Clindamycin Phosphate Injection shortage
Clindamycin Phosphate Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 23 affected products. The reported reason: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug; Demand increase for the drug; Other. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 2, 2026.
Pfizer is stopping its clindamycin phosphate injection, and several vial sizes from multiple makers have no available source right now. Many strengths — including Cleocin Phosphate (clindamycin phosphate) 150 mg/mL vials and premixed drip bags — are still listed by other manufacturers not reporting a shortage.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Clindamycin Phosphate Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 21, 2026Currently in shortage23 of 23 products affected.
-
Sep 18, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record8 products updated.
-
Sep 17, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record6 products updated.
-
Jun 1, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record6 products updated.
-
Jun 1, 2026More presentations reported6 more products added to the shortage.
-
Mar 21, 2023First reported to the FDA17 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Baxter Healthcare 📞 888-229-0001 6 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 300 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-9545-50) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 600 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-3612-50) | — | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: October 2026 | Other |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 300 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-3410-50) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 300 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-9549-50) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 900 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-9553-50) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 900 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-3814-50) | — | Limited Availability | Estimated recovery: November 2026 | Demand increase for the drug |
Manufacturer: Pfizer Inc. 📞 800-533-4535 9 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, Cleocin Phosphate 900 mg/6 mL (150 mg/mL) (NDC 0009-0902-18) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, Cleocin Phosphate 600 mg/4 mL (150 mg/mL) (NDC 0009-0775-26) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, Cleocin Phosphate 300 mg/2 mL (150 mg/mL) (NDC 0009-0870-26) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028 | Demand increase for the drug |
| To Be Discontinued | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, 300 mg/2 mL (150 mg/mL); 2 mL Vial NovaPlus (NDC 0009-3051-02) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, 900 mg/6 mL (150 mg/mL); 6 mL Vial NovaPlus (NDC 0009-5095-06) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, 300 mg/2 mL (150 mg/mL); 2 mL Vial (NDC 0009-0870-26) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, 900 mg/6 mL (150 mg/mL); 6 mL Vial (NDC 0009-0902-18) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, 600 mg/4 mL (150 mg/mL); 4 mL Vial (NDC 0009-0775-26) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, 600 mg/4 mL (150 mg/mL); 4 mL Vial NovaPlus (NDC 0009-4073-04) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
Manufacturer: Sagent Pharmaceuticals 📞 866-625-1618 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 150 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-115-02) | — | Limited Availability | Selling through remaining short-dated inventory (Dec 2026). | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 150 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-115-04) | — | Unavailable | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 150 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-115-06) | — | Limited Availability | Selling through remaining short-dated inventory (Dec 2026). | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
Manufacturer: Sandoz Inc. 📞 800-525-8747 5 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0781-3288-09) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 18 mg/1 mL (NDC 0781-3290-09) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 12 mg/1 mL (NDC 0781-3289-09) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 18 mg/1 mL (NDC 72572-076-24) | — | Available | Civica Label | — |
| Current | Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 12 mg/1 mL (NDC 72572-074-24) | — | Available | Civica Label | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Clindamycin Phosphate Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Clindamycin Phosphate Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Clindamycin Phosphate Injection in shortage?
There are actually a few different things happening at once with this shortage, depending on the manufacturer. For Pfizer's Cleocin Phosphate vials, several specific sizes — the 300 mg/2 mL vials (both the regular and NovaPlus versions), the 600 mg/4 mL vials (both versions), and the 900 mg/6 mL vials (both versions) — are being permanently stopped. That means Pfizer will not be making those particular packages anymore. On top of that, more people than usual have been needing the 300 mg/2 mL vial, and Pfizer doesn't expect to have that one available again until December 2028. Their 600 mg/4 mL vial (one version) is still listed as available.
For Baxter, their 600 mg/50 mL bag is currently unavailable, with recovery expected around October 2026, and their 900 mg/50 mL bag (one version) is in limited supply due to higher-than-usual demand, with recovery expected around November 2026. Baxter's 300 mg/50 mL bags remain available. Sagent is also permanently stopping their 150 mg/1 mL vials — two versions have a small amount of remaining inventory to sell through until about December 2026, while a third version is already gone. Sandoz has not reported a shortage for their products in this filing.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Clindamycin Phosphate Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Clindamycin Phosphate Injection?
Clindamycin Phosphate Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. Because this is an injectable medicine, it is usually given in a clinic or hospital rather than something you handle at home, but it is still helpful to understand where supply stands.
Many strengths still have an available source right now, including 900 mg/50 mL, 300 mg/50 mL, 150 mg/1 mL, the 6 mg, 12 mg, and 18 mg per mL premixed bags, and Cleocin Phosphate 600 mg/4 mL and 900 mg/6 mL. The strengths with no available source right now include 600 mg/50 mL (estimated recovery October 2026) and several vial sizes — the 300 mg/2 mL, 600 mg/4 mL, and 900 mg/6 mL vials — many of which are being discontinued by their makers.
The FDA lists the reasons as a discontinuation of some products, higher demand, and other factors. Reassuringly, all four manufacturers on this record still report some available supply, so the medicine as a whole remains obtainable.
- Do not stop or change any prescribed treatment on your own.
- If your strength still has supply, ask your pharmacy or clinic to order it — they can check wholesalers and other makers.
- The same medicine is available from other makers, so your pharmacy may be able to source one, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact strength is discontinued or unavailable, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This information comes from national data and may not match local stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Where else can I get Clindamycin Phosphate Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Clindamycin Phosphate Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleocin Phosphate | CLINDAMYCIN PHOSPHATE 150 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Pharmacia & Upjohn Company LLC | 00009-0728-09 |
| Clindamycin In 5 Percent Dextrose | CLINDAMYCIN 6 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9267-01 |
| Clindamycin In 5 Percent Dextrose | CLINDAMYCIN 12 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9268-01 |
| Clindamycin In 5 Percent Dextrose | CLINDAMYCIN 18 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9269-01 |
| Clindamycin Phosphate | CLINDAMYCIN PHOSPHATE 300 mg/50mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Company | 00338-3410-24 |
| Clindamycin Phosphate | CLINDAMYCIN PHOSPHATE 600 mg/50mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Company | 00338-3612-24 |
| Clindamycin Phosphate | CLINDAMYCIN PHOSPHATE 900 mg/50mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Company | 00338-3814-24 |
| Clindamycin | CLINDAMYCIN PHOSPHATE 150 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous | Sagent Pharmaceuticals | 25021-0115-51 |
| Clindamycin Phosphate | CLINDAMYCIN PHOSPHATE 600 mg/50mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 43066-0993-24 |
| Clindamycin Phosphate | CLINDAMYCIN PHOSPHATE 900 mg/50mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 43066-0995-24 |
Alternative dosage forms of Clindamycin Phosphate
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 18 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Pharmacia | 25 vials | $1.224 | AP | Availability likely |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Pharmacia | 25 vials | $1.224 | AP | Availability likely |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Pharmacia | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Pharmacia | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Clindamycin 150 mg/mL | Sagent | 1 bottle | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Clindamycin 150 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Clindamycin 150 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Clindamycin 150 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Pharmacia | 5 vials | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Pharmacia | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Pharmacia | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Henry | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Clindamycin 150 mg/mL | Henry | 1 vial | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | ProPharma | 4 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Cleocin Phosphate 150 mg/mL | Medical | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Clindamycin Phosphate Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (lincosamide antibiotics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other anti-infective shortages
Clindamycin Phosphate Injection shortage FAQs
Is Clindamycin Phosphate Injection in shortage?
Why is Clindamycin Phosphate Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Clindamycin Phosphate Injection be available again?
Can I still get Clindamycin Phosphate somewhere?
What should I do if I take Clindamycin Phosphate Injection?
Still have a question about the Clindamycin Phosphate Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Clindamycin Phosphate Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.