Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection shortage
Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 49 affected products. The reported reason: Other; Delay in shipping of the drug; Demand increase for the drug. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 1, 2026.
Ropivacaine hydrochloride injection has been on the FDA shortage list for over a year, with some suppliers on backorder due to shipping delays and rising demand. Other makers not reporting a shortage still list this medicine as available.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — ask your pharmacist about other manufacturers (see options) and your prescriber about a long-term plan.
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 17, 2026Currently in shortage49 of 49 products affected.
-
Sep 15, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record22 products updated.
-
Sep 11, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record10 products updated.
-
Aug 18, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record6 products updated.
-
Jun 10, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record4 products updated.
-
Dec 22, 2020More presentations reported4 more products added to the shortage.
-
Mar 27, 2018More presentations reported6 more products added to the shortage.
-
Mar 23, 2018First reported to the FDA39 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Caplin Steriles, Ltd. 📞 888-229-0001 4 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 43066-019-10) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory; Marketed by Baxter | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 43066-015-10) | — | Limited Availability | Check wholesalers for inventory; Marketed by Baxter | Other |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 43066-023-10) | — | Limited Availability | Limited supply; Check wholesalers for inventory; Marketed by Baxter | Other |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 43066-027-10) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory; Marketed by Baxter | — |
Manufacturer: Eugia US LLC 📞 888-238-7880 7 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-196-99) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-201-20) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-195-20) | — | Unavailable | On backorder. Recovery: TBD. Check wholesalers for inventory | Demand increase for the drug |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-200-10) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-199-20) | — | Unavailable | On backorder. Recovery: TBD. Check wholesalers for inventory | Demand increase for the drug |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-197-20) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-198-30) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
Manufacturer: Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 📞 888-386-1300 22 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-65) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-63) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Other |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-35) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-10) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Demand increase for the drug |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-287-21) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 65219-632-20) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-00) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-288-20) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Delay in shipping of the drug |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-288-21) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-288-11) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-23) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 65219-632-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-31) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Delay in shipping of the drug |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-13) | — | Available | Check wholesaler for inventory | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-63) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-287-20) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Demand increase for the drug |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-20) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Other |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-23) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-20) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Delay in shipping of the drug |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-61) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Other |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-64) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Naropin, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-288-10) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Delay in shipping of the drug |
Manufacturer: InfoRLife SA 📞 Sagent: 866-625-1618 6 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-671-66) | — | Limited Availability | Estimated recovery: TBD; Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals | Other |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-671-82) | — | Available | Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-671-87) | — | Available | Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-652-82) | — | Available | Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-671-67) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD; Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals | Other |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-652-87) | — | Available | Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals | — |
Manufacturer: Somerset Therapeutics, LLC 📞 732-554-1019 10 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-061-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-064-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-064-25) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-064-01) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-062-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-063-25) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-062-25) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-067-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-067-25) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-061-25) | — | Available | — | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
There are a few different things going on with ropivacaine right now, depending on the manufacturer. More people need this medication than usual (a demand increase), and some manufacturers are also dealing with shipping hold-ups getting product out the door — both of which have tightened supplies across several strengths and package sizes.
Here's a quick breakdown of what's currently unavailable or limited by manufacturer:
- Eugia US LLC: The 2 mg/mL and 7.5 mg/mL strengths are on backorder due to higher-than-usual demand; no recovery date has been set yet. Their 5 mg/mL and 10 mg/mL strengths are still available.
- InfoRLife SA (marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals): One package size of the 2 mg/mL is completely unavailable, and another package size of the 2 mg/mL has limited supply; no recovery date is set for either. Other package sizes of the 2 mg/mL and 5 mg/mL remain available.
- Fresenius Kabi USA (Naropin brand): The 5 mg/mL and 10 mg/mL are out due to shipping delays, the 7.5 mg/mL is out due to demand, and some 2 mg/mL package sizes are also unavailable — all with no set recovery date. Certain package sizes of the 2 mg/mL and 5 mg/mL are still available.
- Caplin Steriles (marketed by Baxter): The 2 mg/mL and one package size of the 5 mg/mL are listed as limited supply; no specific reason beyond "other" was shared publicly.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection?
Ropivacaine hydrochloride injection — a local anesthetic used during procedures and for pain control — is currently on the FDA's shortage list. This has been an ongoing situation for over a year, but the overall supply risk remains low.
Here is the part that matters most for you: every strength still has an available source. The 2 mg/mL, 5 mg/mL, 7.5 mg/mL, and 10 mg/mL strengths are all reported as available from at least one manufacturer. Some individual products within certain strengths are on backorder or limited, but no strength is completely out of supply.
The FDA lists the reasons as increased demand, shipping delays, and "other." All five manufacturers on this record are still reporting supply, which is reassuring. Estimated recovery dates for the affected items are listed as "to be determined."
What you can do:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to order your strength — they can check wholesalers and other manufacturers, since this medicine is given by a healthcare provider.
- If one product is hard to find, the same medicine is made by other companies (such as Hikma, Baxter, Fresenius Kabi, Caplin, Somerset, and Sagent); your pharmacy may be able to source one, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact product can't be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference. This information comes from national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Infiltration, Perineural | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9195-24 |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Infiltration, Perineural | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9197-24 |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/mL | Injection · Epidural, Infiltration | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9263-10 |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/mL | Injection · Epidural, Infiltration | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9264-10 |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 7.5 mg/mL | Injection · Epidural | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9265-10 |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/mL | Injection · Epidural | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9266-10 |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Infiltration | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 43066-0152-10 |
| Naropin | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Infiltration | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0285-28 |
| Naropin | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Infiltration, Perineural | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0286-27 |
| Naropin | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0288-27 |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/mL | Injection · Epidural, Infiltration, Perineural | Caplin Steriles Limited | 65145-0107-10 |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride | ROPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/mL | Injection · Epidural, Infiltration, Perineural | Caplin Steriles Limited | 65145-0108-10 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Baxter | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Eugia | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Naropin 5 mg/mL | Fresenius | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Caplin | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Glenmark | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Somerset | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Meitheal | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | NorthStar | 25 vials | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Caplin | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Sportpharm | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Eugia | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Somerset | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Anthea | 5 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Glenmark | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Naropin 5 mg/mL | Henry | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | NorthStar | 25 vials | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | ProPharma | 30 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Amneal | 10 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Amneal | 10 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Hikma | 100 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Baxter | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Meitheal | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Civica, | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 5 mg/mL | Sportpharm | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Hikma | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Baxter | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Eugia | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Naropin 2 mg/mL | Fresenius | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Caplin | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Ropivacaine Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Glenmark | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (local anesthetics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other anesthesia shortages
Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection shortage FAQs
Is Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Why is Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection be available again?
Can I still get Ropivacaine Hydrochloride somewhere?
What should I do if I take Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection?
Still have a question about the Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.