HomeNDC LookupDrug shortages › Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection

Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection shortage

Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 4 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 19, 2026.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: High Oncology 4 products 2 manufacturers 358 days First posted Sep 26, 2025 Updated Feb 24, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

Ingenus Pharmaceuticals and Jiangsu Hengrui are permanently stopping production of irinotecan hydrochloride injection — a chemotherapy medicine — and no supply from either maker is currently available. Other manufacturers, including the maker of Camptosar (irinotecan hydrochloride), still list this medicine as available.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
4
Affected NDCs
2
Reporting manufacturers
0/2
Reporting mfrs supplying
0/2
Affected strengths supplied
358
Days in shortage
1,266
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Sep 19, 2026 · today

What’s in shortage — at a glance

These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
4 NDCs
To be discontinued 4
Affected strengths still supplied
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/2 strengths
No supply 2
FDA-reporting manufacturers with supply
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/2 makers
No supply 2
✓ Other manufacturers not reporting a shortage
Still-marketed Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection from companies that have not filed an FDA shortage — these are not counted in the figures above. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Pharmacia & Upjohn Company LLC Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. Northstar Rx LLC Actavis Pharma, Inc. Eugia US LLC Apotex Corp. Hospira, Inc. Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC Qilu Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. BluePoint Laboratories Xiromed LLC
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Feb 24, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    4 of 4 products affected.
  2. Feb 24, 2026
    More presentations reported
    2 more products added to the shortage.
  3. Sep 26, 2025
    First reported to the FDA
    2 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer

Manufacturer: Ingenus Pharmaceuticals LLC 📞 866-321-5031 2 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Irinotecan Hydrochloride, Injection, 100 mg/5 mL (NDC 50742-402-05) NDC 50742-0402-05 A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug.
To Be Discontinued Irinotecan Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/2 mL (NDC 50742-401-02) NDC 50742-0401-02 A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug.
Manufacturer: Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals Co. (US Agent eVenus Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc.) 📞 Company Contact: 609-395-8625 ext. 203 (US Agent eVenus Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc.) 2 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Irinotecan Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/2 mL (NDC 25021-230-02) NDC 25021-0230-02 Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug; Distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals
To Be Discontinued Irinotecan Hydrochloride, Injection, 100 mg/5 mL (NDC 25021-230-05) NDC 25021-0230-05 Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug; Distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals

These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection? options further down this page.

Why is Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?

Two manufacturers that make irinotecan hydrochloride injection are permanently stopping production of their versions of this medication. Ingenus Pharmaceuticals has made a business decision to discontinue both their 40 mg/2 mL and 100 mg/5 mL vials. Separately, Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals (whose product was distributed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals) is also permanently discontinuing their 40 mg/2 mL and 100 mg/5 mL vials.

Neither manufacturer shared a specific public reason beyond it being a business or manufacturing discontinuation decision. It's worth knowing that this report only covers these two manufacturers — it doesn't mean irinotecan is going away entirely, as other companies may still be producing it and are listed separately.

Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.

What should I do if I take Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection?

Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list. Because this medicine is given by injection, it is usually handled by a cancer clinic or infusion pharmacy, so please share this note with the team that manages your treatment.

Two strengths are covered by this report, and both are affected. Right now, neither the 40 mg/2 mL nor the 100 mg/5 mL strength has an available source from the manufacturers on this record. Both are listed as to be discontinued, based on a business decision by those makers rather than any safety or quality problem. Because these are discontinuations, this particular supply problem may be permanent for these products.

Importantly, this report reflects only the two manufacturers that filed it. Other companies still make irinotecan in a 20 mg/mL solution, so the medicine itself is not gone from the market.

Here is what I suggest:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change your treatment on your own — your care team will manage timing and dosing.
  • Ask your clinic or pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers; the same medicine (irinotecan 20 mg/mL) is available from several makers, though it may not be in local stock.
  • Ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a clinician-chosen option if your product cannot be found.

Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference. This is general, national information and may not match your clinic's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection?” below ↓ The same medicine from manufacturers not reporting a shortage, alternative dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
If you are a patient:
  • Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
  • Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Keep reading
Our full Irinotecan guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Irinotecan guide →

Where else can I get Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection?

FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeManufacturerNDC
Camptosar IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Pharmacia & Upjohn Company LLC 00009-0082-02
Irinotecan Hydrochloride IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9583-01
Irinotecan Hydrochloride IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Northstar Rx LLC 16714-0027-01
Irinotecan Hydrochloride IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Actavis Pharma, Inc. 45963-0614-51
Irinotecan Hydrochloride IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Eugia US LLC 55150-0352-01
Irinotecan Hydrochloride IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Apotex Corp. 60505-6128-00
Irinotecan Hydrochloride IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Hospira, Inc. 61703-0349-09
Irinotecan Hydrochloride IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 63323-0193-52
Irinotecan Hydrochloride IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Qilu Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. 67184-0511-01
Irinotecan Hydrochloide IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous BluePoint Laboratories 68001-0480-22
Irinotecan Hydrochloide IRINOTECAN HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Xiromed LLC 70700-0169-22
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 28 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Camptosar 20 mg/mLNDC 00009-0112-05 Pharmacia 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 00143-9583-01 Hikma 5 ml AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 00143-9701-01 Hikma 5 ml AP FDA listed
Irinotecan hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 16714-0131-01 Northstar 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 25021-0230-02 Sagent 1 vial FDA listed
Irinotecan hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 45963-0614-85 Actavis 1 vial AP Discontinued
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 100 mg/5mLNDC 50742-0402-05 Ingenus 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 55150-0353-01 Eugia 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 60505-6128-00 Apotex 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 60505-6272-01 Apotex 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 61703-0349-09 Hospira, 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 63323-0193-52 Fresenius 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 67184-0512-01 Qilu 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan hydrochloide 20 mg/mLNDC 68001-0480-22 BluePoint 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 68083-0382-01 Gland 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 70700-0170-22 Xiromed 1 vial AP FDA listed
Camptosar 20 mg/mLNDC 00009-7529-03 Pharmacia 1 vial AP Discontinued
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 00143-9702-01 Hikma 2 ml AP FDA listed
Irinotecan hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 16714-0027-01 Northstar 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 40 mg/2mLNDC 50742-0401-02 Ingenus 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 55150-0352-01 Eugia 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 55150-0355-01 Eugia 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 67184-0511-01 Qilu 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan hydrochloide 20 mg/mLNDC 68083-0381-01 Gland 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan hydrochloide 20 mg/mLNDC 70700-0169-22 Xiromed 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 67184-0513-01 Qilu 1 vial AP FDA listed
Camptosar 20 mg/mLNDC 00009-0082-02 Pharmacia 1 vial AP FDA listed
Irinotecan Hydrochloride 20 mg/mLNDC 55150-0354-01 Eugia 1 vial AP FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antineoplastic - topoisomerase i inhibitors) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Identity & classification

GCN Seq No 062174
GCN 97956
HICL code 010778
Ingredient (HICL) Irinotecan Hcl
HIC1 code V
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Neoplasms
HIC2 code V3
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antineoplastic Drugs (Continued 1)
HIC3 code V3E
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Antineoplastic - Topoisomerase I Inhibitors
AHFS code 10:00.00.00
AHFS class Antineoplastic Agents
FDB label name IRINOTECAN HCL 100 MG/5 ML VL
FDB brand name Irinotecan Hcl
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other oncology shortages

Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection shortage FAQs

Is Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Yes — the FDA currently lists Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection in shortage (status: “To Be Discontinued”, first reported Sep 26, 2025). 4 of 4 products are affected. This is national, manufacturer-reported data, so your pharmacy may still have stock.
Which products are affected?
Irinotecan Hydrochloride, Injection, 100 mg/5 mL (NDC 50742-402-05) (NDC 50742-0402-05); Irinotecan Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/2 mL (NDC 50742-401-02) (NDC 50742-0401-02); Irinotecan Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/2 mL (NDC 25021-230-02) (NDC 25021-0230-02). The full per-NDC list (availability, manufacturer and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection be available again?
The FDA does not publish a guaranteed restock date, and no estimated-recovery note is on file. Availability can change daily — confirm with your pharmacy.
Can I still get Irinotecan Hydrochloride somewhere?
Other manufacturers (Pharmacia & Upjohn Company LLC, Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., Northstar Rx LLC and others) still market it and have not reported a shortage. See “Where else can I get Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another manufacturer or a different strength/package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Irinotecan Hydrochloride Injection shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (1–2)Multiple manufacturers still supplying and most strengths or pack sizes sourceable.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes unsourceable, or a long-running outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages