Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection shortage
Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 26 affected products. The reported reason: Other; Demand increase for the drug. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 25, 2026.
Hydromorphone hydrochloride injection has been in shortage for over a year, driven by increased demand, and a few specific low-dose strengths currently have no available source. Most strengths are still listed by other manufacturers, including Hospira and Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — ask your pharmacist about other manufacturers (see options) and your prescriber about a long-term plan.
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 22, 2026Currently in shortage26 of 26 products affected.
-
Sep 18, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record2 products updated.
-
Sep 15, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record13 products updated.
-
Sep 9, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record4 products updated.
-
Nov 3, 2017More presentations reported1 more product added to the shortage.
-
Nov 1, 2017More presentations reported9 more products added to the shortage.
-
Oct 31, 2017First reported to the FDA16 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 📞 888-386-1300 10 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Dilaudid, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-009-11) | — | Unavailable | Next release October 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory. | Other |
| Current | Dilaudid, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-010-11) | — | Unavailable | Next release not available at this time. Check wholesalers for inventory. | Other |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-853-25) | — | Unavailable | Next release September 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory. | Other |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-50) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-852-25) | — | Unavailable | Next release October 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory. | Other |
| Current | Dilaudid, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-009-06) | — | Unavailable | Next release September 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory. | Other |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-15) | — | Available | Check wholesaler for inventory | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-854-10) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
| Current | Dilaudid, Injection, .2 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-121-11) | — | Unavailable | Next release November 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory. | Other |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-10) | — | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory | — |
Manufacturer: Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 📞 800-631-2174 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-0121-25) | — | Available | Additional lots are scheduled for manufacturing to meet demand. Product will be made available as it is released. | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6254-01) | — | Unavailable | Product temporarily on backorder. Additional lots will be available in the September 2026 timeframe. | Demand increase for the drug |
Manufacturer: Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company 📞 844-646-4398 11 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 50 mg/5 mL (10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2634-05) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-2634-01) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-3365-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1312-30) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 500 mg/50 mL (10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2634-50) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1283-31) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1304-31) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1312-36) | — | Limited Availability | Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery: January 2027; Estimated Recovery: March 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1283-37) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery: January 2027; Estimated Recovery: March 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 0.25 mg/ 0.5 mL NexJect™ Single-dose Syringe Luer Lock (no needle) (NDC 0409-1805-01) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 0.5 mg/0.5 mL NexJect™ Single-dose Syringe Luer Lock (no needle) (NDC 0409-4264-01) | — | Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery: September 2026; Estimated Recovery: December 2026 | Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery: September 2026; Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
Manufacturer: Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 📞 800-545-8800 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0113-03) | — | Limited Availability | Estimated recovery: TBD | Other |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0018-01) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0110-03) | — | Available | — | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Hydromorphone hydrochloride injection is on the FDA shortage list for two main reasons: more people need it than usual (higher demand), and some manufacturers are dealing with hold-ups at the factory. The shortage affects several specific products. From Fresenius Kabi, the Dilaudid 1 mg/1 mL and 0.2 mg/1 mL injections are currently unavailable, with next releases expected in September, October, and November 2026. Their 1 mg/1 mL generic version is also unavailable until around October 2026. From Hospira (Pfizer), the 2 mg/1 mL vials have limited supply with the next delivery expected January 2027 and full recovery around March 2027; the 0.25 mg/0.5 mL pre-filled syringe is unavailable until around December 2026; and the 0.5 mg/0.5 mL pre-filled syringe has limited supply with next delivery around September 2026 and recovery around December 2026. Hikma's 2 mg/1 mL vials are temporarily backordered, with more lots expected around September 2026. On the positive side, several strengths — including the 10 mg/1 mL, 4 mg/1 mL, and some 1 mg/1 mL syringe presentations — are currently showing as available from one or more of these manufacturers.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection?
Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list. This is a supply issue reported by the manufacturers who filed it, and many strengths of this medicine still have an available source.
Three strengths currently show no available source: the 1 mg/1 mL, the 0.25 mg/0.5 mL NexJect single-dose syringe, and the 0.2 mg/1 mL. Many other strengths do still have supply, including 2 mg/1 mL, 4 mg/1 mL, 10 mg/1 mL, 50 mg/5 mL, and several prefilled syringe products. So it helps to find the exact strength you use before drawing conclusions.
The reported reasons are increased demand and other supply factors, and this situation has lasted over a year. All four manufacturers on this record still report some available supply, and several list expected release dates through 2026 into 2027.
Here is what you can do:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own.
- If your strength still has supply, ask your pharmacy to order it — they can check wholesalers and other manufacturers.
- The same medicine is made by more than one company, so your pharmacy may be able to source another maker's version, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact strength cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about options.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national data and may not match your pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
- This is a controlled substance. Transfers between pharmacies and switching strengths have extra federal/state rules — ask the pharmacy before you assume a transfer is possible.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride | HYDROMORPHONE HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous, Subcutaneous | Hospira, Inc. | 00409-1283-05 |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride | HYDROMORPHONE HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/mL | Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous, Subcutaneous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00641-2341-41 |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride | HYDROMORPHONE HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg/mL | Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous, Subcutaneous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00641-6169-10 |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride | HYDROMORPHONE HYDROCHLORIDE .5 mg/.5mL | Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous, Subcutaneous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00641-6206-10 |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride | HYDROMORPHONE HYDROCHLORIDE .2 mg/mL | Injection · Intramuscular, Intravenous, Subcutaneous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00641-6259-10 |
| Dilaudid | HYDROMORPHONE HYDROCHLORIDE 1 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous, Subcutaneous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 76045-0009-05 |
| Dilaudid | HYDROMORPHONE HYDROCHLORIDE 2 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intramuscular, Intravenous, Subcutaneous | Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | 76045-0010-10 |
Alternative dosage forms of Hydromorphone Hydrochloride
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 12 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Hikma | 25 vials | $2.740 | AP | Availability likely |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Fresenius | 25 vials | $2.740 | AP | Availability likely |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Hospira, | 10 cartridges | $3.245 | — | Availability likely |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 1 mg/mL | Fresenius | 25 vials | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dilaudid 1 mg/mL | Fresenius | 10 syringes | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 1 mg/mL | Hospira, | 10 syringes | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 1 mg/mL | Hikma | 10 syringes | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Hikma | 10 syringes | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dilaudid 2 mg/mL | Fresenius | 10 syringes | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Hospira, | 10 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Hikma | 20 vials | — | — | FDA listed |
| Hydromorphone Hydrochloride 2 mg/mL | Hikma | 1 vial | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (opioid analgesics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other analgesia/addiction shortages
Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection shortage FAQs
Is Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Why is Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection be available again?
Can I still get Hydromorphone Hydrochloride somewhere?
What should I do if I take Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection?
Still have a question about the Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.