Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution shortage
Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 24, 2026.
Teva is permanently stopping its bendamustine hydrochloride injection (25 mg/5 mL solution). Other makers — including Baxter Healthcare, Accord Healthcare, Azurity Pharmaceuticals, and Eagle Pharmaceuticals — still list bendamustine hydrochloride injection in multiple strengths and forms.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Jul 23, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Jul 23, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Cephalon, LLC (a wholly owned subsidiary of Teva Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd.) 📞 (610) 344-0200 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Treanda, Injection, Solution, 25 mg/5 mL, 1 vial, Single-Dose in 1 carton (NDC 63459-390-08) | — | — | A business decision has been made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution? options further down this page.
Why is Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution in shortage?
Cephalon (a Teva company) has made a business decision to permanently stop making this specific form of Treanda — the 25 mg/5 mL single-dose vial. No specific reason beyond it being a business decision was shared publicly.
It's worth knowing that this report covers only Cephalon's version of this product. Other manufacturers may still produce bendamustine, and those would be listed separately.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution?
Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list. This note reflects national, manufacturer-reported data, so it may not match what your local pharmacy actually has on hand.
The affected strength here is the 25 mg/5 mL solution, made as Treanda by Cephalon, LLC (a Teva subsidiary). No manufacturer is reporting available supply of this exact product right now. The reported reason is a business decision to discontinue making it, which means this particular product's supply problem may be permanent rather than temporary.
Because this is a discontinuation, the most important step is a conversation with your care team. Please do not change or skip any dose on your own.
- Do not stop or adjust your treatment on your own — this medicine is used under close supervision.
- Ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options, since this exact product is being discontinued.
- The same medicine, bendamustine hydrochloride, is still listed from several other makers — including Baxter, Accord, Eugia, Apotex, Azurity, Eagle, BluePoint, Slayback, and Teva (Bendeka). Your pharmacy or clinic may be able to source one of these, though it may not be in local stock and your clinician chooses what fits your care.
- Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.
This is general information, not individualized medical advice.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bendamustine Hydrochloride | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/1 | Injection · Intravenous | Baxter Healthcare Corporation | 10019-0079-01 |
| Bendamustine Hydrochloride | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 25 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Accord Healthcare, Inc. | 16729-0250-03 |
| Bendamustine Hydrochloride | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/20mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Accord Healthcare, Inc. | 16729-0251-05 |
| Vivimusta | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 25 mg/mL | Injection · Intravenous | Azurity Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 24338-0270-01 |
| Belrapzo | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/4mL | Injection · Intravenous | Eagle Pharmaceuticals, Inc | 42367-0521-25 |
| Bendamustine Hydrochloride | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 25 mg/5mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Eugia US LLC | 55150-0391-01 |
| Bendamustine Hydrochloride | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/20mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Eugia US LLC | 55150-0392-01 |
| Bendamustine Hydrochloride | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 25 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Apotex Corp | 60505-6228-00 |
| Bendeka | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 25 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 63459-0348-04 |
| Treanda | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/20mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | Cephalon, LLC | 63459-0391-20 |
| Bendamustine Hydrochloride | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 100 mg/20mL | Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous | BluePoint Laboratories | 68001-0572-41 |
| Vivimusta | BENDAMUSTINE HYDROCHLORIDE 25 mg/mL | Injection · Intravenous | Slayback Pharma LLC | 71225-0120-01 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 4 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| bendamustine hydrochloride 25 mg/5mL | Accord | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Bendamustine Hydrochloride 25 mg/5mL | Eugia | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Treanda 25 mg/5mL | Cephalon, | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Bendamustine 25 mg/5mL | Meitheal | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antineoplastic - alkylating agents) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other oncology shortages
Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution shortage FAQs
Is Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution be available again?
Can I still get Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution somewhere?
What should I do if I take Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution?
Still have a question about the Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Bendamustine Hydrochloride Injection, So... on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.