Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Fulvestrant Injection

Fulvestrant Injection shortage

Fulvestrant Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 3, 2026.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: High Oncology 1 product 50 days First posted Aug 14, 2026 Updated Aug 14, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

Fresenius Kabi is permanently stopping its fulvestrant injection 250 mg/5 mL. Faslodex (fulvestrant) injection is still listed as available from other makers, including AstraZeneca, Hikma, Sandoz, and Northstar.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
1
Affected NDCs
1
Reporting manufacturers
0/1
Reporting mfrs supplying
0/1
Affected strengths supplied
50
Days in shortage
81
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 3, 2026 · today

What’s in shortage — at a glance

These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Fulvestrant Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
1 NDCs
To be discontinued 1
Affected strengths still supplied
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/1 strengths
No supply 1
FDA-reporting manufacturers with supply
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/1 makers
No supply 1
✓ Other manufacturers not reporting a shortage
Still-marketed Fulvestrant Injection from companies that have not filed an FDA shortage — these are not counted in the figures above. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP Sandoz Inc Northstar Rx, LLC, Accord Healthcare Inc. Sagent Pharmaceuticals Dr.Reddy's Laboratories Inc Alembic Pharmaceuticals Inc. BluePoint Laboratories BluePoint Laboratories. GLENMARK PHARMACEUTICALS INC., USA
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Aug 14, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    1 of 1 product affected.
  2. Aug 14, 2026
    First reported to the FDA
    1 product first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer

Manufacturer: Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 📞 888-386-1300 1 NDC click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Fulvestrant, Injection, 250 mg per 5mL (NDC 63323-715-05) NDC 63323-0715-05 — — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —

These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Fulvestrant Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Fulvestrant Injection? options further down this page.

Why is Fulvestrant Injection in shortage?

Fresenius Kabi USA has let the FDA know that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of their specific version of fulvestrant injection — the 250 mg per 5 mL single-use vials. This isn't a temporary hold-up at the factory; they have made the decision to stop making this particular product for good.

It's worth knowing that this report only reflects what Fresenius Kabi has shared with the FDA. No specific reason was given for why they made this decision — just that they are discontinuing the manufacture of this product. Other manufacturers of fulvestrant are listed separately and are not part of this report.

Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Fulvestrant Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.

What should I do if I take Fulvestrant Injection?

Fulvestrant injection is currently on the FDA shortage list, and I want to walk you through what that means for you.

The single strength on this record, 250 mg per 5 mL, does not have an available source from the manufacturer who filed this report. That maker, Fresenius Kabi USA, has listed this product as being discontinued — meaning they are stopping production of it. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, this particular supply problem may be permanent for their product. This does not mean the medicine is gone from every source; other companies still make fulvestrant, and your pharmacy can look into those.

Here is what I suggest, in order:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change your treatment on your own — keep your current schedule while your pharmacy sorts out supply.
  • Ask your pharmacy to source fulvestrant from another maker. The same medicine is listed from companies including Accord Healthcare, BluePoint Laboratories, Hikma, Sandoz, AstraZeneca (Faslodex), and others, though it may not be in local stock right away.
  • If your exact product cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about the best next step for you.

Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.

This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Fulvestrant Injection?” below ↓ The same medicine from manufacturers not reporting a shortage, alternative dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
If you are a patient:
  • Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
  • Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Keep reading
Our full Fulvestrant guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Fulvestrant guide →

Where else can I get Fulvestrant Injection?

FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Fulvestrant Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeManufacturerNDC
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9022-02
Faslodex FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP 00310-0720-10
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular Sandoz Inc 00781-3532-12
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular Northstar Rx, LLC, 16714-0070-02
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 250 mg/5mL Injection · Intramuscular Accord Healthcare Inc. 16729-0436-30
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0471-66
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular Dr.Reddy's Laboratories Inc 43598-0262-02
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular Alembic Pharmaceuticals Inc. 62332-0650-05
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 250 mg/5mL Injection, Solution · Intramuscular BluePoint Laboratories 68001-0484-85
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 250 mg/5mL Injection · Intramuscular BluePoint Laboratories 68001-0522-85
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular BluePoint Laboratories. 68001-0626-85
Fulvestrant FULVESTRANT 50 mg/mL Injection · Intramuscular GLENMARK PHARMACEUTICALS INC., USA 68462-0317-32
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 24 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 00143-9022-02 Hikma 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Faslodex 50 mg/mLNDC 00310-0720-10 AstraZeneca 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 00781-3532-12 Sandoz 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 00781-9055-12 Sandoz 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 16714-0070-02 Northstar 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 250 mg/5mLNDC 16729-0436-30 Accord 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 25021-0471-74 Sagent 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 43598-0262-02 Dr.Reddy's 2 syringes — AO Discontinued
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 55150-0394-02 Eugia 2 syringes — — FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 62332-0650-05 Alembic 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 63323-0715-05 Fresenius 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 250 mg/5mLNDC 68001-0484-85 BluePoint 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 250 mg/5mLNDC 68001-0522-85 BluePoint 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 68001-0626-85 BluePoint 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 68462-0317-32 GLENMARK 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 250 mg/5mLNDC 70121-1463-02 Amneal 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 70700-0284-98 Xiromed, 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 70710-1688-08 Zydus 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 70771-1626-08 Zydus 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 70860-0211-74 Athenex 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 71288-0555-86 Meitheal 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 71731-6121-01 Chia 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Fulvestrant 50 mg/mLNDC 83634-0203-74 Avenacy, 2 syringes — AO FDA listed
Cligavyx 250 mg/5mLNDC 83831-0159-02 Avyxa 2 syringes — — FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Fulvestrant Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (selective estrogen receptor modulators (serms)) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Identity & classification

GCN Seq No 050307
GCN 17307
HICL code 023523
Ingredient (HICL) Fulvestrant
HIC1 code V
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Neoplasms
HIC2 code V1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antineoplastic Drugs
HIC3 code V1T
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Selective Estrogen Receptor Modulators (Serms)
AHFS code 10:00.00.00
AHFS class Antineoplastic Agents
FDB label name FULVESTRANT 250 MG/5 ML SYRING
FDB brand name Fulvestrant
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
GPI-142140353000E530
GPI classFulvestrant
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other oncology shortages

Fulvestrant Injection shortage FAQs

Is Fulvestrant Injection in shortage?
Yes — the FDA currently lists Fulvestrant Injection in shortage (status: “To Be Discontinued”, first reported Aug 14, 2026). 1 of 1 product is affected. This is national, manufacturer-reported data, so your pharmacy may still have stock.
Which products are affected?
Fulvestrant, Injection, 250 mg per 5mL (NDC 63323-715-05) (NDC 63323-0715-05). The full per-NDC list (availability, manufacturer and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Fulvestrant Injection be available again?
The FDA does not publish a guaranteed restock date, and no estimated-recovery note is on file. Availability can change daily — confirm with your pharmacy.
Can I still get Fulvestrant somewhere?
Other manufacturers (Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP, Sandoz Inc and others) still market it and have not reported a shortage. See “Where else can I get Fulvestrant Injection?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Fulvestrant Injection?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another manufacturer or a different strength/package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Fulvestrant Injection shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (1–2)Multiple manufacturers still supplying and most strengths or pack sizes sourceable.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes unsourceable, or a long-running outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages