HomeNDC LookupIngredientsFerric Derisomaltose › 73594-9310-01
💉image loading
(from DailyMed)

Monoferric Ferric derisomaltose 1000 mg/10mL Injection, Solution

by Pharmacosmos Therapeutics Inc. · 1 VIAL in 1 BOX (73594-9310-1) / 10 mL in 1 VIAL
NDC 73594-9310-01
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 73594-9310-1 billing pads the package segment with a zero
Rx only Brand On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 73594-9310-1
Product NDC 73594-9310
11-digit billing NDC 73594931001
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII AHU547PI9H
UPC 0373594931013
Application # NDA208171
SPL Set ID 55859d2d-0456-4fa9-b41f-f535accc97db
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category NDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2020-01-16
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance FERRIC DERISOMALTOSE
GPI-14 82300061002030
GPI class Monoferric
GCN Seq No 066794
GCN 29188
HICL code 037228
Ingredient (HICL) Ferric Derisomaltose
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C3
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Minerals
HIC3 code C3B
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Iron Replacement
AHFS code 20:04.04.00
AHFS class Iron Preparations
FDB label name MONOFERRIC 1,000 MG/10 ML VIAL
FDB brand name Monoferric
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 73594-9310-1 — a 5-4-1 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the package segment → 73594-9310-01. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerPharmacosmos Therapeutics Inc.
Application holderPHARMACOSMOS AS
FDA applicationNDA208171 (NDA)
Labeler code73594
First marketedJan 2020
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio4 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name MONOFERRIC 1,000 MG/10 ML VIAL Ingredient Ferric Derisomaltose
📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Ferric derisomaltose is used to treat iron-deficiency anemia (a lower than normal number of red blood cells due to not enough iron in the body). Ferric derisomaltose is in a class of medications called iron replacement products. It works by providing iron so that the body can make more red blood cells.

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

💊 What it looks like

Color brown
One label can cover several strengths, so colors may be combined — always confirm a loose pill against the dispensed prescription label or a pharmacist.
Where does this data come from?
Physical description (imprint, shape, color, scoring, coating) from this product’s FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL), mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII QTT17582CB
    A strong acid used to adjust and maintain the proper pH level in liquid medicines, ensuring stability and preventing breakdown of active ingredients.
  • UNII N762921K75
    A colorless, odorless gas that makes up most of the air we breathe. In medicines, it's used as a packaging gas or propellant to protect products from oxidation and maintain freshness.
  • UNII 55X04QC32I
    A strong alkaline chemical used to adjust and maintain the pH balance of liquid medicines. It helps keep the medicine stable and ensures it stays effective during storage.
  • UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.

4 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $213.07 $2,130.73 / 10 ml
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
Medicare Part B allowsASP · J1437 $21.077 / J1437 unit
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)73594-9310-1
11-digit billing NDC73594-9310-01
Format5-4-1 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the package segment)
HCPCS J-codeJ1437
DescriptorINJECTION, FERRIC DERISOMALTOSE, 10 MG
Billing units / pkg10 units
Crosswalk sourcePDAC NDC-HCPCS crosswalk (DME MAC / DMEPOS)
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Monoferric 1000 mg/10mLthis 73594-9310-01 Pharmacosmos 1 vial FDA listed
About this product: this is the brand-name version. We did not find an FDA-approved generic match for this exact strength, form and route.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2020
First FDA approval
Jan 2020
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
6 years listed
🛡️
2036
Latest patent/protection listed
not a guaranteed launch date
🔒No FDA-approved generic found

We did not find an FDA-approved generic match for this exact strength, form and route. Patent/protection dates below may affect future generic timing.

🛡️ Latest patent/protection date listed: FDA patent/protection data lists protections through Jun 2036. This may affect when a full generic version becomes widely available, but it is not a guaranteed launch date.
📅 FDA approved Jan 16, 2020 RLD RS ⏳ ~9.8 yr to latest listed protection

Why the date isn’t exact: Generic timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added, removed, or worked around with a narrower label — and FDA approval does not always mean a pharmacy can get the generic today.

Patents & exclusivity — FDA Orange Book
US 8815301 — drug substance (U-2734)
US 11633489 — method of use (U-3594)
US 11633489 — method of use (U-3594)
US 11633489 — method of use (U-3594)
US 8815301 — drug substance (U-2734)
US 8815301 — drug substance (U-2734)
US 10414831 — drug substance
US 10414831 — drug substance
US 12030962 — drug substance
US 11851504 — drug substance
US 11851504 — drug substance
US 12030962 — drug substance
US 10414831 — drug substance
US 12030962 — drug substance
US 11851504 — drug substance
2020 2022 2024 2026 2028 2030 2032 2034 2036
Today
LOE
Substance patent Formulation patent Method-of-use patent Exclusivity Pediatric +6mo
🏛️FDA exclusivity
FDA-granted marketing protection. It’s separate from patents and may be shorter than patent protection.
🧪Product / substance patents
Patents covering the active ingredient, product, formulation, or related drug features.
🎯Method-of-use patents
Patents covering specific approved uses. These can sometimes be carved out with a “skinny label,” but not always.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
Patent
Legal protection listed in the Orange Book that may delay generic approval or launch. Issued by the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office.
Substance patent
Covers the active drug molecule itself — the hardest to design around. A generic generally can’t launch until it expires.
Formulation (product) patent
Covers a specific formulation or dosage form. A generic can sometimes work around it with a different formulation.
Method-of-use patent
A patent covering one specific approved use of the drug — not necessarily the whole molecule. A generic can sometimes launch with a “skinny label” that carves out the protected use and keeps the others.
Skinny label
A generic label that omits a still-patented use when the FDA allows it — letting a generic reach the market for the unprotected uses.
Exclusivity
FDA-granted marketing protection, separate from patents — e.g. 5-yr new chemical entity, 7-yr orphan drug, or a +6-month pediatric extension.
Paragraph IV
A generic applicant’s formal challenge to a listed patent. It can potentially lead to earlier generic entry, but often involves litigation or a settlement.
RLD / RS
Reference Listed Drug — the brand product the FDA uses as the reference for generic applications. Reference Standard — the product the FDA expects generics to compare against in bioequivalence testing.
TE / AB rating
FDA therapeutic-equivalence rating. An AB rating generally means the FDA considers a generic therapeutically equivalent to — and substitutable for — the brand.
LOE (loss of exclusivity)
The latest patent or exclusivity currently listed — the loss-of-exclusivity / latest-listed-protection date shown on this page. Paragraph-IV challenges and settlements can move the real date earlier; FDA approval and a manufacturer’s decision to market can move it later.

Built from the FDA Orange Book. The bars above are scaled to each protection’s expiry; the red LOE marker is the last one to lapse.

