Palbociclib Capsule shortage
Palbociclib Capsule is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 2 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 24, 2026.
Pfizer is permanently stopping production of Ibrance (palbociclib) capsules in the 75 mg and 100 mg strengths. Pfizer will continue making 75 mg and 100 mg tablets as replacements, and 125 mg capsules remain available.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Palbociclib Capsule. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Apr 22, 2026Currently in shortage2 of 2 products affected.
-
Apr 22, 2026First reported to the FDA2 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Pfizer Inc. 📞 800-533-4535 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Ibrance, Capsule, 75 mg (NDC 0069-0187-21) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacturing of the capsule presentation. 75 mg Tablet NDC 0069-0284-03 will continue to be manufactured. | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Ibrance, Capsule, 100 mg (NDC 0069-0188-21) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacturing of the capsule presentation. 100 mg Tablet NDC 0069-0486-03 will continue to be manufactured. | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Palbociclib Capsule — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Palbociclib Capsule? options further down this page.
Why is Palbociclib Capsule in shortage?
Pfizer has decided to permanently stop making Ibrance in its capsule form — both the 75 mg and 100 mg capsule strengths are being discontinued. No specific public reason was shared for why they made this decision.
The important thing to know is that Pfizer is not stopping the drug itself. They plan to keep making Ibrance as a tablet in both the 75 mg and 100 mg strengths, so those will continue to be manufactured going forward.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Palbociclib Capsule, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Palbociclib Capsule?
Palbociclib capsules (brand name Ibrance) are currently on the FDA shortage list, and I want to walk you through what this means for you.
Both capsule strengths on this record — the 75 mg and 100 mg capsules — have no available source reported right now. The manufacturer, Pfizer, has listed these capsules as to be discontinued, so this particular supply problem may be permanent rather than temporary.
The reason given is straightforward: Pfizer is stopping production of the capsule form of these two strengths. Importantly, the company reports it will continue to make the same strengths in tablet form (a 100 mg tablet and a 75 mg tablet). So while the capsule you take may go away, the medicine itself is not disappearing.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own.
- Because your capsule strength is being discontinued, the right next step is to talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about moving to the tablet form of the same strength, or another option they choose for you.
- Your pharmacy can also check with wholesalers and other suppliers on your behalf.
For reference, Pfizer's contact number is listed on this page, though your pharmacy usually handles those calls.
This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Palbociclib Capsule?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Palbociclib Capsule is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ibrance | PALBOCICLIB 125 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Pfizer Laboratories Div Pfizer Inc | 00069-0189-21 |
Alternative dosage forms of Palbociclib
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 2 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ibrance 75 mg | Pfizer | 21 capsules | — | — | FDA listed |
| Ibrance 100 mg | Pfizer | 21 capsules | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Palbociclib Capsule — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antineoplastic systemic enzyme inhibitors) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other oncology shortages
Palbociclib Capsule shortage FAQs
Is Palbociclib Capsule in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Palbociclib Capsule be available again?
Can I still get Palbociclib somewhere?
What should I do if I take Palbociclib Capsule?
Still have a question about the Palbociclib Capsule shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Palbociclib Capsule on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.