Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Furosemide Injection

Furosemide Injection shortage

Furosemide injections are on the FDA’s drug shortage list as of Oct 7, 2026. The companies reporting it blame manufacturing-quality requirements and a company discontinuing its product. 12 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.

Current ⚠ Supply risk: Low Cardiovascular 30 products 8 companies reporting 2,374 days · 6.5 yr First posted Apr 7, 2020 Updated Oct 6, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

Furosemide injection is currently in shortage, with some manufacturers facing manufacturing delays or backorder situations that have lasted over a year. Other manufacturers — including Hikma, Sagent, Camber, and Heritage/Avet — have not reported a shortage and still list this medicine as available.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
30
Affected NDCs
6/8
Reporting makers with supply
8/8
Affected strengths still listed
12
Other companies listing it
2,374
Days on the list
28,014
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 7, 2026 · yesterday

Is furosemide still in shortage? — status as of Oct 7, 2026

Yes, still current as of Oct 7, 2026. Every strength is still made by at least one company. 6 of the 8 companies that reported this shortage say they still have some supply, and 12 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may still need to order it or offer another company’s version.

⚠ Supply risk: Low 1 of 5 risk factors
  1. Every strength is still listed by a company — 8 of 8 strengths (1 only by other companies)
  2. More than one company still lists it — 6 of 8 reporting companies with supply + 12 other companies
  3. Most affected NDCs still available — 41% unavailable
  4. Not a long-running shortage — 2,374 days
  5. Listed by several companies — 20 companies (8 reporting + 12 other)

A rule-based estimate of national supply risk, counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report — never your local pharmacy’s stock. How the rating works.

The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
30 NDCs
Available 16 Unavailable 11 To be discontinued 3
Affected strengths still listed by a company
A company on the shortage report with supply, or another company selling that strength
8/8 strengths
Still made by a company 8
Reporting companies with supply
Among the 8 companies that reported this shortage — plus 12 other companies listing it, below
6/8 reporting
Reporting supply 6 Reporting no supply 2
✓ Other companies listing the same medicine — not reporting a shortage
Furosemide Injection listings in the current FDA NDC Directory from companies that have not filed a shortage report — these are not counted in the charts above. Some are repackagers of another company’s product. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet Pharmaceuticals Inc. Sagent Pharmaceuticals Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC REMEDYREPACK INC. Lifestar Pharma LLC Civica, Inc. NorthStar Rx LLC Devatis Inc. Phlow Corporation Avenacy Inc.
Plus 8 other dosage forms of furosemide.
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Oct 6, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    30 of 30 products affected.
  2. Oct 5, 2026
    FDA refreshed this shortage record
    3 products updated.
  3. Oct 3, 2026
    FDA refreshed this shortage record
    3 products updated.
  4. Oct 2, 2026
    FDA refreshed this shortage record
    6 products updated.
  5. Sep 22, 2026
    FDA refreshed this shortage record
    6 products updated.
  6. Aug 27, 2026
    FDA refreshed this shortage record
    3 products updated.
  7. Jul 22, 2026
    FDA refreshed this shortage record
    3 products updated.
  8. Apr 28, 2026
    FDA refreshed this shortage record
    3 products updated.
  9. Apr 28, 2026
    More presentations reported
    3 more products added to the shortage.
  10. Apr 7, 2020
    First reported to the FDA
    27 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

