Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release shortage
Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 3 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 25, 2026.
Takeda is permanently stopping its carbamazepine extended-release capsules. Other manufacturers — including Major Pharmaceuticals, AvPAK, Apotex, and ANI Pharmaceuticals — still list the 100 mg, 200 mg, and 300 mg strengths as available.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Dec 19, 2025Currently in shortage3 of 3 products affected.
-
Dec 19, 2025First reported to the FDA3 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Takeda Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 📞 855-268-1825 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Carbatrol, Capsule, Extended Release, 300 mg (NDC 54092-173-12) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Carbatrol, Capsule, Extended Release, 200 mg (NDC 54092-172-12) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Carbatrol, Capsule, Extended Release, 100 mg (NDC 54092-171-12) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release? options further down this page.
Why is Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release in shortage?
Takeda Pharmaceuticals has reported to the FDA that it is permanently stopping the manufacture of its brand of extended-release carbamazepine capsules, sold under the name Carbatrol. This affects all three strengths — the 100 mg, 200 mg, and 300 mg capsules — and there is no plan to bring any of them back.
Takeda did not share a specific public reason for why they made this decision — only that they are discontinuing manufacturing of the drug entirely. It's worth knowing that this report covers only Takeda's Carbatrol product, so it doesn't speak to what other manufacturers of carbamazepine may or may not have available.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release?
Carbamazepine extended-release capsules are currently on the FDA shortage list. This affects the 100 mg, 200 mg, and 300 mg strengths of the brand Carbatrol, and right now none of these strengths have an available source from the manufacturer that filed this report.
The reason listed is that the maker, Takeda, is discontinuing production of this brand. Because this is a discontinuation and not a temporary supply gap, this particular product may not come back. That said, this report reflects only Takeda's brand — the same medicine, carbamazepine extended-release capsules, is still made by other companies.
Here is how I suggest you move forward:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your doses on your own — your medicine needs to be taken consistently.
- Ask your pharmacy whether they can source carbamazepine extended-release capsules in your strength from another maker. Options in our records include Major Pharmaceuticals, AvPAK, Apotex, ANI Pharmaceuticals, and Bryant Ranch Prepack. These are the same medicine from a different company, but they may not be in local stock.
- Because the brand you take is being discontinued, please talk with your prescriber or pharmacist soon about the best long-term plan for you.
Takeda's contact number is listed on this page for reference, though pharmacies usually handle those calls. Local stock may differ from this national data.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 200 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | Major Pharmaceuticals | 00904-6885-04 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 100 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | AvPAK | 50268-0170-13 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 200 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | AvPAK | 50268-0171-13 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 300 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | AvPAK | 50268-0172-13 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 100 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | Apotex Corp. | 60505-2805-07 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 200 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | Apotex Corp. | 60505-2806-07 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 300 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | Apotex Corp. | 60505-2807-07 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 100 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | ANI Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 62559-0484-12 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 200 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | ANI Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 62559-0485-12 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 300 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | ANI Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 62559-0486-12 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 200 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 71335-2706-01 |
| Carbamazepine | CARBAMAZEPINE 300 mg/1 | Capsule, Extended Release · Oral | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 71335-2707-01 |
Alternative dosage forms of Carbamazepine
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 27 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carbamazepine 200 mg | Major | 1 capsule | $1.053 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbamazepine 200 mg | AvPAK | 1 capsule | $1.053 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbamazepine 200 mg | ANI | 120 capsules | $1.053 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbamazepine 100 mg | AvPAK | 1 capsule | $1.068 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbamazepine 100 mg | ANI | 120 capsules | $1.068 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbamazepine 300 mg | AvPAK | 1 capsule | $1.075 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbamazepine 300 mg | ANI | 120 capsules | $1.075 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbatrol 200 mg | Takeda | 120 capsules | $1.693 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbatrol 300 mg | Takeda | 120 capsules | $1.695 | AB | Availability likely |
| Carbatrol 100 mg | Takeda | 120 capsules | $1.700 | AB | Availability likely |
| Equetro 100 mg | Validus | 120 capsules | $3.653 | — | Availability likely |
| Equetro 200 mg | Validus | 120 capsules | $4.184 | — | Availability likely |
| Equetro 300 mg | Validus | 120 capsules | $4.701 | — | Availability likely |
| Carbamazepine 300 mg | Apotex | 30 capsules | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Carbamazepine 300 mg | Coupler | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 300 mg | REMEDYREPACK | 1 capsule | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 300 mg | Bryant | 120 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 300 mg | Bryant | 120 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 300 mg | Bryant | 120 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 200 mg | Apotex | 30 capsules | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Carbamazepine 200 mg | Coupler | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 200 mg | Bryant | 120 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 200 mg | Bryant | 120 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 100 mg | Apotex | 30 capsules | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Carbamazepine 100 mg | Coupler | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 100 mg | Bryant | 120 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Carbamazepine 100 mg | Bryant | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release — that fall in the same broad treatment class (anticonvulsants) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other neurology shortages
Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release shortage FAQs
Is Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release be available again?
Can I still get Carbamazepine somewhere?
What should I do if I take Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release?
Still have a question about the Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.