Listed patents (15)
PatentTypeUse codeExpires
US 8815301 ↗ Drug substance U-2734 Aug 14, 2029
US 11633489 ↗ Method of use U-3594 Jun 22, 2036
US 11633489 ↗ Method of use U-3594 Jun 22, 2036
US 11633489 ↗ Method of use U-3594 Jun 22, 2036
US 8815301 ↗ Drug substance U-2734 Aug 14, 2029
US 8815301 ↗ Drug substance U-2734 Aug 14, 2029
US 10414831 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
US 10414831 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
US 12030962 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
US 11851504 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
US 11851504 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
US 12030962 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
US 10414831 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
US 12030962 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
US 11851504 ↗ Drug substance Mar 25, 2029
Common questions
Is there a generic version of MONOFERRIC 1,000 MG/10 ML VIAL?
No FDA-approved generic equivalent is currently listed in the FDA Orange Book for MONOFERRIC 1,000 MG/10 ML VIAL. Based on the patents and exclusivity currently listed, the Orange Book estimate is that full-label generic entry may be delayed until Jun 2036 — an estimate, not a guaranteed launch date.
The FDA approved a generic — why can’t I get it at my pharmacy yet?
FDA approval and pharmacy availability are two different things. The FDA can approve a generic years before it actually reaches pharmacies, because the brand company may still hold patents or have a settlement that delays the launch. A manufacturer also has to choose to make and sell it, and have supply ready. So a drug can be “FDA-approved generic exists” and still be brand-only at the counter today.
Why do different websites show different generic release dates?
Generic availability is not based on one single date. Some sources use the first exclusivity expiration, some use the last product patent, and others use the latest method-of-use patent. Patent challenges, settlements, licenses, and label carve-outs can also change the real-world launch date. This page shows the underlying Orange Book dates so you can see why estimates may differ.
What does “FDA listed” mean?
It means the product appears in the FDA’s official NDC directory. That’s a good sign a product exists and is intended for the U.S. market, but on its own it does not confirm a pharmacy can fill it today. Where we have recent retail pricing data (NADAC) for a product, we label it “Availability likely” instead.
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
It’s the latest date currently listed in the FDA Orange Book for a patent or exclusivity on the brand product. It can affect when a full generic version becomes widely available — but it is not a guaranteed generic launch date. Generics sometimes arrive earlier (through a settlement or patent challenge) or later (a manufacturer still has to make and sell one).
What does “current Orange Book estimate” mean?
It means we are using the latest patent and exclusivity dates currently listed in the FDA Orange Book. It is not a guaranteed launch date.
Can a generic come out before the last patent expires?
Sometimes. A generic company may challenge a patent, settle with the brand manufacturer, receive a license, or obtain approval with a narrower label that avoids a patented use. In other cases, the last listed protection may delay full-label generic competition.
Can a generic come out after the listed dates?
Yes. Even after patents or exclusivity expire, a generic still needs FDA approval and a manufacturer must choose to market it. Supply, litigation, business decisions, or regulatory issues can delay actual availability.
What is the difference between patents and exclusivity?
Patents are legal protections usually issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. FDA exclusivity is marketing protection granted by the FDA. They are separate, and either one can affect generic timing.
Why are there multiple patent dates?
One drug can have several patents covering different things: the active ingredient, a formulation, a manufacturing process, or a specific approved use. That is why a page may show several expiration dates instead of one simple generic date.
Built from FDA Orange Book patent and exclusivity data. Dates are refreshed from public FDA data when available; the marker is max(latest patent expiry, latest exclusivity expiry). Paragraph-IV settlements and first-filer 180-day exclusivity can shift the real date; a method-of-use patent may allow an earlier skinny-label generic for non-protected indications. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.
Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 73594-9310-01, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
9.3K
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
89.1K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$18.98M
Avg / prescription
$2,045.96
Avg / unit
$213.07
Latest quarter Q4 2025
1.8KRx
Fee-for-service vs managed care
40% FFS 60% MCO
Fee-for-service · 3,725 Rx Managed care · 5,550 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: 1,607 units · 219 per 100k residents AK Maine: 550 units · 39.4 per 100k residents ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: 290 units · 37.0 per 100k residents ND Minnesota: 940 units · 16.4 per 100k residents MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: 1,860 units · 18.5 per 100k residents MI New York: 2,084 units · 10.6 per 100k residents NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: 230 units · 7.2 per 100k residents NV Wyoming: 150 units · 25.7 per 100k residents WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: 1,790 units · 14.3 per 100k residents IL Indiana: 4,050 units · 59.0 per 100k residents IN Ohio: 1,358 units · 11.5 per 100k residents OH Pennsylvania: 2,344 units · 18.1 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: 4,921 units · 53.0 per 100k residents NJ Massachusetts: 808 units · 11.5 per 100k residents MA California: 10,991 units · 28.2 per 100k residents CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: 6,055 units · 103 per 100k residents CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: 760 units · 12.3 per 100k residents MO Kentucky: 200 units · 4.4 per 100k residents KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: 1,563 units · 17.9 per 100k residents VA Maryland: 8,942 units · 145 per 100k residents MD Connecticut: 2,980 units · 82.4 per 100k residents CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: 1,770 units · 23.8 per 100k residents AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: 1,782 units · 58.1 per 100k residents AR Tennessee: 7,454 units · 105 per 100k residents TN North Carolina: 4,031 units · 37.2 per 100k residents NC South Carolina: 1,220 units · 22.7 per 100k residents SC Delaware: 510 units · 49.5 per 100k residents DE Oklahoma: 550 units · 13.6 per 100k residents OK Louisiana: 2,391 units · 52.3 per 100k residents LA Mississippi: 890 units · 30.3 per 100k residents MS Alabama: 6,200 units · 121 per 100k residents AL Georgia: 2,340 units · 21.2 per 100k residents GA D.C.: 600 units · 88.4 per 100k residents DC Hawaii: 401 units · 27.9 per 100k residents HI Texas: 3,175 units · 10.4 per 100k residents TX Florida: 1,273 units · 5.6 per 100k residents FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
4.4219
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 Alaska 219 /100k
2 Maryland 145 /100k
3 Alabama 121 /100k
4 Tennessee 105 /100k
5 Colorado 103 /100k
6 D.C. 88.4 /100k
7 Connecticut 82.4 /100k
8 Indiana 59.0 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Monoferric (this brand).

