Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Basaglar (Insulin Glargine) Injection

Basaglar (Insulin Glargine) Injection shortage

Not a nationwide shortage — Eli Lilly and has told the FDA it is discontinuing its insulin glargine injections. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 2 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: Low Endocrinology/Metabolism 1 product 347 days First posted Oct 24, 2025 Updated Oct 24, 2025
Here’s the bottom line

Eli Lilly is permanently stopping the Insulin Glargine U-100 Tempo Pen. Other insulin glargine products — including Basaglar KwikPen, Lantus SoloStar, and Toujeo — are still listed as available from other manufacturers.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
1
Affected NDCs
0/1
Reporting makers with supply
2
Other companies listing it
347
Days on the list
1,402
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 5, 2026 · yesterday

Is Basaglar still in shortage? — status as of Oct 5, 2026

Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026. Eli Lilly and is stopping its own version only; 2 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.

⚠ Supply risk: Low 0 of 5 risk factors
  1. Every strength / size is still listed by a company — a listing with supply exists
  2. More than one company still lists it — 0 of 1 reporting company with supply + 2 other companies
  3. Most affected NDCs still available — supply listed
  4. Not a long-running shortage — 346 days (a discontinuation notice, not an outage)
  5. Listed by several companies — 3 companies (1 reporting + 2 other)

A rule-based estimate of national supply risk, counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report — never your local pharmacy’s stock. How the rating works.

The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
1 NDCs
To be discontinued 1
Reporting companies with supply
Among the 1 company that reported this shortage — plus 2 other companies listing it, below
0/1 reporting
Reporting no supply 1
✓ Other companies listing the same medicine — not reporting a shortage
Insulin Glargine Injection listings in the current FDA NDC Directory from companies that have not filed a shortage report — these are not counted in the charts above. Some are repackagers of another company’s product. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC A-S Medication Solutions
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Oct 24, 2025
    Currently in shortage
    1 of 1 product affected.
  2. Oct 24, 2025
    First reported to the FDA
    1 product first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

Which Basaglar products are affected — by company

Company: Eli Lilly and Co. 📞 800-545-5979 1 NDC click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength / size Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Basaglar Injection NDC 00002-8214-05 U-100 Tempo Pen — A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. —

These rows are company reports to the FDA for Insulin Glargine Injection — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Basaglar or its generic? options further down this page.

Why is Eli Lilly and discontinuing Basaglar?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Sep 23, 2026

Eli Lilly has made a business decision to permanently stop making Basaglar U-100 insulin glargine in the Tempo Pen format (the specific product with NDC 0002-8214-05). No specific public reason beyond it being a business decision was shared with the FDA — so unfortunately, there's no deeper explanation available here.

It's worth knowing that this report covers only this particular Lilly product and package. It does not mean that all forms of Basaglar or all insulin glargine products from every manufacturer are going away — only this specific Tempo Pen version from Lilly is being discontinued.

Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Insulin Glargine Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.

What should I do if I take Basaglar?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Sep 23, 2026

Insulin glargine (the Basaglar U-100 Tempo Pen) is currently on the FDA shortage list. I want to walk you through what this means so you can plan your next steps calmly.

The affected product is the Basaglar U-100 Tempo Pen, and right now there is no available source reported for it. The reason listed is a business decision by Eli Lilly to discontinue making this particular pen. Because it is being discontinued, this supply problem may be permanent, so a conversation with your prescriber is the right next step to plan ahead.

Please keep in mind that this record reflects only the manufacturer that filed it. Insulin glargine — the same active medicine — is still made in other forms and by other makers, including Basaglar Kwikpen, Lantus, Lantus Solostar, and Toujeo.

Here is what I suggest, in order:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change your insulin on your own — steady dosing matters.
  • Ask your prescriber or pharmacist about another insulin glargine product from the list above; your pharmacy may be able to source one, though it may not be in local stock.
  • Because this pen is being discontinued, plan a prescriber visit to choose your next option.

The manufacturer's contact number is listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle these calls. This is general national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Basaglar or its generic?” below ↓ The same medicine from companies not reporting a shortage, other dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
Quick checklist for the pharmacy counter:
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths / sizes, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Keep reading
Our full Insulin Glargine (rDNA origin) Injection guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Insulin Glargine (rDNA origin) Injection guide →

Where else can I get Basaglar or its generic?

FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists insulin glargine injections is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. These are generic versions of Basaglar — a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeCompanyNDC
Toujeo INSULIN GLARGINE 300 U/mL Injection, Solution · Subcutaneous Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC 00024-5869-00
Lantus Solostar INSULIN GLARGINE 100 [iU]/mL Injection, Solution · Subcutaneous sanofi-aventis U.S. LLC 00088-2219-00
Insulin Glargine U-300 Max INSULIN GLARGINE 300 [iU]/mL Injection, Solution · Subcutaneous Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC 00955-2900-02
Lantus INSULIN GLARGINE 100 [iU]/mL Injection, Solution · Subcutaneous A-S Medication Solutions 50090-0876-00
Toujeo INSULIN GLARGINE 300 U/mL Injection, Solution · Subcutaneous A-S Medication Solutions 50090-2193-00
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 8 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths / sizes, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Lantus 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00088-2220-33 sanofi-aventis 1 vial $6.152 save 71% — Availability likely
BASAGLAR KwikPen 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-7715-59 Eli 5 syringes $20.935 +0% — Availability likely
BASAGLAR Tempo Pen 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00002-8214-05 Eli 5 syringes $20.955 — Discontinued
Lantus 100 [iU]/mLNDC 50090-0876-00 A-S 10 ml — — FDA listed
Lantus Solostar 100 [iU]/mLNDC 50090-1398-00 A-S 5 syringes — — FDA listed
Lantus Solostar 100 [iU]/mLNDC 50090-4068-00 A-S 5 syringes — — FDA listed
Insulin Glargine Solostar 100 [iU]/mLNDC 50090-6178-00 A-S 5 syringes — — Discontinued
Lantus Solostar 100 [iU]/mLNDC 00088-2219-00 sanofi-aventis 1 syringe — — FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Basaglar — that fall in the same broad treatment class (insulins) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
GCN Seq No 085479
GCN 54974
HICL code 022025
Ingredient (HICL) Insulin Glargine,Hum.rec.anlog
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C4
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antihyperglycemics
HIC3 code C4G
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Insulins
AHFS code 68:20.08.00
AHFS class Insulins
FDB label name BASAGLAR TEMPO PEN 100 UNIT/ML
FDB brand name Basaglar Tempo Pen U-100
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other endocrinology/metabolism shortages

Basaglar shortage FAQs

Is Basaglar still in shortage?
Not as a nationwide shortage — the FDA lists insulin glargine injections under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: Eli Lilly and has told the FDA it is stopping its own product, while 2 other companies still list the same medicine and have not reported a shortage.
Which Basaglar products are affected?
Basaglar Injection (NDC 00002-8214-05). The full per-NDC list (availability, company and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Basaglar be available again?
A discontinuation is usually permanent for that company’s product. The same medicine is still listed by Sanofi-Aventis U.S. and A-S Medication Solutions, so ask your pharmacy to order another company’s version.
Can I still get Basaglar or its generic somewhere?
Other companies (Sanofi-Aventis U.S. and A-S Medication Solutions) list the same medicine with the FDA and have not reported a shortage — these are generic versions, and a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. See “Where else can I get Basaglar or its generic?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
Is the brand or the generic affected?
Only the brand (Basaglar) is on this FDA record; it lists no generic insulin glargine injections. Availability can still differ between companies and package sizes — check the per-NDC table and confirm with your pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Basaglar?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another company or a different strength / size or package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Basaglar shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (0–2)Several companies still list it and most strengths or pack sizes are still listed by someone — counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report. A listing is not a stock check.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes without a source, or a long-running outage. A company’s discontinuation notice is not an outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages