listed from other makers, including Novartis (Exelon), Sandoz, and Breckenridge.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your patch on your own. Keep using it as prescribed while you sort out supply.
- Ask your pharmacy whether they can source rivastigmine 4.6 mg/24 h from another maker (such as those listed above). It may not be in local stock, but they can check wholesalers and other manufacturers.
- If your exact patch cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a suitable option for you.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.
This is general, national information and may not match your pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exelon | RIVASTIGMINE 4.6 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation | 00078-0501-15 |
| Exelon | RIVASTIGMINE 9.5 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation | 00078-0502-15 |
| Exelon | RIVASTIGMINE 13.3 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation | 00078-0503-15 |
| Rivastigmine | RIVASTIGMINE 9.5 mg/24h | Patch · Transdermal | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 00378-9071-93 |
| Rivastigmine | RIVASTIGMINE 13.3 mg/24h | Patch · Transdermal | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 00378-9072-93 |
| Rivastigmine | RIVASTIGMINE 4.6 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Sandoz Inc | 00781-7304-31 |
| Rivastigmine | RIVASTIGMINE 9.5 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Sandoz Inc | 00781-7309-31 |
| Rivastigmine | RIVASTIGMINE 13.3 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Sandoz Inc | 00781-7313-31 |
| Rivastigmine | RIVASTIGMINE 9.5 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Northstar Rx LLC. | 16714-0116-02 |
| Rivastigmine | RIVASTIGMINE 13.3 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Northstar Rx LLC. | 16714-0117-02 |
| Rivastigmine Transdermal System | RIVASTIGMINE 4.6 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Breckenridge Pharmaceutical, Inc. | 51991-0897-30 |
| Rivastigmine Transdermal System | RIVASTIGMINE 9.5 mg/24h | Patch, Extended Release · Transdermal | Breckenridge Pharmaceutical, Inc. | 51991-0898-30 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 10 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rivastigmine 4.6 mg/24h | Mylan | 30 patches | $1.816 | AB | Availability likely |
| Rivastigmine 4.6 mg/24h | Sandoz | 30 patches | $1.816 | AB | Availability likely |
| Rivastigmine Transdermal System 4.6 mg/24h | Breckenridge | 30 patches | $1.816 | AB | Availability likely |
| Rivastigmine 4.6 mg/24h | Amneal | 30 patches | $1.816 | AB | Availability likely |
| Rivastigmine 4.6 mg/24h | Zydus | 30 pouches | $1.816 | AB | Availability likely |
| Exelon 4.6 mg/24h | Novartis | 30 patches | $21.886 | AB | Availability likely |
| Exelon 4.6 mg/24h | Sandoz | 30 patches | $21.886 | AB | Availability likely |
| Rivastigmine Transdermal System 4.6 mg/24h | Bryant | 30 patches | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Rivastigmine 4.6 mg/24h | Zydus | 30 pouches | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Rivastigmine Transdermal System 4.6 mg/24h | Bryant | 30 patches | — | AB | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release — that fall in the same broad treatment class (cholinesterase inhibitors) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other neurology shortages
Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release shortage FAQs
Is Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release be available again?
Can I still get Rivastigmine somewhere?
What should I do if I take Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release?
Still have a question about the Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Rivastigmine Film, Extended Release on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.