Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Pemetrexed Disodium Injection

Pemetrexed Disodium Injection shortage

Pemetrexed Disodium Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 4 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 2, 2026.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: High Oncology 4 products 2 manufacturers 358 days First posted Oct 10, 2025 Updated Oct 16, 2025
Here’s the bottom line

Both Sandoz and Eli Lilly are permanently stopping production of pemetrexed disodium injection. Other makers — including Hospira, Accord Healthcare, Sagent, and Solco Healthcare — still list this medicine in the same strengths.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
4
Affected NDCs
2
Reporting manufacturers
0/2
Reporting mfrs supplying
0/2
Affected strengths supplied
358
Days in shortage
818
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 2, 2026 · yesterday

What’s in shortage — at a glance

These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Pemetrexed Disodium Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
4 NDCs
To be discontinued 4
Affected strengths still supplied
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/2 strengths
No supply 2
FDA-reporting manufacturers with supply
Among manufacturers reporting this shortage
0/2 makers
No supply 2
✓ Other manufacturers not reporting a shortage
Still-marketed Pemetrexed Disodium Injection from companies that have not filed an FDA shortage — these are not counted in the figures above. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Hospira, Inc. Accord Healthcare Inc. Sagent Pharmaceuticals Solco Healthcare US, LLC Dr. Reddys Laboratories Inc
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Oct 16, 2025
    Currently in shortage
    4 of 4 products affected.
  2. Oct 16, 2025
    More presentations reported
    2 more products added to the shortage.
  3. Oct 10, 2025
    First reported to the FDA
    2 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer

Manufacturer: Eli Lilly and Co. 📞 800-545-5979 2 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Alimta, Injection, 500 mg/20 mL (NDC 0002-7623-01) NDC 00002-7623-01 — — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Alimta, Injection, 100 mg/4 mL (NDC 0002-7640-01) NDC 00002-7640-01 — — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
Manufacturer: Sandoz Inc. 📞 800-525-8747 2 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Pemetrexed Disodium, Injection, 100 mg/4 mL (NDC 0781-3518-76) NDC 00781-3518-76 — — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Pemetrexed Disodium, Injection, 500 mg/20 mL (NDC 0781-3519-90) NDC 00781-3519-90 — — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —

These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Pemetrexed Disodium Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Pemetrexed Disodium Injection? options further down this page.

Why is Pemetrexed Disodium Injection in shortage?

Sandoz and Eli Lilly have both reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of their versions of pemetrexed disodium injection. This affects Sandoz's 500 mg/20 mL and 100 mg/4 mL vials, as well as Eli Lilly's brand-name Alimta in both the 100 mg/4 mL and 500 mg/20 mL sizes. No specific reason was shared publicly by either manufacturer for why they made this decision.

It's worth knowing that this report only reflects what Sandoz and Eli Lilly have filed with the FDA — it doesn't speak to what other manufacturers may be doing. No dates were provided about when remaining supplies will run out, and neither company indicated that any other size or formulation of their product will continue to be made.

Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Pemetrexed Disodium Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.

What should I do if I take Pemetrexed Disodium Injection?

Pemetrexed Disodium Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. This is a chemotherapy medicine, and I want to walk you through what the report shows so you know what to expect.

Both strengths on this report — the 500 mg/20 mL and the 100 mg/4 mL — have no available source from the two manufacturers who filed this record (Sandoz and Eli Lilly, maker of Alimta). The reason given for both is that these companies are discontinuing their manufacture of the drug. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, this particular supply may not return from these makers. The important point is that other companies still make pemetrexed, so your care team has paths to continue your treatment.

What you can do:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change any dose on your own — your treatment should continue under your oncology team's guidance.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers, since the same medicine is listed from other makers such as Hospira, Accord Healthcare, Sagent, Solco, and Dr. Reddy's. These are the same ingredient, though a given one may not be in local stock right away.
  • Because these two makers are discontinuing their products, talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about sourcing the same medicine from another maker.
  • Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.

This information comes from national, manufacturer-reported FDA data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Pemetrexed Disodium Injection?” below ↓ The same medicine from manufacturers not reporting a shortage, alternative dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
If you are a patient:
  • Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
  • Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Keep reading
Our full Pemetrexed Disodium guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Pemetrexed Disodium guide →

Where else can I get Pemetrexed Disodium Injection?

FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Pemetrexed Disodium Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeManufacturerNDC
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM 1 g/40mL Injection, Solution, Concentrate · Intravenous Hospira, Inc. 00409-0004-04
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM 100 mg/4mL Injection, Solution, Concentrate · Intravenous Hospira, Inc. 00409-0020-02
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM 500 mg/20mL Injection, Solution, Concentrate · Intravenous Hospira, Inc. 00409-0021-03
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM HEMIPENTAHYDRATE 100 mg/4mL Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous Accord Healthcare Inc. 16729-0229-03
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM HEMIPENTAHYDRATE 500 mg/20mL Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous Accord Healthcare Inc. 16729-0230-11
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM HEMIPENTAHYDRATE 1 g/40mL Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous Accord Healthcare Inc. 16729-0244-38
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM HEMIPENTAHYDRATE 100 mg/4.2mL Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0260-10
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM HEMIPENTAHYDRATE 500 mg/20mL Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous Sagent Pharmaceuticals 25021-0261-50
Pemetrexed PEMETREXED DISODIUM HEMIPENTAHYDRATE 100 mg/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution · Intravenous Solco Healthcare US, LLC 43547-0632-01
Pemetrexed Disodium PEMETREXED DISODIUM 1 g/40mL Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous Dr. Reddys Laboratories Inc 43598-0370-74
Pemetrexed Disodium PEMETREXED DISODIUM 100 mg/4mL Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous Dr. Reddys Laboratories Inc 43598-0386-62
Pemetrexed Disodium PEMETREXED DISODIUM 500 mg/20mL Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, For Solution · Intravenous Dr. Reddys Laboratories Inc 43598-0387-11
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Alimta 500 mg/20mLNDC 00002-7623-01 Eli 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 16729-0230-11 Accord 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 25021-0261-50 Sagent 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 31722-0337-31 Camber 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed disodium 500 mg/20mLNDC 43598-0387-11 Dr. 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 55150-0382-01 Eugia 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 63323-0450-50 Fresenius 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 67184-0504-01 Qilu 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 68001-0536-41 BluePoint 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 68001-0539-41 BluePoint 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 68001-0544-41 BluePoint 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 70069-0835-01 Somerset 1 vial — AP FDA listed
pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 70710-1655-01 Zydus 1 vial — AP FDA listed
pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 70771-1692-01 Zydus 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 71288-0146-50 Meitheal 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/50mLNDC 71288-0167-50 Meitheal 1 vial — AP Discontinued
Pemetrexed 500 mg/20mLNDC 72338-0101-01 Waverley 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 500 mg/50mLNDC 72603-0425-01 NorthStar 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed Dipotassium 500 mg/20mLNDC 83831-0112-01 Avyxa 1 vial — — FDA listed
Axtle 500 mg/20mLNDC 83831-0132-01 Avyxa 1 vial — — FDA listed
Alimta 100 mg/4mLNDC 00002-7640-01 Eli 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 100 mg/4mLNDC 16729-0229-03 Accord 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 100 mg/4.2mLNDC 25021-0260-10 Sagent 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 100 mg/4mLNDC 31722-0336-31 Camber 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 100 mgNDC 43547-0632-01 Solco 100 injections — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed disodium 100 mg/4mLNDC 43598-0386-62 Dr. 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 100 mg/4mLNDC 55150-0381-01 Eugia 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 100 mg/4mLNDC 63323-0134-10 Fresenius 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 100 mg/4mLNDC 67184-0503-01 Qilu 1 vial — AP FDA listed
Pemetrexed 100 mg/4mLNDC 68001-0535-41 BluePoint 1 vial — AP FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Pemetrexed Disodium Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antineoplastic - antimetabolites) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Identity & classification

GCN Seq No 053600
GCN 21179
HICL code 025905
Ingredient (HICL) Pemetrexed Disodium
HIC1 code V
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Neoplasms
HIC2 code V1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antineoplastic Drugs
HIC3 code V1B
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Antineoplastic - Antimetabolites
AHFS code 10:00.00.00
AHFS class Antineoplastic Agents
FDB label name ALIMTA 500 MG VIAL
FDB brand name Alimta
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
GPI-1421300053102120
GPI classAlimta
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other oncology shortages

Pemetrexed Disodium Injection shortage FAQs

Is Pemetrexed Disodium Injection in shortage?
Yes — the FDA currently lists Pemetrexed Disodium Injection in shortage (status: “To Be Discontinued”, first reported Oct 10, 2025). 4 of 4 products are affected. This is national, manufacturer-reported data, so your pharmacy may still have stock.
Which products are affected?
Alimta, Injection, 500 mg/20 mL (NDC 0002-7623-01) (NDC 00002-7623-01); Alimta, Injection, 100 mg/4 mL (NDC 0002-7640-01) (NDC 00002-7640-01); Pemetrexed Disodium, Injection, 100 mg/4 mL (NDC 0781-3518-76) (NDC 00781-3518-76). The full per-NDC list (availability, manufacturer and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Pemetrexed Disodium Injection be available again?
The FDA does not publish a guaranteed restock date, and no estimated-recovery note is on file. Availability can change daily — confirm with your pharmacy.
Can I still get Pemetrexed Disodium somewhere?
Other manufacturers (Hospira, Inc., Accord Healthcare Inc., Sagent Pharmaceuticals and others) still market it and have not reported a shortage. See “Where else can I get Pemetrexed Disodium Injection?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Pemetrexed Disodium Injection?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another manufacturer or a different strength/package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Pemetrexed Disodium Injection shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (1–2)Multiple manufacturers still supplying and most strengths or pack sizes sourceable.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes unsourceable, or a long-running outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages