Succinylcholine Chloride Injection shortage
Succinylcholine Chloride Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 5, 2026.
Fresenius Kabi is stopping production of Succinylcholine Chloride Injection 20 mg/mL, and this change may be permanent. The same medicine at the same strength is still listed by other manufacturers, including Quelicin (succinylcholine chloride) from Hospira.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Succinylcholine Chloride Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Jul 23, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Jul 23, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 📞 888-386-1300 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Succinylcholine Chloride, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-943-10) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Succinylcholine Chloride Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Succinylcholine Chloride Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Succinylcholine Chloride Injection in shortage?
Fresenius Kabi USA has let the FDA know that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of their succinylcholine chloride injection in the 20 mg/1 mL strength (the 10-vial package, NDC 63323-943-10). This isn't a temporary supply hiccup or a factory delay — it's a full discontinuation of that specific product by this manufacturer.
It's worth knowing that Fresenius Kabi did not share a specific public reason for why they made this decision — just that manufacturing of this particular product is ending. This report reflects only what Fresenius Kabi filed with the FDA, so it speaks only to their product and packaging.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Succinylcholine Chloride Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Succinylcholine Chloride Injection?
Succinylcholine Chloride Injection is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list. I want to walk you through what this means so you have a clear picture.
This shortage record covers the 20 mg/1 mL strength, and that strength has no available source from the manufacturer who filed this report. This is a medicine given during medical procedures, so it is handled in a hospital or clinical setting rather than picked up at a retail pharmacy.
The reported reason is that the manufacturer (Fresenius Kabi USA) is discontinuing its production of the drug. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary supply gap, this particular company's supply problem may be permanent. Importantly, though, several other manufacturers make the same medicine in this same strength, so it may still be available through other sources.
Here is what I suggest:
- Do not stop, skip, or change any medicine on your own.
- Because this is a hospital-administered medicine, your care team and their pharmacy are the ones who source it — they can check wholesalers and other manufacturers who still make the same 20 mg/mL product, such as Hikma, Hospira (Quelicin), Camber, and others.
- If your care team cannot obtain it, ask them about a clinician-chosen alternative.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.
This is general, national information and may not match a specific facility's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Succinylcholine Chloride Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Succinylcholine Chloride Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE DIHYDRATE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9338-25 |
| Quelicin | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Hospira, Inc. | 00409-6629-02 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 31722-0981-31 |
| Succinylcholine | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Dr.Reddy's Laboratories Inc., | 43598-0666-25 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Piramal Critical Care Inc | 66794-0232-42 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Nordic Pharma, Inc. | 69918-0700-10 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | 70069-0301-10 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC | 70121-1581-05 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | REMEDYREPACK INC. | 70518-4409-00 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 70710-1377-02 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Meitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 71288-0719-11 |
| Succinylcholine Chloride | SUCCINYLCHOLINE CHLORIDE 20 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Devatis, Inc. | 73043-0021-01 |
Alternative dosage forms of Succinylcholine Chloride
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Hikma | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Henry | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Quelicin 20 mg/mL | Hospira, | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Anectine 20 mg/mL | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Anectine 20 mg/mL | Sandoz | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Indoco | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Camber | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 200 mg/10mL | Micro | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine 20 mg/mL | Dr.Reddy's | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | HF | 10 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Eugia | 25 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Fresenius | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Piramal | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Gland | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Nordic | 10 vials | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Somerset | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Somerset | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Amneal | 25 vials | — | — | Discontinued |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | REMEDYREPACK | 10 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Zydus | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Lifestar | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Zydus | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Meitheal | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | BE | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | — | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine 20 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Succinylcholine Chloride 20 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Succinylcholine Chloride Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (neuromuscular blocking agents) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other anesthesia shortages
Succinylcholine Chloride Injection shortage FAQs
Is Succinylcholine Chloride Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Succinylcholine Chloride Injection be available again?
Can I still get Succinylcholine Chloride somewhere?
What should I do if I take Succinylcholine Chloride Injection?
Still have a question about the Succinylcholine Chloride Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Succinylcholine Chloride Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.