Which furosemide products are affected — by company

Company: Accord Healthcare Inc. 📞 866-941-7875 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 16729-0501-43 10 mg/mL Unavailable Estimated recovery: TBD/ NDC non-Exempt Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing pr...
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 16729-0502-43 10 mg/mL Unavailable Estimated recovery: TBD/ NDC non-Exempt Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing pr...
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 16729-0500-08 10 mg/mL Unavailable Estimated recovery: TBD/ NDC non-Exempt Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing pr...
Company: Avet Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 📞 855-228-9470 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 23155-0473-41 10 mg/mL Available — —
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 23155-0473-42 10 mg/mL Available — —
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 23155-0473-44 10 mg/mL Unavailable Estimated recovery: End October 2026; Capacity constraint Other
Company: Baxter Healthcare 📞 888-229-0001 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 36000-0283-25 10 mg/mL Available — —
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 36000-0284-25 10 mg/mL Available — —
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 36000-0282-25 10 mg/mL Available — —
Company: Eugia US LLC 📞 888-238-7880 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
Current Furosemide Injection, 100 mg/10 mL NDC 55150-0324-25 100 mg/10 mL Available Check wholesalers for inventory —
Current Furosemide Injection, 20 mg/2 mL NDC 55150-0322-25 20 mg/2 mL Unavailable On backorder. Recovery: TBD. Check wholesalers for inventory Demand increase for the drug
Current Furosemide Injection, 40 mg/4 mL NDC 55150-0323-25 40 mg/4 mL Available Check wholesalers for inventory —
Company: Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 📞 888-386-1300 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 63323-0280-04 10 mg/mL Available Check wholesalers for inventory —
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 63323-0280-10 10 mg/mL Available Check wholesalers for inventory —
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 63323-0280-02 10 mg/mL Available Check wholesalers for inventory —
Company: Gland Pharma Limited 📞 866-625-1618 6 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 25021-0311-04 10 mg/mL Unavailable Distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals: 1-866-625-1618, Discontinued product Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 25021-0311-10 10 mg/mL Unavailable Distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals: 1-866-625-1618, Discontinued product Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 25021-0311-02 10 mg/mL Unavailable Distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals: 1-866-625-1618, Discontinued product Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug
To Be Discontinued Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 25021-0311-04 10 mg/mL — Distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 25021-0311-10 10 mg/mL — Distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 25021-0311-02 10 mg/mL — Distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
Company: Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company 📞 844-646-4398 6 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
Current Furosemide Injection, 20 mg/2 mL (10 mg/mL) NDC 00409-6102-25 20 mg/2 mL (10 mg/mL) Unavailable Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay Other
Current Furosemide Injection, 40 mg/4 mL (10 mg/mL) NDC 00409-6102-04 40 mg/4 mL (10 mg/mL) Available — —
Current Furosemide Injection, 20 mg/2 mL (10 mg/mL) NDC 00409-6102-02 20 mg/2 mL (10 mg/mL) Available — —
Current Furosemide Injection, 40 mg/4 mL (10 mg/mL) NDC 00409-6102-26 40 mg/4 mL (10 mg/mL) Unavailable Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay Other
Current Furosemide Injection, 100 mg/10 mL (10 mg/mL) NDC 00409-6102-27 100 mg/10 mL (10 mg/mL) Unavailable Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay Other
Current Furosemide Injection, 100 mg/10 mL (10 mg/mL) NDC 00409-6102-10 100 mg/10 mL (10 mg/mL) Available — —
Company: Meitheal Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 📞 844-824-8426 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 71288-0203-11 10 mg/mL Available Check wholesalers for inventory —
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL NDC 71288-0203-05 10 mg/mL Available Check wholesalers for inventory —
Current Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL, 2 mL NDC 71288-0205-03 10 mg/mL, 2 mL Available Check wholesalers for inventory —

These rows are company reports to the FDA for Furosemide Injection — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get furosemide? options further down this page.

Why is furosemide in shortage?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 6, 2026

There are a few different things going on with furosemide injection, depending on which manufacturer you're looking at. Gland Pharma (distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals) has permanently stopped making all of their furosemide 10 mg/1 mL vials — that's a full discontinuation, not a temporary hiccup. Avet Pharmaceuticals is dealing with a factory hold-up on two of their 10 mg/1 mL presentations, with recovery expected around the end of October 2026, while one of their 10 mg/1 mL products is still available. Hospira (a Pfizer company) also has manufacturing delays affecting specific packages: their 20 mg/2 mL and 40 mg/4 mL sizes aren't expected back until December 2027, and their 100 mg/10 mL package not until December 2028 — though other Hospira furosemide sizes are currently available.

On top of that, Eugia US LLC's 20 mg/2 mL vials are on backorder with no firm return date yet, largely because more people need this medication than usual right now. Their 40 mg/4 mL and 100 mg/10 mL products are still available, and you may need to check with your wholesaler for inventory. Baxter Healthcare and Fresenius Kabi are also currently showing their furosemide products as available. So while certain specific sizes and packages from some manufacturers are in short supply or gone for good, this shortage does not affect every product from every company.

FDA reason code(s): Other; Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practices; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug; Demand increase for the drug

Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Furosemide Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.

What should I do if I take furosemide?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 6, 2026

Furosemide Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. Because this is an injectable medicine, it is almost always given and managed in a hospital or clinic rather than filled at a home pharmacy, but I want to give you the full picture so you can ask good questions.

The reassuring part is that supply overall is strong. Every strength is still covered by at least one manufacturer, and 6 of the 8 companies that report on this product show available stock. Several forms — including the 40 mg/4 mL, 100 mg/10 mL, 20 mg/2 mL (10 mg/mL), and 10 mg/mL — still have an available source. A few specific company lots are on backorder or marked unavailable, with some recovery dates reaching into 2026, 2027, and 2028, and one 10 mg/mL product (distributed by Sagent) is being discontinued. The reported reasons include manufacturing delays, higher demand, good-manufacturing-practice requirements, and one discontinuation.

Here is what I suggest:

  • Do not stop or change any dose on your own.
  • If your care team needs a specific strength, your pharmacy can check wholesalers and other manufacturers for available stock.
  • The same medicine is made by other companies (such as Hikma, Amneal, Camber, Civica, and others); your pharmacy may be able to source one, though it may not be in local stock.
  • If a specific strength cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about an equivalent option.

Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference, though pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match local stock.

See “Where else can I get furosemide?” below ↓ The same medicine from companies not reporting a shortage, other dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
Quick checklist for the pharmacy counter:
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Keep reading
Our full Furosemide guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Furosemide guide →

Where else can I get furosemide?

FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists furosemide injections is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting companies are excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeCompanyNDC
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9155-25
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet Pharmaceuticals Inc. 23155-0473-43
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0320-02
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 31722-0309-32
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 20 mg/2mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC 70121-1163-05
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 40 mg/4mL Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC 70121-1164-05
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous REMEDYREPACK INC. 70518-4444-00
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Lifestar Pharma LLC 70756-0618-05
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Civica, Inc. 72572-0190-25
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous NorthStar Rx LLC 72603-0133-25
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Devatis Inc. 73043-0022-01
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Phlow Corporation 81565-0201-02
Furosemide FUROSEMIDE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous Avenacy Inc. 83634-0302-02

Other dosage forms of furosemide

A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:

Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 31722-0310-32 Camber 25 vials $0.253 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 36000-0283-25 Baxter 25 vials $0.253 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 40 mg/4mLNDC 55150-0323-25 Eugia 25 vials $0.253 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 72572-0190-25 Civica, 25 vials $0.253 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 72603-0251-25 NorthStar 25 vials $0.253 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 73043-0023-01 Devatis 25 vials $0.253 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 00143-9159-01 Hikma 1 vial $0.253 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 00143-9157-10 Hikma 10 vials $0.253 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 16729-0502-43 Accord 10 vials $0.342 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 16729-0500-08 Accord 25 vials $0.415 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 00409-6102-02 Hospira, 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 23155-0473-41 Heritage 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 25021-0311-02 Sagent 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 25021-0320-02 Sagent 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 63323-0280-02 Fresenius 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 71288-0203-03 Meitheal 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 83634-0302-02 Avenacy 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 81565-0201-02 Phlow 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 00143-9158-01 Hikma 1 vial $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 00143-9155-25 Hikma 25 vials $0.490 AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 31722-0309-32 Camber 25 vials $0.490 +18% AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 36000-0282-25 Baxter 25 vials $0.490 +18% AP Availability likely
Furosemide 20 mg/2mLNDC 55150-0322-25 Eugia 25 vials $0.490 +18% AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 72603-0133-25 NorthStar 25 vials $0.490 +18% AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 73043-0022-01 Devatis 25 vials $0.490 +18% AP Availability likely
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 00143-9156-10 Hikma 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 00404-9863-04 Henry 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 16729-0501-43 Accord 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Furosemide 10 mg/mLNDC 36000-0064-05 Baxter 5 vials — AP FDA listed
Furosemide 40 mg/4mLNDC 42571-0437-66 Micro 25 vials — AP FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of furosemide — that fall in the same broad treatment class (loop diuretics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
GCN Seq No 008205
GCN 34940
HICL code 003660
Ingredient (HICL) Furosemide
HIC1 code R
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Kidney/Urinary Tract
HIC2 code R1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Affect Primarily Kidneys/Urinary Tract
HIC3 code R1M
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Loop Diuretics
AHFS code 24:36.08.00
AHFS class Loop Diuretics (24:36)
FDB label name FUROSEMIDE 40 MG/4 ML VIAL
FDB brand name Furosemide
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
GPI-1437200030002005
GPI classFurosemide
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other cardiovascular shortages

Furosemide shortage FAQs

Is furosemide still in shortage?
Yes — as of Oct 7, 2026 the FDA lists furosemide injections as a current shortage (status: “Current”, first reported Apr 7, 2020). The FDA’s record for this shortage covers 30 products from 8 companies. This is national, manufacturer-reported data, so your pharmacy may still have stock.
Which strengths of furosemide are affected?
The FDA record covers 8 strengths: 10 mg/mL, 10 mg/mL, 2 mL, 20 mg/2 mL, 20 mg/2 mL (10 mg/mL), 40 mg/4 mL, 40 mg/4 mL (10 mg/mL), 100 mg/10 mL, 100 mg/10 mL (10 mg/mL). Every strength on the record is still made by at least one company, though stock varies by pharmacy.
Why is furosemide in shortage?
The companies reporting it blame manufacturing-quality requirements and a company discontinuing its product.
Which furosemide products are affected?
Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL (NDC 16729-0501-43); Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL (NDC 16729-0502-43); Furosemide Injection, 10 mg/mL (NDC 16729-0500-08) and 27 more. The full per-NDC list (availability, company and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will furosemide be available again?
The FDA does not publish a guaranteed restock date, and no estimated-recovery note is on file. Availability can change daily — confirm with your pharmacy.
Can I still get furosemide somewhere?
Other companies (Hikma Pharmaceuticals, Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet Pharmaceuticals, Sagent Pharmaceuticals and 9 more) sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. 8 other dosage forms of furosemide are also listed. See “Where else can I get furosemide?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take furosemide?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another company or a different strength or package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the furosemide shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (0–2)Several companies still list it and most strengths or pack sizes are still listed by someone — counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report. A listing is not a stock check.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes without a source, or a long-running outage. A company’s discontinuation notice is not an outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages