Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Cisatracurium Besylate Injection

Cisatracurium Besylate Injection shortage

Cisatracurium Besylate Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 3 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 2, 2026.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: High Analgesia/Addiction 3 products 150 days First posted May 6, 2026 Updated Sep 11, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

Pfizer (Hospira) is permanently stopping production of cisatracurium besylate injection, with remaining supply expected to run out by mid-to-late 2026. The same medicine is still listed by other manufacturers, including Hikma, Sandoz, Camber, and Eugia.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
3
Affected NDCs
1
Reporting manufacturers
0/1
Reporting mfrs supplying
0/3
Affected strengths supplied
150
Days in shortage
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 2, 2026 · yesterday

What’s in shortage — at a glance

These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Cisatracurium Besylate Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
3 NDCs
To be discontinued 3
Affected strengths still supplied
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/3 strengths
No supply 3
FDA-reporting manufacturers with supply
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/1 makers
No supply 1
✓ Other manufacturers not reporting a shortage
Still-marketed Cisatracurium Besylate Injection from companies that have not filed an FDA shortage — these are not counted in the figures above. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. Sandoz Inc Camber Pharmaceuticals Inc. Eugia US LLC Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC Caplin Steriles Limited Somerset Therapeutics, LLC
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Sep 11, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    3 of 3 products affected.
  2. Sep 11, 2026
    More presentations reported
    1 more product added to the shortage.
  3. May 6, 2026
    First reported to the FDA
    2 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer

Manufacturer: Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company 📞 844-646-4398 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Cisatracurium Besylate, Injection, 10 mg/5ml (2 mg/mL) Single Dose Vial (NDC 0409-1098-02) NDC 00409-1098-02 — — Supply expected to exhaust November 2026; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Cisatracurium Besylate, Injection, 20 mg/10 mL (2 mg/mL) Multidose Vial (NDC 0409-1208-01) NDC 00409-1208-01 — — Supply expected to exhaust late June 2026; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Cisatracurium Besylate, Injection, 200 mg/20ml (10 mg/mL) Single Dose Vial (NDC 0409-1103-01) NDC 00409-1103-01 — — Supply expected to exhaust late June 2026; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —

These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Cisatracurium Besylate Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Cisatracurium Besylate Injection? options further down this page.

Why is Cisatracurium Besylate Injection in shortage?

Hospira (a Pfizer company) has decided to permanently stop making all three of their cisatracurium besylate injection products. They haven't shared a specific public reason for this decision. The existing supply they have on hand is expected to run out on these timelines:

  • 20 mg/10 mL (2 mg/mL) multidose vial — supply expected to run out late June 2026
  • 200 mg/20 mL (10 mg/mL) single-dose vial — supply expected to run out late June 2026
  • 10 mg/5 mL (2 mg/mL) single-dose vial — supply expected to run out November 2026

Once those supplies are gone, Hospira will no longer be producing any of these presentations. It's worth knowing that this report only covers Hospira's products specifically — it doesn't speak to what other manufacturers may or may not have available.

Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Cisatracurium Besylate Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.

What should I do if I take Cisatracurium Besylate Injection?

Cisatracurium Besylate Injection is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list. This is a hospital medicine given during anesthesia, so it is handled by your care team rather than picked up at a retail pharmacy — but I want to explain what the report shows clearly.

The record covers one manufacturer, Hospira (a Pfizer company), and it lists all three strengths as having no available source going forward: the 10 mg/5 mL (2 mg/mL) single-dose vial, the 20 mg/10 mL (2 mg/mL) multidose vial, and the 200 mg/20 mL (10 mg/mL) single-dose vial. The reason given is that this manufacturer is discontinuing its version of the drug, with remaining supply expected to run out in late June 2026 and, for one strength, November 2026. Because this is a planned discontinuation, this particular supply may not return — but this report reflects only one maker, and other companies still list the same medicine.

Here is what can help:

  • Do not stop or change any dose on your own — this medicine is always managed by your medical team.
  • Ask your prescriber or pharmacy team whether the same medicine can be sourced from another maker; the same ingredient and form is listed from suppliers including Hikma, Sandoz, Camber, Eugia, Fresenius Kabi, Caplin Steriles, and Somerset, though local stock can vary.
  • Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference.

This is general, national, manufacturer-reported information and may not match what any given facility has on hand.

See “Where else can I get Cisatracurium Besylate Injection?” below ↓ The same medicine from manufacturers not reporting a shortage, alternative dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
If you are a patient:
  • Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
  • Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Keep reading
Our full Cisatracurium guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Cisatracurium guide →

Where else can I get Cisatracurium Besylate Injection?

FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Cisatracurium Besylate Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeManufacturerNDC
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 10 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9160-10
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 2 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 00143-9396-01
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 2 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Sandoz Inc 00781-3150-95
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 10 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Sandoz Inc 00781-3153-95
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 10 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Camber Pharmaceuticals Inc. 31722-0312-10
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 2 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Camber Pharmaceuticals Inc. 31722-0313-10
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 10 mg/5mL Injection · Intravenous Eugia US LLC 55150-0284-10
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 20 mg/10mL Injection · Intravenous Eugia US LLC 55150-0286-10
Cisatracurium CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 2 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 63323-0416-05
Cisatracurium CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 10 mg/mL Injection, Solution · Intravenous Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 63323-0418-20
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 10 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Caplin Steriles Limited 65145-0137-01
Cisatracurium Besylate CISATRACURIUM BESYLATE 2 mg/mL Injection · Intravenous Somerset Therapeutics, LLC 70069-0141-01
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Cisatracurium Besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 00143-9396-01 Hikma 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 00409-1098-02 Hospira, 10 vials — AP FDA listed
cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 00781-3150-95 Sandoz 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 31722-0313-10 Camber 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 10 mg/5mLNDC 55150-0284-10 Eugia 10 vials — — FDA listed
Cisatracurium 2 mg/mLNDC 63323-0416-05 Fresenius 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 65145-0135-01 Caplin 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 68083-0486-01 Gland 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 70069-0141-01 Somerset 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 70436-0112-82 Slate 10 vials — AP FDA listed
cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 70710-1532-06 Zydus 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 10 mg/5mLNDC 71288-0712-06 Meitheal 10 vials — AP FDA listed
cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 72785-0008-06 Zydus 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium 2 mg/mLNDC 63323-0417-10 Fresenius 10 vials — AP FDA listed
cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 00781-3152-95 Sandoz 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 68083-0488-01 Gland 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 70069-0161-01 Somerset 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 00143-9397-10 Hikma 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 70436-0113-82 Slate 10 vials — — FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 00409-1208-01 Hospira, 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 65145-0136-01 Caplin 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 2 mg/mLNDC 31722-0314-10 Camber 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 20 mg/10mLNDC 55150-0286-10 Eugia 10 vials — — FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 20 mg/10mLNDC 71288-0714-11 Meitheal 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 10 mg/mLNDC 00143-9160-10 Hikma 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 10 mg/mLNDC 00409-1103-01 Hospira, 10 vials — AP FDA listed
cisatracurium besylate 10 mg/mLNDC 00781-3153-95 Sandoz 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium Besylate 10 mg/mLNDC 31722-0312-10 Camber 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium 10 mg/mLNDC 63323-0418-20 Fresenius 10 vials — AP FDA listed
Cisatracurium besylate 10 mg/mLNDC 65145-0137-01 Caplin 1 vial — AP FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Cisatracurium Besylate Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (neuromuscular blocking agents) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Identity & classification

GCN Seq No 024614
GCN 32771
HICL code 010278
Ingredient (HICL) Cisatracurium Besylate
HIC1 code S
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Locomotor System
HIC2 code S7
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Affect Primarily Skeletal Muscle
HIC3 code S7A
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Neuromuscular Blocking Agents
AHFS code 12:20.20.00
AHFS class Neuromuscular Blocking Agents
FDB label name CISATRACURIUM 10 MG/5 ML VIAL
FDB brand name Cisatracurium Besylate
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
GPI-1474200013102014
GPI classCisatracurium Besylate (PF)
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other analgesia/addiction shortages

Cisatracurium Besylate Injection shortage FAQs

Is Cisatracurium Besylate Injection in shortage?
Yes — the FDA currently lists Cisatracurium Besylate Injection in shortage (status: “To Be Discontinued”, first reported May 6, 2026). 3 of 3 products are affected. This is national, manufacturer-reported data, so your pharmacy may still have stock.
Which products are affected?
Cisatracurium Besylate, Injection, 10 mg/5ml (2 mg/mL) Single Dose Vial (NDC 0409-1098-02) (NDC 00409-1098-02); Cisatracurium Besylate, Injection, 20 mg/10 mL (2 mg/mL) Multidose Vial (NDC 0409-1208-01) (NDC 00409-1208-01); Cisatracurium Besylate, Injection, 200 mg/20ml (10 mg/mL) Single Dose Vial (NDC 0409-1103-01) (NDC 00409-1103-01). The full per-NDC list (availability, manufacturer and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Cisatracurium Besylate Injection be available again?
The manufacturer reports: Supply expected to exhaust November 2026; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. The FDA does not publish a single guaranteed restock date — confirm with your pharmacy.
Can I still get Cisatracurium Besylate somewhere?
Other manufacturers (Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., Sandoz Inc, Camber Pharmaceuticals Inc. and others) still market it and have not reported a shortage. See “Where else can I get Cisatracurium Besylate Injection?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Cisatracurium Besylate Injection?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another manufacturer or a different strength/package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Cisatracurium Besylate Injection shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (1–2)Multiple manufacturers still supplying and most strengths or pack sizes sourceable.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes unsourceable, or a long-running outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages