Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule shortage
Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 2 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 4, 2026.
Teva is permanently stopping its hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg capsules. Other makers, including Actavis Pharma and Unichem Pharmaceuticals, still list this same strength and form as available.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Nov 19, 2025Currently in shortage2 of 2 products affected.
-
Nov 19, 2025First reported to the FDA2 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 📞 800-545-8800 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Microzide, Capsule, 12.5 mg (NDC 0591-0347-01) | — | — | A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Microzide, Capsule, 12.5 mg (NDC 0591-0347-05) | — | — | A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule? options further down this page.
Why is Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule in shortage?
Teva Pharmaceuticals has made a business decision to permanently stop making their brand-name version of hydrochlorothiazide capsules, called Microzide, in the 12.5 mg strength. This affects two specific package sizes of that product. They haven't shared a more detailed public reason beyond it being a business decision on their part.
It's worth knowing that this report only covers Teva's Microzide capsules specifically — it doesn't mean hydrochlorothiazide as a whole is going away. Other manufacturers may still be producing their own versions of this medication, and those would be listed separately.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule?
Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg capsules are currently on the FDA shortage list. The maker that filed this report, Teva Pharmaceuticals, has listed its 12.5 mg capsule (sold as Microzide) as to be discontinued, which means this particular product may not come back.
The one strength covered here — 12.5 mg — has no available source from Teva right now. The reason given is a business decision to stop making the drug, not a safety problem. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, there is no estimated recovery date for Teva's product. Importantly, this report reflects only Teva; other companies still make the same 12.5 mg capsule.
Please do not stop or change how you take this medicine on your own — talk with your pharmacist or prescriber first. Here are good next steps:
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers for the same 12.5 mg capsule. Several companies — including Actavis, Unichem, ScieGen, Rising, Aurobindo, and others — still make hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg capsules, though a given one may not be in local stock.
- If your exact product cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a suitable option.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually make these calls. This national data may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule, Gelatin Coated · Oral | Actavis Pharma, Inc. | 00591-0347-00 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Unichem Pharmaceuticals (USA), Inc. | 29300-0130-01 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Quality Care Products LLC | 35356-0807-30 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | A-S Medication Solutions | 50090-0724-00 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | ScieGen Pharmaceuticals Inc | 50228-0146-01 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | AvPAK | 50268-0404-15 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 57237-0002-01 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | American Health Packaging | 60687-0683-01 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule, Gelatin Coated · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 63187-0548-07 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 63629-8498-01 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 65862-0113-01 |
| Hydrochlorothiazide | HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Capsule, Gelatin Coated · Oral | Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, LLC | 67544-0739-60 |
Alternative dosage forms of Hydrochlorothiazide
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Actavis | 100 capsules | $0.028 | AB | Availability likely |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Unichem | 100 capsules | $0.028 | AB | Availability likely |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | ScieGen | 100 capsules | $0.028 | AB | Availability likely |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | AvPAK | 50 capsules | $0.028 | AB | Availability likely |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Rising | 100 capsules | $0.028 | AB | Availability likely |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | American | 100 capsules | $0.028 | AB | Availability likely |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Westminster | 100 capsules | $0.028 | AB | Availability likely |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Actavis | 500 capsules | $0.028 | AB | Availability likely |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | NCS | 15 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Quality | 30 capsules | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | QPharma, | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | QPharma | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Alembic | 100 capsules | — | — | FDA listed |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | A-S | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | A-S | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | A-S | 90 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Northwind | 90 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Northwind | 90 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Alembic | 100 capsules | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Proficient | 7 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Bryant | 500 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Aurobindo | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Aphena | 90 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Preferred | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Preferred | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | REMEDYREPACK | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Proficient | 7 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Proficient | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Proficient | 100 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
| hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg | Bryant | 30 capsules | — | AB | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule — that fall in the same broad treatment class (thiazide and related diuretics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other cardiovascular shortages
Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule shortage FAQs
Is Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule be available again?
Can I still get Hydrochlorothiazide somewhere?
What should I do if I take Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule?
Still have a question about the Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Hydrochlorothiazide Capsule on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.