Top reported reactions

Dyspnoea275
Nausea154
Flushing149
Chest Discomfort141
Back Pain120
Infusion Related Reaction102
Dizziness99

Age at onset

Adolescent1
Adult73
Elderly42

Reporter sex

1,305 reports
Male · 23%
Female · 77%
Unknown · 0%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization219
Life-threatening104
Death46
Disabling35
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2021 2022 2024 2026 282 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
73594-9310-01 You're viewing this 1 VIAL in 1 BOX (73594-9310-1) / 10 mL in 1 VIAL 2020-01-16 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos — Not published for this NDC No photo available yet for this listing.
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk ✓ Available
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) ✓ Available
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 73594-9310-1, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 73594-9310-01, written without dashes as 73594931001. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 73594-9310-01, the first segment (73594) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Pharmacosmos Therapeutics Inc.; the middle segment (9310) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (01) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Pharmacosmos Therapeutics Inc.. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Pharmacosmos Therapeutics Inc. is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Yes — this NDC cross-references HCPCS code J1437 for medical-claim billing (typically used when a product is administered in a clinical setting rather than dispensed at a retail pharmacy). See the Billing section on this page.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 84 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Monoferric is indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in adult patients: who have intolerance to oral iron or have had unsatisfactory response to oral iron who have non-hemodialysis dependent chronic kidney disease (NDD-CKD) MONOFERRIC is an iron replacement product indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia in adult patients: who have intolerance to oral iron or have had unsatisfactory response to oral iron. ( 1 ) who have non-hemodialysis dependent chronic kidney disease.

( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~1 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION For patients weighing 50 kg or more: Administer 1,000 mg of Monoferric as an intravenous infusion. For patients weighing less than 50 kg: Administer Monoferric as 20 mg/kg actual body weight as an intravenous infusion. Repeat Monoferric treatment if iron deficiency anemia reoccurs. ( 2 )

2.1Recommended Dosage For patients weighing 50 kg or more: Administer 1,000 mg of Monoferric by intravenous infusion over at least 20 minutes as a single dose. Repeat dose if iron deficiency anemia reoccurs. For patients weighing less than 50 kg: Administer Monoferric as 20 mg/kg actual body weight by intravenous infusion over at least 20 minutes as a single dose.

Repeat dose if iron deficiency anemia reoccurs. The dosage of Monoferric is expressed in mg of elemental iron. Each mL of Monoferric contains 100 mg of elemental iron.

Only administer Monoferric when personnel and therapies are immediately available for the treatment of serious hypersensitivity reactions ( Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ) .

2.2Preparation and Administration Inspect parenteral drug products visually for the absence of particulate matter and discoloration prior to administration. The product contains no preservatives. Each vial of Monoferric is single-dose only.

Discard unused portion. Withdraw the appropriate volume of Monoferric and dilute in 100 mL to 500 mL of 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP. Final diluted concentration should be more than 1 mg iron/mL.

Compatibility of Monoferric with other drugs has not been established. Monoferric should not be mixed with or physically added to solutions containing other drugs. Administer the prepared solution via intravenous infusion over at least 20 minutes.

Following dilution with 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP, Monoferric solution may be stored at room temperature for up to 8 hours. Extravasation of Monoferric may cause brown discoloration at the extravasation site which may be long lasting. Monitor for extravasation.

If extravasation occurs, discontinue the Monoferric administration at that site.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 74 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Monoferric is a sterile, dark brown, non-transparent aqueous solution available as: Injection: 1,000 mg iron/10 mL (100 mg/mL) single-dose vial Injection: 500 mg iron/5 mL (100 mg/mL) single-dose vial Injection: 100 mg iron/mL single-dose vial Injection: 1,000 mg iron /10 mL (100 mg/mL) single-dose vial ( 3 ) Injection: 500 mg iron/5 mL (100 mg/mL) single-dose vial ( 3 ) Injection: 100 mg iron/mL single-dose vial ( 3 )

Contraindications 54 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Monoferric is contraindicated in patients with a history of serious hypersensitivity to Monoferric or any of its components (see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) , Description (11) ) . Reactions have included shock, clinically significant hypotension, loss of consciousness, and/or collapse. Serious hypersensitivity to Monoferric or any of its components. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~1 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Hypersensitivity Reactions: Monitor patients for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after Monoferric administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of the infusion. ( 5.1 ) Iron Overload: Do not administer Monoferric to patients with iron overload. ( 5.2 )

5.1Hypersensitivity Reactions Serious hypersensitivity reactions, including anaphylactic-type reactions, some of which have been life-threatening and fatal, have been reported in patients receiving Monoferric. Patients may present with shock, clinically significant hypotension, loss of consciousness, and/or collapse. Monitor patients for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after Monoferric administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of the infusion.

Only administer Monoferric when personnel and therapies are immediately available for the treatment of serious hypersensitivity reactions. Monoferric is contraindicated in patients with prior serious hypersensitivity reactions to Monoferric or any of its components ( see Contraindications (4) ). In clinical trials in patients with IDA and CKD, serious or severe hypersensitivity were reported in 0.3% (6/2008) of the Monoferric treated subjects.

These included 3 events of hypersensitivity in 3 patients; 2 events of infusion-related reactions in 2 patients and 1 event of asthma in one patient.

5.2Iron Overload Excessive therapy with parenteral iron can lead to excess iron storage and possibly iatrogenic hemosiderosis or hemochromatosis. Monitor the hematologic response (hemoglobin and hematocrit) and iron parameters (serum ferritin and transferrin saturation) during parenteral iron therapy. Do not administer Monoferric to patients with iron overload (see Overdosage (10) ) .

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are discussed in greater detail in other sections of the labeling: Hypersensitivity Reactions (see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ) . Iron Overload (see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ) . Most commonly reported adverse reactions (incidence ≥1%) are rash and nausea.

( 6 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Pharmacosmos at 1-888-828-0655 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, the adverse reaction rates observed cannot be directly compared to rates in other clinical trials and may not reflect the rates observed in clinical practice. The safety of Monoferric was evaluated in 3008 patients with iron deficiency anemia enrolled in two randomized, actively-controlled trials. Trial 1 enrolled adult patients with iron deficiency anemia with intolerance to oral iron or had an unsatisfactory response to oral iron with a clinical need for repletion of iron stores.

Eligible subjects were required to have a baseline hemoglobin of ≤11g/dl, transferrin saturation (TSAT) of less than 20% and serum ferritin level of <100 ng/mL. Trial 2 enrolled adult patients with non-dialysis dependent chronic kidney disease (CKD) with iron deficiency anemia ( see Clinical Studies (14) ). Eligible subjects also had to have serum ferritin ≤100 ng/mL or ≤300 ng/mL if TSAT ≤30%.

Trial 1 and Trial 2 In the two randomized, actively-controlled clinical trials, Trial 1 and Trial 2 (see Clinical Studies (14) ) , patients were randomized in a 2:1 ratio to intravenous Monoferric (n = 2008) or intravenous iron sucrose (n = 1000) respectively. Monoferric was administered as a single intravenous infusion of 1000 mg diluted in 100 mL 0.9 % sodium chloride and given over approximately 20 minutes (approximately 50 mg iron/min). Iron sucrose was administered as 200 mg undiluted intravenous injections over approximately 2-5 minutes and repeated according to standard practice or physician choice up to a maximum of five times (1000 mg) within the first two weeks starting at baseline.

The data described below reflect exposure to Monoferric in 2008 patients exposed to a 1000 mg single intravenous dose of Monoferric. The mean cumulative intravenous Iron exposure was 984 mg. Trial 1 included 1483 patients with iron deficiency anemia in the safety analysis that had intolerance to oral iron or have had unsatisfactory response to oral iron or with a clinical need for rapid repletion of iron stores.

Trial 2 included 1525 patients in the safety analysis who had non-dialysis dependent CKD. The mean (SD) age of the combined study population was 56.4 (18.3) years. The majority of patients were women (75.7%).

Adverse reactions were reported in 8.6% (172/2008) of patients treated with Monoferric. Adverse reactions related to treatment and reported by ≥1% of the treated patients in the combined analysis of Trial 1 and 2 are listed in Table 1. Table 1.

Adverse Reactions (≥1%) in Patients Receiving Monoferric in Clinical Trials 1 and 2 Monoferric (N = 2008) N (%) Iron sucrose (N = 1000) N (%) Adverse Reaction Nausea 24 (1.2) 11 (1.1) Rash 21 (1) 1 (0.1) Adjudicated serious or severe hypersensitivity reactions were reported in 6/2008 (0.3%) patients in the Monoferric group. Hypophosphatemia (serum phosphate <2.0 mg/dL) was reported in 3.5% of Monoferric-treated patients in Trials 1 & 2.

6.2Post-marketing Experience Because these reactions are reported voluntarily from a population of uncertain size, it is not always possible to reliably estimate their frequency or establish a causal relationship to drug exposure. The following adverse reactions have been most commonly reported from the post-marketing spontaneous reports with Monoferric: Cardiac disorders: Tachycardia Gastrointestinal disorders: Abdominal pain, nausea and vomiting, constipation, diarrhea General disorders and administration site condit…

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary There are no available data on Monoferric use in pregnant women to evaluate for a drug-associated risk of major birth defects, miscarriage or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes. Published studies on the use of intravenous iron products in pregnant women have not reported an association with adverse developmental outcomes. However, these studies cannot establish or exclude the absence of any drug-related risk during pregnancy because the studies were not designed to assess for the risk of major birth defects ( see Data ) .

There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions ( see Clinical Considerations ) . Iron complexes have been reported to be teratogenic and embryocidal in non-iron depleted pregnant animals. The findings in animals may be due to iron overload and may not be applicable to patients with iron deficiency.

Animal reproduction studies of ferric derisomaltose administered to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis caused adverse developmental outcomes including structural abnormalities and embryo-fetal mortality at doses approximately 0.09 and 0.4 times the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD) of 1000 mg, respectively, based on body surface area ( see Data ) . The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. Adverse outcomes in pregnancy occur regardless of the health of the mother or the use of medications.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Untreated iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia. Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA includes increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight.

Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as Monoferric) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester. Data Animal Data Iron complexes have been reported to be teratogenic and embryocidal in non-anemic pregnant animals at single doses above 125 mg iron/kg body weight. The highest recommended dose in human clinical use is 20 mg iron/kg body weight.

In a combined fertility and embryo-fetal development study in rats, ferric derisomaltose was administered intravenously to female rats 14 days prior to cohabitation and through gestation day (GD) 17 at doses of 3, 11, and 32 mg Fe/kg/day. The doses of 11 and 32 mg Fe/kg/day (approximately 0.1 and 0.3 times the MRHD of 1000 mg, based on body surface area (BSA)) resulted in an increase in the incidence of skeletal developmental delays. Ferric derisomaltose was administered intravenously to pregnant rabbits during organogenesis, from GD7 to GD20, at doses of 11, 25 and 43 mg Fe/kg/day.

The dose of 43 mg Fe/kg/day (approximately 0.8 times the MRHD of 1000 mg, based on BSA) resulted in increased maternal mortality, abortion, and premature delivery, and increased postimplantation loss. Adverse developmental findings at this dose included fetal mortality, reduced fetal weights, and fetal developmental variations and malformations (including domed head, cleft palate, microglossia, hydrocephaly, small brain). Fetal malformations and reduced fetal weights were also noted in the 25 mg Fe/kg/day group (approximately 0.5 times the MRHD based on BSA).

8.2Lactation Risk Summary The available data on the use of Monoferric in lactating women demonstrate that iron is present in breast milk. However, the data do…

🤰 Pregnancy ~3 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary There are no available data on Monoferric use in pregnant women to evaluate for a drug-associated risk of major birth defects, miscarriage or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes. Published studies on the use of intravenous iron products in pregnant women have not reported an association with adverse developmental outcomes. However, these studies cannot establish or exclude the absence of any drug-related risk during pregnancy because the studies were not designed to assess for the risk of major birth defects ( see Data ) .

There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions ( see Clinical Considerations ) . Iron complexes have been reported to be teratogenic and embryocidal in non-iron depleted pregnant animals. The findings in animals may be due to iron overload and may not be applicable to patients with iron deficiency.

Animal reproduction studies of ferric derisomaltose administered to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis caused adverse developmental outcomes including structural abnormalities and embryo-fetal mortality at doses approximately 0.09 and 0.4 times the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD) of 1000 mg, respectively, based on body surface area ( see Data ) . The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. Adverse outcomes in pregnancy occur regardless of the health of the mother or the use of medications.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Untreated iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia. Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA includes increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight.

Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as Monoferric) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester. Data Animal Data Iron complexes have been reported to be teratogenic and embryocidal in non-anemic pregnant animals at single doses above 125 mg iron/kg body weight. The highest recommended dose in human clinical use is 20 mg iron/kg body weight.

In a combined fertility and embryo-fetal development study in rats, ferric derisomaltose was administered intravenously to female rats 14 days prior to cohabitation and through gestation day (GD) 17 at doses of 3, 11, and 32 mg Fe/kg/day. The doses of 11 and 32 mg Fe/kg/day (approximately 0.1 and 0.3 times the MRHD of 1000 mg, based on body surface area (BSA)) resulted in an increase in the incidence of skeletal developmental delays. Ferric derisomaltose was administered intravenously to pregnant rabbits during organogenesis, from GD7 to GD20, at doses of 11, 25 and 43 mg Fe/kg/day.

The dose of 43 mg Fe/kg/day (approximately 0.8 times the MRHD of 1000 mg, based on BSA) resulted in increased maternal mortality, abortion, and premature delivery, and increased postimplantation loss. Adverse developmental findings at this dose included fetal mortality, reduced fetal weights, and fetal developmental variations and malformations (including domed head, cleft palate, microglossia, hydrocephaly, small brain). Fetal malformations and reduced fetal weights were also noted in the 25 mg Fe/kg/day group (approximately 0.5 times the MRHD based on BSA).

🧒 Pediatric Use 13 words

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness have not been established in pediatric patients.

🧓 Geriatric Use 68 words

8.5Geriatric Use Of the 3934 patients in clinical studies of Monoferric, 29% were 65 years and over, while 13% were 75 years and over. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these patients and younger subjects, and other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger patients, but greater sensitivity of some older individuals cannot be ruled out.

🆘 Overdosage 37 words

10 OVERDOSAGE Excessive dosages of Monoferric may lead to accumulation of iron in storage sites potentially leading to hemosiderosis and hemochromatosis. Avoid use of Monoferric in patients with iron overload (see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ) .

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~1 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Ferric derisomaltose is a complex of iron (III) hydroxide and derisomaltose, an iron carbohydrate oligosaccharide that releases iron. Iron binds to transferrin for transport to erythroid precursor cells to be incorporated into hemoglobin.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Serum ferritin peaks approximately 7 days after an intravenous dose of Monoferric and slowly returns to stable levels after about 4 weeks. Cardiac Electrophysiology Electrocardiogram (ECG) monitoring for QT prolongation was performed in a sub-study in 35 patients randomized to Monoferric in Trial 1. No large mean increase in QTc (i.e. >20 ms) interval was detected at the 1000 mg single dose of Monoferric.

