Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Zemplar (Paricalcitol) Capsule

Zemplar (Paricalcitol) Capsule shortage

Not a nationwide shortage — AbbVie has told the FDA it is discontinuing its paricalcitol capsules. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 4 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: Low Endocrinology/Metabolism 2 products 365 days · 1.0 yr First posted Oct 7, 2025 Updated Oct 7, 2025
Here’s the bottom line

AbbVie is permanently stopping production of Zemplar (paricalcitol) capsules. Generic paricalcitol capsules in 1 mcg and 2 mcg strengths are still listed as available from other manufacturers who have not reported a shortage.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
2
Affected NDCs
0/1
Reporting makers with supply
2/2
Affected strengths still listed
4
Other companies listing it
365
Days on the list
18
Medicaid Rx (2025)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 6, 2026 · yesterday

Is Zemplar still in shortage? — status as of Oct 6, 2026

Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026. AbbVie is stopping its own version only; 4 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.

⚠ Supply risk: Low 0 of 5 risk factors
  1. Every strength is still listed by a company — 2 of 2 strengths (2 only by other companies)
  2. More than one company still lists it — 0 of 1 reporting company with supply + 4 other companies
  3. Most affected NDCs still available — supply listed
  4. Not a long-running shortage — 364 days (a discontinuation notice, not an outage)
  5. Listed by several companies — 5 companies (1 reporting + 4 other)

A rule-based estimate of national supply risk, counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report — never your local pharmacy’s stock. How the rating works.

The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
2 NDCs
To be discontinued 2
Affected strengths still listed by a company
A company on the shortage report with supply, or another company selling that strength
2/2 strengths
Still made by a company 2
Reporting companies with supply
Among the 1 company that reported this shortage — plus 4 other companies listing it, below
0/1 reporting
Reporting no supply 1
✓ Other companies listing the same medicine — not reporting a shortage
Paricalcitol Capsule listings in the current FDA NDC Directory from companies that have not filed a shortage report — these are not counted in the charts above. Some are repackagers of another company’s product. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
TIME CAP LABORATORIES, INC Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited Bryant Ranch Prepack Bionpharma Inc.
Plus 9 other dosage forms of paricalcitol.
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Oct 7, 2025
    Currently in shortage
    2 of 2 products affected.
  2. Oct 7, 2025
    First reported to the FDA
    2 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

Which Zemplar products are affected — by company

Company: AbbVie Inc. 📞 800-633-9110 2 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Zemplar Capsule, 2 ug NDC 00074-9037-30 2 ug — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Zemplar Capsule, 1 ug NDC 00074-9036-30 1 ug — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —

These rows are company reports to the FDA for Paricalcitol Capsule — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Zemplar or its generic? options further down this page.

Why is AbbVie discontinuing Zemplar?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 6, 2026

AbbVie has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of their brand-name Zemplar paricalcitol capsules. This affects both the 1 mcg and 2 mcg capsule strengths — both come in 30-count bottles. AbbVie did not share a specific public reason for why they made this decision, just that they are discontinuing production of these two products.

It's worth knowing that this report covers only AbbVie's Zemplar capsules. Other manufacturers may still produce paricalcitol capsules and are listed separately on this page.

Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Paricalcitol Capsule, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.

What should I do if I take Zemplar?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 6, 2026

Paricalcitol capsules are currently on the FDA shortage list. This note affects both strengths — the 1 microgram (ug) and 2 ug capsules — because the manufacturer reporting this shortage, AbbVie (the brand Zemplar), has listed both for discontinuation of manufacture. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, the supply issue from this maker may be permanent.

Here is an important point for reassurance: this report reflects only AbbVie. The same medicine, paricalcitol, in both the 1 ug and 2 ug strengths, is still listed by several other makers. So while the brand version is being discontinued, the medicine itself is not gone from the market.

What you can do:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own. Keep taking paricalcitol as prescribed.
  • Ask your pharmacy whether they can source the same medicine (paricalcitol 1 ug or 2 ug) from another maker such as Time Cap, Dr. Reddy's, Bryant Ranch, or Bionpharma. They can check wholesalers, though it may not be in local stock right away.
  • If your exact product cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about the best option for you.

Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference, though your pharmacy usually makes these calls. This is general national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Zemplar or its generic?” below ↓ The same medicine from companies not reporting a shortage, other dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
Quick checklist for the pharmacy counter:
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Keep reading
Our full Paricalcitol guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Paricalcitol guide →

Where else can I get Zemplar or its generic?

FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists paricalcitol capsules is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. These are generic versions of Zemplar — a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeCompanyNDC
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 1 ug/1 Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral TIME CAP LABORATORIES, INC 49483-0687-03
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 2 ug/1 Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral TIME CAP LABORATORIES, INC 49483-0688-03
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 4 ug/1 Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral TIME CAP LABORATORIES, INC 49483-0689-03
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 1 ug/1 Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited 55111-0663-01
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 2 ug/1 Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited 55111-0664-01
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 4 ug/1 Capsule, Liquid Filled · Oral Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited 55111-0665-01
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 1 ug/1 Capsule · Oral Bryant Ranch Prepack 63629-2452-01
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 2 ug/1 Capsule · Oral Bryant Ranch Prepack 63629-2453-01
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 1 ug/1 Capsule · Oral Bionpharma Inc. 69452-0145-13
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 2 ug/1 Capsule · Oral Bionpharma Inc. 69452-0146-13
Paricalcitol PARICALCITOL 4 ug/1 Capsule · Oral Bionpharma Inc. 69452-0147-13

Other dosage forms of paricalcitol

A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:

Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 18 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Paricalcitol 1 ugNDC 49483-0687-03 TIME 30 capsules $1.277 AB Availability likely
Paricalcitol 1 ugNDC 65862-0936-30 Aurobindo 30 capsules $1.277 — Availability likely
Paricalcitol 1 ugNDC 69452-0145-13 Bionpharma 30 capsules $1.277 AB Availability likely
Paricalcitol 2 ugNDC 49483-0688-03 TIME 30 capsules $2.589 AB Availability likely
Paricalcitol 2 ugNDC 65862-0937-30 Aurobindo 30 capsules $2.589 — Availability likely
Paricalcitol 2 ugNDC 69452-0146-13 Bionpharma 30 capsules $2.589 AB Availability likely
Zemplar 2 ugNDC 00074-9037-30 AbbVie 30 capsules — — FDA listed
Paricalcitol 2 ugNDC 25000-0014-03 MARKSANS 30 capsules — AB FDA listed
Paricalcitol 2 ugNDC 55111-0664-01 Dr. 100 capsules — AB FDA listed
Paricalcitol 2 ugNDC 63629-2453-01 Bryant 30 capsules — AB FDA listed
Paricalcitol 2 ugNDC 65162-0823-03 Amneal 30 capsules — AB FDA listed
Paricalcitol 2 ugNDC 72162-1916-03 Bryant 30 capsules — AB FDA listed
Zemplar 1 ugNDC 00074-9036-30 AbbVie 30 capsules — — FDA listed
Paricalcitol 1 ugNDC 25000-0012-03 MARKSANS 30 capsules — AB FDA listed
Paricalcitol 1 ugNDC 55111-0663-01 Dr. 100 capsules — AB FDA listed
Paricalcitol 1 ugNDC 63629-2452-01 Bryant 30 capsules — AB FDA listed
Paricalcitol 1 ugNDC 65162-0822-03 Amneal 30 capsules — AB FDA listed
Paricalcitol 1 ugNDC 72162-1915-03 Bryant 30 capsules — AB FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Zemplar — that fall in the same broad treatment class (hyperparathyroid tx agents - vitamin d analog-type) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
GCN Seq No 059182
GCN 24723
HICL code 018250
Ingredient (HICL) Paricalcitol
HIC1 code P
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Endocrine System
HIC2 code P4
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Parathyroid/Bone Resorption Drugs
HIC3 code P4D
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Hyperparathyroid Tx Agents - Vitamin D Analog-Type
AHFS code 88:16.00.00
AHFS class Vitamin D
FDB label name ZEMPLAR 2 MCG CAPSULE
FDB brand name Zemplar
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other endocrinology/metabolism shortages

Zemplar shortage FAQs

Is Zemplar still in shortage?
Not as a nationwide shortage — the FDA lists paricalcitol capsules under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026: AbbVie has told the FDA it is stopping its own product, while 4 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem.
Which strengths of Zemplar are affected?
The FDA record covers 2 strengths: 1 ug, 2 ug. Every strength on the record is still made by at least one company, though stock varies by pharmacy.
Which Zemplar products are affected?
Zemplar Capsule, 2 ug (NDC 00074-9037-30); Zemplar Capsule, 1 ug (NDC 00074-9036-30). The full per-NDC list (availability, company and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Zemplar be available again?
A discontinuation is usually permanent for that company’s product. The same medicine is still sold by TIME CAP LABORATORIES, Dr. Reddy's Laboratories, Bryant Ranch Prepack and 1 more, so ask your pharmacy to order another company’s version.
Can I still get Zemplar or its generic somewhere?
Other companies (TIME CAP LABORATORIES, Dr. Reddy's Laboratories, Bryant Ranch Prepack and 1 more) sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem — these are generic versions, and a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. 9 other dosage forms of paricalcitol are also listed. See “Where else can I get Zemplar or its generic?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
Is the brand or the generic affected?
Only the brand (Zemplar) is on this FDA record; it lists no generic paricalcitol capsules. Availability can still differ between companies and package sizes — check the per-NDC table and confirm with your pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Zemplar?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another company or a different strength or package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Zemplar shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (0–2)Several companies still list it and most strengths or pack sizes are still listed by someone — counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report. A listing is not a stock check.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes without a source, or a long-running outage. A company’s discontinuation notice is not an outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages