Zithromax IV (Azithromycin) Injection shortage
Not a nationwide shortage — Pfizer has told the FDA it is discontinuing its azithromycin injections. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 8, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 6 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.
Pfizer is permanently stopping production of Zithromax IV (azithromycin injection). The same medicine at the 500 mg strength is still listed as available from other manufacturers, including Sagent Pharmaceuticals, Eugia US LLC, Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, and Fresenius Kabi USA.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →Is Zithromax IV still in shortage? — status as of Oct 8, 2026
Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 8, 2026. Pfizer is stopping its own version only; 6 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.
The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.
Shortage timeline
-
Jan 20, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Jan 20, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
Which Zithromax IV products are affected — by company
Company: Pfizer Inc. 📞 844-646-4398 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Zithromax IV Injection, 500 mg/5 mL | 500 mg/5 mL | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. | — |
These rows are company reports to the FDA for Azithromycin Injection — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Zithromax IV or its generic? options further down this page.
Why is Pfizer discontinuing Zithromax IV?
Pfizer has let the FDA know that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of their brand-name intravenous (IV) version of azithromycin, Zithromax IV, 500 mg/5 mL. That's the specific product affected by this report. Pfizer did not share a detailed public reason for why they made this decision — just that manufacturing of this particular product is being discontinued.
It's worth knowing that this report reflects only what Pfizer filed with the FDA about their product. It doesn't necessarily mean IV azithromycin is going away entirely, as other manufacturers may have their own versions listed separately.
Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Azithromycin Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.
What should I do if I take Zithromax IV?
Azithromycin Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. I want to walk you through what this means so you know what to expect.
There is one strength involved, 500 mg/5 mL. The maker reporting this shortage, Pfizer (for its Zithromax IV product), has listed it as being discontinued. In this case, that supply problem may be permanent for that particular product. The good point to hold onto is that this record reflects only the one manufacturer who filed it — the same strength, 500 mg/5 mL, is still listed by several other companies that are not reporting a shortage.
Because this medicine is given as an injection, it is almost always handled in a clinical setting rather than picked up at a retail counter. Here is what I'd suggest:
- Do not stop or change your treatment on your own — this is a decision for your care team.
- Because Pfizer's product is being discontinued, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about sourcing the same medicine from another maker, since several still list the 500 mg/5 mL strength.
- If your exact product cannot be found, your prescriber can choose a suitable option for you.
- Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually make these calls.
This is general, national information and may not match local stock.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Zithromax IV or its generic?
FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists azithromycin injections is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. These are generic versions of Zithromax IV — a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Company | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Azithromycin | AZITHROMYCIN MONOHYDRATE 500 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0180-10 |
| Azithromycin | AZITHROMYCIN MONOHYDRATE 500 mg/1 | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Eugia US LLC | 55150-0174-10 |
| Azithromycin | AZITHROMYCIN MONOHYDRATE 500 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 62756-0512-44 |
| Azithromycin | AZITHROMYCIN MONOHYDRATE 500 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0398-10 |
| Azithromycin Monohydrate | AZITHROMYCIN MONOHYDRATE 500 mg/10mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 70095-0025-02 |
| Azithromycin | AZITHROMYCIN DIHYDRATE 500 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Slate Run Pharmaceuticals | 70436-0019-82 |
| Azithromycin | AZITHROMYCIN MONOHYDRATE 500 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Athenex Pharmaceutical Division, LLC. | 70860-0100-10 |
Other dosage forms of azithromycin
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 11 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Azithromycin 500 mg | Eugia | 10 vials | $3.527 | AP | Availability likely |
| Azithromycin 500 mg/5mL | Fresenius | 10 vials | $3.527 | AP | Availability likely |
| Azithromycin monohydrate 500 mg/10mL | Sun | 10 vials | $3.527 | AP | Availability likely |
| Azithromycin 500 mg/5mL | Slate | 10 vials | $3.527 | AP | Availability likely |
| Azithromycin 500 mg/5mL | Athenex | 10 vials | $3.527 | AP | Availability likely |
| Zithromax 500 mg/5mL | Pfizer | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Zithromax 500 mg/5mL | Pfizer | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Azithromycin 500 mg/5mL | Sagent | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Azithromycin 500 mg/5mL | Sun | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Azithromycin monohydrate 500 mg/10mL | Gland | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Azithromycin 500 mg/5mL | Athenex | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Zithromax IV — that fall in the same broad treatment class (macrolide antibiotics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
Where does this data come from?
Other anti-infective shortages
Zithromax IV shortage FAQs
Is Zithromax IV still in shortage?
Which strengths of Zithromax IV are affected?
Which Zithromax IV products are affected?
When will Zithromax IV be available again?
Can I still get Zithromax IV or its generic somewhere?
Is the brand or the generic affected?
What should I do if I take Zithromax IV?
Still have a question about the Zithromax IV shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Azithromycin Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.