Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection shortage
Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 20 affected products. The reported reason: Other; Delay in shipping of the drug. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 5, 2026.
Some strengths of bupivacaine with epinephrine injection have no available source right now, and this shortage has lasted over a year. Marcaine With Epinephrine and Sensorcaine MPF, brand versions of this medicine, are still listed as available from manufacturers not reporting a shortage.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — ask your pharmacist about other manufacturers (see options) and your prescriber about a long-term plan.
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 22, 2026Currently in shortage20 of 20 products affected.
-
Sep 15, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record8 products updated.
-
Feb 20, 2018First reported to the FDA20 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 📞 888-386-1300 8 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-462-17) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-461-57) | — | Available | Check wholesaler for inventory | — |
| Current | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-462-31) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD | Delay in shipping of the drug |
| Current | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-468-17) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-468-37) | — | Available | Check wholesaler for inventory | — |
| Current | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-462-37) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-463-57) | — | Available | Check wholesaler for inventory | — |
| Current | Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-460-37) | — | Available | Check wholesaler for inventory | — |
Manufacturer: Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company 📞 844-646-4398 12 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride And Epinephrine, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9046-01) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1746-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride And Epinephrine, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9042-17) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride And Epinephrine, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9042-01) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1752-50) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride And Epinephrine, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9045-01) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride and Epinephrine, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9045-17) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1749-29) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1749-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Bupivacaine Hydrochloride and Epinephrine, Injection, 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9043-01) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1746-30) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1755-50) | — | Available | — | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection in shortage?
There are two separate issues going on with this medication, depending on the manufacturer. For Hospira (a Pfizer company), three specific package sizes of their plain-labeled Bupivacaine Hydrochloride and Epinephrine injection are currently unavailable due to a hold-up at the factory — those are the 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL), the 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL), and the 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) vials. Hospira has said they don't expect to have these back in supply until December 2028. Importantly, their branded Marcaine With Epinephrine versions in similar strengths are still listed as available.
For Fresenius Kabi, one specific size of their Sensorcaine injection — the 5 mg/mL version in one particular package (NDC 63323-462-31) — is also unavailable right now, and that's due to a shipping delay. They haven't given a specific recovery date yet, listing it as "to be determined." Several other Sensorcaine strengths and package sizes from Fresenius Kabi are still listed as available.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection?
Bupivacaine Hydrochloride with Epinephrine injection — the numbing medicine often known by the brand names Marcaine and Sensorcaine — is currently on the FDA shortage list. This is an injectable medicine given by a clinician, so it's handled in a hospital or clinic setting rather than something you'd pick up and use yourself.
Supply is mixed, and that's an important point: both manufacturers on this record are still shipping some products. The branded Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 presentations (such as the 250 mg/50 mL, 150 mg/30 mL, 75 mg/30 mL, and 50 mg/10 mL vials) and several Sensorcaine strengths remain available. The generic Bupivacaine and Epinephrine vials — including 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) and 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) — are listed as unavailable, with an estimated recovery of December 2028 due to a manufacturing and shipping delay. This shortage has lasted over a year.
The most important step is not to stop or change any treatment on your own. Beyond that:
- Ask your care team or pharmacy to order a strength that still has supply; pharmacies can check wholesalers and both makers.
- The same medicine is available from another maker, so your pharmacy may be able to source it, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact product can't be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a suitable alternative.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference. This comes from national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match local stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marcaine With Epinephrine | BUPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 2.5 mg/mL; EPINEPHRINE BITARTRATE .0091 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Infiltration, Intracaudal, Perineural | Hospira, Inc. | 00409-1541-10 |
| Marcaine With Epinephrine | BUPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/mL; EPINEPHRINE BITARTRATE .0091 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Intracaudal, Perineural | Hospira, Inc. | 00409-4208-10 |
| Sensorcaine Mpf | BUPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 5 mg/mL; EPINEPHRINE BITARTRATE .005 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Infiltration, Intracaudal, Perineural | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0462-38 |
| Sensorcaine Mpf | BUPIVACAINE HYDROCHLORIDE 2.5 mg/mL; EPINEPHRINE BITARTRATE .005 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Epidural, Infiltration, Intracaudal, Perineural | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 63323-0468-38 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 8 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sensorcaine Mpf 5 mg/mL; .005 mg/mL | Fresenius | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride and Epinephrine 2.5 mg/mL; 5 ug/mL | Henry | 1 vial | — | — | FDA listed |
| Marcaine with Epinephrine 2.5 mg/mL; .0091 mg/mL | Hospira, | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Marcaine with Epinephrine 2.5 mg/mL; .0091 mg/mL | Hospira, | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride and Epinephrine 2.5 mg/mL; 5 ug/mL | Hospira, | 1 vial | — | — | FDA listed |
| Sensorcaine(R) (Bupivacaine Hci And Epinephrine) 2.5 mg/mL; .005 mg/mL | HF | 50 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Sensorcaine 2.5 mg/mL; .005 mg/mL | Fresenius | 25 vials | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Sensorcaine Mpf 5 mg/mL; .005 mg/mL | Fresenius | 5 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (local anesthetics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other anesthesia shortages
Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection shortage FAQs
Is Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection in shortage?
Why is Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection be available again?
Can I still get Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate somewhere?
What should I do if I take Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection?
Still have a question about the Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine B... on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.