12.3Pharmacokinetics The pharmacokinetics of total iron (derisomaltose-bound plus transferrin-bound iron) were evaluated in adult patients with IDA. After a single dose of Monoferric, maximum concentration (C max ) and area under the concentration time curve (AUC) of serum total iron increased approximately proportionally over the 100 to 1000 mg dose range. After a 1000 mg single dose, the C max and AUC inf of total iron (geometric mean and CV%) of serum total iron were 408 (10.5) μg/mL and 17730 (22.1) μg.h /mL.

Distribution Circulating iron is removed from the plasma by cells of the reticuloendothelial system. The iron is bound to the available protein moieties to form hemosiderin or ferritin, the physiological storage forms of iron, or to a lesser extent, to the transport molecule transferrin. Elimination After a single 1000 mg Monoferric dose, the mean (CV%) half-life of serum total iron is 27 (13.3%) hr.

Excretion Due to the size of the complex, Monoferric is not excreted via the kidneys. Small quantities of iron are excreted in urine and feces.

🧬 Mechanism of Action 37 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Ferric derisomaltose is a complex of iron (III) hydroxide and derisomaltose, an iron carbohydrate oligosaccharide that releases iron. Iron binds to transferrin for transport to erythroid precursor cells to be incorporated into hemoglobin.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 112 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING

16.1How Supplied Monoferric injection is a sterile, dark brown, non-transparent aqueous solution supplied in cartons as single-dose vials (10 mL, 5 mL or 1 mL) in the following configurations: Vial size Number of vials per carton NDC 1,000 mg/10 mL 1 73594-9310-1 500 mg/5 mL 1 73594-9305-1 100 mg/mL 5 73594-9301-2

16.2Storage and Handling Store at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F); excursions permitted to 15° to 30°C (59° to 86°F). See the USP controlled room temperature. Do not freeze. When added to an infusion bag containing 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP, Monoferric solution may be stored for up to 8 hours at room temperature.

📦 Storage and Handling 55 words

16.2Storage and Handling Store at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F); excursions permitted to 15° to 30°C (59° to 86°F). See the USP controlled room temperature. Do not freeze. When added to an infusion bag containing 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP, Monoferric solution may be stored for up to 8 hours at room temperature.

📋 Description ~1 min read

11 DESCRIPTION Monoferric is an iron replacement product containing ferric derisomaltose for intravenous infusion. Ferric derisomaltose is an iron carbohydrate complex with a matrix structure composed of interchanging layers of ferric hydroxide and the carbohydrate derisomaltose. Derisomaltose consists of linear, hydrogenated isomaltooligosaccharides with an average molecular weight of 1000 Da and a narrow molecular weight distribution that is almost devoid of mono- and disaccharides.

Ferric derisomaltose has an average molecular weight of 155,000 Da and has the following empirical formula: {FeO (1-3X) (OH) (1+3X) (C 6 H 5 O 7 3- ) X }, (H 2 0) T , - (C 6 H 10 O 6 ) R (-C 6 H 10 O 5 -) Z (C 6 H 13 O 5 ) R , (NaCl) Y X = 0.0311; T = 0.25; R = 0.14; Z = 0.49; Y =

0.14Iron atoms placed in the electronegative cavities of the 3-D structure between and within the derisomaltose molecules. A schematic representation is presented below Monoferric is a sterile, dark brown, non-transparent aqueous solution with pH 5.0-7.0, containing ferric derisomaltose dissolved in water for injections and filled into Type I glass vials. Each 1 mL of solution contains 100 mg of elemental iron as ferric derisomaltose in water for injection, hydrochloric acid and sodium hydroxide may be used to adjust pH.

Image

💬 Information for Patients 79 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information). Prior History of Allergies to Parenteral Iron Products Question patients regarding any prior history of reactions to parenteral iron products (see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ) . Hypersensitivity Reactions Advise patients to report any signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity that may develop during and following Monoferric administration, such as rash, itching, dizziness, lightheadedness, swelling and breathing problems (see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ) .

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.