HomeNDC LookupDrug shortages › Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection

Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage

Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 22, 2026.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: High Controlled substance Anesthesia 1 product 319 days First posted Nov 7, 2025 Updated Nov 7, 2025
Here’s the bottom line

Pfizer is permanently stopping its Novaplus-branded ketamine hydrochloride injection (500 mg/5 mL vials). The same medicine at both 50 mg/mL and 100 mg/mL strengths is still listed as available from other manufacturers.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
1
Affected NDCs
1
Reporting manufacturers
0/1
Reporting mfrs supplying
0/1
Affected strengths supplied
319
Days in shortage
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Sep 22, 2026 · yesterday

What’s in shortage — at a glance

These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
1 NDCs
To be discontinued 1
Affected strengths still supplied
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/1 strengths
No supply 1
FDA-reporting manufacturers with supply
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/1 makers
No supply 1
✓ Other manufacturers not reporting a shortage
Still-marketed Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection from companies that have not filed an FDA shortage — these are not counted in the figures above. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. Hospira, Inc. Sagent Pharmaceuticals Par Health USA, LLC Eugia US LLC
Plus 6 alternative dosage forms of Ketamine Hydrochloride.
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Nov 7, 2025
    Currently in shortage
    1 of 1 product affected.
  2. Nov 7, 2025
    First reported to the FDA
    1 product first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer

Manufacturer: Pfizer Inc. 📞 844-646-4398 1 NDC click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Ketamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 500 mg/5mL (100 mg/mL); Multiple Dose Glass Fliptop Vial Novaplus (NDC 0409-0040-10) NDC 00409-0040-10 Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug

These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection? options further down this page.

Why is Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?

Pfizer has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of one specific version of ketamine hydrochloride injection — the 500 mg/5mL (100 mg/mL) multiple dose glass flip-top vial sold under the Novaplus label. This means that particular package and strength from Pfizer will no longer be produced going forward.

It's worth knowing that Pfizer did not share a specific public reason for why they made this decision — just that the discontinuation is permanent for this product. Also, this report only covers Pfizer's version of this particular vial. Other manufacturers of ketamine injection are listed separately on this page and are not part of this specific report.

Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.

What should I do if I take Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection?

Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list, so I want to walk you through what that means for you.

The strength involved here is the 500 mg/5mL (100 mg/mL) Multiple Dose Glass Fliptop Vial (Novaplus). This specific product has no available source right now. According to the report, the maker, Pfizer Inc., has listed it as being discontinued — meaning they are stopping production of this particular vial.

Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, the supply problem for this exact product may be permanent. That said, this report reflects only one manufacturer's decision. The same medicine — ketamine hydrochloride injection, including the 100 mg/mL strength — is still listed from several other makers, such as Hikma, Hospira, Sagent, Par Health, and Eugia.

Here is what I suggest:

  • Do not stop or change how this medicine is used on your own.
  • Ask your pharmacy whether they can source the same medicine from one of the other makers above. It may not be in local stock, but they can check wholesalers and other manufacturers.
  • If your exact product cannot be found, talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about a suitable option.

Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle these calls. This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's stock.

See “Where else can I get Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection?” below ↓ The same medicine from manufacturers not reporting a shortage, alternative dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
If you are a patient:
  • Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
  • Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
  • This is a controlled substance. Transfers between pharmacies and switching strengths have extra federal/state rules — ask the pharmacy before you assume a transfer is possible.
Keep reading
Our full Ketamine guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Ketamine guide →

Where else can I get Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection?

FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeManufacturerNDC
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9508-10
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9509-10
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/mL Injection, Solution, Concentrate · Intramuscular, Intravenous Hospira, Inc. 00409-2051-05
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 50 mg/mL Injection, Solution, Concentrate · Intramuscular, Intravenous Hospira, Inc. 00409-2053-10
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0682-20
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 50 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0683-10
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0684-05
Ketalar KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Par Health USA, LLC 42023-0113-10
Ketalar KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Par Health USA, LLC 42023-0114-10
Ketalar KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Par Health USA, LLC 42023-0115-10
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Eugia US LLC 55150-0438-10
Ketamine Hydrochloride KETAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Eugia US LLC 55150-0439-10

Alternative dosage forms of Ketamine Hydrochloride

A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:

Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 13 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 00143-9509-10 Hikma 10 vials $1.544 AP Availability likely
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 00409-0040-10 Hospira, 10 vials $1.544 AP Discontinued
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 00409-2051-05 Hospira, 10 vials $1.544 AP Availability likely
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 25021-0684-05 Sagent 10 vials $1.544 AP Availability likely
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 72572-0321-10 Civica, 10 vials $1.544 AP Availability likely
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 00404-9881-05 Henry 1 vial AP Discontinued
Ketalar 100 mg/mLNDC 42023-0115-10 Par 10 vials AP FDA listed
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 55150-0440-10 Eugia 10 vials AP FDA listed
ketamine hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 65219-0186-23 Fresenius 10 vials AP FDA listed
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 68083-0506-10 Gland 10 vials AP FDA listed
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 71872-7258-01 Medical 1 vial AP FDA listed
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 71872-7296-01 Medical 1 vial AP FDA listed
Ketamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/mLNDC 00404-9759-05 Henry 1 vial AP FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (general anesthetics,injectable) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Identity & classification

GCN Seq No 003566
GCN 12851
HICL code 001555
Ingredient (HICL) Ketamine Hcl
HIC1 code H
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Nervous System (Except Autonomic)
HIC2 code H2
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Psychoactive Drugs
HIC3 code H2C
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) General Anesthetics,Injectable
AHFS code 28:04.08.00
AHFS class Non-Barbiturates
FDB label name KETAMINE 500 MG/5 ML VIAL
FDB brand name Ketamine Hcl
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
DEA scheduleCIII
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other anesthesia shortages

Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage FAQs

Is Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Yes — the FDA currently lists Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage (status: “To Be Discontinued”, first reported Nov 7, 2025). 1 of 1 product is affected. This is national, manufacturer-reported data, so your pharmacy may still have stock.
Which products are affected?
Ketamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 500 mg/5mL (100 mg/mL); Multiple Dose Glass Fliptop Vial Novaplus (NDC 0409-0040-10) (NDC 00409-0040-10). The full per-NDC list (availability, manufacturer and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection be available again?
The FDA does not publish a guaranteed restock date, and no estimated-recovery note is on file. Availability can change daily — confirm with your pharmacy.
Can I still get Ketamine Hydrochloride somewhere?
Other manufacturers (Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., Hospira, Inc., Sagent Pharmaceuticals and others) still market it and have not reported a shortage. 6 alternative dosage forms of Ketamine Hydrochloride are also listed. See “Where else can I get Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another manufacturer or a different strength/package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out. Because this is a controlled substance, transfers and substitutions have extra federal/state rules — ask the pharmacy first.

Still have a question about the Ketamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (1–2)Multiple manufacturers still supplying and most strengths or pack sizes sourceable.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes unsourceable, or a long-running outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages